No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Smp Health - St Raphael

979 Central Ave N, Valley City, ND 58072 · Non profit - Church related · 170 certified beds · (701) 845-8222 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (701) 845-8222 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
1 actual-harm citation
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★★ 5/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
520 Chautauqua Blvd. · (701) 845-6000 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
323 Central Ave N · (701) 845-5280 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
424 2nd Ave NE · (701) 845-1732 · Call to confirm hours
Park
909 5th Ave NW · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased14.2%19.8%15.4%typical
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight5.0%5.8%5.4%typical
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.6%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.8%2.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.5%4.4%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.4%5.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.9%17.6%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication25.3%17.4%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%98.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.9%4.9%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control20.6%24.9%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table44.6%22.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.5%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine92.1%88.3%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission19.4%19.9%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit12.2%11.4%12.0%typical
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.441.491.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.291.861.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

34.9% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 45 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

34.9%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.7%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
62.3%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.10U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.03hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 62.3% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 53 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.10 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 6% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF34.9%CMS range 22.5–48.551.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.7%CMS range 6.7–13.610.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge62.3%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge47.2%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge45.3%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified98.3%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.3%CMS range 2.9–10.77.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.611.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.70
RN hours/ resident / day
0.60
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.41
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.71
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.34
RN hoursweekends
38.5%
Total nursing turnover
34.8%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 170 beds and averages 158.6 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 11 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.71 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.70 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.41 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.20 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.92 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.85 to 0.34 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 38% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-09-24)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-08-08)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

