Blaire House Of Worcester
116 Houghton Street, Worcester, MA 01604 · For profit - Corporation · 75 certified beds · (508) 791-5543 Medicare & Medicaid certified
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0604, F0607) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $13,095 in federal fines (most recent 2024-01-03)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 33.7% | 16.4% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 10.2% | 5.1% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.5% | 0.8% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.9% | 1.8% | 2.0% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.4% | 15.5% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 7.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.0% | 3.4% | 3.3% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 20.7% | 15.4% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 13.0% | 19.5% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 94.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.0% | 4.2% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 18.0% | 21.2% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 52.4% | 21.4% | 17.1% | check this† — see note marked dagger below the table |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.87 | 1.88 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 0.23 | 1.50 | 1.80 | better |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
† This value is several times the typical-state benchmark. It can be real, or it can be a coding artifact in what the facility submitted. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.12 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 9% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 27% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.1%CMS range 5.6–17.3 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.85 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 75 beds and averages 69.9 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.94 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.38 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.67 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.53 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.11 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.44 to 0.21 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 39% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · Gcited before2024-01-03 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on records reviewed and interviews for one of three sampled residents (Resident #1) who required the use of a Hoyer lift (mechanical lift system used to transfer a medically dependent person from point A to point B) with the assistance of two staff members for transfers from bed to chair, the Facility failed to ensure he/she was provided with the necessary assistance during a Hoyer lift transfer. On 12/22/23, prior to attempting to transfer Resident #1 by the Hoyer lift, the two certified nurse aides (CNA's) had not checked to see if the lower straps of the Hoyer lift sling/pad were properly connected to the Hoyer, and as they started to raise Resident #1 up, he/she slid out of the sling/pad, fell to the floor and hit his/her head. Resident #1 was transferred to the Hospital Emergency Department (ED) for evaluation and was diagnosed with a laceration (open wound) to the back of his/her head related to the fall, which required two staples to close. Findings Include: The Facility Policy titled Lifting…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-08-29 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to establish an infection prevention and control program (IPCP) to identify and prevent the potential spread of communicable diseases for 14 Residents (#55, #21, #51, #3, #23, #38, #60, #41, #12, #5, #31, #6, #39, #57), out of a total sample of 17 Residents. Specifically, the facility failed to:1. For Resident #55, identify Covid-19 infection when the Resident was exhibiting symptoms of a respiratory infection.2. For Resident #21, to appropriately disinfect a shared hallway bathroom after use when the Resident who used the shared bathroom tested positive for Covid-19.3. ensure staff performed proper hand hygiene and donned PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) upon entering and exiting Resident rooms when posted signage indicated it was required.4. For Residents (#51, #3, #23, #38, #60, #41, #12, #5, #31, #6, #39, #57), follow infection control practices by determining the type and duration of the isolation, depending upon the infectious agent…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-08-29 · tag F0730 — patternObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to complete a performance review of every Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) at least once every 12 months, for five Certified Nurse Aides (#4, #5, #6, #7, and #8), out of five total records reviewed. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure that annual performance reviews to identify any areas of weakness were completed every 12 months, with regular in-service education provided based on the outcome of those performance reviews. Findings include: Review of the Employee Policy Manual, revised 6/2025 indicated: -Employees will be evaluated after 90 days of employment and after 12 months of employment. -Employees continuing their at-will employment will be evaluated at the end of each 12-month period. The employee's evaluation, known as a performance appraisal is made on a standard form that is signed by you and your supervisor and is reviewed by the administrator. -These evaluations are an opportunity for you and your supervisor to discuss your performance to date and, at the same time, to set goals for the future. -Your evaluation…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-29 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to provide specialized rehabilitative services consistent with the comprehensive plan of care for one Resident (#9) out of a total sample of 17 