No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Ashland Health And Rehabilitation

16056 Boundry Drive, Ashland, MS 38603 · For profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (662) 224-6196 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (662) 224-6196 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0604) — cited Nov 2023
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (32% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0604) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
15921 Boundary Dr · (662) 224-8951 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
127 Kingsley Rd · (662) 837-8852 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
338 Ripley Ave · (662) 224-3141 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased19.4%20.5%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.8%6.2%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.4%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%2.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.5%1.6%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.9%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened14.2%19.6%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication19.9%23.8%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%97.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.4%6.3%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control11.2%20.7%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table12.4%21.7%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.5%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine94.3%84.6%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission19.6%27.7%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit18.6%15.5%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.912.431.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.922.861.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

46.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 55 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

46.0%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.4%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
76.9%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.42U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.18hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.17hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 76.9% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 39 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.42 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 72% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 19% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF46.0%CMS range 34.3–59.151.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.4%CMS range 7.1–15.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge76.9%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge74.4%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge64.1%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay3.9%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened5.8%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.7%CMS range 4.3–13.37.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.451.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.85
RN hours/ resident / day
1.06
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.52
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.42
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.49
RN hoursweekends
31.7%
Total nursing turnover
18.2%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 54.2 residents a day — about 90% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.42 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.85 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.52 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.65 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.74 on weekdays — 23% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.00 to 0.49 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 32% is below the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-15)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2025-02-27)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

