No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Beardstown Health & Rehab Ctr

8306 St Lukes Drive, Beardstown, IL 62618 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 79 certified beds · (217) 323-4055 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (217) 323-4055 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Mar 2022Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)1 actual-harm citation1 Medicare payment denial
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Mar 2022
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0605, F0607) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
100 W 15th St · (217) 323-2245 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Walmart0.6 mi
100 Lincoln Ave · (217) 323-1327 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
101 E 15th St · (217) 909-4454 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1700 Wall St · (217) 323-9777 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased6.2%13.4%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight13.2%6.3%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.3%0.9%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.4%1.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms82.3%54.2%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.4%0.1%0.1%worse
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.2%3.1%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened8.4%14.3%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication18.5%18.3%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.5%91.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.8%4.8%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control23.8%20.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table25.8%21.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication3.1%2.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine88.1%63.1%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission12.9%26.1%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit7.7%13.9%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.972.021.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.772.221.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

48.9% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 50 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

48.9%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.4%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
40.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.04hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.11hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 40.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 30 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 14% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 22% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF48.9%CMS range 37.1–59.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.4%CMS range 6.4–16.110.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge40.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge30.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge30.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified97.2%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.8%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened2.8%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.4%CMS range 3.1–12.47.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.171.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.20
RN hours/ resident / day
0.95
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.10
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.26
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.13
RN hoursweekends
46.2%
Total nursing turnover
60.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 79 beds and averages 70.0 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 9 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.26 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.20 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.10 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.92 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.39 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.23 to 0.13 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 46% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-05-08)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2023-05-18)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · G2023-05-18 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide pain management for one of three residents (R34) reviewed for pain management in the sample of 27. This failure resulted in R34 experiencing severe pain and Physical Therapy shortening therapy with R34 on 5/15/23. Findings include: The Facility Policy: Management of Pain dated 4/4/12, documents Our mission is to facilitate resident independence, promote resident comfort and preserve resident dignity. The purpose of this policy is to accomplish that mission through an effective pain management program, providing our residents the means to receive necessary comfort, exercise greater independence, and enhance dignity and life involvement. A standard format for assessing, monitoring, and documenting pain in both cognitively intact and cognitively impaired residents will be utilized. As part of a comprehensive approach to pain assessment and management, pain will be considered the fifth vital sign at the facility, along with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-05 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to implement appropriate infection control measures for residents with signs and symptoms of a potentially communicable skin condition. The facility failed to initiate/implement contact isolation precautions, failed to obtain a diagnosis and track the infection, and failed to clarify physician orders through the infection preventionist for two (R2, R3) of six residents reviewed for communicable diseases in a total sample of six residents. Findings include:The facility's General Approaches to Infection Prevention and Control Standard and Transmission Based Precautions for Communicable Diseases dated October 17th, 2022 documents contact precautions used in addition to standard precautions are intended to prevent transmission of pathogens that are spread by direct person to person or indirect contact with the resident or environment examples (C. diff, norovirus, and scabies) and require the use of appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) including…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-05-08 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — pattern
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to document a diagnosis and target behaviors to warrant the use of anti-psychotic medications, and failed to treat underlying conditions prior to initiating and increasing anti-psychotic medication doses for six of nine (R27, R32, R54, R57, R62, and R65) reviewed for anti-psychotic medication use with the diagnosis of Dementia or Alzheimer's Disease in the sample of 35. Findings include: The facility's Antipsychotic's policy dated 04/2015 documents, 1.) Diagnosis alone does not warrant the use of anti-psychotic medications. The following criteria also needs to be met: a) The behavioral symptoms present a danger to the resident or others and one or both of the following: b) The symptoms are due to mania or psychosis. c) Behavioral interventions have been attempted and documented in the care plan. 2.) Enduring Conditions: Antipsychotic medications may be used to treat an enduring condition (non-acute, chronic, or prolonged). Monitoring must…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-08 · tag F0605 — failed to not use drugs as a restraint — isolated
