No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Magnolia Manor Of Marion County

349 Geneva Road, Buena Vista, GA 31803 · Non profit - Corporation · 70 certified beds · (229) 649-7100 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (229) 649-7100 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0609) — cited Jul 2023Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (35% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Urgent care / clinic
115 Broad St · (229) 800-5488 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
128 Broad St · (229) 649-3784 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1062 GA Highway 41 N · (229) 649-5252 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1209 Fall Line Fwy W · (478) 394-5298 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased17.0%15.3%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight2.8%5.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.9%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.6%2.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms6.4%11.3%6.5%typical
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.1%3.2%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened6.7%15.2%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication25.5%20.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.3%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.2%5.6%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control18.1%15.8%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table14.9%19.9%17.1%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine71.0%78.4%79.4%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.922.151.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.861.901.80typical

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

11.0%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.07U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.04hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.07 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 3% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.0%CMS range 6.9–17.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.661.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.62
RN hours/ resident / day
1.18
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.85
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.65
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.20
RN hoursweekends
35.3%
Total nursing turnover
55.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 70 beds and averages 63.8 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.65 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.62 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.85 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.91 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.95 on weekdays — 21% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.79 to 0.20 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 35% is below the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-01-29)
5
at the previous standard inspection (2025-01-16)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-29 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to develop and/or implement a comprehensive care plan related to fall prevention and contracture management for two residents (R) (R9 and R16) from a sample of 29 residents. The deficient practice had the potential to prevent residents from reaching their highest practicable level of functioning and compromise resident safety. Findings include:1. Review of R9's Face Sheet located in the electronic medical record (EMR) under the Face Sheet tab revealed R9 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of but not limited to dementia with agitation, diabetes, and peripheral vascular disease.Review of R9's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 11/05/25 and located under the RAI [Resident Assessment Instrument] tab of the EMR revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of seven out of 15 which indicated moderate cognitive impairment. Review of R9's Care Plan dated 07/19/2025 revealed,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-01-29 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure medications were held according to parameters ordered by the physician for one of five residents (R) (R9) reviewed for unnecessary medications. The deficient practice increased the potential risk of adverse clinical outcomes.Findings include:Review of R9's Face Sheet located in the electronic medical record (EMR) under the Face Sheet tab revealed admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including but not limited to essential primary hypertension, dementia with agitation, diabetes, and peripheral vascular disease.Review of R9's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 11/05/2025 and located under the RAI [Resident Assessment Instrument] tab of the EMR revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of seven out of 15 which indicated moderate cognitive impairment. Review of R9's Orders tab of the EMR revealed a physician's order dated 07/11/2025, for carvedilol (medication to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-29 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure one resident (R) (R16) from a sample of 29 residents received appropriate services for a contracture. This deficient practice had the potential for worsening contracture of the right hand and prevent maximum practicable level of function.Findings include:Review of R16's Face Sheet located in the electronic medical records (EMR) under the Resident tab indicated an admission date of 12/14/2022, with diagnoses of but not limited to chronic kidney disease and type 2 diabetes.Review of R16's annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) located in the EMR under the RAI tab with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 12/05/2025 indicated a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of two which indicated severe cognitive impairment.Review of R16's annual Care Area Assessment (CAA) located in the EMR under the RAI tab with an assessment date of 11/19/2025, documented the resident was at risk for functional decline because of contractures.Review of R16's Care Plan located in the EMR under the RAI tab revealed no mention…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-29 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure identified fall prevention interventions were implemented for one of three residents (R) (R9) reviewed for falls. The deficient practice increased the risk of falls for R9.Findings include:Review of R9's Face Sheet located in the electronic medical record (EMR) under the Face Sheet tab revealed R9 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of but not limited to dementia with agitation, diabetes, and peripheral vascular disease.Review of R9's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 11/05/25 and located under the RAI [Resident Assessment Instrument] tab of the EMR revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of seven out of 15 which indicated moderate cognitive impairment.Review of R9's Care Plan dated 07/19/2025 revealed, [R9] has history of falling, prior to admission R/T [related to] low b/p [blood pressure]. She continues to be at risk for falls, no safety…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-01-16 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — widespread