10 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-15 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolated
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure a resident's call light was readily accessible for one (1) of 49 residents observed during the initial tour. Resident #22.Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled Call Light Standard revised 3/19, revealed under, Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: . 5. With each interaction in the resident's room or bathroom, staff will ensure the call light is within reach of resident and secured, as needed. During the initial tour on 4/13/26 at 10:28 AM, Resident #22 was observed lying in bed, which was positioned against the wall on his right side. The call light was not visible or accessible to the resident. Further observation revealed the call light cord was wedged between the wall and the mattress, and the call light device was located on the floor under the bed, rendering it inaccessible to the resident. An interview with Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) #1 on 4/15/26 at 10:18 AM revealed that when staff made rounds to provide care, they were expected to ensure…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-15 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, staff interviews, record reviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure medications were accurately labeled and corresponded with the physician's order for one (1) of three (3) residents observed during medication pass (Resident #47) Findings Include:Review of facility policy titled, Medication Order & Dispensing Variance Protocol dated 03/2026, revealed, .Procedures.1. a. Licensed nursing staff must verify that the medication label, physician's order, and Medication Administration Record (MAR) match prior to each medication administration.3. e. Ensure the physician's order and Medication Administration Record (MAR) are updated in Point Click Care (PCC) to accurately reflect the medication being dispensed and administered.An observation during medication administration on 4/15/2026 at 9:15 AM revealed an order on the electronic Medication Administration Record (EMAR) for Benztropine Mesylate Tablet 1 milligram (mg) with instructions to administer 0.5 mg tablet by mouth two times a day for mood disorder. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-05-07 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for a resident requiring oral care for one (1) of three (3) sampled residents. Resident #3 Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled The Care Plan with a revision date of 4/2019 revealed, The Comprehensive Care Plan is completed within seven (7) days after the MDS (minimum data set) is completed . Record review of the Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Care Plan for Resident #3 revealed under, Focus: The resident has an ADL self care performance deficit r/t (related to) Hemiplegia from hx (history) of CVA (Cerebrovascular Accident) affecting left side. Further review revealed the care plan was not developed for oral care. An observation of Resident #3 on 5/07/25 at 8:40 AM revealed she was sitting in her wheelchair in the hallway and was alert but confused and did not answer questions appropriately. Her lower lip was observed as dry and cracked with peeling skin. An observation of Resident #3 on 5/07/25 at 10:05 AM revealed she was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-05-07 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide oral care for one (1) of three (3) residents requiring assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs). Resident #3 Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled Oral Care, with a revision date of 6/2022, revealed under Standard: It is the standard of this facility that every resident will receive oral care at least twice daily, and as needed. Additionally revealed under Process: . 10. Inspect the resident's mouth, teeth and gums for open areas of irritation; notify the supervising nurse immediately of any problems noted or any complaints by the resident. 11. Apply lip balm to the resident's lips and use lemon and glycerin swabs to lubricate the resident's mouth . A telephone interview with a confidential source on 5/06/25 at 1:32 PM revealed Resident #3 was admitted to the facility after suffering a stroke and explained the resident had lost function of the left side of her body. The source revealed that the resident only received hydration through a feeding…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-02-27 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on resident and staff interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to develop a resident specific comprehensive care plan that identified trigger specific interventions for a resident with a diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) for one (1) of 19 care plans reviewed. Resident #45 Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled RAI (Resident Assessment Instrument)/Care Planning Management with a revision date of 4/2019 revealed under, The Care Plan: The Comprehensive Care Plan is completed within seven (7) days after the MDS (Minimum Data Set) is completed and reviewed quarterly thereafter. Review of the facility policy titled Trauma Informed Care with a revision date of 10/2022 revealed under, Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: . 4. The facility will collaborate with resident trauma survivors, and as appropriate, the resident's family, friends, the primary care physician, and any other health care professional to develop and implement individualized care plan interventions. 6. The facility will identify triggers,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-02-27 · tag F0699 — isolated
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on resident and staff interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to complete a trauma informed care assessment for a resident with a diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) for one (1) of 53 residents residing in the facility. Resident #45 Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled Trauma Informed Care with a revision date of 10/22 revealed, Standard: It is the standard of this facility to provide care and services which, in addition to meeting professional standards, are delivered using approaches which are culturally-competent, account for experiences and preferences, and address the needs of trauma survivors by minimizing triggers and/or re-traumatization . Record review of the admission Record revealed the facility re-admitted Resident #45 on 10/02/24 with medical diagnoses that included Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and Major Depressive Disorder. Record review of the admission Social History dated 10/03/24 for Resident #45 revealed there was no documentation regarding Post…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-11-21 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record reviews, and facility policy reviews the facility failed to clean and disinfect a multi-use glucometer with the approved disinfecting wipe for two (2) of two (2) medication carts reviewed. Findings Include: Record review of the policy titled, Diabetic Management, dated 04/2019, revealed, Cleaning and disinfecting your EvenCare G2 Meter: .4. To disinfect your meter, clean the meter surface with one of the following disinfecting wipes: Dispatch Hospital Cleaner Disinfectant Towel with Bleach (1 minute). Medline Micro-Kill Disinfecting, Deodorizing, cleaning wipes with Alcohol (30 seconds). Clorox Healthcare Bleach Germicidal and Disinfectant Wipes (1 minute). Medline Micro-Kill Bleach Germicidal Bleach Wipes (2 minutes) . An observation and interview on 11/19/23 at 4:10 PM, with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #4, the LPN used the glucometer to check finger stick blood sugar (FSBS) of a resident and upon return to the B hall medication cart LPN#4 retrieved a pack of 75% alcohol disinfecting wipes and wiped the glucometer with the alcohol wipe for about 15…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-11-21 · tag F0604 — failed to not use physical restraints improperly — isolated
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff and resident interview, record review and facility policy review the facility failed to prevent a resident from being physically restrained by the sound of a chair alarm for one (1) of three (3) residents with chair alarms reviewed. Resident #23. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Restraint Standards; Physical Restraints with a revision date of 4/2023 revealed under, Physical Restraints Standard .The goal of this facility is to ensure that each resident attains and maintains his/her highest practical level of function and well-being in an environment that limits restraint use to circumstances in which the medical symptoms of the resident warrant the use of the least restrictive restraint. On 11/19/23 at 3:40 PM, an observation and interview revealed a chair alarm on Resident #23's wheelchair that was pinned to the back of her shirt. This observation revealed the resident propels herself with her feet in the wheelchair. During an interview at the same time with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-11-21 · tag F0636 — isolated
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, staff and resident interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to identify and analyze information obtained from a Minimum Data Set assessment for a chair alarm restraint prior to developing the comprehensive care plan for one (1) of three (3) residents with a chair alarm, Resident #23. Findings include: Review of the typed statement on facility letterhead dated 11/21/23 revealed the facility did not have a policy regarding MDS assessment. The facility uses the current RAI (Resident Assessment Instrument) Manual and was signed by the Administrator. During an observation and interview on 11/19/23 at 3:40 PM, revealed a chair alarm on Resident #23's wheelchair that was pinned to the back of the resident's shirt. This observation revealed the resident propels herself with her feet in the wheelchair. An interview at the same time with Resident #23 revealed that the resident is alert to herself and pleasantly confused on time and place. The resident was asked if…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-11-21 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, staff and resident interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to identify and properly care plan a restraint for a resident with a chair alarm for one (1) of three (3) residents with a chair alarm reviewed. Resident #23 Findings Include Review of the facility policy titled, Care Planning Management with a revision date of 04/2019 revealed under Process for Completing the .Care Plans .Standard; It is the practice of this facility to conduct a comprehensive, accurate, standardized reproducible assessment of each resident's functional capacity. Objective .#1. To identify resident's individual needs and care requirements, #2. To assure that an interdisciplinary team assesses the emotional, psychosocial, mental, and physical needs of each resident. Care Conference Protocol .After the team reviews the triggered areas of concern, a care plan decision will be made. Problems will be identified and written in an interdisciplinary, CAA (Care Area Assessment) integrated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to VANGUARD HEALTHCARE — 6 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 53.5+1.5 vs chain
Health inspection 5 of 53.3+1.7 vs chain
Staffing 5 of 54.2+0.8 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 52.8+1.2 vs chain
The other 5 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.5★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
VANGUARD HEALTHCARE, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 12/19/2007
ERVIN GENERAL PARTNERSHIPOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/19/2007
JERE SUZANNE ERVIN IRRV TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/19/2007
ORAND LPOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/19/2007
WILLIAM JEFFREY ERVIN IRRV TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/19/2007
ORAND, WILLIAMIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/19/2007
FICK, JOHNIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 09/20/2014
NORTH MISSISSIPPI MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATES, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/31/2025
MOORE, RHONDAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/05/2024
HARRISON, NICOLAIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 08/11/2014

CMS files one row per role, so the 14 rows in the source record cover these 10 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+7.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$398K
Related-party expense8% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 70%Medicare 20%Other / private 10%

About 70% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $398K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$309per resident / day
operating cost
$9,402per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$333per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MS

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Mississippi Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Mississippi
$9,581/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,885/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,369/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 255138. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-15, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next