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure residents were free of chemical restraints for three of nine residents (R27, R32, R57) reviewed for anti-psychotic medication use in the sample of 35. Findings include: The facility's Abuse Policy dated 1-9-24 documents, Chemical restraints are not used. The facility's Psychotropic Medications Protocol Chemical Restraints dated 5-16-22 documents, Chemical restraints will not be used to limit or control resident behavior for the convenience of staff. 1. On 5/5/24 at 10:50 AM, R27 was in his room lying in bed. R27 stated he is doing ok. R27 was not displaying any behaviors. On 5/7/24 at 2:30 PM, V12 (Licensed Practical Nurse) entered R27's room to complete wound care. R27 was sleeping off and on throughout the treatment and V12 stated You've been sleepy today. R27 was cooperative with care and was not displaying any behaviors. R27's care plan, dated 2/27/24, documents R27 is on an antipsychotic. He takes Haloperidol (antipsychotic…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-05-08 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure Enhanced Barrier Precautions were followed and care planned for residents who are at a high risk for infection for two of seventeen residents (R27, R29) reviewed for Infection Control in the sample of 35. Findings include: The facility's Enhanced Barrier Precautions protocol sign (undated) documents Everyone must clean their hands, including before entering and when leaving the room. Provides and Staff must also wear gloves and a gown for the following high-contact resident care activities: Dressing, Bathing/Showering, Transferring, Changing Linens, Providing Hygiene, Changing briefs or assisting with toileting, Device care or use (Central Line, Urinary Catheter, Feeding tube, tracheostomy), Wound Care: Any skin opening requiring a dressing. 1. R27's Physician Order sheet, dated 5/8/24, documents R27 has an order for an indwelling urinary catheter to be changed monthly. This same order sheet documents R27 has wound treatment orders to be completed on the coccyx daily and R27's left second toe daily and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-05-18 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to document appropriate indications for use of an antipsychotic medications and initiate gradual dose reductions at least yearly for three of five residents (R27, R41, R61) reviewed for unnecessary medications in the sample of 27. Findings include: The Facility's Psychotropic Medication Policy revised 11/28/17, documents, Additionally, Antipsychotic medication may be indicated for use if: 1) Behavioral Symptoms present a danger to the resident or others; 2)Expressions or indications of distress that are significant distress to the residents: 3) If not clinically indicated, multiple non-pharmacological approaches have been attempted but did not relieve the symptoms which are presented a danger or significant distress; and or 4)GDR (Gradual Drug Reduction was attempted, but clinical symptoms returned. 1. On 5/16/23 at 10:30 a.m., R27 was sitting in the family room with no behaviors observed. R27's MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment dated [DATE]…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2022-03-03 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to label food items, dispose of outdated foods and wash hands when coming into the kitchen and after handling dirty dishes and before handling clean dishes. This has the potential to affect all 45 residents living in the facility. Findings: The document Food Labeling and Dating, dated 2/22 documents, Labeling and dating food is important to assure foods are used in a timely manner. Proper food labeling includes: Name of product, date stored and in some cases, the time of the day; the food must be labeled and dated if it is removed from its original container. The document Food Storage Chart, dated 2/22, documents, Use by dates printed on label by the manufacturer applies until the product is opened. Once opened, use the following time limits. After a food item is opened, it will be covered, labeled, the 'use by date' will be put on, initiated and stored. The day of opening/preparation counts as Day 1. Meats, Cottage Cheese, Salads - seven days;. On 2/28/22 at 9:55 AM, the refrigerator held one pan containing two…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-03-03 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — pattern
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to revise a Care Plan with the development of a pressure ulcer, resident to resident altercation, significant weight loss, and ROM (Range of Motion) limitations for four of 15 residents (R17, R28, R40, R41) reviewed for Care Plans in the sample of 24. Findings include: The facility's Care Plan Process policy, dated 11/2017, documents, A comprehensive person-centered Care Plan shall be developed and implemented to meet the resident's preferences and goals, and address the resident's medical, physical, mental, and psychosocial needs, while honoring resident rights to choice. This Care Plan shall include goals, measurable objectives, and interventions to meet identified resident needs. 1. The facility's Wound and Ulcer Policy and Procedure policy, dated 1/10/18, documents, When a resident is found to have a wound, a licensed nurse will complete ulcer, either on admission or during their stay, the following care interventions for staff involved in the resident's care are communicated via the resident Care Plan . On…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-03-03 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to protect a resident from physical abuse by another resident. This has the potential to affect two of two residents (R28, R41) reviewed for abuse in the sample of 24. Findings include: The facility's Abuse Prohibition Policy, dated 3/15/18, documents, All residents have the right to be free from verbal, sexual, physical, mental abuse, corporal punishment, involuntary seclusion, neglect, misappropriation of property, exploitation. Abuse is the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation, or punishment with resulting physical harm, pain, or mental anguish. Abuse may be verbal, sexual, physical, and mental abuse, including abuse facilitated or enabled through the use of technology or social media. Willful as used in this definition of abuse, means the individual must have acted deliberately, not that the individual must have intended to inflict injury or harm. On 02/28/22 at 10:41 AM, R41 was lying in her bed with V16 (Unit aide) at her bedside. V16 stated, I'm not really sure why (R41)…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-03-03 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow operational policies and procedures regarding developing new interventions to prevent further physical abuse following an allegation of physical abuse for two of two residents (R28, R41) reviewed for abuse in the sample of 24. Findings include: The facility's Abuse Prohibition