Garfield County Nursing Home
200 North 450 East, Panguitch, UT 84759 · Government - County · 21 certified beds · (435) 676-1262 Medicaid only — no Medicare
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (32% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0605, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0568)
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 24.1% | 11.3% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 9.8% | 3.4% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 9.0% | 0.7% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 3.3% | 1.8% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 16.5% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.0% | 2.5% | 3.3% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 21.3% | 25.3% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 17.6% | 3.9% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 32.3% | 21.5% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 33.9% | 14.2% | 17.1% | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.14 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 11% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 3% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 21 beds and averages 15.3 residents a day — about 73% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 6.25 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 2.23 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.76 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 5.38 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 6.60 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 2.51 to 1.53 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 32% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-06-25 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility did not store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, there was undated food in the refrigerator and freezer, kitchen staff were observed to not be wearing hairnets and beard coverings, and the sanitizer bucket was not testing at the required sanitation levels.Findings included:On 6/22/25 at 12:07 PM, an initial tour of the kitchen was conducted. The following observations were made:a. An open energy drink was out on the food prep table.b. Three bags of bread slices were unlabeled and undated in the refrigerator.c. Two slices of cheese and ham were in a bag that was undated and unlabeled in the refrigerator.d. Turkey breast was in a bag and was not dated in there refrigerator.e. Hotdog's were opened in a bag and were not labeled or dated in the refrigerator.f. A plastic bag that was undated and unlabeled with turkey and swiss cheese in the refrigerator.g. An opened bag of sausage patties and links were undated in the refrigerator.h. A bag of roast beef and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-06-25 · tag F0605 — failed to not use drugs as a restraint — patternPrevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY 3. Resident 5 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included, but were not limited to, depression and insomnia disorder. Resident 5's medical record was reviewed. A physician's order dated 1/29/19, documented sertraline (Zoloft) 25 mg. Administer 12.5 mg daily for a diagnosis of depression. A physician's order dated 1/29/19, documented zolpidem (Ambien) 5 mg daily at bedtime for a diagnosis of insomnia. A physician's order dated 2/14/20, documented diphenhydramine (Banophen) 25 mg daily at bedtime for a diagnosis of allergies and insomnia. A physician documented clinical contraindication was unable to be located and the medications had not received the appropriate GDR. 4. Resident 14 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included, but were not limited to, anxiety. Resident 14's medical record was reviewed. A physician's order dated 3/22/23, documented quetiapine (Seroquel) 25 mg daily for a diagnosis of agitation. A physician's order dated 3/22/23, documented…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-06-25 · tag F0641 — patternEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure an assessment accurately reflected the resident's status. Specifically, for 3 out of 12 sampled residents, residents were coded as taking antipsychotic medications when they were not taking them. Resident identifiers: 1, 8, and 12. Findings included: 1. Resident 1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included, traumatic brain injury and depression. Resident 1's medical record was reviewed on 6/22/25 through 6/25/25. On 5/16/25, a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment documented that resident 1 was taking an antipsychotic medication. On 5/14/25 at 9:24 AM, a Long Term Care (LTC) Psychotropic Medication Review documented resident 1 was taking: a. nortriptyline 30 milligrams (mg) at bedtime with a diagnosis of depression. b. Effexor 37.5 mg twice daily with a diagnosis of depression. It should be noted that these medications were not classified as antipsychotic medications. 2. Resident 8 was admitted to the facility on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-06-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, for 3 out of 12 sampled residents, Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) were not implemented for residents with wounds and indwelling urinary catheters. Resident identifiers: 2, 9, and 10.Findings included:1. Resident 2 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included, but were not limited to, urinary tract infection.On 6/22/25 at 1:29 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 2. Resident 2 was observed to have a down drain urinary catheter bag. Resident 2 stated the staff would wear gloves when they emptied or changed the catheter bag but the staff have never worn gowns.Resident 2's medical record was reviewed.A care plan problem initiated on 4/10/25, documented Long Term Care Urinary…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-05-01 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolatedRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 3 sampled residents, that the facility in response to an allegation