No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Aria at Villa Pines

201 Park St., Friendship, WI 53934 · For profit - Individual · 50 certified beds · (608) 339-3361 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (608) 339-3361 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citations — no harm found (F0609, F0610) — most recent Apr 2026
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
402 W Lake St · (608) 339-3331 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
403 Gateway Ave · (608) 847-7814 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
215 W North St · (608) 339-6703 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased26.7%16.1%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.0%5.1%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%2.1%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.1%2.7%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms4.5%5.7%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.0%3.3%3.3%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened16.3%18.4%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication17.4%16.9%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.4%5.0%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control17.3%24.6%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table8.2%15.8%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%82.2%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission34.5%23.1%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit18.6%15.5%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.671.661.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.702.291.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

57.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 42 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

57.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
57.1%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.37U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.16hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.16hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.05hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 57.1% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 21 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.37 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 64% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 13% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF57.5%CMS range 42.7–73.251.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 6.7–15.310.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge57.1%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge47.6%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge57.1%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened3.3%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.1%CMS range 4.0–13.67.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.241.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.48
RN hours/ resident / day
0.21
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.75
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.45
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
1.04
RN hoursweekends
45.7%
Total nursing turnover
57.9%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 50 beds and averages 32.0 residents a day — about 64% occupied, or roughly 18 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.45 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.48 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.75 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.57 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.80 on weekdays — 25% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.66 to 1.04 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 46% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