residents. Specifically, for Resident #9, the facility failed to ensure that lateral supports were implemented on the Resident's wheelchair as recommended by the Occupational Therapist (OT) and ordered by the Physician to ensure appropriate positioning, placing the Resident at potential risk for poor positioning, accidents related to falls, skin conditions, and pain. Findings include:Resident #9 was admitted to the facility in October 2021 with diagnoses including Dementia with behavioral disturbance, weakness, abnormal gait and mobility, low back pain, and Scoliosis. On 8/26/25 at 9:15 A.M., the surveyor observed the following:-Resident #9 was dressed and seated in a wheelchair in the hallway and leaning heavily on his/her right side of the wheelchair with his/her arm and upper body hanging over the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-29 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide care and services consistent with professional standards of practice for wound care for one Resident (#5), of two applicable residents with pressure ulcers, out of a total sample of 17 residents.Specifically, for Resident #5, the facility staff failed to:-adhere to the Physician's orders when completing dressing changes for the Resident's Stage 3 Pressure Ulcer, right hip pressure wound, and left elbow skin tear.-implement infection control practices during the Resident's dressing changes to prevent the potential for infection and/or deterioration of the wounds. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Wound Care, revised September 2013, indicated:-Purpose is to provide guidelines for the care of the wounds to promote healing.-Verify Physician's order.-Wash your hands thoroughly.-Put on exam glove. Loosen tape and remove dressing.-Pull glove over dressing and discard into appropriate receptable. Wash and dry your hands thoroughly.-Use no-touch technique. Use sterile tongue blades and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-29 · tag F0726 — failed to have competent, trained nursing staff — isolatedEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, observation and record review, the facility failed to ensure that the appropriate competencies related to wound care services were completed for one Licensed Nurse (Nurse #5) and one Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA #3), out of 5 staff records reviewed.Specifically, the facility failed to provide documentation that Nurse #5 and CNA #3 had completed the appropriate nursing competencies for wound care and infection control practices. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Clinical Competency Training for Licensed Nursing Staff, revised 7/2024, indicated:-The Director of Nursing (DON) will be responsible for coordinating a clinical competency program for all licensed nursing staff twice a year, according to the mandatory educational in-service schedule.-All licensed nurses will be required to attend clinical programs and competency programs yearly.>The following nursing modules and topics shall be covered, and tests will be given.-Infection control.-Nursing assessment, .-Clinical day for licensed nursing staff may also include any other topics that…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-29 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, and interview, the facility failed to ensure that all drugs and biologicals were stored in accordance with accepted professional standards of practice on one out of one nurses station. Specifically, the facility to properly secure topical medications that were stored under the desk at the nurses station and was easily accessible to residents or staff. Findings include: Review of the policy title Storage and Expiration Dating of Medications and Biologicals, dated [DATE], indicated the following: -Facility should ensure all medications and biologicals, including treatment items, are securely stored in a locked cabinet/cart or locked in a medication room that is inaccessible by residents and visitors. -Facility should destroy or return all discontinued, outdated/expired, or deteriorated medications or biologicals in accordance with pharmacy return/destruction guidelines and other applicable law, and in accordance with policy. -Facility should inspect nurses station storage areas for proper…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-29 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that complete and accurate medical records were maintained for two Residents (#1 and #9), out of a total sample of 17 residents.Specifically, the facility failed to: 1. For Resident #1, ensure documentation relative to residuals (the amount of fluid that remains in the stomach between feedings when a person is fed through a gastrostomy tube [G-tube: tube inserted directly into the stomach to provide fluid and nutrition when it cannot be taken orally]) checks were accurately recorded in the medical record for the Resident with a history of Aspiration Pneumonia, putting the Resident at risk for complications relative to his/her G-tube.2. For Resident #9, ensure an accurate medical record when the nursing staff were documenting in the Treatment Administration Record (TAR) that lateral supports were in place on the Resident's wheelchair. