Bedford Co Nursing Home
1229 County Farm Road, Bedford, VA 24523 · Government - County · 90 certified beds · (540) 586-7658 Medicaid only — no Medicare
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- a high number of inspection citations overall (19) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (98%) runs well above the national median (45%)
- its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 2 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 10.2% | 14.9% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 3.4% | 5.4% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.4% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 4.4% | 1.6% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.8% | 18.7% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 6.9% | 3.6% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 11.5% | 15.6% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 22.0% | 20.6% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 96.5% | 94.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.2% | 4.7% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 14.4% | 21.8% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 21.2% | 14.2% | 17.1% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.71 | 1.52 | 1.67 | typical |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 2.73 | 1.48 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.32 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 54% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 90 beds and averages 76.7 residents a day — about 85% occupied, or roughly 13 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.98 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.53 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.48 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.48 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.18 on weekdays — 17% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.67 to 0.18 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 98% is well above the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
19 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 8 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · G2019-09-05 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to use footrest and a foot board/plate on a wheelchair to prevent accidents resulting in a clavicle fracture for one of 21 residents in the survey sample, Resident #15; and failed to ensure physician orders and ensure an assessment was completed for the use of a Broda specialized wheelchair, for one of 21 residents sample, Resident #37. The findings include: 1. Resident #15 was originally admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included Alzheimer' disease, acute embolism and thrombosis of deep veins - left lower extremity, edema, bipolar disorder, cardiac murmur, depression, hypertension and constipation. The most recent minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] was a quarterly assessment and assessed Resident #15 has having long and short term memory problems, moderately impaired for daily decision making and have continuous periods of inattention and disorganized thinking. Section G - Functional Status on the MDS assessed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-15 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to ensure an accurate clinical record for the one resident in the survey sample (Resident #1). The findings include: Resident #1 (R1) was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included congestive heart failure, ischemic heart disease, chronic kidney disease, peripheral artery disease, dementia, hypertension, anxiety, history of myocardial infarction and osteoarthritis. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed R1 with severely impaired cognitive skills. R1's closed clinical record documented a physician's order dated [DATE] changing the resident's resuscitation status from full code (requiring cardiopulmonary resuscitation) to do not resuscitate (DNR). R1's electronic health record viewed on [DATE] documented the resident's code status as do not intubate (DNI) and did not reflect the DNR status ordered on [DATE] that was in place of the time of R1's death on [DATE]. R1's face sheet, printed from the electronic health…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, facility document review, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to follow professional standards of practice during a medication pass on one of three units (100 unit). The findings include: A nurse documented that the medication Eliquis was administered to Resident #61 (R61) during an 8:00 a.m. medication pass when the medicine was omitted. The Eliquis was not administered to Resident #61 until 8/15/23 at 9:20 a.m. A medication pass observation was conducted 8/15/23 at 7:57 a.m., with licensed practical nurse (LPN #2) administering medications to R61. The medication Eliquis was omitted and not administered to R61 during the 8:00 a.m. medication pass. R61's clinical record documented a physician's order dated 7/3/23 for Eliquis 5 mg to be administered twice per day (at 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.) due to personal history of pulmonary embolism. On 8/15/23 at 8:53 a.m., LPN #2 was interviewed about the omitted Eliquis during R61's 8:00 a.m. medication pass. LPN #2…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-16 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to follow physician orders for one of twenty-four residents in the survey sample (Resident #10). The findings include: Resident #10 (R10) was observed during dining without food items cut in bite-sized pieces as ordered by the physician. R10 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included multiple sclerosis, dysphagia, dementia, psychotic disturbance, affective mood disorder, anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, hypertension, history of urinary tract infections and history of COVID-19. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed R10 with severely impaired cognitive skills. R10's clinical record documented a nursing note on 3/15/23 stating, Resident choking and coughing with each bite of food .MD .notified of choking episode, order to continue mechanical soft diet but cut meals into bite sized pieces. A physician's progress note dated 3/15/23 documented, Seen today for choking. Speech therapist witnessed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, clinical record review, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than five percent. Medication pass observations revealed four errors out of thirty three opportunities resulting in a 12.5% error rate. 1. Resident #69 (R69) Administration instructions were not followed, and the wrong dose of Flovent was administered. 2. Resident #61 (R61) extended release Metoprolol was crushed prior to administering, and Eliquis was not administered timely. The Findings Include: 1. During a medication pass and pour observation conducted on 815/23 at 8:00 AM, license practical nurse (LPN #1) began pulling medications out of the medication cart for R69 and handing the medications to this surveyor to document. One of the medications pulled from the medication cart was Flovent inhaler 44 MCG (micrograms). The label on the Flovent read Rinse and spit. LPN #1 administered Flovent to R69 and did not instruct R69 to rinse and spit after…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0810 — isolatedProvide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to provide an adaptive cup for one of twenty-four residents in the survey sample (Resident #180). The findings include: Resident #180 (R180) was not provided a two-handled sip cup as recommended by therapy and ordered by the physician. R180 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included Lewy body neurocognitive disorder, urinary tract infection, proctitis, anxiety, bipolar disorder, hypertension, asthma, depression and hypothyroidism. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed R180 with moderately impaired cognitive skills and with limited/impaired vision. R180's clinical record documented a rehabilitation therapy order signed by the physician on 11/9/22 for adaptive equipment that included a two-handled mug for meals. On 8/16/23 at 8:12 a.m., R180 was in bed with her breakfast tray in front of her on the over-bed table. R180 had a single handled standard mug of orange juice. R10's meal ticket included…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-08-05 · tag F0849 — patternArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to ensure professional standards of practice by a hospice provider for one of 19 residents in the survey sample, Resident #14. Records of weekly hospice visits for Resident #14, including nursing assessments and direct-care services were not provided to the facility as required in the hospice services agreement. The findings include: Resident #14 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included congestive heart failure, dementia, cardiomyopathy, atherosclerotic heart disease, hypertension, chronic kidney disease, anemia, diabetes, COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease), atrial fibrillation and hypothyroidism. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed Resident #14 with short and long-term memory problems and severely impaired cognitive skills. Resident #14's clinical record documented a physician's order dated 9/10/19 for hospice services. The resident's plan of care (revised…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-05 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and staff interview the facility staff failed to ensure a homelike environment on one of three nursing units. A resident room on unit 2 had damage to the entrance door, paint damage across the width of the restroom door and paint scraped from the wall beside the resident's bed. The findings include: On 8/3/21 at 11:20 a.m., room [ROOM NUMBER] on nursing unit two was inspected. The entrance door to the room was damaged with a chunk of wood missing from the door edge approximately 8 inches from the floor. The edges of the entrance doors were scraped and missing paint. An approximate 1-foot section across the width of the restroom door was scraped, damaged and missing paint near the floor. On the wall beside the left bed (left upon entrance to the room) was a section, approximately 2 feet wide, with scrapes and missing paint. This scraped section was irregular in shape and visible above the height of the bed mattress. On 8/5/21 at 8:47 a.m., accompanied by the facility's maintenance director…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-05 · tag F0645 — isolatedPASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a Level 1 Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) was completed before admission to the facility for one of 19 residents in the survey sample, Resident # 44. The findings were: Resident # 44 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], and most recently readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included Wernicke's Encephalopathy, bipolar disorder, depression, neurogenic bladder, hereditary ataxia, dementia, history of stress fractures of the left fingers, and Vitamin-D deficiency. According to the most recent Quarterly Minimum Data Set, with an Assessment Reference Date of 6/10/2021, the resident was assessed under Section C (Cognitive Patterns) as having short and long term memory problems with moderately impaired daily decision making skills. During review of Resident # 44's Electronic Health Record, it was revealed the record did not contain a completed PASARR. At approximately 9:20 a.m. on 8/4/2021, the Director of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-08-05 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to review and revise a comprehensive care plan