The Hilltop On Main
1015 N Main, Meridian, TX 76665 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 94 certified beds · (254) 435-2357 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- inspectors cited 3 immediate-jeopardy problems — the most serious level
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $29,243 in federal fines (most recent 2024-03-26)
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 2 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 28.8% | 15.8% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 3.0% | 5.4% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.8% | 2.0% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 2.4% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.8% | 3.3% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 18.9% | 14.0% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 8.6% | 18.0% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 96.4% | 98.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.0% | 3.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 11.5% | 13.4% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 16.1% | 9.6% | 17.1% | typical |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 4.42 | 2.17 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 3.12 | 2.06 | 1.80 | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.24 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 32% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 20% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 94 beds and averages 27.4 residents a day — about 29% occupied, or roughly 67 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.83 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.16 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.61 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.41 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.00 on weekdays — 20% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.22 to 0.01 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 50% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2024-03-26 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement a comprehensive care plan that describes the services to be furnished to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 1 of 4 residents(Resident #1) reviewed for care plans. The facility failed to revise the nutritional careplan and develop and implement a care plan for severe weight loss of 16.1% and refusal to eat identified in a two month period from admission on [DATE] and last record of weight on 02/05/2024. The facility failed to develop and implement a care plan related to Resident # 1 self isolating, blocking his room door,signs, symptoms of depression, and refusal to see Psych NP on 01/15/2024 which resulted in Resident # 1 to attempt suicide on 03/01/2024. An Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) situation was identified on 03/22/2024 at 3:00 p.m. While the IJ was removed on 03/23/2024 at 07:50 a.m., the facility remained out of compliance at a scope of isolated with no actual harm with the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2024-03-26 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolatedProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure residents maintained acceptable parameters of nutritional status, such as usual body weight or desirable body weight range and electrolyte balance, unless the resident's clinical condition demonstrated that was not possible or the resident preferences indicated otherwise for 1 of 4 residents (Resident #1) reviewed for nutrition status maintenance. The facility failed to ensure Resident # 1 did not sustain a severe weight loss of 16.1% in a two month period from admission on [DATE] and last record of weight on 02/05/2024 The facility failed to follow MD order to take monthly weights beginning on 01/01/2024 for a weight to be taken the 1st through the 5th of each month. The facility failed to include 01/16/2024 weight of 134.6 in Resident # 1's weight log. The facility failed to identify there was a decrease from health shakes being administered three times per day decreasing down to two times a day. An Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) was identified on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2024-03-26 · tag F0742 — isolatedProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record reviews the facility failed to ensure a resident who displays or is diagnosed with a mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment disorder receives appropriate treatment and services to correct the assessed problem or to attain the highest practicable mental and psychosocial well-being for 1 of 4 residents (Resident # 1) reviewed for treatment and services for mental and psychosocial concerns. The facility failed to develop and implement a plan of care to address Resident #1's signs and symptoms first documented on 01/15/2024 when Resident #1 refused to see the Psych NP for signs and symptoms of depression. CMA D failed to to report Resident #1 expressing to her many times that he was tired, his body was giving out, and he was ready to go. The facility failed to act upon ,care plan develop, and implement Resident # 1's changes noted by CNA C, CMA D reported to LVN B and CNA E reported to the former DON. An Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) was was identified on 03/04/2024 The IJ template was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-03-03 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — widespreadProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to have licensed nurses on a 24-hour basis to provide nursing care to all residents in accordance with resident care plans, in thatThe facility failed to have a 24 hour licensed nursing service on 7/19/25, 7/20/25, 08/02/25 and 09/27/25This failure placed all residents at risk for unmet needs and/or injury.Findings included: Record review of the PBJ staffing data report for the fourth quarter of the financial year 2025 reflected that there was no licensed nursing coverage for 24 hours/day on 07/09/25, 07/20/25, 08/02/25 and 09/27/25.During an interview on 03/03/26 at 10:42 a.m., LVN B reported that she had worked at the facility approximately 2.5 years prior to the interview date. She stated that her work hours were from 6:00 AM to 2:00 PM, Monday through Friday. LVN B indicated that she did not recall any days during her tenure when the facility lacked licensed nurses. She emphasized the importance of 24/7 licensed nurse coverage in ensuring resident safety, noting that such staffing supports staff in effectively…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-03-03 