No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Menifee Meadows Nursing & Rehab LLC

195 Berryman Road, Frenchburg, KY 40322 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 60 certified beds · (606) 768-9001 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (606) 768-9001 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 9 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
784 Highway 36 · (859) 498-3333 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
70 Main St · (606) 768-2161 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1175 KY-36 · (606) 768-4111 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Daniel Boone National Forest Menifee Co Ky · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
2381 Tarr Ridge Rd

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased34.8%13.8%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.7%6.6%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder3.2%0.5%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection3.6%1.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms2.6%17.7%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury2.0%3.9%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened29.0%14.0%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication32.2%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine94.5%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.1%4.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control24.4%19.0%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table33.8%16.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.7%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine81.8%83.5%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission29.6%24.2%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit27.3%13.7%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.711.941.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days3.062.141.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.37U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.18hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.18hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.37 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 63% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 23% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.54
RN hours/ resident / day
0.69
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.43
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.66
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.49
RN hoursweekends
55.7%
Total nursing turnover
64.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 48.2 residents a day — about 80% occupied, or roughly 12 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.66 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.54 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.43 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.60 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.68 on weekdays — 2% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.56 to 0.49 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 56% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-03-05)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2024-12-20)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

9 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-03-05 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and facility policy, the facility failed to review and revise the comprehensive care plan for 2 of 13 sampled Residents (R). (R14 and R26). Review of the facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans not dated, revealed it was the policy of the facility to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with resident rights, that included measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs and all services that were identified in the resident's comprehensive assessment and meet professional standards of quality.Observation on 03/03/2026 at 11:49AM revealed Resident (R) 14 wearing a soft helmet, that strapped under the chin.Review of R14's face sheet revealed Resident was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses of Dementia with behavioral disturbance, major depression, and anxiety.Review of R14's Quarterly Minimum Data Set with as Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-03-05 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to keep portable Oxygen available for a Resident that required continuous Oxygen during the shower. Resident 26 stated she became short of breath and upset during her shower on 03/03/2026. No portable tank was available in the shower room.Review of the facility policy titled Oxygen Administration, not dated, revealed Oxygen is administered to residents who need it, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plans, and the resident's goals and preferences. The policy further stated Oxygen is administered under orders of a physician, except in the case of and emergency. Review of R 26's face sheet revealed she was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), Acute on Chronic Respiratory Failure with Hypoxia, and Congestive Heart Failure. Review of R26's Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-12-20 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to store, prepare, and serve food in a sanitary manner and in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. During initial tour, Cook1 was observed prepping food and moving about in the kitchen production area without wearing a proper beard protector to ensure complete coverage of his facial hair. Continued observation during the tour revealed dietary equipment such as the stove top surface/back-splash, grease trap, and convection oven were dirty/soiled and in need of cleaning. This failure had the potential to affect all residents of the facility who consumed food prepared in the kitchen. The findings include: Review of the facility's Casper Report, last updated 12/15/2024, revealed 52 of 52 residents received their food from the kitchen. 1. Review of the facility's Prevention of Foodborne Illness/Infection Control policy, revised date on 02/14/2024, revealed it is the policy of the facility that the Food and Nutrition Department observe…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2020-01-09 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to prepare and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Kitchen equipment (a can opener and a mixer) was observed soiled and a soap dispenser at one (1) of two (2) handwashing sinks did not function and dispense soap. The findings include: A review of the facility policy for kitchen equipment sanitization titled Cleaning and Use of Equipment, with a revision date of 03/14/2017, revealed the can opener was to be cleaned and sanitized daily, using a procedure of soaking the can opener in a hot mixture of cleaning solution; all parts of the can opener were to be scrubbed with a brush giving special attention to the blade and can holding mechanism. After soaking and scrubbing, the can opener was to be rinsed with clear water and sanitized with a solution of disinfectant. The policy did not list procedures for cleaning and sanitizing the mixer. A review of the facility policy for maintenance of broken/nonfunctioning equipment titled Maintenance Work…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2020-01-09 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to accurately assess one (1) of eighteen (18) sampled residents. Review of Resident #7's Minimum Data Set (MDS) quarterly assessment revealed the facility had assessed the resident to not have oxygen therapy. However, record review and interview revealed the resident was receiving oxygen therapy during the period when the quarterly MDS assessment was completed. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, MDS 3.0 Completion, with a revision date of 08/28/2019, revealed the care plan team will follow the guidelines in Chapter 3, of the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual, Version 3.0 for coding the assessment. Review of the Long Term Care Facility RAI Manual, Version 3.0, Section O0100 Special Treatments, Procedures, and Programs, Subsection C Oxygen therapy, revealed, Code continuous or intermittent oxygen administered via mask, cannula, etc., delivered to a resident to relieve…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2020-01-09 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure one (1) of eighteen (18) sampled residents (Resident #7) received respiratory care as ordered by the physician. Resident #7 was ordered oxygen therapy at two (2) liters via nasal cannula and was receiving oxygen therapy at one (1) liter via nasal cannula. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Oxygen Concentrator, with a revision date of 03/06/2019, revealed the facility would administer oxygen for the treatment of certain diseases or conditions. Further review of the facility policy revealed the facility would obtain a physician's order for the rate of flow and route of administration of oxygen. Review of Resident #7's medical record revealed Resident #7 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Cerebral Infarction, Shortness of Breath, Restlessness and Agitation, Dementia, Hypertension, and Chronic Kidney Disease Stage 3. Review of the medical…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2020-01-09 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure controlled drugs were stored in a permanently affixed compartment as required in one (1) of two (2) refrigerators in the medication rooms. Observation of the South Hall medication room revealed the locked narcotic box in the refrigerator was not permanently affixed to the refrigerator. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Medication Storage, with an implementation date of 09/01/2017 and a reviewed/revised date of 08/14/2019, revealed that narcotics and controlled substances were stored under double-lock and key. The policy further revealed that medications requiring refrigeration were stored in refrigerators located in each medication room. The policy did not address that the locked box would be permanently affixed. Observation of the South Hall medication room on 01/09/2020 at 9:38 AM revealed a locked box in the refrigerator that was not affixed to the refrigerator and could be easily removed from the refrigerator. Interview with Kentucky Medication Aide (KMA) #1 at the time of the observation…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2020-01-09 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to have an effective infection control program ensuring staff wash/sanitize hands or use gloves (Personal Protective Equipment) when indicated during meal service and tray setup/delivery for one (1) of eighteen (18) sampled residents (Resident #12). On 01/07/2020 during the noon meal, a staff member removed a urinal from Resident 12's overbed table, adjusted a fall mat, and repositioned the resident, and did not utilize gloves or wash and sanitize hands. The staff member then prepared the resident's food tray and touched the resident's eating utensils. The findings include: A review of the facility policy for infection control titled Infection Prevention and Control Program, with a revision date of 07/23/2019, revealed it was the policy of the facility to maintain an infection prevention control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Further review of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2020-01-09 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure one (1) of five (5) sampled residents (Resident #11) that were reviewed for influenza and pneumonia vaccines received a pneumonia vaccine as required. Review of the record for Resident #11 revealed no evidence of a pneumonia vaccine. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Pneumococcal Vaccine (Series), with an implementation date of 09/01/2017 and a review/revised date of 07/23/2019, revealed it was the facility's policy to offer residents immunization against pneumococcal disease in accordance with current CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) guidelines and recommendations. Review of the record for Resident #11 revealed the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Review of the most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) with a reference date of 10/15/2019 revealed the resident's Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score was 0, which indicates the resident was not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to BAO OPCO HOLDINGS — 3 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.0+1.0 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.3+1.7 vs chain
Staffing 3 of 51.7+1.3 vs chain
Quality measures 1 of 53.3-2.3 vs chain
The other 2 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.0★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
BAO OPCO HOLDINGS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL100%since 06/16/2025
SMITHEY, ASHLEYIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 06/16/2025
WOMACK, BRYONIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF75%since 06/16/2025
RISE SNF MANAGEMENT LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
KING, BRIGITTEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
KOTHARI, ZAHIDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
SMITHEY, RANDYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
WEBB, GERALDINEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
AGTL HOLDINGS, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
BA PROPCO HOLDINGS, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
BERRYMAN PROPCO, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
EVOLVE THERAPY SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
BEBIE, LISAIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
DEITCH, LYLEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
DENNY, AMBERIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
LONG, ADAMIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
QUINN, TIMOTHYIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025
WOMACK, GRADYIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/16/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 30 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-41.6%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 76%Medicare 3%Other / private 20%

About 76% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$334per resident / day
operating cost
$10,168per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$236per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185423. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-03-05, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next