for one of 19 in the survey sample, Resident #36. Resident #36's care plan was not reviewed and revised for code status change. The findings include: Resident #36 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included vascular dementia with behavioral disturbance, bipolar disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, osteoarthritis, edema, aphasia, and hypertension. The most recent minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] was the admission assessment and assessed Resident #36 as severely impaired for daily decision making with a score of 1 out of 15. On 08/04/2021 Resident #36's clinical record was reviewed. Observed on the physician's order report was the following order: Start Date - 06/03/2021. End Date - Open Ended. Code Status: DNR Observed on the care plans were the following two code status care plans: Code Status: DNR. Edited: 06/17/2021. Code Status: FULL CODE. Edited:…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-08-05 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to clarify a physician's order prior to administration of medication to one of seven residents in the medication pass, Resident #67. Resident #67 was administered ICaps multivitamin when the physician's order was for ICaps AREDS. The findings include: A medication pass observation was conducted on 8/4/21 at 7:27 a.m. with licensed practical nurse (LPN) #3 administering medications to Resident #67. Included in the medications administered to Resident #67 was a softgel ICaps multivitamin (10/2/280). Resident #67's clinical record documented a physician's order dated 7/7/21 for, ICaps AREDS (vitamins a, c, e-zinc-copper) capsule; 14, 320-226-200 unit-mg-unit; amt: 1 capsule; oral . The order required one capsule to be administered each day for treatment of macular degeneration. On 8/4/21 at 8:20 a.m., LPN #3 was interviewed about the administration of the ICaps multivitamin instead of the ICaps…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 8 citations
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2019-09-05 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — patternDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY 2. Resident #50 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Diagnoses for Resident #50 included Glaucoma, diabetes, dementia, and pneumonia. The most current MDS (minimum data set) was a quarterly assessment with an ARD (assessment reference date) of 7/24/19. Resident #50 was assessed as having short-term memory loss and moderately impaired cognitive skills. On 09/03/19 at 3:37 PM, an interview was conducted with Resident #50's husband. During the interview the husband mentioned that Resident #50 needed to be fed and sit up for an hour after eating due to having had aspiration pneumonia in March. Review of Resident #50's physician's orders evidenced an active order dated 3/17/19 for Aspiration Precautions. Review of Resident #50's care plan indicated that a care plan for nutrition was in place but did not evidence the care plan had been revised to reflect that Resident #50 had been placed on aspiration precautions. On 09/04/19 at 11:02 AM, the MDS coordinator (registered nurse, RN #1) was interviewed regarding up…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2019-09-05 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — patternProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, and clinical document review, facility staff failed to follow physician orders for 5 of 21 residents in the survey sample. Facility staff did not apply an edema sleeve for Resident #12, failed to apply geri sleeves for Resident #50, failed to notify the physician of elevated blood sugars for Resident #46 and failed to apply TED (compression) stockings for Residents #22 and #74. Findings included: 1. Resident #12 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including, but not limited to: Alzheimer's Disease, Bipolar Disease, Dementia, and Polyneuropathy. The most recent MDS (minimum data set) was an annual review with an ARD (assessment reference date) of 06/05/2019. Resident #12 was assessed as moderately impaired in his short and long term memory and daily decision making skills. Resident #12's clinical record was reviewed on 09/04/2019 at approximately 8:30 a.m. During this review, the POS (physician order sheet), dated 08/04/2019 - 09/04/2019 included the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-09-05 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and staff interview, the facility staff failed to ensure a dignified dining experience in the dining room for one of 20 residents on the second unit, Resident #9. Resident #9, who needed to be fed by staff, was kept waiting for seventeen minutes while all the other residents at the table and in the dining room were served and ate their meal. The findings include: At approximately 8:00 a.m., on 09/04/19, observations of the breakfast meal in the second unit dining room began. Each resident on the unit had an assigned seat at one of the tables, with three to six residents at each table. There were approximately 20 residents in the dining room for the breakfast meal observation. As residents began to arrive at a table, they were asked for their drink choices and then served their breakfast meal. During the observation there were 4 certified nursing assistants (CNA) and 1 activity assistant who were providing feeding assistance to the residents who required assistance. At 08:30 a.m., three…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-09-05 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to follow professional standards of care for two of 21 residents in the survey sample. Treatment records for Resident #22 and #74 were signed off by nursing indicating application of physician ordered devices when the items were not actually in use. The findings include: 1. Resident #22 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with a re-admission on [DATE]. Diagnoses for Resident #22 included peripheral vascular disease, generalized edema, dementia, atrial flutter, dermatitis, diverticulitis, heart disease and diabetes. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed Resident #22 with severely impaired cognitive skills and as requiring total assistance of one person for dressing. Resident #22's clinical record documented a physician's order dated 7/11/17 for TED support hose on each morning and off each evening for treatment of edema. The clinical record also documented a physician's order dated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-09-05 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolatedProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to apply a physician ordered hand brace for one of 21 residents in the survey sample (Resident #22). The findings include: Resident #22 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with a re-admission on [DATE]. Diagnoses for Resident #22 included peripheral vascular disease, generalized edema, dementia, atrial flutter, dermatitis, diverticulitis, heart disease and diabetes. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed Resident #22 with severely impaired cognitive skills and as requiring total assistance for dressing. Resident #22's clinical record documented a physician's order dated 11/16/18 for resident to wear a WHFO (wrist/hand/finger orthosis) brace to right hand as tolerated. On 9/4/19 at 8:00 a.m., Resident #22 was observed in the dining room without the hand brace in place. On 9/4/19 at 9:30 a.m., Resident #22 was observed in his room with no hand brace in place on his right hand. On 9/4/19 at 9:45 a.m., the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-09-05 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolatedProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation staff interview, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to store and prepare food in a sanitary manner. Seventeen 0.5 oz. (ounce) cartons of Lactaid milk, with expired discard dates, were stored and available for use in the main kitchen's walk-in refrigerator. The findings include: On 09/03/19 at 10:35 a.m., accompanied by the dietary manager, the facility's main kitchen was inspected. Stored in the walk-in refrigerator were seventeen 0.5 oz (ounce) cartons of Lactaid milk with the discard date of 08/22/19. On 09/03/19 at 10:45 a.m., the dietary manager was interviewed about the seventeen 0.5 oz cartons of expired Lactaid milk. The dietary manager stated kitchen employees were supposed to check the walk-in refrigerator daily for expired items and discard them as needed. The dietary manager stated the item was originally ordered for one specific resident, however it was later determined the resident did not drink milk and currently there were not any other residents in the facility who requested or required Lactaid milk. The dietary manager was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2023-08-16 · tag F0851 — widespreadElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility document review and staff interview, the facility staff failed to submit payroll data prior to the deadline for quarter January 1 through March 31, 2023. The findings include: The PBJ (payroll-based journal) data report for the facility's fiscal year quarter 2 (1/1/23 through 3/31/23) documented no data regarding excessively low weekend staffing, RN (registered nurse) hours or licensed nursing coverage 24 hours per day. On 8/16/23 at 9:40 a.m., the business office manager (other staff #4) and the administrator were interviewed about the missing PBJ data for March quarter 2023. The business office manager stated she usually gathered data, placed in a zip file and then posted to the website. The business office manager stated when the posting was complete, she usually got a submission verification. The business office manager stated for March 2023 quarter, she did not get a submission confirmation after sending the data. The business office manager stated that she did not realize the data posting did not go through until after deadline for submission. The business…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2019-09-05 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on review of the facility's Infection Prevention and Control Program, the Antimicrobial Stewardship Program, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure both programs were reviewed and approved by the Medical Director, and failed to ensure both programs were formally adopted as facility policy. The findings were: 1. During review of the facility's Infection Prevention and Control Program (IPCP), it was noted there was no documentation indicating the program had been reviewed by the Medical Director, or that it had been formally adopted as facility policy. At approximately 9:45 a.m. on 9/4/19, the facility's Administrator was asked if he could provide any evidence that the IPCP had been reviewed by the Medical Director and formally adopted as facility policy. At 2:00 p.m. on 9/4/19, the Administrator stated that he was unable to find any evidence the IPCP had been reviewed by the Medical Director, or that it had been formally adopted as facility policy. 2. During review of the facility's Antimicrobial Stewardship Program, it was noted the program was provided by the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ownership Data Not Available |
The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
What families pay in VA
CMS lists this home as Medicaid-certified only — it can accept Medicaid for long-term care, but it is not Medicare-certified, so Medicare will not pay for a short rehabilitation (“skilled nursing”) stay here. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Virginia Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 49E004. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-08-16, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.