Policy, dated 3/15/18, documents, Prevention of Abuse: Appropriate interventions to address identified behaviors will be included on resident Care Plans, and reviewed as/when change occurs. These interactions will be communicated to the direct caregivers. The facility Report to the State Agency, dated 2/25/22, documents, This resident (R41) was involved in a resident to resident altercation with no injuries. On February 21, 2022, (R41) was at the nurses station asking staff to taker her home and stating her address repeatedly. (R41) is alert and oriented times one with confusion and requires staff intervention and frequent reminders of the date, year, and where the facility is located. (R41) also requires staff assistance for ADLs (Activities…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-03-03 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide assistance with shaving for one of three residents (R40) reviewed for ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) in the sample of 24. Findings include: The facility's A.M. (Morning) Care policy, dated 4/2009, documents, Objective: To provide personal hygiene in the morning. Provide assist with shaving (both male and female). R40's MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment, dated 2/8/22, documents, Functional Status: requires extensive assistance by one person for personal hygiene. On 02/28/22 at 11:01 AM, R40 was alert lying in bed. R40 had multiple long white hairs above R40's lip and on R40's chin and neck. R40 stated, I've been asking them for days to shave me. They keep saying they are going to do it, but they haven't. I don't like having long whiskers. On 03/01/22 at 12:11 PM, R40 was alert sitting up in her motorized wheel chair at the dining room table eating lunch. R40 stated, I still haven't gotten my whiskers trimmed. On 03/01/22 at 01:50 PM, V12 and V15 (Both CNAs-Certified Nursing Assistants) exited R40's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-03-03 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolated
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to act upon a significant weight loss, notify the Physician and implement further weight loss prevention interventions in a timely manner, for one of two residents (R36) reviewed for weight loss, in a sample of 24. Findings include: The facility Policy, titled Weight Management Policy and Procedure (Revised 2/2016), documents, Each resident will be weighed at least once per month on a predetermined schedule. All residents will be monitored for significant weight changes to assure maintenance of acceptable parameters of body weight. The Policy further documents, At least monthly, resident weights will be compared to prior weights to identify any significant, severe or insidious weight changes. The Weight and Vitals Exception Report will be reviewed weekly by dietary staff to determine significant weight changes. Parameters of a significant weight change per OBRA (Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act) guidelines will be used. Weight loss that occurs quicker…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-03-03 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a indwelling catheter bag and tubing remained off the floor for one of one residents (R36) reviewed with an indwelling catheter, in a sample of 24. Findings include: The facility policy, titled Catheter Protocol (dated 2/01/10), documents 7. The collection bag for catheters shall be emptied at least every shift. Care shall be taken to avoid contact of the drainage tube with anything that could contaminate it. On 02/28/22 at 11:37 AM, R36 was lying in bed, with his suprapubic catheter bag connected to the bottom of the bed frame. R36's bed was in the lowest position, close to the floor, and the catheter bag was resting on the floor. On 03/01/22 at 09:38 AM, R36 had been returned to the nurses' station from the Therapy Department, as R36 was propelled in his wheelchair down the hall, his catheter bag and tubing was dragging on the floor. On 03/02/22 at 12:14 PM, R36 was propelling himself from the dining room back to his room after lunch. R36's catheter tubing was coiled and dragging under his…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-03-03 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — isolated
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to empty a personal commode in a resident room that was causing odors for one of three residents (R28) reviewed for ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) in the sample of 24. Findings include: On 03/01/22 at 12:41 PM, R28 was alert sitting up in her recliner in her room. R28 had a commode located immediately to R28's left side. A foul urine like smell was noted in R28's room. R28 stated, I don't use the restroom to go to the restroom, I use this commode. The staff hardly ever dump it for me. Can you smell it? It's like this all the time. No one from third shift dumped it and no one has dumped it this shift either. R28 lifted the commode lid. The commode container was filled half the way up with a dark brown green liquid, and more odor was let out at that time. R28 stated, It gets so full that when I wipe myself, my hands end up touching what's in the commode. It's disgusting. On 03/01/22 at 01:39 PM, R28 was lying back in her recliner. R28's room continued to have a foul urine odor. R28 stated, The commode was just emptied. On…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record. 1 Medicare payment denial on record.

  • Medicare payment denial — starting 2025-05-08 for 7 days

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to SUMMIT HEALTHCARE CONSULTING — 9 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.6+1.4 vs chain
Health inspection 5 of 53.1+1.9 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 51.3-0.3 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
The other 8 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
SC ILLINOIS HOLDCO LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 07/01/2023
APOGEE TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 07/01/2023
SC ILLINOIS I TBD HOLDCO LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 07/01/2023
LEONHARD, PATRICIAIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 07/01/2023
LICHTMAN, SHALOMIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/01/2023
LIGHT MAN LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/01/2023

CMS files one row per role, so the 7 rows in the source record cover these 6 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.6M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-15.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$150K
Related-party expense4% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 50%Medicare 6%Other / private 43%

This home reported $150K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$262per resident / day
operating cost
$7,964per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$227per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Illinois Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Illinois
$8,304/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,216/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,219/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 145952. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-05-08, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next