Boyd Nursing and Rehabilitation
12100 Princeland Spur, Ashland, KY 41102 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 60 certified beds · (606) 928-2963 Medicare & Medicaid certified
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has 3 actual-harm citations
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 4.0% | 13.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 10.7% | 6.6% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.3% | 0.5% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.5% | 1.6% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 15.6% | 17.7% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.9% | 3.9% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 3.3% | 14.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 30.5% | 29.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 96.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.5% | 4.8% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 22.3% | 19.0% | 21.2% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 9.9% | 16.1% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.7% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 90.2% | 83.5% | 79.4% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 4.23 | 1.94 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 2.34 | 2.14 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
35.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 33 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.26 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 36% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 35.2%CMS range 23.9–52.9 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.9%CMS range 6.5–14.8 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 3.9% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 19.2% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.2%CMS range 3.7–14.6 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.23 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 55.0 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.52 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.75 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.96 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.93 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.77 on weekdays — 22% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.90 to 0.38 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 43% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Actual harm · G2019-10-04 · tag F0655 — isolatedCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review it was determined the facility failed to develop and implement a Baseline Care Plan for each resident that includes the instructions needed to provide effective and person-centered care for one (1) of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #207). Resident #207 was admitted to the facility on the evening of 09/23/19 at approximately 8:00 PM, with diagnoses to include Fracture of Shaft of Humerus, Left Arm. However, there was no documented evidence the Baseline Care Plan dated 09/23/19, was developed and implemented to address the resident's Left Arm Fracture and associated pain. Upon admission, Physician's Orders were received for Percocet 10-325 milligrams (mg), one (1) tablet by mouth three (3) times a day PRN (as needed) related to the Left Humerus Fracture. Staff interview, and interview with Resident #207, revealed the resident was experiencing pain and requesting pain medication on 09/23/19 and 09/24/19, and the resident was treated with an ice pack to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2019-10-04 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolatedProvide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure pain management was provided to residents who require such services for one (1) of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #207). Resident #207 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] at approximately 8:00 PM, and Physician's Orders were obtained for Oxycodone/Acetaminophen (Percocet) 10-325 milligrams (mg), one (1) tablet PO TID (by mouth three (3) times a day) PRN (as needed) related to a Closed Fracture of the Left Humerus. However, there was no documented evidence the resident received any pain medication until 09/24/19 at 8:44 PM, after orders were received for a one (1) time dose of Percocet 5-325 mg, two (2) tablets. Staff interviews revealed the resident did request the PRN Percocet pain medication after admission, and an ice pack was used to treat the resident's pain due to the medication being unavailable. Resident #207 went over twenty-four (24) hours after admission without the ordered Percocet pain…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2019-10-04 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure pharmaceutical services including procedures that assure the accurate acquiring, receiving, dispensing, and administering of all drugs and biologicals to meet the needs of each resident for two (2) of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #32, and Resident #207). Although the facility admitted Resident #207 on 09/23/19 at approximately 8:00 PM, and Physician's Orders were obtained for Oxycodone/Acetaminophen (Percocet) 10-325 milligrams (mg), one (1) tablet PO TID (by mouth three (3) times a day) PRN (as needed) related to a Closed Fracture of the Left Humerus, there was no documented evidence the resident received any pain medication until 09/24/19 at 8:44 PM, when the resident received a one (1) time dose of Percocet 5-325 mg, two (2) tablets. Interviews with staff who cared for the resident during this timeframe, revealed the resident had requested pain medication and an ice pack…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-11-21 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, document review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure health department recommendations were followed to test the facility water two times weekly for legionella. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 57 residents who currently resided in the facility.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Water Management Policy, dated 05/01/2025, revealed, H. We will notify the local health department upon knowledge of any new presumptive or confirmed Legionella within 24 hours. We will make efforts to follow the guidance provided by health department officials and field experts.During an interview with the Maintenance Director on 11/21/2025 at 10:21 AM, he stated legionella water testing had been completed twice a week, and the results were being sent to the health department. The Maintenance Director stated there had been no failed test. He further stated the facility met with the health department, and they told him to test the dead-end areas and to run the water in the dead-end areas for three minutes. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-11-21 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — patternEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure their medication error rate was not greater than 5 percent (%). There were seven errors out of 28 opportunities, which resulted in a mediation error rate of 25% for 2 of 3 residents observed for medication administration, Resident (R) 18 and R19.