9
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-22)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2025-02-27)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-04-22 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not maintain a safe and sanitary environment in which food is prepared, stored, and distributed. This has the potential to affect all 33 residents who reside in the facility.Surveyor observed the stove hood to have dust directly above the food preparation area and attached to the light fixtures, the sprinklers, the 5-foot shelving, and a metal box.Surveyor observed the facility's stand mixer to be stored with a plastic covering. When staff removed the plastic covering, Surveyor observed food particles on the undercarriage. Surveyor observed one dented can in circulation.Evidenced by:Example 1Facility policy, titled Cleaning Instructions: Hoods and Filters, includes: . To clean the interior and exterior of the hood, use a cloth soaked in soapy detergent water. Rinse thoroughly and air dry. A more abrasive cleaning agent may be needed in some cases. A cleaning agent that can handle grease may be needed. Hoods and filters should be cleaned professionally at least yearly.On 4/20/26 at 9:43 AM, Surveyor and DM J…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-04-22 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Number of residents sampled:Number of residents cited:Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility did no establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infection. This has potential to affect the census of 33 residents. The facility did not add the residents with COVID infection during an outbreak to the January infection Control Rates. CNA F (Certified Nursing Assistant) had a breach in infection control when performing pericare (cleansing of the genital area) and catheter care (cleansing of the catheter tubing). Evidenced by: Facility policy Management of Covid-19, Influenza, and other ARI Outbreak, revised 11/11/25 states in part: .7. The Infection Preventionist/Designee will intitiate tracking log/line lists. Facility policy Infection Prevention and Control-Surveillance of Infections, revised 11/11/25 states, in part: .11. Outbreak Resolution d. Complete all section of log. e. Complete the monthly…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-22 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolated
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not immediately notify and consult with a resident's physician when there was a change in condition. This occurred for 1 of 15 Residents (R16) reviewed for notification of change in condition.R16 had weight gains or losses greater than three pounds in one day and a physician was not notified as ordered.This is evidenced by: The facility's policy, titled Change of Condition Process, effective 3/1/21, states in part: Policy Statement: The purpose of this policy is to promptly implement a system for a resident having a change in condition. A change in condition is defined as an improvement or decline in their physical, mental, or psychosocial status. Procedure: Change of Condition: 1. When a change of condition or change from baseline is observed and reported, the licensed nurse is responsible for evaluating the Resident's condition. Examples of a condition change are as follows, but not limited to: a. Weight loss, gain or change in appetite. 3. The physician…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-22 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment, are reported immediately to the administrator of the facility and to other officials, including the State Survey Agency, in accordance with State law through established procedures for 1 of 3 incidents reviewed, affecting 1 of 2 residents (R34).R34 had a potential allegation of abuse and the facility did not submit a report to the State Agency (SA).Evidenced by:The facility's Abuse Prevention Program, undated, states, in part: This facility affirms the right of our residents to be free from abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of property or mistreatment. This facility therefore prohibits abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of property, and mistreatment of residents. In order to do so, the facility has attempted to establish a resident sensitive and secure environment. The purpose of this policy is to assure that the facility is going all that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-22 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolated
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not complete a thorough investigation in response to allegations of abuse for 1 of 3 incidents reviewed affecting 1 of 2 residents (R34).On 3/12/26, the facility became aware of an alleged violation of abuse for R34. The facility did not interview other residents and staff about the allegation.Evidenced by:The facility's Abuse Prevention Program, undated, states, in part: This facility affirms the right of our residents to be free from abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of property or mistreatment. This facility therefore prohibits abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of property, and mistreatment of residents. In order to do so, the facility has attempted to establish a resident sensitive and secure environment. The purpose of this policy is to assure that the facility is going all that is within its control to prevent occurrences of abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of property, and mistreatment of residents. This will be…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-04-22 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure adequate interventions were in place for safety to prevent accidents from occurring for 1 of 1 resident (R25) reviewed for elopement. The facility did not ensure that R25 was wearing a WanderGuard each shift from 12/23/25 to present. Evidenced by: The facility policy entitled Elopement Prevention and Missing Resident Policy, revised on 10/10/25. Policy states in part: .Residents who are at risk for elopement shall be provided with at least one of the following safety precautions. 1. A WanderGuard device that will notify facility staff when the resident has left the building without supervision. All WanderGuard safety devices and door alarms should be placed appropriately and maintained and tested per the manufacturer's instructions as part of the facilities Prevention Maintenance Program. The regular testing of all Wander Guard safety devices shall be documented and included as part of the Preventative Maintenance Program. R25 was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-22 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility did not ensure that a resident who needs respiratory care is provided such care consistent with professional standards of practice for 1 of 1 Residents (R7) reviewed for oxygen.R7 did not have oxygen tubing changed on a weekly basis.Evidenced by:The facility's Oxygen Tubing Change Procedure policy, undated, states, in part: Purpose: To ensure safe, sanitary, and effective delivery of oxygen therapy while minimizing the risk of infection and equipment malfunction. Policy Statement: Oxygen delivery devices (including cannulas, masks, and tubing) will be changed routinely and as needed based on resident condition, infection control standards, and manufacturer recommendations. Procedure 1. Routine Tubing Change Frequency- Oxygen tubing and delivery devices shall be changed: . *Every 14 days if humidification is in use. *Per manufacturer recommendations if more stringent .R7 admitted to the facility on [DATE] and has diagnoses that include, in part:…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-22 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure pharmaceutical services (including procedures that assure the accurate acquiring, receiving, dispensing, and administering of all drugs and biologicals) to meet the needs of each resident. This affected 1 of 1 sampled residents (R8) reviewed for medication errors.R8 was given morphine sulfate oral solution (an opioid prescribed to relieve pain) after the printed expiration date on the medication card.This is evidenced by:The facility's policy, titled Medication Storage in the Facility, revised 1/18, states in part: Policy: Medications and biologicals are stored safely, securely, and properly, following manufacturer's recommendations or those of the supplier. Procedures:. H. Outdated, contaminated, or deteriorated medications.are immediately removed from inventory, disposed of according to procedures for medication disposal, and reordered from the pharmacy, if a current order exists.Expiration Dating (Beyond-use dating): A. Expiration dated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-22 