of neglect did not have evidence that the allegation was thoroughly investigated and did not prevent further abuse while the investigation was in progress. Specifically, the facility did not have evidence of a thorough investigation and allowed the alleged perpetrator to continue to provide resident care while the investigation was being conducted. Resident identifier: 1. Findings included: Resident 1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included anxiety, arthritis, chest pain, decubitus ulcer of coccyx, degenerative joint disease, dementia, depression, history of malignant neoplasm of cervix, hypertension, morbid obesity, osteoporosis, pain, and Schizophrenia. On 5/1/24 resident 1's medical record was reviewed. On 7/21/23, resident 1's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment documented that resident 1 was always incontinent of urine with no episodes of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-03 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 14 sampled residents, that the facility did not consult with the resident's physician and notify when there was an accident involving the resident that resulted in injury; a significant change in the resident's physical, mental, or psychosocial status; or a need to alter treatment or commence a new form of treatment. Specifically, the staff injured a resident while providing nail care which resulted in the need for wound care and the physician was not notified. Resident identifier 15. Findings included: Resident 15 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which consisted of right pontine stroke, hemiparesis left side, dysarthria, left leg injury, occlusion right vertebral artery, atrial fibrillation, hypertension, diabetes mellitus type II, anemia, hypokalemia, benign prostatic hyperplasia, cardiac pacemaker, cellulitis, congestive heart failure, communication impairment, diabetic peripheral neuropathy, gout, hyperlipidemia, male breast cancer,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-03 · tag F0676 — failed to keep up residents' daily-living abilities — isolatedEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review it was determined for 2 of 14 sampled residents, that the facility did not provide the necessary assistance to ensure each resident maintained or improved their ability to perform activities of daily living, including eating. Specifically, residents with swallowing issues were not provided supervision while eating when it was identified as a need based on the comprehensive assessment. Resident identifiers: 1 and 12. Findings included: An observation of the dining room was conducted on 7/31/23 at 12:12 PM. Resident 1 was in the dining room sitting at a table alone and facing a window with her back to the dining room. Resident 1 was in a slouched position with her head slightly hunched over her lap. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) 3, was sitting at another table with resident 8. Resident 12 was sitting in a wheelchair at a different table alone. At 12:15 PM, CNA 3 got up and walked over to resident 1 and spoke with her. An observation of the dining room was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-03 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 or 14 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the residents' choices. Specifically, a resident was receiving wound care without a physician order for the care and a resident sustained an injury from staff improperly clipping the residents' fingernails. Resident identifiers: 9 and 15. Findings included: 1. Resident 9 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which consisted of cerebral palsy, depression, mental retardation, hypertension, and aphasia. On 7/31/23 at 1:46 PM, an observation was made of resident 9. Resident 9 was lying supine in bed. Resident 9 had decorticate posturing and the bilateral wrists were contracted. A sheet was covering resident 9's lower extremities. Resident 9's progress notes revealed the following: a. On 7/7/23 at 9:39 PM, the nursing progress note…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-03 · tag F0757 — failed to avoid unnecessary drugs — isolatedEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 14 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs. An unnecessary drug was any drug when used in excessive dose; or for excessive duration; or without adequate monitoring; or without adequate indication for its use; or in the presence of adverse consequences. Specifically, a resident's narcotic pain medication was not administered per the physician ordered parameters. Resident identifier 4. Findings included: Resident 4 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included Multiple Sclerosis, complex partial seizures, depression, urinary incontinence, chronic pain, history of urinary tract infection, inability to walk, hypoxia, diabetes mellitus type 2, and weight loss. On 8/02/23, resident 4's medical records were reviewed. On 1/13/23, resident 4's physician ordered Oxycodone/Acetaminophen 5-325 milligrams (mg), give 1 tablet by mouth every 4 hours as needed for pain. Review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-03 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 out of 14 residents sampled, that the facility did not ensure that residents who used psychotropic drugs received a gradual dose reduction (GDR) unless clinically contraindicated, in an effort to discontinue these drugs. Specifically, a resident's Quetiapine order did not have any GDR's in the first year of use and no documentation could be found for a clinical contraindication to the GDR. Resident identifier 5. Findings included: Resident 5 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which consisted of generalized weakness, chronic kidney disease, depression, diabetes mellitus type 2, congestive heart failure, hypertension, gout, lower extremity edema, atrial fibrillation, infection of prosthetic right knee joint, morbid obesity, obstructive sleep apnea, cellulitis of the leg, and venous stasis ulcers of bilateral lower extremities. On 8/01/23, resident 5's medical records were