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Administration, dated 01/02/2024, revealed, Medications are administered by licensed nurses, or other staff who are legally authorized to do so in this state, as ordered by the physician and in accordance with professional standards of practice, in a manner to prevent contamination or infection.1. Review of R19's admission Record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 10/11/2023 with diagnoses to include major depressive disorder, type 2 diabetes mellitus, B-group vitamin deficiency, and hypokalemia.Review of R19's Order Summary Report, for active orders as of 11/19/2025, revealed the following: an order dated 10/11/2023, for Januvia 100 milligrams (mg) by…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-21 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to notify the physician when medications were not administered for 2 of 5 sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, Resident (R) 4 and R20. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Administration, dated 01/02/2024, revealed, 22. Physicians will be notified timely of medication omissions. 1. Review of R4's admission Record revealed the facility admitted R4 on 07/22/2024 with diagnoses to include hypertension, diabetes mellitus, major depressive disorder, psychotic disorder with hallucinations, and gastroesophageal reflux disease. Review of R4's quarterly Minimum Data Set [MDS], with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 09/08/2025, revealed the facility assessed the resident to have a Brief Interview for Mental Status [BIMS] score of 3 out of 15, indicating the resident had severe cognitive impairment. Review of R4's medication administration record (MAR) for the timeframe 10/01/2025 through 10/31/2025, revealed the resident's medications ordered to be…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-21 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the route of medication administration was accurate for 1 of 14 sampled residents, Resident (R) 7. The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Documentation in the Medical Record, dated 01/02/2024, revealed, Each resident's medical record shall contain an accurate representation of the actual experiences of the resident and include enough information to provide a picture of the resident's progress through complete, accurate, and timely documentation.Review of R7's admission Record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 01/29/2024 with diagnoses to include dysphagia (difficulty swallowing) and gastrostomy status. Review of R7's quarterly Minimum Data Set [MDS], with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 09/25/2025, revealed the facility assessed the resident to have a Brief Interview for Mental Status [BIMS] score of 3 out of 15, indicating the resident had severe cognitive impairment. Further review revealed R7 had a feeding tube. Review of R7's Care Plan Report…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-10-25 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — patternProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, review of the facility staffing sheets, review of the facility assessment, review of the payroll-based journal staffing information, and review of resident grievances, the facility failed to have adequate nursing staff to maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident, considering the number, acuity, and diagnoses of the facility's resident population in accordance with the facility assessment. The findings include: Review of the payroll-based journal (PBJ) data, dated April-June 2024, revealed the facility had an overall staffing rating of one star. Review of the facility assessment, dated 10/17/2024, revealed the facility determined it required three state registered nurse aides (SRNAs) each shift to meet the needs of the residents. Further review revealed the facility required one to two Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) per shift. Review of the facility report Daily Census, dated 10/12/2024 and 10/13/2024 revealed the facility's census was 58 and 57 residents, respectively. Review of the facility monthly staff…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-10-25 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and review of facility's policy, the facility failed to treat each resident with respect and dignity and care in a manner that promoted maintenance of his or her quality of life for 1 of 1 sampled residents (Resident (R) 62). R62's religious beliefs prohibited cutting of women's hair and R62 was given a haircut without consulting the resident's guardian. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Resident's Rights Policy, dated October 2019, revealed it was the responsibility of all staff members to recognize the rights of residents at all times to enable personal dignity, well-being, and proper delivery of care. Review of R62's Face Sheet found in the resident's electronic medical record (EMR) revealed the facility admitted R62 on 07/26/2021 with diagnoses to include vascular dementia unspecified, cognitive communication deficit, and generalized znxiety disorder. Review of R62's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 01/24/2022, revealed the facility assessed the resident to have a Brief…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-10-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of facility's policy, the facility failed to follow an infection prevention and control policy to prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 8 sampled residents receiving blood glucose monitoring (Resident (R) 55). Observation on 10/23/2024 at 11:00 AM revealed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 1 placed R55's glucometer on top of the treatment cart without a barrier prior to obtaining a blood glucose reading. Following the glucose reading, LPN1 cleaned the glucometer for two minutes and placed the glucometer on top of the treatment cart to dry without a barrier between the cart top and the glucometer. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Infection Prevention, dated March 2022, revealed it was the responsibility of nurses to practice aspectic technique when obtaining glucose readings and to follow the manufacturer's guidelines when performing cleaning of the glucometer. Review of the Validation Checklist for Glucometer Disinfection, undated, revealed the nurse is to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-04 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, and interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the resident has a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment for two (2) of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #7 and Resident #54). Observation of Resident #7's air conditioning unit on 10/02/19, revealed the unit was set to seventy-nine (79) degrees Fahrenheit (F), and when the resident attempted to lower the temperature on the air conditioning unit, the air conditioner remained in the seventy-nine (79) degree position. Interview with Resident #7, during the observation, revealed he/she had complained of the air conditioning not working properly six (6) months ago, and he/she was uncomfortable and hot during the summer months. In addition, observation on 10/02/19, of Resident #54's bathroom, revealed the commode as well as the hand rails positioned on each side of the commode were not secure, and shifted with movement. Interview with Resident #54 during this observation, revealed he/she had to use the toilet in…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-04 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, it was determined the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment for two (2) of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #32 and Resident #57). Resident #57's Comprehensive Care Plan, dated 02/15/19, was not implemented related to administering oxygen as ordered. Interview with the Hospice Nurse and review of the Hospice Interdisciplinary Nursing Notes, dated 08/12/19, revealed the Hospice Nurse entered the resident's