No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Etowah Health And Rehabilitation

409 Grady Road Po Box 957, Etowah, TN 37331 · For profit - Corporation · 120 certified beds · (423) 263-1138 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (423) 263-1138 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citations on record (F0600, F0602) — most recent Jun 20222 actual-harm citations1 immediate-jeopardy citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)$21,692 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0602) — most recent Jun 2022
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0604, F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 2 actual-harm citations
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • the CMS record shows $21,692 in federal fines (most recent 2023-10-25)
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
315 Grady Rd · (423) 263-5400 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
725 Tennessee Ave · (423) 263-7824 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
Food City0.4 mi
841 US-411 · (423) 263-9417 · Call to confirm hours
Park
111 8th St · (423) 263-6575 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
515 Washington Ave · (423) 263-1807

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased24.1%14.0%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.5%6.1%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.4%0.7%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection5.1%1.8%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms5.8%13.8%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.0%3.4%3.3%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened22.7%17.2%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication46.5%31.7%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.4%94.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.6%5.0%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control40.2%20.0%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table24.0%16.8%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.7%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine86.2%79.8%79.4%typical
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.751.671.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days3.021.561.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

36.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 26 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

36.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.26U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.12hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.11hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.26 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 38% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF36.5%CMS range 22.3–49.551.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.1%CMS range 6.5–16.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.971.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.57
RN hours/ resident / day
1.03
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.62
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.22
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.49
RN hoursweekends
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 120 beds and averages 46.3 residents a day — about 39% occupied, or roughly 74 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.22 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.57 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.62 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.96 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.33 on weekdays — 11% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.60 to 0.49 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-02-25)
9
at the previous standard inspection (2022-06-23)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · Jcited before2023-09-08 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, review of facility policy, review of the facility self-reported intake report (FRI), investigation and witness statements, staffing data, review of video surveillance footage, National Weather Service (NWS) data, satellite imaging of the facility from Google Earth, observations and interviews, the facility failed to respond timely to delayed egress door alarms (doors equipped with magnetic lock/keypad system which can be opened with 15 seconds direct pressure to the door handle mechanism without use of the keypad system) on the main lobby door, which resulted in the elopement of 1 resident, (Resident #1, a cognitively impaired female, with limited mobility and endurance) of 6 residents reviewed for elopement risks. The facility's failure placed Resident #1 in immediate jeopardy, (IJ), (a situation in which facility noncompliance with one or more conditions of participation has caused, or is likely to cause, serious injury, harm impairment or death to a resident) when Resident #1…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Actual harm · G2023-10-25 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, facility documentation review, and interviews the facility failed to implement safe transfer interventions in accordance with the care plan for 1 resident (Resident #1) of 3 residents reviewed for falls. The facility failure to utilize two persons assistance and a mechanical lift for transfers as prescribed in the care plan for Resident #1 on the evening of 9/16/2023, which resulted in a Distal Right Femur Fracture (thigh bone) for Resident #1 and required hospitalization for surgical intervention. The findings included: Medical record review showed Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Early Onset Alzheimer's Disease, Muscle Weakness, Weight Loss, Anxiety Disorder, Congestive Heart Failure, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Hypertension, Bilateral Hip Contractures, and History of Repeated Falls. Review of the care plan for Resident #1 showed and entry dated 4/25/2023 as follows: .TRANSFER .Transfer with a Hoyer lift (mechanical lift) and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · Gcited before2023-10-25 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, facility documentation review and interviews, the facility failed to prevent a fall for 1 resident (Resident #1) of 3 residents reviewed for falls. The facility's failure to prevent the fall resulted in actual harm to Resident #1, when a Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) attempted to transfer Resident #1 without assistance of another staff member or a mechanical lift, which resulted in a Distal Right Femur Fracture for Resident #1 and required hospitalization for surgical intervention The findings included: Medical record review showed Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Early Onset Alzheimer's Disease, Muscle Weakness, Weight Loss, Anxiety Disorder, Congestive Heart Failure, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Hypertension, Bilateral Hip Contractures, and History of Repeated Falls. Review of the care plan for Resident #1 showed and entry dated 4/25/2023 as follows: .TRANSFER .Transfer with a Hoyer lift (mechanical lift) and assistance of two…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-02-25 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — pattern
