The Pavilion at Canal Fulton for Nursing and Rehab
7055 High Mill Avenue NW, Canal Fulton, OH 44614 · For profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (330) 854-4545 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0602), cited Jul 2024
- it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0569)
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (60%) runs well above the national median (45%)
- about 17% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 2.3% | 5.3% | 15.4% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 7.6% | 6.2% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.4% | 2.0% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 29.6% | 30.1% | 6.5% | typical for the state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.7% | 3.2% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 6.4% | 6.1% | 16.1% | typical for the state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 26.9% | 25.5% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 89.6% | 94.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.0% | 3.4% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 23.8% | 21.4% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 24.5% | 8.8% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 2.7% | 1.2% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 36.4% | 75.6% | 79.4% | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.41 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 71% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 38.2 residents a day — about 64% occupied, or roughly 22 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.35 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.54 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.75 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.01 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.49 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.61 to 0.39 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 60% is well above the national median of 45%. 2 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · F2025-06-18 · tag F0868 — widespreadHave the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on review of facility documentation and interview, the Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) committee failed to meet at least quarterly. This had the potential to affect all 44 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility QAPI committee sign in sheets provided by the facility revealed a single sign-in sheet for May 2025. Interview on 06/17/25 at 4:18 P.M. with the Administrator verified the QAPI committee sign-in sheet dated May 2025 was the only sign in sheet available. No additional information was provided to support additional QAPI meetings were held.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-06-18 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, policy review, and CMS memorandum QSO-24-08-NH review, the facility failed to provide care to Residents #7, #29, and #46 in a manner to prevent the potential spread of infection. This affected Residents #7, #29 and #46 and had the potential to affect all residents residing in the facility. The facility census was 44. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #7 revealed an admission date of 05/06/14. Diagnoses included multiple sclerosis, atrial fibrillation, and Alzheimer's disease. Review of the annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #7 had severe cognitive impairment, required extensive to total dependence for all activities of daily living, and was always incontinent of urine and bowel. Review of the care plan for Resident #7 dated 03/18/25 revealed the resident had pressure ulcers related to impaired mobility. Interventions included to administer treatments as ordered and monitor for effectiveness, and to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-06-18 · tag F0641 — patternEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments were accurate related to hospice services and use of tobacco. This affected seven residents (Residents #3, #12, #16, #17, #28, #42, and #43) of sixteen residents reviewed for Minimum Date Set (MDS) assessment accuracy. Facility census was 44. Findings include: 1. Medical record review revealed Resident #3 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and started on hospice services on 03/12/25. Diagnoses included dementia, gastro esophageal reflux disease (GERD), insomnia, anxiety, chronic pain, and Alzheimer's disease. Review of the MDS assessment dated [DATE] revealed the assessment did not indicate the provision of Hospice Services. 2. Medical record review revealed Resident #12 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and started on hospice services on 02/04/25. Diagnoses included dementia, schizoaffective disorder, anxiety, GERD, diabetes, major depressive disorder, and tachycardia. Review of the MDS assessment dated [DATE]…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-06-18 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolatedReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review the facility failed to ensure call lights were within resident reach. This affected two (#7 and #23) of two residents reviewed for call lights. The facility census was 44. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #7 revealed an admission date of 05/06/14. Diagnoses included multiple sclerosis, atrial fibrillation, and Alzheimer's Disease. Review of the annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #7 had severe cognitive impairment. required extensive to dependence for all activities of daily living, and was always incontinent of urine and bowel. Review of the care plan dated 03/18/25 revealed Resident #7 had self-care deficits for activities of daily living related to her diagnoses. Interventions included to provide bed mobility of two persons and encourage Resident #7 to use call light when assistance was needed. Observation on 06/16/25 at 9:59 A.M. revealed Resident #7 lying in bed hollering for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-06-18 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolatedHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure advanced directives had the appropriate signatures. This affected one resident (#8) of 17 residents (#15, #9, #46, #37, #28, #5, #40, #11, #16, #4, #1, #42, #22, #7, #12, #8, and #3) whose advanced directives were reviewed. The facility census was 44. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #8 revealed an admission date of 05/16/25. Diagnoses included urinary tract infection, dementia, and prostate cancer. Review of Resident #8's physician orders for June 2025 revealed an active order for Do Not Resuscitate Comfort Care- Arrest (DNRCC-A) dated 05/16/25. Review of Resident #8's DNRCC-A form dated 05/16/25 revealed on the line for required signature of physician, APRN [advance practiced registered nurse], or PA [physician assistant] were the signatures of Assistant Director of Nursing (ADON) #102 and Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #134. Written on the line required for APRN or PA: name of the supervising physician (PA) or collaborating physician (APRN) for this patient and the physician's HNPI…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-06-18 · tag F0582 — isolatedGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage letters and staff interview, the facility failed to inform residents of the name and phone number of the Quality Improvement Organization (QIO). This affected one resident of one resident reviewed for liability notices (Resident #2). The census was 44. Findings include: Review of Resident #2's medical record revealed the resident was re-admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Review of a Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage letter, signed by the resident/resident representative on 12/18/24, revealed services ended on 12/20/24. The letter did not provide the necessary QIO information to request a timely appeal regarding the ending of skilled services and therapies. Interview on 06/16/25 at 3:30 P.M. with Social Service Coordinator #113 confirmed the Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage letter to Resident #2 did not provide the information needed for the appeal process. Interview on 06/16/25 at 3:37 P.M. with the Director of Nursing verified the Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-06-18 · tag F0637 — isolatedAssess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to complete Significant Change in Minimum Data Set (MDS) status assessments within 14 days after hospice admission date. This affected three residents (#16, #17 and #42) of nine reviewed for hospice services. Facility census was 44. Findings include: 1. Medical record review revealed Resident #16 was admitted on [DATE] and started hospice services on 01/09/25. Diagnoses included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), Alzheimer's disease, chronic respiratory failure, major depressive disorder, dementia, anxiety, malnutrition, and peripheral vascular disease (PVD). Review of Resident #16's assessments revealed there was no Significant Change assessment completed within 14 days of Resident #16's hospice admission. 2. Medical record review revealed Resident #17 was admitted on [DATE] and started hospice services on 05/11/25. Diagnoses included diabetes, dementia, anxiety, major depressive disorder, gastro esophageal reflux disease (GERD), atrial…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-06-18 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to develop a care plan for smoking for Resident #28. This affected one resident (#28) of one resident reviewed for smoking. The facility census was 44. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #28 revealed an admission date of 03/13/25. Diagnoses included chronic diastolic (congestive) heart failure, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and nicotine dependence. Review of the smoking assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #28 smoked and required supervision. Review of the smoking assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #28 did not require supervision or any adaptive equipment for smoking. Review of Resident #28's plan of care revealed the care plan did not address smoking. Interview on 06/17/25 at 10:54 A.M. with Resident #28 revealed she smoked at the facility and had been a smoker for 50 years. Interview on 06/17/25 at 12:57 P.M. with MDS Nurse #105 revealed she was not aware Resident #28 was a smoker when she completed the MDS…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-06-18 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure pharmacy recommendations were addressed in a timely manner. This affected one resident (#40) of five residents (#5, #40, #11, #3, and #12) reviewed for unnecessary medications. The facility census was 44. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #40 revealed an admission date of 09/25/23. Diagnoses included dementia, depression, Alzheimer's disease, and hallucinations. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #40 had impaired cognition. Review of the pharmacy recommendation dated 03/13/25 revealed Resident #40 had a medication order for fluticasone nasal spray two spray each nostril (EN) everyday (QD) which started 11/28/23. The recommendation indicated in an effort to ensure the lowest most effective does was administered please consider discontinuing fluticasone nasal spray or change the fluticasone nasal spray to one spray EN QD as needed (prn) for rhinitis. A handwritten…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-07-31 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolatedProtect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
THE FOLLOWING DEFICIENCY REPRESENTS AN INCIDENT OF PAST NONCOMPLIANCE THAT WAS SUBSEQUENTLY CORRECTED PRIOR TO THIS SURVEY. Based on facility self-reported incident review, medical record review, staff interview, policy review and facility investigation, the facility failed to ensure staff did not misappropriate resident narcotic medication. This affected one (Resident #44) of one residents reviewed for misappropriation of property. The facility census was 46 residents. Findings include: Review of the facility Self-Reported Incident (SRI) #245379 dated 03/18/24 revealed Resident #44's Percocet (a pain medication) tablets were reported missing. Further review of the SRI revealed Percocet tablets were reported missing when staff notified the pharmacy of the need for a refill and the pharmacy indicated there should be a two-week supply left. SRI investigation completed on 03/25/24 revealed the facility was unable to verify or determine if misappropriation of medication occurred. Review of the medical record for Resident #44 revealed an admission date of 09/25/23 with diagnoses…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · F2022-12-07 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — widespreadEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of meeting minutes, the facility failed to serve palatable food at an appetizing temperature. This affected all 51 residents in the facility. Findings include: During the initial screening, Resident's #5 and #16 on 12/04/22 beginning at 11:12 A.M. reported the food was often cold and of poor quality. Observation of the dinner meal on the South unit on 12/04/22 at 5:00 P.M. revealed multiple residents complained the meal did not look appetizing, the meat was of poor poor quality. The menu indicated the meal was a hot hamburger sandwich with brown gravy, mashed potatoes and carrots. The thin dotted hamburger patty was on top of a piece of bread and covered in brown gravy. Three residents requested the substitution after receiving their meal. The posted substitution was a fish sandwich. An aide called the kitchen requesting fish sandwiches. The aide then informed the residents the kitchen did not have the fish sandwiches and offered them a choice of chicken nuggets or grilled cheese. Several asked for the chicken nuggets. Then the residents…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-12-07 · tag F0569 — isolatedNotify each resident of certain balances and convey resident funds upon discharge, eviction, or death.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure Resident #204's personal funds were forwarded to the resident's estate within 30 days. This affected one resident (Resident #204) of one resident reviewed for personal funds after death. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #204 revealed an admission date of 04/17/22 with a diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease. She passed away on 04/17/22. Review of Resident #204's personal funds statement dated 12/05/22 revealed on 04/18/22 she had a balance of $12.25. The facility closed her account on 04/18/22. A check was made out to Resident #204 in the amount of $12.25 and was dated for 06/06/22 and cleared the facility's bank on 07/11/22. Interview on 12/06/22 at 12:20 P.M. with the Business Office Manager (BOM) #504 verified Resident #204 passed away on 04/17/22 and personal funds were not dispersed to the resident's estate until 06/06/22. She verified this was over 30 days.
