No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Elliott Nursing and Rehabilitation

20 Howards Creek Road, Sandy Hook, KY 41171 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 75 certified beds · (606) 738-9400 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Apr 20241 immediate-jeopardy citation$12,844 in federal fines1 Medicare payment denial
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Apr 2024
  • inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
  • the CMS record shows $12,844 in federal fines (most recent 2024-04-20)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
390 S Ky 7 · (606) 738-5155 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Rt 7 Main Street · (606) 738-4041 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1930 N KY7 · (606) 738-6968 · Call to confirm hours
Park
167 KY-7 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased1.7%13.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight5.8%6.6%5.4%typical
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%1.6%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms99.2%17.7%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.3%3.9%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened2.6%14.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication35.4%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.6%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.7%4.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control16.5%19.0%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table3.3%16.1%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication1.5%1.7%1.4%typical
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine80.0%83.5%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission45.2%24.2%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit9.2%13.7%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.801.941.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days3.882.141.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

45.4% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 41 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

45.4%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.13U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.10hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.13 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 10% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 7% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF45.4%CMS range 34.9–59.851.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.5%CMS range 8.8–15.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.1%CMS range 4.1–12.27.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.301.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.50
RN hours/ resident / day
0.78
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.92
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.21
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.25
RN hoursweekends
48.3%
Total nursing turnover
12.5%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 75 beds and averages 69.8 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.21 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.50 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.92 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.82 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.37 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.60 to 0.25 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 48% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-09)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2025-04-10)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · Jcited before2024-04-20 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, review of the facility's policy, review of manufacturer's guidelines, and review of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) disinfectant registry, the facility failed to ensure staff cleaned and disinfected the blood glucose monitor (glucometer) after obtaining a blood glucose reading on 1 of 7 residents who shared the glucometer on the 100 hall, to include Resident (R57) and R24. On 04/18/2024 at 6:05 PM, the survey team provided a copy of the Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) Template to the Executive Director and notified her that staff failure to disinfect the glucometer after obtaining Resident 57's blood glucose measurement constituted IJ at 42 CFR §483.80 F880 Infection Prevention & Control. The survey team determined the IJ first existed on 04/18/2024, when surveyors observed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 3 failed to disinfect the glucometer on the 100 Hall, where six residents shared the glucometer with one resident (R24) diagnosed with viral hepatitis (a bloodborne illness). This failure created the potential for the shared…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2024-04-20 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual, the facility failed to develop and implement comprehensive, person-centered care plans for 2 of 31 sampled residents, Resident (R) 9 and 65. R9 developed a facility acquired stage 3 pressure ulcer. Observation and documentation revealed R9 was not repositioned routinely as per the intervention on the care plan. R65 expressed a preference for taking her blood pressure medication at 8:00 AM. However, the resident stated she often did not receive it until two to three hours later. The facility failed to develop the resident's care plan to include this preference. (Cross Reference F561 and F686) The findings include: In an interview on 04/18/2024 at 8:37 AM, the Executive Director (ED) stated the facility did not have a care planning policy; they followed the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual in lieu of a policy. Review of the RAI manual, dated 10/2023, revealed the resident care plan must include measurable objectives and time frames to describe the services the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2024-04-20 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the American Nurse Journal, the facility failed to ensure residents received care consistent with professional standards for 1 of 4 sampled residents (Resident (R) 9) who were at risk for developing pressure ulcers. R9 developed a stage 3 pressure ulcer, and staff failed to turn and repostion the resident every two hours to prevent the pressure ulcer. (Cross Reference F656) The findings include: In an interview on 04/19/2024 at 5:44 PM, the Executive Director stated the facility did not have a policy on skin care and pressure ulcer prevention. Review of the American Nurse Journal, volume 16, number 7, as published by the American Nurse's Association, dated 07/2021, revealed nursing staff were to turn residents every two hours when the resident was in bed to prevent pressure injury to the skin. Review of R9's admission Record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 02/17/2020 with diagnoses including hemiplegia (paralysis of one side of the body) following cerebral infarction (stroke), type 2 diabetes, and cognitive…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-09 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, record review, review of the facility's policy, and review of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument 3.0 User's Manual, the facility failed to accurately code Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments for 2 of 2 residents reviewed for resident assessment requirements, Resident (R) 1 and R2.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Accurate Assessment, dated 08/01/2025, revealed the purpose was To assure that all residents/patients receive an accurate assessment, reflective of the resident's/patient's status at the time of the assessment, by the Care Team Members qualified to assess relevant care areas. Further review of the policy revealed definitions to include Accuracy of assessment is the appropriate, qualified health professionals correctly document the resident's/patient's medical, functional, and psychosocial problems and identify resident/patient strengths to maintain or improve medical status, functional abilities, and psychosocial status using the appropriate Resident Assessment…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-09 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to keep residents free from significant medication errors for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for psychiatric medication side effects, Resident (R) 50, and 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, R6.The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Physician Orders, dated [DATE], revealed The purpose of this policy is to provide a reliable process for the proper and consistent provision of physician ordered services according to professional standards of quality. Further review revealed 'Professional Standards of Quality' means that care and services are provided according to accepted standards of clinical practice. Standards may apply to care provided by a particular clinical discipline or in a specific situation or setting. Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Administration, dated [DATE], revealed Medications are administered by licensed nurses, or other staff who are legally…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-04-09 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff completed handwashing and glove changes between wound care tasks to prevent potential infection for 1 of 2 residents observed for wound care, Resident (R) 46.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Infection Prevention & Control Program, revised 07/17/2025, revealed the purpose of the policy was To provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections as per accepted national standards and guidelines.Review of the facility document titled, Validation Checklist Wound Care, undated, revealed the purpose of the checklist was To determine if the individual performing wound care is doing so in accordance with facility policy. Further review of the checklist revealed a column titled Procedures Observed, which included 12. Removed dressing and placed in appropriate receptacle; 13. Performed hand hygiene and donned clean gloves; and 14. Cleansed wound…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-04-10 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, review of the manufacturer's instructions, review of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) article, and review of the facility's policy, the failed to ensure appropriate storage of residents' oral, ophthalmic, otic, and injectable medications. Unopened insulin was stored below the recommended temperature range of 36 degrees Fahrenheit (F) to 46 degrees F in 1 of 2 medication refrigerators. Observation of 2 of 5 medication carts on the 100, 200, and 300 Halls revealed Cart 1 was not maintained in a sanitary manner, insulin pens in use were not stored in a sanitary manner, and medications were not labeled and dated correctly. Cart 2 contained medications that were expired. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, titled Storage of Medications, most recently revised 08/2024, revealed medications and biologicals were stored safely, securely, and properly, following manufacturers recommendations or those of the supplier. Review further revealed orally administered medications were stored separately from externally used…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0806 — failed to honor food preferences — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's documents and policy, the facility failed to honor resident food preferences for 2 of 10 sampled residents, Resident (R) 6 and R61. In an interview with R6, who had diabetes mellitus and was on a special diet, she stated she had requested no bread, pasta, or desserts because these foods raised her blood sugar levels, but still received them on her trays. In an interview with R61, she voiced concern she was still receiving broccoli and cauliflower on her meal trays. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Dining and Food Preferences, dated 10/2022, revealed individual dining food and beverage preferences were identified for all residents. The registered dietitian or other clinically qualified nutrition professional would review, and after consultation with the resident, adjust the individual meal plan to ensure adequate fluid volume and appropriate nutritional content for residents that did not consume certain food…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-20 · tag F0561 — failed to honor residents' choices — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to accommodate the resident's right to set her own daily schedule with respect to medication administration for 1 out of 31 sampled residents, Resident (R) 65. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Home-Like Medication Regimen, dated 03/01/2009, revealed facility staff members were to honor the residents' right to set their own daily schedule with respect to medication administration. Further review revealed the facility expected staff to administer morning medications when the resident got out of bed in the morning. Review of R65's admission Record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 01/29/2024 with diagnoses including congestive heart failure, atrial fibrillation, and primary hypertension. Review of R65's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an assessment reference date (ARD) of 02/06/2024, revealed the facility assessed the resident to have a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of eight of 15, indicating the resident was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-20 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, record review, review of the facility's incident report, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from abuse for 2 of 31 sampled residents (Residents (R) 48 and 64a). On 02/17/2024, R48 reported that R64a hit him in the chest area and punched him in the nose, causing his nose to bleed. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Policy, undated, revealed the facility was to provide protections for the health, welfare, and rights of each resident by developing and implementing written policies and procedures that prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, exploitation, and misappropriation of resident property. Abuse was defined as .willful infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation or punishment with resulting physical harm, pain or mental anguish . and instances of abuse of all residents, irrespective of any mental or physical condition, cause physical harm, pain or mental anguish. Review of the facility's Incident Report, dated 02/17/2024, revealed on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2026-04-09 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespread
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to dispose of refuse in a sanitary manner. The deficiency had the potential to affect all residents of the facility.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Garbage and Refuse, dated 10/01/2025, revealed the purpose was To ensure the safe, sanitary, and compliant handling, storage, and disposal of garbage and refuse in accordance with Federal, State, and Local regulations while maintaining a clean, safe, and healthy environment for residents/patients, Care Team Members, and visitors. Further review revealed the procedure included A. Garbage and refuse containers will be kept clean and covered when not in use/continuous use; and B. Outside dumpsters will be monitored to be kept clean, free of surrounding litter, lid closed, and inaccessible to pests.Observation of the dumpsters with the Dietary Manager (DM) on 04/06/2026 at 9:04 AM, revealed dumpsters inside a wooden fenced area located just outside the kitchen, near the front of the facility, which was not closed or gated.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$12,844 in federal fines across 1 penalty. 1 Medicare payment denial on record.