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespreadHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, and record review, the facility failed to use the services of a registered nurse for at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week and designate a registered nurse to serve as the director of nursing on a full-time basis for 1 of 1 DON (DON) and 1 of 1 RN (RN) reviewed for DON and RN coverage.The facility failed to have an RN on a regular basis in the facility since August 2025.The facility failed to have a full-time DON on regular basis from 10/01/25 to 02/28/26.This failure could place residents at risk of harm due to being left without supervisory coverage for coordination of events such as emergency care, disasters and providing quality care.Findings included:Record review of the facility timecard report revealed the facility did not have a DON from 10/01/25 to 11/30/25 and 12/26/25 to 02/28/26.Record review of the facility time card report revealed the facility did not have RN coverage in year 2025 on 09/01, 09/02, 09/05 to 09/07 , 09/10 to 09/13, 09/15 to 10/05, 10/07 to 10/10, 10/13 to 10/23, 10/25 to 11/14, 11/17 to 11/21 , 11/24 to 12/3 , 12/5, 12/9…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2026-03-03 · tag F0700 — patternTry different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to assess the resident for risk of entrapment from bed rails prior to installation and review the risk and benefits of bed rails with the resident or resident representative and obtain informed consent prior to installation for 5 (Resident #2, #7, #12, #18, #26) of 14 residents reviewed for bedrails. The facility failed to properly assess the risk of entrapment, or obtain documentation of informed consents for Resident #2, #7, #12, #18, and #26 prior to the installation and use of bed rails. This failure could place residents at risk of entrapment, restraint, and injury. Findings included: Record review on 3/3/2026 of Resident #2's admission record and 5-day scheduled MDS assessment, dated 1/23/2026, reflected an [AGE] year-old female admitted [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE]. Resident #2 was shown to be her own decision maker with no other RP listed. The resident's diagnoses included cerebral infarction (stroke), contracture of right hand…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2026-03-03 · tag F0732 — patternPost nurse staffing information every day.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to post daily information that included the facility name, current date, total number and actual hours worked by registered nurses, licensed practical or licensed vocational nurses, certified nurse aides directly responsible for resident care per shift and the resident census for 3 days (03/01/26, 03/02/26 and 03/03/26) of 3 days reviewed for posted nurse staffing information.The facility did not post the required current nurse staffing information from 03/01/26 through 03/03/26.This failure could place residents at risk of not having access to information regarding staffing data and the facility census.Findings included:During an observation on 03/01/26 at 10:00 a.m., it was revealed that there was no staffing posting present at the facility with facility name and date containing the total number of staff and actual hours worked by RNs, LPNs and LVNs or CNAs who are directly responsible for resident care.During an observation and interview on 03/03/26 at 1:25 p.m., LVN C searched the nursing station and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-03 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the resident assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for 1 of 13 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for accuracy of assessments. The facility failed to accurately indicate Resident #8's receipt of injections and insulin injections on the resident's quarterly MDS assessment completed on 12/10/2025. This failure could place residents at risk of incorrect care and services necessary for their physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being. Findings included: Record review on 3/2/2026 of Resident #8's quarterly MDS assessment, dated 12/19/2025, reflected a [AGE] year-old male admitted [DATE]. His diagnoses included neurocognitive disorder with Lewy bodies (protein deposits that develop in nerve cells of the brain that affect thinking, memory and movement), Type 2 Diabetes with moderate non-proliferative retinopathy without macular edema, right eye (a condition characterized by insulin resistance and high blood sugar that…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-03 · tag F0741 — failed to have staff trained for behavioral health — isolatedEnsure that the facility has sufficient staff members who possess the competencies and skills to meet the behavioral health needs of residents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure nurse aides were able to demonstrate competency in skills and techniques necessary to care for residents' needs safely and in a manner that promoted each resident's rights, physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 2 of 2 (Resident #22 and #24) reviewed for competent nursing staff. The facility failed to ensure CNA A utilized appropriate communication, intervention, and redirection methods with Resident #24 which led to an escalation of conflict between Resident #22 and Resident #24 resulting in Resident #22 making threatening gestures and a threat of harm to Resident #24. This failure could place the residents at risk of serious injury or harm. Findings included: Record review on 3/1/2026 of Resident #22's admission record and modified quarterly MDS assessment, dated 2/13/2026, reflected an [AGE] year-old male admitted on /2022 and readmitted [DATE]. Resident #22 was his own RP. Resident #22's diagnoses included chronic…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-01-23 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for the facility's only kitchen reviewed for food service safety. 1. The facility failed to ensure food was labeled with a product name and use by date in the facility's only walk-in freezer, walk-in cooler, and side-by-side refrigerator. 2. The facility failed to clean, and sanitize, the kitchen's only industrial can opener. 