Robertson County Health Care Facility
1030 Kentontown Road, Mount Olivet, KY 41064 · For profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (606) 724-5020 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Apr 2025
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- the CMS record shows $8,788 in federal fines (most recent 2025-04-01)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 2.9% | 13.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 5.9% | 6.6% | 5.4% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.4% | 0.5% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.5% | 1.6% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 13.4% | 17.7% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.5% | 3.9% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 5.7% | 14.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 32.8% | 29.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 96.6% | 96.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 6.3% | 4.8% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 14.4% | 19.0% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 17.8% | 16.1% | 17.1% | typical |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.7% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 80.6% | 83.5% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 33.5% | 24.2% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 11.3% | 13.7% | 12.0% | typical |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.49 | 1.94 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 2.16 | 2.14 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
50.3% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 29 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.33 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 55% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 12% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 50.3%CMS range 38.0–62.3 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.5%CMS range 6.0–15.6 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 8.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.8%CMS range 3.3–11.9 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.30 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 53.7 residents a day — about 90% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.91 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.85 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.42 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.55 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.05 on weekdays — 12% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.97 to 0.53 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 40% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 2 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
- Actual harm · G2025-04-01 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's investigation and policy, it was determined the facility failed to protect 2 of 15 sampled residents from resident-to-resident abuse, Resident (R) 2 and R5. 1. On 10/13/2024, R2 entered R5's room uninvited and R5 was heard by staff yelling get out of my room. R2 was care planned for wandering, cussing at staff, and physical behaviors. When the State Registered Nurse Aide (SRNA) 5 responded to R5's call for help, she found R2 with her foot on R5's wheelchair. R5 reported R2 swung at her and hit her on the arm causing a skin tear and a bruise. 2. On 10/21/2024, a second incident occurred between R2 and R5. Staff observed R5 following R2 earlier that day [on 10/21/2024] and told the resident to stop. Later that same day, R5 and R2 were observed in a physical altercation in which R5 grabbed R2's arm and two facility staff had to assist with separating the residents. R5 was observed to have twisted R2's arm which resulted in R2 sustaining a broken wrist. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Reporting…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-07-02 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, review of manufacturer's instructions for use, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure insulin pens that required refrigeration were stored in the refrigerator for 1 of 5 medication carts. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Storage, dated 08/04/2024, revealed medications requiring refrigeration were stored in the refrigerator. Review of the manufacturer's instructions for the Basaglar KwikPen (insulin glargine, used to decrease blood sugar) at www.insulins.lilly.com/basaglar revealed to store the unopened pen in the refrigerator at 36 degrees Fahrenheit (F) to 46 degrees F until the expiration date and at room temperature for 28 days. It also stated to discard the opened pen after 28 days, even if all the insulin had not been used. Review of the manufacturer's instructions for the insulin glargine pen at www.medlineplus.gov/druginfo/med, revealed to store unopened pens in the refrigerator at 36 degrees F to 46 degrees F until the expiration date and at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-07-02 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to ensure a system for controlling infections and communicable diseases for all residents, staff, volunteers, visitors, and other individuals providing services was maintained for 1 of 5 sampled employees, Assistant Director of Nursing/Registered Nurse (ADON/RN) 2. Review of the [State] Department for Public Health Tuberculosis (TB) Risk Assessment for ADON/RN2 revealed she had not had a TB risk assessment or tuberculin skin test since 06/19/2024. The findings include: Review of the undated facility's policy titled, Tuberculosis Screening for Employees, taken from the Infection Prevention Manual for Long Term Care, revealed its purpose was to promote resident and employee safety and well being by screening employees for tuberculosis and initiating appropriate follow-up. Further review of the policy revealed the frequency of repeat skin testing of the employee would depend on the facility's annual TB risk assessment for the employee. Review of the [State] Department for Public Health…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-01 · tag F0625 — isolatedNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, document review, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to offer the resident and her representative an offer, in writing, of a bed hold before transferring and subsequently discharging Resident (R) 5 from the facility. In addition, the facility failed to recognize the resident's right to have access to a bed hold during her hospital stay for up to 14 days, regardless of the bed hold agreement. The findings include: Review of the facility's document Transfer and Discharge, undated, revealed the bed reservation and bed-hold policy that explained the rights of a resident up to 14 calendar days for hospital admissions. When a resident or responsible party were notified of the exhaustion of the bed hold days, they must specify at the time of their notification whether or not they wished to continue reserving the bed. The document stated both Medicaid and private pay patients [residents] would be notified within 24 hours of the time that payment stopped. Review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-10-29 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the Comprehensive Care Plan was revised as determined by the resident's needs after each fall for three (3) of seventeen (17) sampled residents, Resident #13, #22, and #28. Resident #13's Comprehensive Care Plan was not revised to reflect new interventions after falls that occurred, on 09/11/2020, 09/12/2020, 09/18/2020, 10/05/2020, 10/09/2020, 10/14/2020, and 10/16/2020. Resident #22's Comprehensive Care Plan was not revised to reflect new interventions for a fall that occurred, on 10/01/2020. Resident #28's Comprehensive Care Plan was not revised to reflect new interventions for falls that occurred, on 07/03/2020, and 08/09/2020. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Care Plans - Comprehensive, dated 08/13/2013, revealed the individualized comprehensive care plan included measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's medical, nursing, mental, and psychological needs and was developed for each resident. 1. Review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-10-29 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to have a systemic approach with consistent application of implementation of individualized, resident-centered interventions, to reduce individual risks related to hazards in the environment to prevent accidents for three (3) of seventeen (17) sampled residents (Resident #13, #22, and #28). Resident #13 sustained falls on 09/11/2020, 09/12/2020, 09/18/2020, 10/05/2020, 10/09/2020, 10/14/2020, and 10/16/2020. Review of the Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) revealed the facility did not implement individualized, resident-centered interventions after each fall. Resident #22 had a fall on 10/01/2020. Review of the Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) revealed the facility did not update the CCP to reflect new interventions after the fall, until 10/05/2020. Resident #28 sustained two (2) falls, on 07/03/2020, and 08/09/2020. Review of the Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) revealed the facility did not update it to reflect new interventions after each fall. The findings include:…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-04-25 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review and review of the facility's Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure PRN (as needed) orders for psychotropic drugs were limited to fourteen (14) days except when extended by the physician or prescribing practitioner beyond fourteen (14) days with documented rationale in the resident's medical record for one (1) out of nineteen (19) sampled residents (Resident #157). Record Review revealed no documented evidence of duration or rationale for the use of a PRN Lorazepam order for Resident #157. The findings include: Review of the facility's Policy, titled Medication Monitoring and Management, undated, revealed the policy is to optimize the therapeutic benefit of medication therapy and minimize or prevent potential adverse consequences. Continued review revealed, as needed (PRN) orders would include an indication for use. Per the policy, if the PRN medication is used to modify a behavior, the indication(s) for use is clearly defined in objective terms, e.g., what specific symptom(s) is being addressed. Further review revealed the resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$8,788 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $8,788 — penalty dated 2025-04-01
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to BLUEGRASS HEALTH KY — 15 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 4 of 5 | 3.1 | +0.9 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 4 of 5 | 3.4 | +0.6 vs chain |
| Staffing | 3 of 5 | 1.6 | +1.4 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 4 of 5 | 3.5 | +0.5 vs chain |
The other 14 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.1★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KENNEDY KY HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | 14% | since 01/01/2023 |
| KY EQUITY PARTNERS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | 21% | since 01/01/2023 |
| GRINSPAN, ELI | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | 15% | since 01/01/2023 |
| LIFESTAR FAMILY HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 04/01/2017 |
| FARKOVITS, JOSHUA | Individual | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| KY 90 EQUITIES LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| BERKOWITZ, CHESKEL | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| DAVID, ROCHEL | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| EDELSTEIN, JOEL | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| FREUND, ISRAEL | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| FRIEDMAN, LEAH | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| FUCHS, BERNARD | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| FUCHS, GERALD | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| FUCHS, TOVA | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| LEIFER, JOEL | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| ZAHLER, CHARLES | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| ZAHLER, CHAYA | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| ZAHLER, DAVID | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| ZAHLER, JACOB | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| ZUPNICK, JOEL | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| ZUPNICK, MIRIAM | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| GREYSTONE SERVICING COMPANY, LLC, A DELAWARE LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY | Organization | 5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST | — | since 08/28/2019 |
| ROBERTSON REALTY LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/01/2016 |
| FISCHEL, MAYER | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/19/2025 |
| ISAAC, MELISSA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/31/2023 |
| ALVARADO, RALPH | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/01/2024 |
| LANDA, BENJAMIN | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| OSBORNE, TYIA | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/01/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 55 rows in the source record cover these 28 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 71% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $694K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 11% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KY
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185359. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-07-02, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.