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, staff interviews and review of the facility's policy titled, Pureed Food Preparation, the facility failed to ensure the nutritional value of meat during the pureed process. Specifically, the facility failed to follow the recipe by not measuring all ingredients while pureeing meat. The deficit practice had potential to place 16 of 16 residents who received a pureed diet at risk of decreased nutritional intake. Finding included: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, Pureed Food Preparation revealed, Facility will prepare pureed foods in a manner that sustains nutritional value and taste. The foods will be pureed to assure the desired consistency. Procedure: Pureed foods will be made from regular menu items to assure similar taste and nutritional quality. Recipes for regular menu items will be followed during production. Puree procedures are as follows: 7. Please follow manufacturer's directions when adding thickeners to foods to assure proper consistency. An interview and observation on 1/15/2025 at 10:15 am with [NAME] AA revealed that she prepares…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, staff interviews, and review of the facility's policy titled, Residents Rights/ Facility Responsibilities, the facility failed to provide a safe/clean/comfortable/homelike environment for six rooms of (49) rooms (Rm) (Rm 112, RM [ROOM NUMBER], RM [ROOM NUMBER], RM [ROOM NUMBER], RM [ROOM NUMBER]b, and RM [ROOM NUMBER]). Specifically, RM [ROOM NUMBER], RM [ROOM NUMBER] and RM [ROOM NUMBER] all had leaking faucets, RM [ROOM NUMBER]b had a broken bed side dresser, RM [ROOM NUMBER] had a blown light bulb in the room, and RM [ROOM NUMBER] had dirty blinds, and the air conditioning unit was discolored with a brown tent. Findings include: 1. Review of the facility's policy titled Residents Rights/ Facility Responsibilities with a revised date of 12/18/2023 revealed, Intent -It is the intent of [named facility] to ensure each resident is treated with respect and dignity and care, in a manner and in an environment that promotes maintenance or enhancement of his or her quality of life. We believe…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-01-16 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policy titled, Restorative Nursing, the facility failed to obtain a physician order for one of five residents (R) (R3) with known contractures. The deficient practice had the potential to increase the progression of contractures for R3. Findings included: Review of the facility's policy titled, Restorative Nursing, reviewed and updated March 2014, under the Procedural Guidelines section revealed, The facility's rehabilitative/restorative nursing care program is designed to assist each resident to maintain their highest level of functioning. Review of the electronic medical record revealed R3 had diagnoses of but not limited to, intellectual disabilities, feeding difficulties, cerebral palsy, and anxiety disorder. Review of the Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] Section C- cognitive patterns, revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 9 which indicated moderate cognitive impairment; Section…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Administration-General, the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than five percent (5%) during medication administration for one of three residents (R) (R14). There were 26 opportunities observed and two medication errors for a medication error rate of 7.69%. This deficient practice had the potential to cause adverse drug reactions for R14. Findings included: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, Medication Administration-General, under the Guidelines section it was revealed, Prior to medication administration: The nurse should always identify the patient and verify the patient is available for medication administration. The nurse should read the administration directions on the MAR (Medication Administration Record) and verify correct medication, dose, and directions for use. Review of the electronic medical record for R14 revealed pertinent diagnoses of but not limited to hypertensive chronic kidney disease, essential primary hypertension,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, staff interviews, record reviews, and review of the facility's policies titled, Capillary Blood Sampling (Finger Stick Blood Sugar), Cleaning and Disinfection of Resident-Care Items and Equipment, and Infection Prevention and Control, the facility failed to ensure infection control practices were followed for four of 39 residents (R) (R44, R20, R14, and R33). Specifically, the facility failed to ensure the glucometer was cleaned per the user instruction manual for R44; failed to ensure shared resident equipment was sanitized between uses and failed to ensure staff followed Enhanced Barrier Precaution (EBP) guidelines during wound care for R33. Findings included: Review of facility's policy titled, Capillary Blood Sampling (Fingerstick Blood Sugar), reviewed and updated March 2014, revealed under Procedural Guidelines, Our facility follows the manufacturers recommended guidelines in using their machine for FSBS. Follow current standards of care regulations related to handling potentially infectious materials including but not limited to standard precautions,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-07-23 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interviews, and review of the facility policy titled, Food Receiving and Storage, the facility failed to label, and date opened food items in the dry storage area and failed to date opened bulk food items. The facility census was 62 and all residents consumed an oral diet. