Towne Square Care Of Puryear
220 College Street, Puryear, TN 38251 · For profit - Corporation · 32 certified beds · (731) 247-3205 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (23% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 24.5% | 14.0% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 6.1% | 5.4% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 3.0% | 0.7% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 3.2% | 1.8% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 9.3% | 13.8% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.0% | 3.4% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 18.8% | 17.2% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 60.7% | 31.7% | 18.9% | check this† — see note marked dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 88.9% | 94.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.0% | 5.0% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 33.8% | 20.0% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 8.7% | 16.8% | 17.1% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 0.49 | 1.67 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 0.68 | 1.56 | 1.80 | better |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
† This value is several times the typical-state benchmark. It can be real, or it can be a coding artifact in what the facility submitted. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.29 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 46% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.4%CMS range 6.7–18.1 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.03 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 32 beds and averages 25.4 residents a day — about 79% occupied, or roughly 7 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.29 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.52 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.03 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.83 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.88 on weekdays — 42% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.65 to 0.21 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 23% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2026-05-19 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served under sanitary conditions when undated, unlabeled food items were found stored in the kitchen. The facility had a census of 24 and 24 of the residents were served from the Kitchen. The findings include: 1. Review of the undated facility policy titled, Food Storage (Dry, Refrigerated, and Frozen) revealed .Food shall be stored on shelves in a clean, dry area free from contaminants Food shall be stored at appropriate temperatures and using appropriate methods to ensure the highest level of food safety.All food-items will be labeled. The label must include the name of the food and the date by which it should be sold, consumed, or discarded.Discard food that has passed the expiration date, and discard food that has been prepared in the facility after seven days of storing under proper refrigeration.Leftover contents of cans and prepared food will be stored in covered, labeled and dated containers in refrigerators and/or freezers . 2. Observation in the kitchen…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-05-19 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored when 2 of 2 medication storage carts (Hall 1 and Hall 2) had expired and outdated medications. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Storage, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .No discontinued, outdated, or deteriorated medications should be available for use in the facility.Expired medications are to be removed from areas medication carts prior to or at the time of expiration. 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #3 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Hypertension, Kidney Disease, and Dementia. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], revealed Resident #3 scored a 15 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment, which indicated he was cognitively intact. Review of the Physician Order dated 12/8/2025, revealed .clonidine HCI [medication used to treat high blood pressure]…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-19 · tag F0851 — isolatedElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on policy review, Centers for Medicare & [and] Medicaid Services Electronic Staffing Data Submission Payroll-Based Journal Long-Term Care Facility Policy Manual review, Quarterly Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) review, facility staffing information review, and interview, the facility failed to submit accurate staffing data for Quarter 1 for PBJ 2026 (October 1, 2025- December 31, 2025) reviewed for staffing data. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility policy titled Policy & Procedure: PBJ Reporting, dated 10/1/2024, revealed To ensure all necessary staffing hours are submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services as required. Review of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Electronic Staffing Data Submission Payroll-Based Journal Long-Term Care Facility Policy Manual dated June 2025, revealed .Direct care staffing and census data will be collected quarterly, and is required to be timely and accurate. Review of the facility PBJ Staffing Data Report for Quarter 1 2026 (October 1, 2025- December 31, 2025) revealed there were no daily Registered Nurse (RN)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-03-26 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to maintain a sanitary kitchen when 1 of 1 ice machines was observed to have a dark slimy build up and when 1 of 1 nourishment refrigerator had a yellow sticky substance in the freezer and refrigerator. The findings include: 1. The facility policy titled, Policy & Procedure: Sanitizing, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .food storage .areas will be kept clean and free from litter, debris .All equipment .shall be washed to clean and sanitize using hot water and/or chemical sanitization solution .Ice machines .will be .cleansed and sanitized . 2. Observation in the kitchen on 3/24/2025 at 8:40 AM, revealed a dark slimy build up on inside of the ice machine. During an observation and interview on 3/24/2025 at 8:45 AM the Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) was asked if there should be a build up of dark slime in the ice machine. She stated, No . During an interview on 3/25/2025 at 2:15 PM, the Administrator confirmed there should not be black slime in the ice machine. 3. During an observation and interview in the medication…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-26 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to develop am elopement risk care plan for 1 of 12 (Resident #4) sampled residents reviewed for care plans. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility policy titled, .Care Planning, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .To ensure all residents have a care plan developed, implemented, revised/updated based on the needs they have .Care plans will be initiate .and updated and/or revised .with any changes that occur throughout their stay . 2. Review of the medical record review revealed Resident #4 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Impulse Disorder, Paranoid Schizophrenia, Dementia, and Anxiety. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], revealed Resident #4 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 11, meaning Resident #4 had moderate cognitive impairment. Review of the Care Plan dated 12/29/2024, revealed there were no focus/problems or interventions on the care plan related to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-26 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, named Hospice agreement review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide a communication process, including how the communication will be documented between the Long-term Care facility and the hospice provider to ensure resident needs are addressed and met for 1 of 12 (Resident #7) sampled residents and failed to follow Physician Orders for 1 of 12 (Resident #16) sampled residents. The findings: 1. Review of the facility policy titled, Policy & Procedure: Hospice Services, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .It is the policy of the facility to provide collaborative care with Hospice providers to ensure that our resident's end of life preferences and choices are honored .Communication will be documented between the facility and the hospice provider, to ensure that the needs of the resident are addressed and met . 2. Review of the named Nursing Facility Hospice Agreement, dated July 2017, revealed .Manner of Communication .All communications between the Hospice and Nursing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-03-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a safe and secure environment when hazards items were found in 2 of 18 (Resident #18 and #22) resident rooms reviewed for accidents. The findings included: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled, Resident Rooms, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .To ensure residents are provided a clean room and environment and free of hazards . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #18 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Diabetes, Asthma, and Dementia. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], revealed Resident #18 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status Score (BIMS) of 15, indicating the resident was cognitively intact, and required supervision with Activities of Daily skills (ADLs). Observations during medication administration in the resident's room on 3/24/2025 at 4:11 PM and on 3/25/2025 at 10:51 AM, revealed the following: a. a bottle of pink nail polish, an 18 oz…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-26 · tag F0732 — isolatedPost nurse staffing information every day.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on policy review, daily staff posting review, and interview, the facility failed to post the total number of staff, and actual hours worked by the licensed staff responsible for resident care on the facility's Daily Staff Posting form for 20 of 24 sampled days. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility policy titled, .Staffing, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .To ensure proper licensed nursing staff are provided to the residents according to regulations .Resident census will be posted daily. 2. Review of the facility's Daily Staff Posting forms dated 3/1/2025 thru 3/24/2025, revealed incomplete daily posting for the dates of 3/1/2025, 3/2/2025, 3/3/2025, 3/4/2025, 3/5/2025, 3/6/2025, 3/7/2025, 3/10/2025, 3/11/2025, 3/12/2025, 3/13/2025, 3/14/2025, 3/15/2025, 3/16/2025, 3/17/2025, 3/18/2025, 3/19/2025, 3/20/2025, 3/21/2025, and 3/24/2025. During an interview on 3/25/2025 at 4:14 PM, the Director of Nursing (DON) was asked about the missing documentation related to the daily staff posting form. The DON confirmed there was missing documentation, and the form was not accurate.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-26 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 2 (Registered Nurse (RN) A) nurses administered medications with a medication error rate of less than 5 percent (%). A total of 2 errors were observed out of 26 opportunities, resulting in a medication error rate of 7.69%. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Error, revealed .All medication errors and drug reactions will be reported immediately to the Director of Nursing, the attending physician and will be documented according to established procedures .Medication error is defined as the preparation or administration of medications or biological that is not in accordance with the prescriber's orders, manufactures specifications regarding the preparation and/or administration of the medication or biological and /or accepted professional standards for medications or biological administration .All medication errors and drug reactions must be promptly reported to the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-03-26 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and secured when 1 of 3 (Short Hall Medication Cart) medication storage areas was found unsecured and unattended when medications were found unsecured and unattended in 1 of 18 (Resident #22) resident occupied rooms. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Storage, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .To ensure that medications and biological (biologicals) are stored in a safe, secure storage and safe handling .Compartments containing medications should be locked when not in use .Trays and carts used to transport such items should not be left unattended . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #22 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Anxiety, Chronic Pain Syndrome, Hypertension, and Asthma. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #22 had a Brief Interview for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-26 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on policy review, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure proper infection control practices were followed during medication administration when 1 of 2 nurses (Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) C) picked items out of trash and failed to change gloves and/or use hand hygiene, when 1 of 1 (Registered Nurse (RN) A) failed to clean reusable resident equipment in between resident use, and when 1 of 2 (RN A) nurses administered medication to a resident after dropping the medication on the resident's person. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled, Hand Hygiene, dated 2/1/2017, revealed To provide guidelines to staff for proper and appropriate hand washing and hygiene techniques that will aid in the prevention of transmission of infections .Staff will perform hand hygiene by washing hands .and should be performed under the following conditions .After handling items potentially contaminated with blood, body fluids or secretions . Review of the facility's policy titled, Disinfecting Resident Equipment, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .To provide…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-04-03 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, Job Description, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served under sanitary conditions as evidenced by dirty trash can, carbon build-up on the pans, dirty equipment, the deep fryer with carbon build-up with food particles, carbon build-up on the flat grill, and large amount of greasy dark stain on the floor beside and behind the deep fryer, kitchen cabinets with large amount of peeling Formica laminate on the doors and drawer, cabinet under the sink with dark furry substance with an old stained cloth and the cabinet underneath in disrepair. The facility had a census of 25 with 25 of those residents receiving a meal tray from the kitchen. The findings included: 1. Review of the facility's Sanitizing, policy dated 2/1/2017, revealed .The food service area shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary manner .The Dietary Manager/Food Service Manager will be responsible for creating and maintaining a regular cleaning schedule of kitchen and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-03 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, facility investigation review, and interview, the facility failed to report allegations of abuse to Adult Protection Service (APS) and Long-Term Care Ombudsman for 1 of 3 (Resident #177) sampled residents reviewed for abuse, failed to report an allegation of abuse to local law enforcement, and failed to complete a 5 day follow-up report to the state agency for 3 of 3 (Resident #8, #17, and #177) sampled residents reviewed for allegations of abuse. The findings include: 1. Review of the policy Abuse and Neglect, dated 2/1/2017, revealed, .establish guidelines that prevents, identifies and report resident abuse and neglect .right to be free from verbal, sexual, physical, and mental abuse .any .allegation of abuse must be reported to the state agency and law enforcement . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses of Schizophrenia, Cognitive Communication Deficit, Dementia, and Unsteadiness on Feet.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-04-03 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure neurological (neuro) checks were obtained after an unwitnessed fall with a head injury for 1 of 2 (Resident #127) reviewed for accident hazards. The findings include: 1. The facility's policy titled Neuro Assessment, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .Neurological assessment will be performed by a licensed nurse when .head injury .unwitnessed falls .Neurological Assessments should be performed .for a 72 hour period . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #127 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses of Dementia, Osteoarthritis, History of Malignant Neoplasm of Uterus, and Left Artificial Hip Joint. Review of the admission Minimum Data Set, dated [DATE], revealed Resident #127 was assessed with a Brief Interview for Mental Status score of 7, indicating the resident was severely cognitive impaired, assessed with inattention, disorganized thinking and Altered Level of Consciousness, Independent…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-03 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — isolatedHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on policy review, nurse schedules, facility group hours report, facility time sheets, and interview, the facility failed to ensure there was a Registered Nurse (RN) on duty for 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week for 4 of 29 days (10/8/2023, 11/5/202, 11/11/2023, and 11/26/2023) reviewed for RN coverage. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy title, Staffing, dated 2/1/2017, revealed .To ensure proper licensed nursing staff are provided to the residents according to regulation .The facility shall provide a Registered Nurse for 8 consecutive hours every day . Review of the nurse schedules from 10/2023 to 12/2023, revealed there was no RN scheduled for 10/8/2023, 11/5/2023, 11/11/2023, and 11/26/2023. Review of the facility's Group Hours, report (punch time sheet) from 10/1/2023 thru 12/31/2023, revealed no RN punched into work indicating a RN was in the building for 8 consecutive hours on 10/8/2023, 11/5/2023, 11/11/2023, and 11/26/2023. Review of the Director of Nurses (DON) Time Sheet from 10/2023 thru 12/31/2023 revealed, the DON did not sign into work as…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-03 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to maintain an adequate supply of over-the-counter medications for 3 of 3 (Medication Cart #1, Medication Cart #2, and Medication Storage Room) medication carts reviewed for medication storage. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled Supply Ordering, dated 2/17/2027, revealed .any supplies needed to care for the residents will be ordered from an approved medical vendor .Designated staff .maintain all supplies in the stock room .Orders will be placed to the medical vendor at least monthly, but more if needed .supplies to be ordered include .Over-the-Counter medications .supplies needed to provide care to the residents .Supply list will be given to the Administrator and /or his/her Designee .Order will be submitted by the Administrator and/or his/her Designee .Orders that are delivered to the facility will be placed in the stock room .may choose to use a local vendor or store to procure any items that are unavailable or backordered . Review of the facility policy titled Physician Orders,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WHITE, PATRICK | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100% | since 02/01/2017 |
| BELL, ZACHARY | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 10/23/2018 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 4 rows in the source record cover these 2 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in TN
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Tennessee Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 445470. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-05-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.