No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

The Springs Nursing & Rehab Center

167 Spring Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 · Non profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (540) 839-2299 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (540) 839-2299 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Mar 2021
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Mar 2021
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
609 Church St · (540) 862-8860 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
2833 Main St · (540) 839-2322 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
9110 Sam Snead Hwy · (540) 839-2221 · Call to confirm hours
Park
65 Panther Dr · (540) 839-7211 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased7.2%14.9%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.1%5.4%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.4%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.9%1.6%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms14.8%18.7%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury2.8%3.6%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened11.9%15.6%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication34.1%20.6%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.0%4.7%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control25.5%21.8%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table19.0%14.2%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.3%1.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.811.521.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.691.481.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.38U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.14hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.24hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.38 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 66% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.78
RN hours/ resident / day
1.05
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.09
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.91
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.46
RN hoursweekends
47.4%
Total nursing turnover
63.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 55.2 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.91 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.78 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.09 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.49 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.09 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.90 to 0.46 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 47% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

5
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2023-09-20)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2022-08-10)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-09-20 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to store food properly in the main kitchen; dried food and meat were not labeled. The Findings Include: On 9/18/23 at 11:45 AM, the initial kitchen tour was conducted with the dietary manager (other staff, OS #2). The dry storage room yielded opened bulk bags of sugar, powdered gravy, and flour without dates indicating when the item was opened or when the item was to be used by. When asked about the opened containers, OS #2 said that the items should have been dated with an open date and an use by date. The reach-in refrigerator was then observed, a storage bag of approximately 15 leftover cooked pork links was also found without a label indicating when it was placed in the refrigerator (opened) or the use by date. OS #2 verbalized that the bag should have been labeled with the item contents and a use by date. OS #2 then took the bag from the refrigerator and disposed of it. On 9/19/23 at 4:00 PM, the administrator and director of nursing were notified of the above finding. A facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-09-20 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — pattern
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, staff interview, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to accurately assess and document pnemococcal vaccine status for one of five resident records reviewed: Resident # 17. Findings include: On 9/19/23 beginning at 11:00 a.m., five resident records were reviewed for immunization status. Resident # 17 was identified as having no documentation of either having been administered or having declined the pneumonia vaccine. On 9/19/23 at 1:30 p.m., the DON (director of nursing) was asked for assistance in locating the information. On 9/20/23 at 8:30 a.m., the DON stated, I have a declination form in my notebook that was signed by the son on 5/29/23. I became DON in March 2023 and started looking at all of this, which is when I got the signed declination form . The DON was then questioned about the MDS (minimum data set) assessment for Resident # 17; noting the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE], the admission MDS assessment for Section O0300 documented…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-20 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on employee file review and staff interview, the facility staff failed to follow the abuse policy for two of 25 employee files reviewed. Two employee files did not have a background investigation check obtained. Findings include: On 9/19/23 beginning at 2:00 p.m., 25 employee files were reviewed. Two files did not include background investigation checks. On 9/19/23 at 3:20 p.m., the payroll/benefit administrator, identified as Other Staff (OS) # 1, was interviewed. OS # 1 stated, We looked at that, and the previous human resource person did not print it off. I have the print out that the money and forms were sent, but if I print off the reference check, it will have today's date since it wasn't printed off and filed in the employee's record at the time it came back. The DON (director of nursing) was asked for a copy of the abuse policy 9/19/23 at 3:45 p. m. The policy Abuse,Neglect, and Exploitation included I. Screening. A. Potential employees will be screened for a history of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or misappropriation of resident property. 1. Background, reference,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-20 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for one of twenty residents (Resident #7). The findings include: Resident #7 (R7) had no care plan developed regarding moisture associated skin damage (MASD). R7 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included dementia with agitation, gastroesophageal reflux disease, hypertension, diabetes, major depressive disorder, dysphagia, chronic kidney disease, restless leg syndrome and atrial fibrillation. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed R7 with severely impaired cognitive skills, always incontinent of bladder, occasionally incontinent of bowel, and as requiring extensive assistance of one person for toileting. R7's clinical record documented a 8/26/23 nursing note which read in part, CNA [certified nurses' aide] alerted this nurse of resident with scant amount of bleeding present on resident's brief when being taken to the shower. Resident was assessed to find a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-20 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, facility document review, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to assess and/or initiate treatment for skin impairments for two of twenty residents (Resident #7 and #9) and failed to follow standards of care for medication administration during a medication pass observation on one of two units (100 hall). The findings include: 1. Resident #7 (R7) had no initial or ongoing assessments of an open skin area/rash on the buttocks that was treated daily by nursing staff. R7 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included dementia with agitation, gastroesophageal reflux disease, hypertension, diabetes, major depressive disorder, dysphagia, chronic kidney disease, restless leg syndrome and atrial fibrillation. The minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed R7 with severely impaired cognitive skills, always incontinent of bladder, occasionally incontinent of bowel, and as requiring extensive assistance of one person for toileting. R7's clinical record…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2022-08-10 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview, and review of facility documents, the facility failed to ensure food was stored in a manner to ensure food safety, and kitchen staff failed follow proper handwashing procedures. The findings were: 1. At approximately 9:30 a.m. on 8/9/2022, during a tour of the Kitchen, the following was observed in the reach-in cooler: An open package of lunch meat in a zip-lock bag was undated. Asked about the lunch meat, the Dietary Manager said, That's sliced ham. An open package of grated cheese, identified by the Dietary Manager as Mozzarella, wrapped in saran wrap was undated. An open package of grated cheese, identified by the Dietary Manager as Parmesan, wrapped in saran wrap was undated. An open package of lunch meat, identified by the Dietary Manger as sliced turkey, wrapped in saran wrap was undated. A pitcher, approximately one-quarter full of what appeared to be orange drink, was not labeled or dated. A pitcher full of what appeared to be fruit drink was not labeled or dated. The Dietary Manager acknowledged the food items were not dated or…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0563 — failed to protect the right to visitors — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to receive visitors of his or her choosing, at the time of his or her choosing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on complaint investigation, clinical record review, staff interview, and family interview, the facility staff failed for one of 18 residents in the survey sample, Resident # 58, to offer compassionate care visits. The family of Resident # 58 was not offered compassionate care visits while visitation in the facility was restricted. The findings were: Resident # 58 was admitted with diagnosed that included chronic systolic congestive heart failure, hypertension, chronic atrial fibrillation, dysphagia, moderate protein-calorie malnutrition, hypothyroidism, chronic respiratory failure with hypoxia, pneumonia, and generalized muscle weakness. The resident was in the facility for five days and left before completion of the admission Minimum Data Set. According to a complaint narrative written by the resident's daughter-in-law, the resident was married for 67 years and was upset that, due to COVID, was only able to visit his wife through a window. The daughter-in-law also wrote that during telephone conversation, the resident said, I just want to go ahead and die, and was begging to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility failed to ensure an accurate MDS (minimum data set) assessment for one of 18 resident's in the survey sample. Resident #59's discharge MDS assessment was coded as being discharged to the hospital instead of home. The Findings Include: Diagnoses for Resident #59 included: Compression fracture, dementia, adult failure to thrive, and dehydration. The most current MDS (minimum data set) was an admission assessment with an ARD (assessment reference date) of 3/17/22. Resident #59's cognitive score was a 11 indicating moderately cognitively intact. During a closed record review, Resident #59 was added to the sample as a hospital discharge review. On 8/10/22 Resident #59's clinical record was reviewed. Section A2100 of Resident #59's discharge MDS (dated 5/26/22) documented Resident #59 had been discharged to Acute Hospital. Review of Resident #59's progress notes dated 5/26/22 read in part Resident being discharged to home today. On 08/10/22 at 2:15 PM, during a meeting with the director of nursing, administrator, and unit…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0644 — isolated
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview, clinical record review and facility document review, the facility staff failed to ensure one of 18 residents (Resident #32) had a targeted resident review coordinated with the appropriate state designated authority according to the Level II PASARR (pre-admission screening and resident review). Findings include: Resident #32's diagnoses included, but were not limited to: major depressive disorder, severe recurrent psychotic symptoms, dependent personality disorder, and bipolar disorder. The resident's most recent MDS (minimum data set) was an annual assessment dated [DATE]. This MDS assessed the resident with a cognitive score of 15 indicating the resident was intact for daily decision making skills. This MDS also assessed the resident with major depressive disorder, recurrent, severe with psych symptoms in Section I. (I0020B. Primary Medical Condition ICD). Resident #32 triggered in the LTCSP system for 'No PASARR with diagnoses'. The resident's clinical records were reviewed and no…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-08-10 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility failed to develop care plans for two of 18 resident's in the survey sample. Resident #7 did not have a care plan for antidepressant medication and mood. Resident #27 did not have a complete care plan for tube feeding care and management. The Findings Include: 1. Diagnoses for Resident #7 included: Respiratory failure, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, anxiety, and depression. The most current MDS (minimum data set) was a quarterly assessment with an ARD (assessment reference date) of 6/5/22. Resident #7's cognitive score was a 15 indicating cognitively intact. Section D0200 (B) documented Resident #7 had felt down, depressed, or hopeless 7 to 11 days of the 14 day look back period. On 8/10/22 Resident #7's physician orders were reviewed and documented Sertraline 200 MG (milligrams) and Trazadone 100 MG (antidepressants) were ordered daily for depression and anxiety. Resident #7's care plan was then reviewed and did not evidence a care plan…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 6 citations
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolated
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, clinical record review and facility document review, the facility staff failed to ensure specific physician's orders and interventions were in place for the the care, treatment and management of a gastrostomy tube for one of 18 residents in the survey sample, Resident #27. Findings include: Resident #27's diagnoses included, but were not limited to: history of cerebral infarct (stroke) due to occlusion/stenosis, moderate intellectual disability, contractures, chronic respiratory failure, chronic pain syndrome, epilepsy, GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease), persistent vegetative state, abdominal distention, dysphagia and presence of gastronomy (peg) tube. The resident's most current MDS (minimum data set) was a quarterly assessment dated [DATE]. This MDS assessed the resident's cognitive status as '00', indicating the resident had severe impairment in daily decision making skills. The resident was also assessed as requiring total assistance from two or three staff for all…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-03-23 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview, family interview, clinical record review, facility document review and in the course of a complaint investigation, the facility staff failed to ensure one of 14 residents (Resident #2) was free from neglect. Facility staff failed to get an order for a urinalysis for Resident #2 after a request by the family. Resident #2, who had a history of urinary tract infections, subsequently was admitted to the hospital and treated for a urinary tract infection a week later. Findings include: Resident #2 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with the most current readmission on [DATE]. Diagnoses for Resident #2 included, but were not limited to: dementia, high blood pressure, history of stroke with left side hemiparesis/hemiplegia, depression, psychotic disorder, history of nausea with vomiting and UTI (urinary tract infection). The most current MDS (minimum data set) was a quarterly review dated 12/31/20. This MDS assessed the resident as having long and short term memory impairment and modified…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-03-23 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolated
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on resident interview, clinical record review, facility document review and staff interview, the facility staff failed for one of 14 residents to conduct a complete and thorough investigation for an injury sustained during an altercation between a resident and a staff member. Resident #7 sustained a large bruise covering the left eye. The Findings Include: Resident #7 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Diagnoses for Resident #7 included: Dementia with behaviors, mild cognitive impairment, impulse disorder, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. The most current MDS (minimum data set) was an annual assessment with an ARD (assessment reference date) of 3/12/21. Resident #7 was assessed with a cognitive score of 14 indicating cognitively intact. On 03/21/21 at 11:24 AM, Resident #7 was interviewed. During the interview Resident #7 was observed with a fading bruise surrounding the left eye. When asked about the bruise Resident #7 said a woman hit him about 2 weeks ago. Resident #7 was asked if the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-03-23 · tag F0622 — isolated
    Not transfer or discharge a resident without an adequate reason; and must provide documentation and convey specific information when a resident is transferred or discharged.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to ensure documentation regarding transfer was in the clinical record for one of 14 residents, Resident #45. Resident #45 was transferred to another skilled nursing facility; there was no documentation in the clinical record regarding coordination of care and service needs of the resident prior to her discharge. Findings were: Resident #45 was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] and most recently readmitted on [DATE]. Her diagnoses included, but were not limited to: COVID-19, hypertension, dementia with behavioral disturbances, osteoarthritis, incontinence, and depressive disorder. A quarterly MDS (minimum data set) with an ARD (assessment reference date) of 01/15/2021, assessed Resident #45 as having problems with both long and short term memory, as well as moderately impaired with daily decision making skills. The clinical record was reviewed on 03/22/2021 beginning at approximately 2:15 p.m. The progress note section on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-03-23 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to follow professional standards during a medication pass and pour observation, for one of 14 residents, Resident #22 License practical nurse (LPN #1) was going to give Resident #22 the wrong dose of Tylenol. The findings include: On 03/22/21 at 8:31 AM, during an observation of a medication pass and pour, LPN #1 began pulling medications out for Resident #22. One of the medications scheduled to be given was Tylenol. LPN #1 pulled a bulk bottle of Tylenol was observed and documented the dosage at 500 MG (milligrams) per tablet. Review of the electronic Medication Administration Record (MAR) documented to give 1000 MG. LPN #1 continued to dispense 4 Tylenol pills (equaling 2000 MG) into a medication cup along with other medications. LPN #1 then locked the cart and stepped away from the medication cart. LPN #1 was asked Are you ready to give the medications. LPN #1 said Yes. LPN #1 was then asked to stop and review the dosage on the bottle of Tylenol. After LPN #1 reviewed the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-03-23 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview and facility document review, the facility staff failed to ensure drugs and biologicals were stored properly in the facility's medication room. The facility failed to ensure an expired multi dose vial of influenza and a multi dose via of tuberculin were not available for administration; and failed to ensure a 30 ml bottle of Lorazepam concentrate belonging to a deceased resident, was not available for administration. Findings include: On [DATE] at 8:00 AM, the facility's medication room was observed with RN (Registered Nurse) #4. In the refrigerator was an opened multi dose vial of influenza, with an open date on the bottle and the box of [DATE]. A multi dose vial of opened TB (tuberculin) was labeled with an open date of [DATE]. The vial box was also labeled with the same date. A 30 ml bottle of Lorazepam concentrate was in the locked compartment of the refrigerator, the bottle had not been opened. The Lorazepam had a fill date of [DATE]. RN #4 was asked if this resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
Ownership Data Not Available

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.4M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-1.3%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$302K
Related-party expense5% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 80%Medicare 4%Other / private 16%

About 80% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $302K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$320per resident / day
operating cost
$9,721per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$316per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in VA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Virginia Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Virginia
$10,250/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,680/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,945/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 495220. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-09-20, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next