reviewed. On 8/16/22, resident 5's physician ordered Quetiapine (Seroquel) 25…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-03 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 14 sampled residents, that the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, during wound care multiple observation were made of cross contamination and no hand hygiene was performed. Resident identifier 4. Findings included: Resident 4 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included Multiple Sclerosis, complex partial seizures, depression, urinary incontinence, chronic pain, history of urinary tract infection, inability to walk, hypoxia, diabetes mellitus type 2, and weight loss. On 7/31/23 12:50 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 4. Resident 4 stated she had a pressure ulcer on her behind, and she was not sure how often the dressing was changed. On 8/02/23, resident 4's medical records were reviewed. On 7/26/23, the Nurse…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-03 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolatedDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 of 5 sampled residents, that the facility failed to ensure each resident received the pneumococcal immunization when the resident consented to the immunization and when it was not contraindicated. Specifically, the facility failed to administer the pneumococcal immunization when the offer was accepted by the resident. Resident identifiers: 7 and 8. Findings included: 1. Resident 7 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which consisted of general weakness, congestive heart failure, hypertension, asthma, and obstructive sleep apnea. On 8/2/23 resident 7's medical records were reviewed. Review of resident 7's Immunization Screening dated 6/14/23 at 12:19 PM indicated, Patient agrees to a pneumococcal vaccine and A pneumococcal vaccine is indicated. Review of resident 8's Immunization history indicated the most recent pneumococcal vaccine was administered on 4/20/15. Review of resident 7's physician orders revealed an order for pneumococcal 20-valent…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2021-09-15 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, it was determined the facility did not store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, items within the facility's walk-in fridge were observed stored uncovered and unlabelled, and the sanitizer level within the dish machine and sanitizer buckets was not maintained at manufacturer recommended levels. Findings included: 1. On 9/13/21 at 12:32 PM, the facility's walk-in and reach-in refrigerators were examined. a. A sheet pan containing a quinoa, corn, and rice mixture was observed in the walk-in fridge uncovered and unlabelled. b. A plastic bag containing a section of ham was observed in the walk-in refrigerator left open to air. c. Within the walk-in freezer, doughs of flatbread were observed left open to air. d. Ciabatta bread and buns stored in the walk-in refrigerator had been opened and were found unlabelled with an opened on or used by date. A follow-up examination of the walk-in fridge took place on 9/14/21 at 1:21 PM. A container with baked beans was observed stored…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2021-09-15 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — patternDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility did not ensure that each resident's medical record included documentation that indicated the resident or resident's representative was provided education regarding the benefits and potential side effects of the influenza immunization. Specifically, for 4 out of 12 sampled residents, the medical record did not include the influenza informed consent that included information on influenza risks, benefits, and potential side effects. Resident identifier: 2, 7, 9, and 11. Findings include: 1. Resident 2 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included but not limited to heart failure and depression. Resident 2's medical record was reviewed on 9/14/21. A Progress Note dated 11/10/20, documented that resident 2 received the influenza vaccination on 11/10/20. Resident 2 gave written consent to receive the flu vaccination. Risk and benefits discussed. No documentation could be located or provided indicating that resident 2 had…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-09-15 · tag F0568 — isolatedProperly hold, secure, and manage each resident's personal money which is deposited with the nursing home.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility did not ensure the individual financial record was available to the resident through quarterly statements and upon request. Specifically, for 1 out of 12 sampled residents, the quarterly financial statements were not being issued. Resident identifier: 6. Resident 6 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included but not limited to anxiety, weakness, pain management, communication impairment, and hypothyroidism. On 9/13/21 at 2:21 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 6. Resident 6 stated she did not receive quarterly statements for the funds the facility managed for her. On 9/14/21 at 11:29 AM, an interview was conducted with the Recreational Therapy Aid (RTA). The RTA stated there was a safe under the desk in her office. The RTA stated she kept a ledger of funds that included how much each resident started with and how much money each resident currently had. The RTA stated the facility did not allow the residents to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ownership Data Not Available |
The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
What families pay in UT
CMS lists this home as Medicaid-certified only — it can accept Medicaid for long-term care, but it is not Medicare-certified, so Medicare will not pay for a short rehabilitation (“skilled nursing”) stay here. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Utah Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 46A072. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-06-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.