9 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · G2024-02-16 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on information provided by the complainant, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the necessary care and services to attain the highest practicable level of well-being and to prevent and/or manage pain for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #1) who experienced a fall with major injury. Failure to identify circumstances when pain could be anticipated and recognize when the resident experienced pain resulted in Resident #1 experiencing uncontrollable pain related to his untreated hip fracture. Findings include: Information provided by the complainant indicated facility staff failed to identify and respond to changes in the physical status of a resident who experienced uncontrollable pain from a hip fracture sustained during a fall. The complainant also indicated Emergency Medical Services (EMS) staff administered Fentanyl (a medication given for severe pain) during the ambulance ride to the hospital in an effort to alleviate the resident's pain. Review of the facility policy titled Pain Management occurred on 02/16/24. This…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-09-24 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of temperature logs, review of professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in 1 of 1 main kitchen and 6 of 7 food storage areas (Third Floor Kitchenette, First Floor Kitchenette, First Floor Sub-station, Special Care Unit, Sunshine Kitchenette, and Circle of Life Cottage Kitchenette). Failure to discard expired food, ensure required refrigerator temperatures, ensure functioning of temperature monitoring devices in refrigerator, ensure clean equipment, and ensure protection of dry food storage from leaking pipes has the potential to affect the quality and safety of food served to the residents. Findings include: Review of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Food Code 2022, Annex 3 - Public Health Reasons, states . Ready-to-Eat, Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food . Refrigeration prevents food from becoming a hazard by significantly slowing the growth of most microbes. ready-to-eat, time/temperature control for safety food . kept at 41 degrees…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-09-24 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 2 of 7 sampled residents (Resident #16 and #73) observed during cares. Failure to remove gloves and perform hand hygiene during wound care and perineal care has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Glove Usage occurred on 09/24/25. This policy, revised November 2018, stated, Purpose: To reduce the risk of exposure, prevent the spread of infection, identify situations where usage of gloves is appropriate and incorporating proper usage of gloves. Procedure: . 2. Once gloves are contaminated, they must be changed before touching clean items or proceeding to perform clean procedure. 7. Hand hygiene must be performed prior to gloving and after removing gloves. Review of the facility policy titled Hand Hygiene occurred on 09/24/25. This policy, revised September 2023, stated, Purpose: . Hand hygiene . an effective method for preventing the spread of pathogens, such…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-08-08 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, facility policy review, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control for 8 of 25 sampled residents (Resident #9, #28, #70, #79, #92, #96, #260, and #360) observed during cares. Failure to follow infection control practices during resident cares related to hand hygiene, glove use, and enhanced barrier precautions (EBP), has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Hand Hygiene occurred on 08/08/24. This policy, revised September 2023, stated, . Staff will perform hand hygiene when indicated, using proper technique consistent with accepted standards of care. The use of gloves does not replace hand hygiene. Practice hand hygiene before donning and after doffing gloves. Review of the facility policy titled Skin and Wound Management Program occurred on 08/08/24. This policy, revised June 2024, stated, . Cleaning a Wound and Applying a Dressing . Carefully remove the soiled dressings. Place soiled dressings in the appropriate waste receptacle.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-08 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to follow the grievance process for 2 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #99 and #133) with concerns regarding treatment from staff during cares. Failure to act upon resident grievances is a violation of resident's rights and may result in resident dissatisfaction. Findings include: The facility failed to provide a policy. - During an interview on 08/05/24 at 1:25 p.m., Resident #133 stated on the night of admission, he/she pushed the call light multiple times. A certified nurse aide (CNA) (#5) came to the doorway and yelled, What the [explicit comment] do you want? This happened again the same night. The resident stated he/she did not want to deal with this CNA again, so he/she took himself/herself to the bathroom for the remainder of the night. When asked if the resident reported the incident to staff, Resident #133 replied, yes. - During an interview on 08/05/24 at 2:36 p.m., Resident #99 stated three weeks ago during the night shift, an unknown CNA came to the doorway and yelled, What do you want? The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-08 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    1. Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow professional standards of practice for 2 of 2 residents (Resident #22 and #149) observed for insulin preparation and administrations. Failure to prime insulin pens correctly may result in residents receiving an inaccurate dose. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Insulin Pen occurred on 08/08/24. This policy, revised July 2023, stated, . Insulin pens will be primed prior to each use to avoid collection of air in the insulin reservoir. screw the pen needle onto the insulin pen. Twist open and remove the outer cover from the pen needle. H. Prime the insulin pen: Dial 2 units by turning the dose selector clockwise. With the needle pointing up, push the plunger, and watch to see that at least one drop of insulin appears on the tip of the needle. If not, repeat until at least one drop appears. - Observation on 08/07/24 at 8:08 a.m. showed a nurse (#7) prepared Resident #22's insulin pen for administration. The nurse failed to remove the cover of the needle before…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-08 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure safe and secure storage of medications in 1 of 2 medication carts (Union Square) observed. Failure to store all medications securely may result in unauthorized access to medications. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Medication Cart occurred on 08/08/24. This policy, revised 2023, stated, . Medication cart will be locked when not within complete site of the nurse and/or med aid [medication aide] left unattended . Observation on 08/06/24 at 3:47 p.m. showed a staff nurse (#3) left the medication cart unlocked and unattended for 55 minutes. The medication cart remained by the nurses station unlocked and out of the nurses' view with staff members and residents present. During an interview on 08/08/24 at 10:55 a.m., an administrative nurse (#1) confirmed she expected staff to lock the medication cart when out of eyesight.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-09-14 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control for 4 of 17 sampled residents (Resident #12, #13, #15, and #42) observed during personal cares and/or insulin administration. Failure to practice infection control standards related to hand hygiene, glove use, and insulin administration has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility. Findings include: HAND HYGIENE Review of the facility policy titled Hand Hygiene occurred on 09/14/23. This policy, dated August 2022, stated, . Procedure: 1. Staff will perform hand hygiene when indicated, using proper technique consistent with accepted standards of care. 6. Additional considerations: . b. The use of gloves does not replace hand hygiene. Practice hand hygiene before donning and after doffing gloves. hand hygiene should be performed for the following conditions . between resident contacts, After Handling contaminated objects, . Before applying and after removing personal protective equipment [PPE], including gloves . Before and after handling…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-14 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, review of facility policy, and staff interview the facility failed to maintain a comfortable temperature level for 1 of 6 units (Valley View). Failure to maintain comfortable room temperature levels can result in resident discomfort. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Safe and Homelike Environment occurred on 09/14/23. This policy, revised May 2023, stated, . The facility should strive to keep the temperature in common resident areas between 71 and 81 degrees Fahrenheit. Observation on 09/12/23 at 4:00 p.m. showed Resident #63 in the Valley View resident common area rubbing their shoulders and making complaints of being cold. An unidentified staff member retrieved a sweater for the resident. Observation on the morning of 09/13/23 showed Resident #60 in the Valley View resident common area leaning forward in their wheelchair. An unidentified staff member asked if the resident was cold, the resident shook their head yes. The unidentified staff member retrieved a warm blanket from the tub room for the resident. Observations of air temperatures…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to SMP HEALTH — 5 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 54.2+0.8 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 53.8+0.2 vs chain
Staffing 5 of 55.0≈ chain avg
Quality measures 3 of 52.2+0.8 vs chain
The other 4 homes this chain runs (chain average 4.2★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
SISTERS OF MARY OF THE PRESENTATION HEALTH SYSTEMOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 04/01/2016
AHRNDT, MATTHEWIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2021
CARSON, PAULIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 12/01/2020
HANSEN, BECKYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 07/01/2021
HOULE, SHARONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 02/06/2020
MONTECUOLLO, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2017
REDLIN, FRANKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2017
SCHMITZ, LYNETTEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2015
ALTON, AARONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2002

CMS files one row per role, so the 12 rows in the source record cover these 9 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$20.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-6.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$865K
Related-party expense4% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 75%Medicare 3%Other / private 22%

About 75% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $865K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$374per resident / day
operating cost
$11,384per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$353per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in ND

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the North Dakota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in North Dakota
$11,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,304/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,729/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 355077. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-09-24, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next