  • $12,844 — penalty dated 2024-04-20
  • Medicare payment denial — starting 2024-05-18 for 5 days

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to DAVID MARX — 10 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.7+1.3 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 51.9+0.1 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 53.6+0.4 vs chain
The other 9 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
ELLIOTT NURSING AND REHABILITATION HOLDINGS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 08/30/2019
PRUITT, PAULIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2023
BLUEGRASS CONSULTING GROUP LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/16/2025
HOWARD CREEK ROAD SNF REALTY LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2019
ALEXANDER, DAVIDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2023
CHAMBERLAIN, MARGARETIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2023
MARX, DAVIDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2019
REWA, ANGELAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2023
RUSSELL, ROBERTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/08/2024
SHATROV, ANZHELIKAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/02/2024
SHIELDS, KARIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2025
STEVENS, EVAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/30/2019
WOLFE, ERICIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/11/2023
HOWARD CREEK ROAD SNF REALTY HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2019
KENTUCKY SNF REALTY HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2019
MDG REAL ESTATE GLOBAL LIMITEDOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2019

CMS files one row per role, so the 29 rows in the source record cover these 16 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$7.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+6.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$833K
Related-party expense11% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 75%Medicare 9%Other / private 16%

About 75% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $833K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 11% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$282per resident / day
operating cost
$8,569per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$300per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185415. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-09, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next