- Potential for harm · D2022-12-07 · tag F0638 — isolatedAssure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments were completed timely. This affected three (Residents #26, #34 and #49) of three residents reviewed for resident assessments. The facility had a census of 51 residents. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #26 revealed an admission date of 04/25/21 with diagnoses including hypertension and depression. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments for Resident #26 revealed she had quarterly assessments on 07/25/22 and 11/18/22. Interview on 12/05/22 at 1:52 P.M. with Registered Nurse (RN) #500, verified the MDS dates were not done timely and should have been completed at least every three months. 2. Review of the medical record for Resident #34 revealed an admission date of 03/15/22 with diagnoses including diabetes mellitus and hypertension. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments for Resident #34 revealed he had a quarterly assessment completed on 07/19/22. The next assessment was in progress and dated 11/23/22. Interview on 12/05/22 at 1:52 P.M. with…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2019-12-18 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespreadHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on staffing schedule review and interview, the facility did not ensure a registered nurse (RN) was employed for eight consecutive hours in a day. This had the potential to affect all 63 residents in the facility at the time of the survey. Findings include. Review of the staffing schedule for 11/22/19 through 11/24/19 revealed the facility had failed to employee a RN for eight consecutive hours on 11/22/19, 11/23/19 and 11/24/19. Review of the staffing schedule for 12/06/19 through 12/08/19 revealed the facility failed to employee a RN for eight consecutive hours on 12/07/19 and 12/08/19. Review of the staffing schedule for 12/15/19 through 12/17/19 revealed the facility failed to employee a RN for eight consecutive hours on 12/16/19 and 12/18/19. Interview with the Director of Nursing verified the facility had not employed a RN on the days identified.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2019-12-18 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the appropriate orders were obtained and infection control measures were maintained while providing Resident #162's wound care, cleaning Resident #41's resident room and obtaining physician orders for isolation precautions for Residents #41 and #162. This finding affected one (Resident #162) of three residents reviewed for pressure ulcers and one resident room (Resident #41) with the potential of affecting all twenty-five residents residing in the general population (excluding the memory care unit) and two (Residents #41 and #162) of two residents reviewed for isolation precautions. The census at the time of the survey was 63. Findings include: 1. Review of Resident #162's medical record revealed the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including sepsis, spina bifida and pressure ulcer of the right buttock. Review of Resident #162's physician order dated 12/13/19 indicated to cleanse the open area to the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-12-18 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure a thorough fall investigation for Resident #44. This affected one (Resident #44) of four (Residents #24, #42, #43 and #44) reviewed for accidents. The facility census was 63. Findings include: Resident #44 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of end stage renal disease, hypoglycemia, pseudobulbar, anxiety, delirium, depression, auditory hallucinations, altered mental status and muscle weakness. Review of the comprehensive assessment for a significant change dated 11/14/19 revealed the resident required extensive assistance with bed mobility and transfers. The resident was unsteady moving from seated to standing position, moving on and off the toilet, and surface-to surface transfers. Review of the resident record revealed the resident sustained a fall on 07/08/19 during the supper meal in the dining room. Review of the incident report dated 07/09/19 indicated the resident fell trying to carry two meal trays. The resident was sent…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-12-18 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5% (percent). This finding affected one (Resident #35) of four residents observed for medication administration. A total of twenty-seven medications were observed with six errors for a medication error rate of 22.2%. Findings include: Review of Resident #35's medical record revealed the resident was re-admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including dysphagia, chronic respiratory failure and type two diabetes. Review of Resident #35's Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] revealed the resident exhibited intact cognition. Review of Resident #35's physician orders revealed an order dated 11/27/19 for a lidocaine patch 5% apply to right should topically in the morning for pain, an order dated 11/27/19 for a multivitamin give one tablet by mouth in the morning for vitamin deficiency, an order dated 11/27/19 for a Spiriva aerosol inhaler two puffs inhale orally in the morning…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to THE PAVILION GROUP — 6 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 2 of 5 | 2.8 | -0.8 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.8 | +0.2 vs chain |
| Staffing | 1 of 5 | 1.8 | -0.8 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 4 of 5 | 4.0 | ≈ chain avg |
The other 5 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CANAL GROUP HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100% | since 12/16/2024 |
| ACM ASHEM HOLDINGS, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 56% | since 12/16/2024 |
| EVANS, TYLER | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 02/06/2025 |
| SCHONFELD, SIMCHA | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | 23% | since 02/06/2025 |
| MOERMAN, RAFAEL | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| KODRIN, MATTHEW | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| LOEB, CHAVI | Individual | INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/14/2025 |
| BANKWELL | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/06/2025 |
| HIGH MILL HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| NPNH1 LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| QUALITY HEALTHCARE RESOURCES | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/06/2025 |
| THE PAVILION MANAGMENT COMPANY LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/06/2025 |
| BIROS, KENNETH | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| GUDLA, JYOTHI | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| HIRSCH, SHAYE | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/06/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 19 rows in the source record cover these 15 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 70% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $918K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 17% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in OH
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Ohio Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 366271. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-06-18, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.