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Food Receiving and Storage revealed dry foods that are stored in bins will be removed from original packaging, labeled, and dated (use by date). All food stored in the refrigerator or freezer will be covered, labeled, and dated (use by date). Observation on 7/21/2023 at 9:00 a.m. of the dry storage area revealed a large clear plastic rectangle bin that contained a large open bag of Egg Noodles with no label or date also in this bin was an open bag of 10-inchch tortilla shells had no open date. No unattached food labels were noted loose on the bottom of bin. In separate large clear plastic rectangle bin was an open bag of Devil Food Cake Mix with no date. No unattached food labels were noted loose on the bottom of the bin. During an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-07-23 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, staff interviews, review of pharmacy guidelines, review of latanoprost ophthalmic solutions manufacturer packet insert, review of the Trelegy Ellipta oral inhalant manufacturer packet insert; and review of the facility policies title, Medication Storage in the Care Center, and Metered Dose Inhalers (MDI), the facility failed to ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility were labeled and stored properly and in accordance with manufacturer's recommendations on two of three medication carts (A Wing cart and B Wing cart). Findings include: Review of the policy titled, Medication Storage in the Care Center dated October 2017 revealed the intent of medications and biologicals are stored safely, securely, and properly following manufacturer's recommendations or those of the supplier. The Procedural Guidelines section line numbered 13 revealed medications requiring refrigeration or temperature between 2 degrees Celsius (C) (36 degrees Fahrenheit (F)) and 8 degrees C (46 degrees F) are kept in a refrigerator with a thermometer to allow temperature monitoring.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, and review of the facility policy titled, Abuse Prevention Program, the facility failed to report an allegation of abuse for one resident (R #50) of 13 residents on the Memory Care Unit. Findings include: Review of the policy titled Abuse Prevention Program, last reviewed and updated October 2016, revealed the following: D. Reporting: 1) Once a complaint or situation is identified involving alleged mistreatment, neglect, or abuse including injuries of unknow source/origin and misappropriation of resident property the incident will be immediately reported. a. The Administrator or designee will immediately notify HFR Complaint Investigation Intake and Referral Unit and resident representative of the incident and the pending investigation. The Ombudsman will also be notified as appropriate. The Administrator or designee will direct the investigation. c. The initial report of the incident will be faxed or emailed immediately but no more than 2 hours of abuse or an incident that results in serious injury or within 24 hours where there is no abuse or…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on staff interviews, record reviews, and review of the facility policy titled, Controlled Drug Accountability and Reconciliation the facility failed to maintain accurate records on controlled substances on one of three medication carts (A Wing cart). Findings include: Review of the policy titled, Controlled Drug Accountability and Reconciliation dated October 2017 revealed the intent was to establish a method for accountability and reconciliation of controlled medications. Controlled medications should be tracked form the time they are received in the center through administration, discontinuation, discharge, or destruction. The Procedural Guidelines section lines numbered 2: During the next shift change, both the on-coming and off-going nurses should check the delivery sheet and verify that each controlled medication delivered has been placed in the appropriate place on the medication cart and documented on the Controlled Medication Audit (CMA) form. 4: Audits should be performed weekly, ideally by the Director of Nursing (DON), Assistant Director of Nursing (ADON), Nurse…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review, staff interview, and review of the facility policy titled, Automatic Stop Orders, the facility failed to ensure a stop date was implemented, not to exceed 14 days for psychotropic medications for two residents (R) (R#9, R#50) of six residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure a stop date was implemented for antianxiety medication ordered as needed (PRN) for R#9 and R#50. 1.Findings are: A review of the facility policy Automatic Stop Orders, updated 10/2017, revealed as needed (PRN) psychotropics had a 14-day stop date. Additionally, the prescribed may specify a duration longer than 14 days for PRN psychotropic medications, but the prescriber must include a clinical rationale in the permanent medical record. PRN antipsychotics could not be renewed for longer than 14 days without a direct evaluation of the patient by the prescriber. A review of the physician (MD) orders revealed R#9 was prescribed one Xanax 0.5 Milligram (mg) tablet by mouth every 6 hours as needed (PRN) on 5/30/2023. The order had no end date. A…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to MAGNOLIA MANOR SENIOR LIVING — 5 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 52.8+2.2 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.6+1.4 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 53.2+0.8 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 53.6+1.4 vs chain
The other 4 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
TODD, MARKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/13/2004
MAGNOLIA MANOR INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/01/2004
WATKINS, ANGELAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/09/2012

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-45.8%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$598K
Related-party expense7% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 71%Medicare 1%Other / private 28%

About 71% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $598K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$371per resident / day
operating cost
$11,270per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$254per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in GA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Georgia Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Georgia
$8,821/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,429/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,300/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 115599. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-29, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next