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure that it was free of medication error rates of 5% or greater. There were 2 errors out of 25 opportunities with an error rate of 8%. R 21 received isosorbide mononitrate ER (extended release) 30 mg tab crushed.R15 received 24-hour metoprolol succinate 25 mg ER tablet crushed. Evidenced by:Facility policy titled Medication Administration-General Guidelines dated Dec. 2019 states in part: .Orders to crush medications should not be applied to medications which, if crushed, present a risk to the resident. For example: 1. Long-acting or enteric-coated dosage forms should not be crushed. An alternative should be sought. Example 1 R21's physician order states Isosorbide Mononitrate ER Oral Tablet Extended Release 24-hour 30 mg. (Isosorbide Mononitrate). Give 60 mg by mouth one time a day for essential HTN. R21's Medication Administration Record (MAR) for 4/21/26, shows: Isosorbide Mononitrate ER oral Tablet Extended Release 24 hour 30 MG (Isosorbide Mononitrate) Give 60 mg by mouth one time a day for essential…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-16 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not make prompt efforts to document, investigate, and resolve grievances a resident may have for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for grievances (R2). R2 voiced a grievance to the facility, and the facility did not complete appropriate interviews or provide follow up with the complainant after the conclusion of the investigation. Evidenced by: The facility's policy titled Grievance Policy dated 4/1/25 states in part .4. The Grievance Officer will route the grievance to the appropriate department head related to the grievance filed, and an investigation of the grievance will be conducted. Based on the nature of the grievance, the Grievance Officer will initiate any additional interventions that are indicated at that time.When indicated, a review of the resident's medical record to obtain information regarding the resident's clinical condition will be completed.5. After thorough research has been conducted, the Department Head and/ or Grievance officer will work with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-05 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — isolated
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure for 2 of 7 residents (R2 and R5), each resident received food with at a palatable temperature. An anonymous complainant voiced concerns regarding food temperatures. R2 and R5 voiced concern related to cold food. Test tray found food was not served at appropriate temperatures. In addition, the cauliflower/broccoli was mushy. Evidenced byFacility policy, Food Temperatures, undated, states, as follows: Procedure: All hot food items must be cooked to appropriate internal temperatures, held and served at a temperature of at least 135 degrees F (Fahrenheit). All cold food items must be stored and served at a temperature of 41 degrees F or below. Food preparation and service areas will follow these methods: Hold foods at or below 41 degrees F for cold foods and at or above 135 degrees F for hot foods (to keep food out of the temperature danger zone.)The facility serves the halls in the following order: 300, 100, 200. Surveyor requested a room test tray after all the residents on the 200 wing were served…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-02-19 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. This has the potential to affect all 26 residents. Surveyor observed [NAME] J use single use alcohol pads multiple times. [NAME] J did not allow thermometer to air dry before using it in different dishes. Surveyor observed 3 utensils to have pieces missing from them and in circulation. Surveyor observed food to be removed from original container, undated, and not closed properly in freezer. Surveyor observed food in refrigerator past the use by date. Evidenced by: Example 1 Manufacturer's recommendations for use of Medline Large Alcohol Prep Pad, 70% isopropyl alcohol, dated ., includes: Sterile pads are packaged in single-use packs for convenience . This product is intended for use on the body only. Safety Data Sheet for Medline Large Alcohol Prep Pad, revised 1/5/24, includes: . May be harmful if swallowed . Wash thoroughly with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-02-19 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure each resident receives adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents for 2 of 6 residents reviewed for accidents (R12 and R14). Surveyor observed R14 to be seated next to a charging electric power wheelchair in a common tv room. R12 is at risk for aspiration pneumonia and Surveyor observed CNA L (Certified Nursing Assistant) assisting R12 with his meal in a reclining position in bed and not upright. Surveyor observed CNA L to be organizing R12's room instead of supervising him and assisting him with his meal. CNA L did not use the care planned adaptive equipment, a plastic spoon. CNA L did not assist R12 in putting ½ teaspoon sized bites on his spoon. R12 had seven (7) coughing episodes during observation. Example 1 Facility policy, entitled Electric Power Wheelchair, reviewed October 2023, includes, in part: charging of electric wheelchairs will be done in a designated area . R14 admitted to the facility on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-02-19 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 2 (R23 and R12) of 5 opportunities and 1 (R10) of 1 supplemental for hand hygiene for sampled residents. Surveyor had an observation of multiple breaks in appropriate infection control practice for handwashing and catheter care for R23. Surveyor had an observation of a break in appropriate infection practice by not wearing gloves when administering R10's eye drops. Surveyor observed CNA L (Certified Nursing Assistant) wearing gloves assisting R12 with his meal and touching dirty linens and other things around R12's room without removing gloves and without handwashing. This is evidenced by: The facility's policy, entitled Hand Hygiene, dated 6/23, states, in part . Policy: All staff will perform proper hand hygiene procedures to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2024-02-19 · tag F0732 — widespread
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure that nursing staffing information was accurate and current. This has the potential to affect all 26 residents in the facility. The facility's nursing staff information postings were not updated daily. This is evidenced by: Division of Quality Assurance (DQA) memo 12-020 titled, Clarification Concerning Posting Requirements for Nurse Staffing documents: Required Staffing Information .Nursing homes must post information about the number of staff directly responsible for resident care on each shift. This information must be posted in a prominent place, readily accessible to residents and visitors at the start of each shift . The information that is posted must include the following . 1. Facility name. 2. The current date. 3. The total number of staff directly responsible for resident care per shift for each of the following categories: licensed (RNs (Registered Nurse), LPNs (Licensed Practical Nurse), and unlicensed (CNAs (Certified Nursing Assistant)). (For example, 1 RN, 2 LPNs, and 4.5 CNAs.) The number…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
EEF CAPITAL LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST40%since 06/01/2018
SNJ WISCONSIN LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST60%since 06/01/2018
SCHLAFF, BENNYIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 06/01/2018
SCHLAFF, NACHUMIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 06/01/2018
SILVERBERG, NISANELIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEENO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 06/01/2018

CMS files one row per role, so the 6 rows in the source record cover these 5 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$4.0M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-13.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 68%Medicare 10%Other / private 22%

A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$402per resident / day
operating cost
$12,215per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$354per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in WI

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Wisconsin Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Wisconsin
$10,646/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,319/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,540/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 525351. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-22, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next