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Charting and Documentation, revised July…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-10-21 · tag F0604 — failed to not use physical restraints improperly — isolatedEnsure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interviews and records reviewed, for one of three sampled residents (Resident #1) who was alert, disoriented, unable to make his/her needs known and was dependent on staff for transfers between surfaces, dressing and hygiene, the Facility failed to ensure Resident #1 was free from the use of physical restraint when, on 9/24/24 around 7:20 A.M., the Scheduler and the Activity Director observed Resident #1, who was seated in a wheelchair at a table in the dayroom with a gait belt around him/her that was also wrapped around the back of the wheelchair. The gait belt was clasped closed behind the wheelchair, unable to be removed or unlocked by Resident #1 and therefore restraining his/her ability to get up, if desired. Findings include: Review of the Facility Policy titled Device/Restraints Policy & Procedure, effective 10/10/00, indicated the resident has the right to be free from physical restraints imposed for the purposes of discipline and convenience and not required to treat the resident's medical condition. The Policy defined physical restraint to include any manual…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-06-27 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — patternDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure documentation was available to show that Nurse Aide registry checks were completed for three Staff Members (#1, #2, and #3), out of five staff members personnel files reviewed. Specifically the facility failed to provide documentation that showed Nurse Aide registry checks were completed for screening of Staff Members #1, #2, and #3, prior to the staff members working with residents in the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Abuse Prevention Policies and Procedures, revised 4/17, indicated the following: -All applicants for employment shall provide professional references. -The facility shall conduct application reference checks to the extent possible. -In addition, the facility will conduct further screening (s) as required including but not limited to Board of Nursing license verification, Nurse Aide Registry . 1. Review of Staff Member #1's personnel record indicated that Staff Member #1 had been working at the facility since February 2024. Further review of Staff Member #1's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-06-27 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record and policy review, the facility failed to ensure that infection surveillance was implemented for skin infections requiring medical intervention for eight Residents (#9, #8, #52 #2, #45, #59, #20, and #61) out of a total sample of 20 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to track and trend skin disorders in order to assess/evaluate rashes that developed for Resident's (#9, #8, #52 #2, #45, #59, #20, and #61), and to implement strategies to minimize the potential risk of transmission of infections. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Surveillance for Infections, revised September 2017, indicated the Infection Preventionist (IP) will conduct ongoing surveillance for Healthcare-Associated Infections (HAIs) and other epidemiologically significant infections that have substantial impact on potential resident outcomes and that may require Transmission-Based Precautions (TBP: infection control measures used in addition to standard precautions for patients who may be infected with certain infectious agents) and other…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-06-27 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — patternDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record and policy review, the facility failed to offer Pneumococcal Vaccinations as recommended for three Residents (#42, #56, and #14) out of five applicable Residents, out of a total sample of 20 residents, putting the Residents at risk for developing facility acquired Pneumonia. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure that Pneumococcal Vaccinations were offered, received, or declined to Resident's #42, #56 and #14 per Physician's orders and after obtaining consent from the Residents and/or their Representatives. Findings include: Review of the CDC (Centers for Disease Control) website: Pneumococcal Vaccine Timing for Adults greater than or equal to 65 years (cdc.gov), dated 3/15/23, indicated but was not limited to the following: -For adults 65 and over who have not had any prior Pneumococcal Vaccines, then the patient and Provider may choose Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV) 20 or PCV15 followed by Pneumococcal Polysaccharide Vaccine (PPSV) 23 one year later. -For adults 65 and over who has had Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine 13 (PCV 13) and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-03-08 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure that its staff implemented a plan of care for one Resident (#12), out of a total sample of 15 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to implement a Physician's order and care plan intervention for the use of an AFO (Ankle-Foot Orthoses - an orthopedic appliance, brace or splint devised to control, limit, or assist foot and ankle motion and provide leg support). Findings include: Review of the facility policy for Care Planning- Comprehensive, last revised 5/2017, indicated that the Residents have the right to receive the services and/or items included in the plan of care. Resident #12 was admitted to the facility in January 2023 with diagnoses including the need for assistance with personal care, age related physical debility, and weakness. Review of Resident #12's Minimum Data Set Assessment (MDS), dated [DATE], revealed that the Resident had a Brief Interview of Mental Status (BIMS) exam score of 3 out of 15 indicating…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-03-08 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure that its staff provided an environment that remained as free of accident hazards as possible and utilized assistive devices to prevent accidents for one Resident (#34), out of a total sample of 15 residents. Specifically, the facility staff failed to utilize a mechanical lift for transferring Resident #34 as ordered by the Physician and according to the plan of care. Findings include: Resident #34 was admitted to the facility in April 2021 with diagnoses including unspecified Dementia, Osteoarthritis (a type of degenerative joint disease), and Peripheral Neuropathy (weakness, numbness, and pain from nerve damage). Review of March 2023 Physician's Orders indicated to utilize