No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Martin County Health Care Facility

62 Maude Road, Inez, KY 41224 · For profit - Partnership · 65 certified beds · (606) 298-0091 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (606) 298-0091 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citations on record (F0600, F0606) — most recent Jan 2023
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (30% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0606) — most recent Jan 2023
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
94 Boardwalk · (606) 298-2660 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
38 Middle Fork Rd · (606) 298-3800 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
Route 645 · (606) 298-0030 · Call to confirm hours
Park
387 E Main St · (606) 298-7870 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased13.5%13.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight10.3%6.6%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.3%0.5%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.3%1.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms86.1%17.7%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.1%3.9%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened6.7%14.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication49.1%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.0%4.8%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control16.5%19.0%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table29.3%16.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.7%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.8%83.5%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission19.1%24.2%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit20.9%13.7%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.371.941.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.402.141.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

37.1% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 60 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

37.1%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
14.0%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
63.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.37U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.14hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.18hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.05hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 63.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 27 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.37 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 64% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 40% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF37.1%CMS range 26.8–46.251.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF14.0%CMS range 8.8–20.310.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge63.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge51.9%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge63.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay4.4%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization9.0%CMS range 5.3–14.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.321.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.68
RN hours/ resident / day
0.70
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.48
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.87
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.47
RN hoursweekends
30.0%
Total nursing turnover
40.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 65 beds and averages 59.7 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.87 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.68 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.48 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.46 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.03 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.77 to 0.47 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 30% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-11-20)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2023-01-06)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · D2025-11-20 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services to ensure the accurate administration of drugs to meet the needs of each resident for one of 26 sampled medication observations. The finding include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Administration, effective date 07/01/2024, last reviewed on 08/20/2025, revealed, Prior to administration, review and confirm medication orders for each individual resident on the Medication Administration Record and compare the medication and dosage schedule on the resident's MAR with the label. The policy also stated, Verify medication is correct three times before administering the medication. When pulling medication package from the med cart, when dose is prepared, and before dose is administered. Additionally, the policy indicated Medications are administered in accordance with written orders of the prescriber. Review of Resident (R)55's Face Sheet revealed the facility admitted the resident on 12/06/2011 with a diagnosis of epilepsy, aphasia,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-01-06 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, facility document policy review, it was determined the facility failed to maintain an environment which protected residents from physical abuse by another resident for one (1) out of three (3) residents, Resident #32. Resident #49, who had a history of wandering and aggressive behaviors, wandered into Resident #32's room and hit the resident on the right arm with a grabber (a grabber or a reacher is an assistive device used to pick up items from the floor/shelves, turn off lights, etc.). Resident #32 experienced a red, dime-sized area to his/her right arm, as a result of being hit with the grabber. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Reporting Abuse to Facility Management, dated 11/02/2017, revealed it was the facility's policy for each resident to have the right to be free from abuse, neglect, misappropriation of resident property, and exploitation. Continued review revealed the facility did not condone resident abuse by anyone, including staff…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-01-06 · tag F0606 — failed to not employ staff found guilty of abuse — isolated
    Not hire anyone with a finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, and facility document and policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a criminal background check was completed prior to employment for one (1) of five (5) sampled employees whose files were reviewed for background checks, State Registered Nurse Aide (SRNA) #11. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Background Screening Investigations, dated 11/02/2017, revealed, It was the policy of this facility to conduct employment background screening checks, reference checks, screening and criminal conviction investigation checks on individuals who applied for employment with the facility. Continued review revealed the Personnel Director/Human Resources Director, or other designee, was to conduct employment background checks on staff to include: employees, Medical Director, and volunteers where appropriate. Review further revealed the employment background checks to be performed included reference checks, drug screening and criminal conviction checks (which might require fingerprinting as required by state law) on all persons making…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-01-06 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure nebulizer equipment was sanitized after each use to prevent the possible spread of infection for one (1) of three (3) residents, Resident #50. Observation on 01/03/2023 at 2:25 PM, revealed Registered Nurse (RN) #1 opened the nebulizer cup, which contained drops of an unknown liquid around the inner wall of the cup. The RN opened the Ipratropium (an inhalation medication used to treat breathing problems) solution vial and emptied the contents of the vial into the nebulizer cup and turned the nebulizer machine on. At 2:52 PM, RN #1 stated the treatment had been completed and removed the nebulizer mask and placed the nebulizer apparatus inside a clear plastic bag and put it back on the resident's bedside table without sanitizing the equipment. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Specific Medication Administration Procedures, dated November 2021, revealed after a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-01-06 · tag F0888 — isolated
    Ensure staff are vaccinated for COVID-19
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, and facility document and policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure staff members received a COVID-19 vaccination or an exemption for two (2) of seventy-eight (78) employees, Dietary Aide (DA) #20 and Maintenance Assistant (MA) #21. The facility failed to ensure DA #20 and MA #21 received the second dose of their two (2) dose series of the COVID-19 vaccination. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, COVID-19 Policy and Procedures, undated, revealed where COVID-19 vaccination required multiple doses, the staff member should be provided with current information regarding those additional does, including any changes in the benefits or risks and potential side effects, associated with the COVID-19 vaccine to that individual as soon as possible. Continued review revealed the facility would require as a condition of employment that all individuals who provided care, treatments, and services for residents including employees, trainees, and contractors were to be fully vaccinated by March 15th, 2022. Further review revealed if…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to BLUEGRASS HEALTH KY — 15 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 53.1+0.9 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 53.4+0.6 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 51.6+0.4 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 53.5-0.5 vs chain
The other 14 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.1★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
KENNEDY KY HOLDINGS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF14%since 01/01/2023
KY EQUITY PARTNERS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF21%since 01/01/2023
GRINSPAN, ELIIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF15%since 01/01/2023
DAVID, ROCHELIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
EDELSTEIN, JOELIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
FARKOVITS, JOSHUAIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
FREUND, ISRAELIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
FRIEDMAN, LEAHIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
FUCHS, BERNARDIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
FUCHS, GERALDIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
FUCHS, TOVAIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZAHLER, CHARLESIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZAHLER, CHAYAIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZAHLER, DAVIDIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZAHLER, JACOBIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZUPNICK, MIRIAMIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
GREYSTONE SERVICING COMPANY, LLC, A DELAWARE LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANYOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTsince 08/28/2019
MARTIN MANOR REALTY LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
FISCHEL, MAYERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
VALLEY STREAM OPERATOR I LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/10/2025
WORKMAN, JESSICAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/04/2022
KY 90 EQUITIES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZF REALTY LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
BERKOWITZ, CHESKELIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
CARIAS, KATHERINEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
FITZPATRICK, DEBORAHIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 03/05/2018
LANDA, BENJAMINIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
LEIFER, JOELIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
ZUPNICK, JOELIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023

CMS files one row per role, so the 52 rows in the source record cover these 29 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.8M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+5.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$706K
Related-party expense11% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 76%Medicare 12%Other / private 12%

About 76% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $706K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 11% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$299per resident / day
operating cost
$9,084per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$315per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185379. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-11-20, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next