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to maintain a safe, clean, homelike environment for 9 resident rooms (room [ROOM NUMBER], #201, #214, #209, #106, #212, #205, #111, and #206) of 28 resident rooms observed on 2 of 2 hallways observed. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Room Audit, dated 9/1/2014, revealed .PURPOSE .To assess resident rooms to identify items that should be repaired .or addressed to ensure a home-like standard that meets acceptable standards .Lights including over-bed lighting should be checked for proper function .General Room Appearance .should be noted and reported .Damage .should be noted .and addressed according to priority . 1. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #20 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Type 2 Diabetes, Osteoporosis, and Hypertension. Review of an annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #20 scored a 14 on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, facility document review, and interviews, the facility staff failed to provide hand hygiene prior to meal services for 5 residents (Resident #10, Resident #2, Resident #21, Resident #25, Resident #53) of 5 residents observed for dining on 2 of 2 hallways and 1 dining room observed. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Hand Washing/Hand Hygiene, dated 11/1/2017, revealed .Use an alcohol-based hand rub or, alternatively, soap (antimicrobial or non-antimicrobial) and water .Before and after eating or handling food . Review of the medical record revealed Resident #10 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Muscle Weakness, Nausea and Vomiting, and Adult Failure to Thrive. Review of a comprehensive care plan dated 12/3/2025, revealed Resident #10 .ADL [Activities of Daily Living] Self Care Deficit due to .Impaired cognition/dementia .EATING: provide this support . Dependent . Review of a significant…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2022-06-23 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on facility policy review, temperature log reviews, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to obtain and record temperatures of the refrigerators and freezers in 2 of 2 nourishment rooms which had the potential to affect 55 of 56 residents. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Monitoring of Cooler/Freezer Temperature/Refrigerator Temperatures, revised 11/2017, revealed .Logs for recording temperatures for each refrigerator or freezer will be posted in a visible location outside the freezer or refrigerator unit .Temperatures will be checked and logged by designated personnel (nursing/dietary) .Logs will be changed out and filed each month .Thermometers shall be placed inside each cooler/freezer/refrigerator .All refrigerated storage must be maintained at or below 41 . degrees Fahrenheit .All frozen storage must be maintained at or . -4 degrees Fahrenheit . Review of the Daily Freezer and Refrigerator Temperature Logs, dated 6/2022 for the A/B Hall, showed .Instructions: This log will be maintained for each refrigerator and freezer .in the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-06-23 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — pattern
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, facility investigation review, record review, and interview, the facility failed to prevent the misappropriation of narcotic medications for 11 Residents (#1, #5, #7, #16, #23, #35, #36, #46, #48, #58, and #163) of 22 residents reviewed for narcotic medications use. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Controlled Drug Policy and Procedure For Licensed Personnel, undated, showed .Any suspicion of substitutions or tampering with controlled drugs must be reported to the supervisor immediately .Controlled drug distribution if [is] for use of patients only. The charge nurse is not authorized to give narcotics to any nurse or physician who requests them for personal use . Review of a facility policy titled, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation Policy and Procedures, dated 4/25/2016, showed .Residents have the right to be free from misappropriation of property .by facility staff .It is the policy of this facility to provide protections for the health, welfare and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-06-23 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — pattern
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, facility reporting review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to submit investigative findings of allegations of abuse to the State Survey Agency timely for 11 residents (#1, #5, #7, #16, #23, #35, #36, #46, #48, #58, and #163) of 16 residents reviewed for abuse. The findings include: Review of a facility policy titled, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation, dated 11/2017, showed .The facility will have written procedures that include .Administrator .will follow up with government agencies, during business hours, to confirm the initial report was received, and to report the results of the investigation when final within 5 working days of the incident, as required by state agencies . Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Type 2 Diabetes, Peripheral Vascular Disease, and Parkinson's Disease. Resident #5 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Hypertension, Dementia, and Chronic Osteomyelitis. Resident #7…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0554 — isolated
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, interview, and observation, the facility failed to assess 1 resident (#46) for self-administration of medications of 5 residents reviewed for medication administration. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Medication Administration, updated 12/2011, showed .Residents may be allowed to self-administer medications only when specifically authorized by the attending physician and in accordance with procedures for Self-Administration of Medications . Review of the facility policy titled, Self-Administration of Drugs, undated, showed .The care planning team will assess each resident's mental, physical, visual ability to determine if the resident is capable of self-administration of drugs and medications . Medical record review revealed Resident #46 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus, Hypertension, Chronic Kidney Disease Stage 3, and Dyspnea. Review of Resident #46's quarterly Minimum…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, reportable event form review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure 1 resident (#23) was free from physical abuse of 21 residents reviewed for abuse. The findings include: Review of a facility policy titled ABUSE, NEGLECT & EXPLOITATION POLICY & PROCEDURES dated 4/25/2016, showed the facility .will promote the rights, comfort, safety and well being of its residents . The facility .recognizes that residents have the right to be free from verbal, sexual, physical, and mental abuse, mistreatment, neglect .Residents are not to be subjected to abuse, neglect, and/or exploitation by anyone, including but not limited to, facility staff, other residents . Resident #23 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Heart Disease, Chronic Pain Syndrome, Major Depressive Disorder, Osteoarthritis, Chronic Systolic Heart Failure, Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus, Hypertension, and Anxiety Disorder. Review of the comprehensive care plan dated 7/31/2021,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0604 — failed to not use physical restraints improperly — isolated