a mechanical lift for all transfers for Resident #34, initiated 9/26/2022. Review of the [NAME] (a brief overview of each resident's care) for Resident #34 indicated that for Activity and Weight Bearing to use a mechanical lift for all transfers. On 3/7/23 at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-03-08 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolatedProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure its staff provided adequate nutritional and hydration services, according to their plan of care, for one Resident (#51), out of a total sample of 15 residents. Specifically, for Resident #51, who was identified as a nutritional risk and had an unplanned weight loss of greater than 5%, the facility staff failed to: 1) offer a breakfast and lunch meal on 3/7/23 2) implement weekly weight monitoring 3) adequately implement an order for fluid intake to maintain proper hydration and health and notify the Physician when that order had not been implemented, and 4) Notify the responsible party or family of the Resident's significant unplanned weight loss Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Resident Nutritional Policy and Procedure Weight Monitoring, last reviewed 5/2018, indicated the Director of Nurses (DON) will ensure Physician orders are implemented and the family/responsible party is notified regarding a significant…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-03-08 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolatedDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure its staff provided a Pneumococcal (serious infection caused by bacteria called Streptococcus pneumoniae, or pneumococcus) Vaccination, according to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations, for one Resident (#12) out of five applicable sampled residents. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure its staff provided the Resident with one dose of Pneumococcal Vaccine, when informed written consent had been obtained for the vaccine and the Resident was due for the dose to be up to date with his/her pneumococcal vaccine status, based on CDC recommendations. Findings include: Review of the CDC Pneumococcal Disease Risk Factors and how it Spreads, dated 9/1/20, included the following: -Adults 65 years or older are at increased risk for Pneumococcal disease. -Adults of all ages are also at increased risk for Pneumococcal disease if they have alcoholism or liver disease. Review of the CDC Pneumococcal Vaccine Timing for Adults,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2023-03-08 · tag F0640 — patternEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure its staff completed Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment timely for one Resident (#46), out of a total sample of 15 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure its staff completed the Entry Tracking Record within seven days of the Resident's re-entry to the facility, as required. Findings include: Review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Services Resident Assessment Instrument Version 3.0 Manual, dated October 2019, included that Entry Tracking Records were to be completed no later than seven calendar days following a resident's entry date to the facility. Resident #46 was admitted to the facility in April 2022. Review of the Resident's clinical record indicated the following: -The Resident was discharged from the facility on 9/13/22 and re-entered the facility on 9/18/22. -An Entry Tracking Record MDS Assessment had been completed with an assessment reference date of 9/18/22. Review of Section Z Assessment Administration for the Entry Tracking Record, dated 9/18/22, indicated the Assessment was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$13,095 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $13,095 — penalty dated 2024-01-03
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to ELDER SERVICES — 6 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 3 of 5 | 2.2 | +0.8 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.3 | +0.7 vs chain |
| Staffing | 3 of 5 | 3.2 | -0.2 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 3 of 5 | 2.3 | +0.7 vs chain |
The other 5 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.2★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| ESSEX GROUP INCORPORATED | Organization | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 07/10/1974 |
| DOYLE, PHILIP | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 07/10/1974 |
| ROMANO, BRANDON | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 08/16/2008 |
| ROMANO, FRANK | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/10/1974 |
| ROMANO, JAMES | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 08/16/2008 |
| ROMANO, KATELYN | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 05/08/2017 |
| ROMANO, KYLE | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 08/16/2008 |
| CONNECTONE BANK | Organization | 5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; 5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST | since 10/10/2023 |
| ESSEX GROUP MANAGEMENT CORP | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/1995 |
| BANDAMA, FAITH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 05/28/1991 |
| JEAN-BAPTISTE, ROSE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/03/2023 |
| PICONE, SCOTT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 05/26/2002 |
| SEMAAN, RITA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2023 |
| ESSEX GROUP STAFFING COMPANY | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/31/2007 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 27 rows in the source record cover these 14 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $453K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in MA
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Massachusetts Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 225443. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-29, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.