3. The facility failed to ensure the sanitizer in the facility's only dishwasher was at 50 PPM. These failures placed residents at the facility at risk for ingesting food borne pathogens. Findings included: Observation and interview on 1/21/2025 at 10:08 AM revealed the kitchen's only industrial can opener (a metal can opener attached to a table/counter to open large metal cans.) The industrial can opener had a 6-inch-long handle which rotated a metal gear (like the size and shape of a hockey puck,) which in turn rotated a metal can. On the underside of the 6-inch-long handle mechanism, was a 1-inch…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-01-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infection for 1 (Resident #1) of 6 residents reviewed for infection control. The DON failed to use enhanced barrier precautions during a gastrostomy feeding for Resident #1 on 01/22/2025 by not donning a gown prior to administering the feeding. This failure could place residents at risk of cross contamination which could result in infections or illness. Findings included: Record review of Resident #1 face sheet dated 1/22/2025 reflected she was a [AGE] year-old female with diagnoses of unspecified dementia (a loss of thinking, remembering, and reasoning skills), type 2 diabetes mellitus (elevated blood sugars), dysphagia (difficulty swallowing), and encounter for attention to gastrostomy (care of gastrostomy tube). Record review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-03-26 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that residents who have not used psychotropic drugs are not given these drugs unless the medication is necessary to treat a specific condition as diagnosed and documented in the clinical record for 1 (Resident #1) of 4 residents reviewed for psychotropic drug use. The facility failed to: 1. ensure Resident #1 was prescribed Seroquel for a specific diagnosis and instead prescribed it for behavioral disturbance at bedtime This failure could affect residents by placing them at risk of receiving psychotropic medications which could cause a decrease in quality of life and increase the risk of injury. Findings included: Review of Resident #1's undated face sheet revealed an [AGE] year-old male with an admission date of 12/05/2023. Diagnoses included hypertension (high blood pressure), cardiomyopathy (disease of heart muscle), hyperlipidemia (high cholesterol), and protein-calorie malnutrition (inadequate amount of protein). Review of Resident #1's MDS…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2023-12-07 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespreadHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to use the services of a registered nurse for at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week for 9 of 30 days reviewed for RN coverage. The facility failed to ensure they had an RN on duty on 11/5/23,11/11/23,11/12/23,11/18/23,11/19/23,11/25/23, 11/26/23,12/3/23 and 12/04/23. This failure placed residents at risk of missed nursing assessments, interventions, care, and treatments. Findings Include Review of RN staffing for November 2023 revealed zero hours worked by an RN on 11/5/23,11/11/23,11/12/23,11/18/23,11/19/23,11/25/23,11/26/23. Review of RN staffing for December 2023 revealed zero hours worked by an RN on 12/3/23 and 12/04/23. Interview on 12/7/23 at 1145 AM with DON, she stated that she is aware of the lack of RN coverage every other weekend, they are advertising for an RN, but because of the small community and the commute time from the larger city in the area, they have very little response. She stated that she is aware of both the regulation and their policy that requires RN coverage 8 hours a day 7 days a…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-12-07 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection and prevention control program that included, at a minimum, a system for preventing and controlling infections for 4 of 5 residents reviewed for medication administration (Resident's #31, #10, #14, and #8) and for 5 of 6 resident (Resident's #31, #10, #30, #14, and #8) reviewed for blood pressure readings. MA failed to properly sanitize blood pressure cuff when moving from one resident to another resident when administering medications and obtaining blood pressure for Residents #31, #10, #14, and #8 . MA failed to wash or sanitize her hands while going from one resident to another resident when administering medication for Resident's #31, #10, #30, #14, and #8. This deficient practice placed residents at risk for cross contamination and the spread of infection. Findings included: Record Review of Resident #31's face sheet dated 12/06/23 reflected Resident #31 was a [AGE] year-old male with an admission date of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-11-10 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — patternMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to provide a safe, functional, sanitary and comfortable environment for 1 (Common Shower) of 1 shower room observed for Environment. The floor tiles had been missing from the floor as far back as 6 years. The facility failed to have an effective maintenance communication system for when items needed to be repaired or replaced, which resulted in an unsafe environment in the Residents' Common Shower room. This failure could place residents at risk of tripping and falling, the shower chair wheels getting stuck, or cross contamination, which could cause injury, pain, distress and gastro-intestinal illnesses and result in a decrease in their health and psycho-social well-being. Findings included: Observation on 11/09/23 at 3:30 pm revealed the floor in the Common Shower room with multiple sections of missing floor tiles. There were missing sections of floor tile along the wall, beside the drain, and between the wall and the drain. The floor tiles were not a consistent color. Interview on 11/09/23 at 4:55 pm, the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$29,243 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $29,243 — penalty dated 2024-03-26
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MSL MERIDIAN | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 09/01/2013 |
| ISSAC, TROY | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 09/01/2013 |
| KAMARA, KADIJATU | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/31/2025 |
| STRONG, CHRISTOPHER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/31/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 6 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 80% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $338K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 13% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in TX
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Texas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 675518. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-03-03, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.