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interview the facility failed to provide an ongoing re-evaluation of the need for a physical restraint for 1 resident (#49) of 1 resident reviewed for restraints. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Restraint Guidelines dated 8/30/2019, showed .A physician's order alone is not sufficient to warrant the use of a physical restraint. The facility is responsible for the appropriateness of the determination to use a restraint .At a minimum, quarterly evaluations should be completed to determine if the restraint is still needed or another less restrictive device could be used to address the medical symptom . Resident #49 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Depression, Dementia, Hypertension, Altered Mental Status, Adult Failure to Thrive, Anxiety Disorder, History of Falls, Muscle Weakness, and Difficulty in Walking. Review of a physician's order dated 8/16/2021, showed .Apply lap buddy…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-06-23 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and interview the facility failed to resubmit a timely Level I (one) Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) after 180 days for 1 resident (#10) of 8 residents reviewed for PASARR. The findings include: Medical record review of a PASRR dated 3/31/2021 for Resident #10 revealed .you are approved for admission for or up to 180 days in a nursing home .If you or your care provider thinks you need to stay longer than 180 days, a nursing home staff member must submit a new Level I screen .This must be done by or before the 180th day after your admission to the nursing home . Medical record review revealed Resident #10 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Psychoactive Substance Abuse, Dementia without Behavioral Disturbance, and Schizophrenia. Medical record review of a PASARR for Resident #10 dated 11/16/2021 revealed .Your level I screen has been canceled .The screen was canceled because your health care professional did not .submit requested…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, facility investigation review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) performed job duties within her scope of practice for 1 resident (Resident #46) of 5 residents reviewed for medication administration. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Medication Administration, updated 12/2011, showed .Only licensed or legally authorized personnel who prepares a medication may administer it . Medical record review revealed Resident #46 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus, Hypertension, Chronic Kidney Disease Stage 3, and Dyspnea. Review of Resident #46's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], showed the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment score of 15, which indicated the resident was cognitively intact. Review of Resident #46 's Medication Administration Record (MAR) dated 6/1/2022-6/22/2022, showed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0886 — failed to test for COVID-19 as required — isolated
    Perform COVID19 testing on residents and staff.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on review of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations to Prevent SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19 -a respiratory infection) Spread in Nursing Homes, review of the CDC COVID Data Tracker Levels of Community Transmission, review of the facility testing logs, and interview, the facility failed to ensure exempt unvaccinated employees were tested for the COVID-19 virus per CDC guidelines for 4 of 7 unvaccinated employees reviewed for COVID-19 testing potentially affecting 56 residents. The findings include: Review of the .Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations to Prevent SARS-CoV-2 Spread in Nursing Homes . last updated 2/2/2022, showed .In nursing homes, HCP [Health Care Providers] who are not up to date with all recommended COVID-19 vaccine doses should continue expanded screening testing based on the level of community transmission as follows .In nursing homes located in counties with substantial to high community transmission, these HCP should have a viral test…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-06-26 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and interview the facility failed to resubmit a timely Level I (one) Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) for 1 resident (#19) of 4 residents reviewed for PASRR of 22 sampled residents. The findings include: Review of facility policy Resident Assessment - Coordination with PASRR Program, undated, revealed .All applicants to this facility will be screened .in accordance with the State's Medicaid rules for screening . Medical record review revealed Resident #19 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including Paranoid Schizophrenia, Schizoaffective Disorder, and Bipolar Disorder. Medical record review of a PASRR dated 11/22/17 revealed .Your level I screen is good for 60 calendar days .After the 60 calendar days, any nursing home you admit to must submit a new Level I screening form .He is approved for a 60-day exemption. If more time is required, a new PASRR .will need to be submitted . Medical record review from 1/22/18 -…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-06-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, review of a facility incident report, and interview, the facility failed to develop and implement interventions after a fall for 1 Resident (#56) of 8 residents reviewed for falls of 22 sampled residents. The findings include: Review of facility policy Fall Risk Assessment, undated, revealed .the facility will develop and implement resident specific interventions .each resident fall will be reviewed .by a licensed nurse .new intervention .to address the new root cause identified . Review of facility policy Fall Guidelines, dated 2018, revealed .when any resident experiences a fall, the facility will .Document interventions . Medical record review revealed Resident #56 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnosis including Dementia with Behavioral Disturbance, Major Depressive Disorder, Weakness, Difficulty in Walking, and Anxiety Disorder. Medical record review of Resident 56's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE]…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$21,692 in federal fines across 3 penalties.

  • $4,934 — penalty dated 2023-10-25
  • $7,443 — penalty dated 2023-10-25
  • $9,315 — penalty dated 2023-09-08

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
Ownership Data Not Available

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-20.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 80%Medicare 3%Other / private 17%

About 80% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$342per resident / day
operating cost
$10,394per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$283per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in TN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Tennessee Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Tennessee
$9,429/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,038/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,845/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 445422. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-02-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next