room, and noted the resident to be in respiratory distress during a facility power outage, as the resident's oxygen concentrator was not plugged into the red emergency outlet supplied by the generator. (Refer to F-695) In addition, Resident #32's Comprehensive Care Plan, dated 09/14/19, was not…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-04 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, review of the facility's Policy, and review of the Kentucky Board of Nursing (KBN), Advisory Opinion Statements (AOS) #14, revised October 2015, Roles of Nurses in the implementation of Patient Care Orders, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that residents receive treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for one (1) of sixteen (16) sampled residents, (Resident #16). The findings include: Review of the facility's Policy #7.2 titled Medication Administration General Guidelines, undated, revealed, The resident is always observed after medication administration to ensure that the dose was completely ingested. Additional review of the Policy, revealed residents are allowed to self-administer medications when specifically authorized by the attending physician and in accordance with procedures for self-administration of medications. Review of the KBN, AOS #14, revised October 2015, Roles of Nurses in the implementation of Patient Care Orders, revealed in accordance with Kentucky Revised Statutes…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-04 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of the Emergency Preparedness Manual utilized by the facility, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that a resident who needs respiratory care is provided such care for one (1) of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #57). The facility failed to ensure appropriate measures were in place for Resident #57, in order to provide adequate respiratory services when the electricity/power went out on 08/12/19. (Refer to F-656 and F-849) The findings include: Review of the Emergency Preparedness Manual, undated, Appendix C.1, Electrical Outages/Loss of Power, utilized by the facility, revealed in the event of an electrical power outage the Director of Nursing is responsible for monitoring oxygen usage and other medical equipment, and ensure residents are switched to oxygen tanks when necessary due to the outage. Nursing team members are responsible for ensuring residents using oxygen are moved to areas with red emergency outlets or changed over from…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-04 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure proper storage of drugs and biologicals. Observation of the medication refrigerator, on [DATE], revealed an expired vial of Tubersol dated [DATE], accessible for use. The findings include: Review of the facility's Storage of Medications Policy, undated, revealed medications and biologicals are stored safely, securely, and properly, following manufacturer's recommendations or those of the supplier. Further review of the Policy, revealed when the original seal of a manufacturer's container or vial is initially broken, the container or vial will be dated. The nurse will check the expiration date of each medication before administering it. Observation of the medication refrigerator, on [DATE] at 10:43 AM, revealed a vial of Tubersol (Tuberculin Purified Protein Derivative for intradermal tuberculin testing), dated [DATE], that was half full of solution. Interview with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #3, on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-04 · tag F0849 — isolatedArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's Hospice Agreement, dated 08/30/19, it was determined the facility failed to designate a member of the facility's interdisciplinary team who is responsible for working with Hospice representatives to coordinate care to the resident provided by the Long Term Care (LTC) facility staff and Hospice staff. In addition, the facility failed to have an effective communication process between the LTC facility and the Hospice representative to ensure the needs of the resident are addressed and met twenty-four (24) hours per day. This affected two (2) of two (2) sampled residents reviewed for Hospice services out of a total of sixteen (16) sampled residents (Resident #32 and #57). Resident #57's oxygen concentrator was not plugged into the red outlet during a power outage on 08/12/19, and the Hospice Nurse entered the resident's room and noted the resident was in respiratory distress. The Hospice Nurse notified the assigned nurse; however, there…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-10-04 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Observation of the medication refrigerator, on [DATE], revealed the only vial of Tubersol was dated as opened [DATE], revealing it was expired. Interviews revealed this vial may have been used to administer Purified Protein Derivative (PPD) Skin Tests to State Registered Nurse Aides #3 and #4. In addition, observation of wound care on [DATE], performed by Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #2, revealed the nurse failed to perform hand hygiene between glove changes during wound care. The findings include: Review of the facility's Storage of Medications Policy, undated, revealed medications and biologicals are stored safely, securely, and properly, following manufacturer's recommendations or those of the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to DAVID MARX — 10 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 3 of 5 | 2.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 2.7 | -0.7 vs chain |
| Staffing | 2 of 5 | 1.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 5 of 5 | 3.6 | +1.4 vs chain |
The other 9 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOYD NURSING AND REHABILITATION HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 07/25/2019 |
| PRUITT, PAUL | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/01/2023 |
| 12800 PRINCELAND DR SNF REALTY LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/30/2019 |
| BLUEGRASS CONSULTING GROUP LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/15/2025 |
| ALEXANDER, DAVID | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/01/2023 |
| CHAMBERLAIN, MARGARET | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/11/2023 |
| MARX, DAVID | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/25/2019 |
| REWA, ANGELA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/23/2023 |
| RUSSELL, ROBERT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/08/2024 |
| SHATROV, ANZHELIKA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/02/2024 |
| SHIELDS, KARI | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| WOLFE, ERIC | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/11/2023 |
| WRIGHT, SAMUEL | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| 12800 PRINCELAND DR SNF REALTY HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/30/2019 |
| KENTUCKY SNF REALTY HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/30/2019 |
| MDG REAL ESTATE GLOBAL LIMITED | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/30/2019 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 29 rows in the source record cover these 16 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 78% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $626K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 11% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KY
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185418. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-11-21, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.