No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Rolling Hills Healthcare And Rehabilitation Center

17350 Old Turnpike Road, Millmont, PA 17845 · For profit - Individual · 57 certified beds · (570) 922-3351 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (570) 922-3351 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0607) — cited Oct 2023Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0744)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
137 Forest Hill Rd · (570) 966-1004 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
55 Walnut St · (570) 966-8788 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1415 PA-235 · (570) 922-1709 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1111 State Route 235 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
1724 State Route 235 · (570) 922-4257

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased21.4%16.8%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight12.6%6.2%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.0%0.7%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.5%1.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.6%10.8%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.2%3.1%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened15.7%17.0%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication22.0%20.0%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%93.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.4%4.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control31.0%25.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table21.6%17.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.4%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine88.9%68.7%79.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.651.621.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.421.181.80better

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

41.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 33 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

41.2%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
12.4%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.26U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.11hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.12hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.26 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 38% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 5% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF41.2%CMS range 30.8–55.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF12.4%CMS range 8.5–21.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.891.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.64
RN hours/ resident / day
1.28
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.16
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.09
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.45
RN hoursweekends
38.1%
Total nursing turnover
55.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 57 beds and averages 51.8 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.09 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.64 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.16 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.59 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.29 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.71 to 0.45 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 38% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-08-01)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2024-09-06)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-16 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — isolated
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, review of facility investigation documentation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure resident privacy for one of four residents reviewed (Resident 3).Findings include: Clinical record review for Resident 3 revealed a quarterly MDS assessment dated [DATE], that assessed Resident 3 as having a memory problem and that he had severe cognitive impairment (never or rarely made decisions). Review of an incident investigation dated September 5, 2025, revealed that Employee 3 (nurse aide) reported to the Director of Nursing that Employee 5 (nurse aide) sent an electronic private message with a picture attachment of Resident 3. Resident 3's face was obscured by a filtering program; however, Employee 3 was able to identify that it was a facility resident. Statements obtained by the facility during the investigation determined that Employee 5 sent the same photo to Employee 4 (nurse aide). The facility substantiated that Employee 5 took and disseminated a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-16 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide treatment and services for an indwelling urinary catheter as ordered by the physician for one of one resident reviewed for urinary catheter concerns (Resident 1).Findings include: Clinical record review for Resident 1 revealed physician orders to maintain a coude foley catheter (flexible tubing inserted into the bladder to drain urine; a coude catheter is equipped with a bent tip to allow passage beyond obstructions such as the prostate gland) for obstructive uropathy (blockage in the urinary system that hinders urine flow; commonly an enlarged prostate) as follows: 24 French (scale where one French unit corresponds to approximately 0.33 millimeters in diameter) coude foley with 10 cc (cubic centimeters, one cc equals one milliliter) balloon changed monthly every 30 days and as needed for blockage or obstruction. This may only be changed by the registered nurse (dated May 31, 2025, to August 29, 2025). 24 French coude foley with 30 cc balloon changed monthly every 30 days and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-08-01 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — pattern
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, clinical record review, and staff and resident interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide professional dental services for two of two residents reviewed for dental concerns (Residents 27 and 46). Findings include: Observation of Resident 27 on July 30, 2025, at 10:32 AM revealed she was edentulous (without natural teeth). Interview with Resident 27 on the date and time of the observation revealed that she once had a full denture for her upper and lower jaws; however, Resident 27 alleged that staff took her lower denture, and she did not know when or where they took them. Review of Resident Evaluation documentation dated June 1, 2024, at 4:00 AM for a quarterly review revealed that she was mentally oriented to person and place; however, was noted to have current and a history of behaviors. Staff assessed Resident 27 as having a full upper denture plate and a full lower denture plate. and Resident 27 preferred her dentures only removed at night. An annual MDS assessment…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-01 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, clinical record review, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide a dependent resident assistance with nail hygiene for one of three residents reviewed for activities of daily living concerns (Resident 46). Findings include: Observation of Resident 46 on July 30, 2025, at 11:47 AM revealed his fingernails were long (extending beyond the tips of his fingers) with darkened material under them. Clinical record review for Resident 46 revealed that the facility developed a plan of care to address Resident 46's risk for alteration in skin integrity related to poor self-care and history of picking at skin (initiated October 4, 2024). A plan of care initiated by the facility on October 4, 2024, noted Resident 46's self-care deficit regarding activities of daily living that listed interventions that included staff assist with daily hygiene, grooming, dressing, oral care, and eating as needed. Resident 46 required the extensive assistance with staff for hygiene and grooming. Review of quarterly MDS assessments (Minimum Data Set, an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-01 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, observation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure the highest practicable care regarding a pacemaker for one of 18 residents reviewed (Resident 44). Findings include: Clinical record review for Resident 44 revealed that the facility admitted him on April 4, 2023. Diagnoses listed for Resident 44 upon his admission to the facility included the presence of a cardiac pacemaker (surgically inserted medical device with wires attached to the heart for the purpose of administering electrical impulses to regulate the heart rate). Review of Resident 44's clinical record revealed a current care plan for cardiac disease related to coronary artery disease (a condition where the arteries supplying blood to the heart narrow due to plaque buildup restricting blood flow), congestive heart failure (the heart does not pump blood well enough causing fluid to accumulate), hypertension (high blood pressure), and a pacemaker. The listed interventions included instructions to perform pacemaker checks; however, there was no intervention…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-01 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, clinical record review, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to assess a resident's bed system for potential accident hazards for one of 18 residents reviewed (Resident 15). Findings include: The FDA (The United States Food and Drug Administration) Hospital Bed System Dimensional and Assessment Guidance to Reduce Entrapment, is guidance that identifies key parts of the body at risk for entrapment, describes potential entrapment areas or zones, and recommends maximum and minimum dimensional limits of gaps or openings in hospital bed systems. Three key body parts at risk for life-threatening entrapment in the seven zones of a hospital bed system discussed in this guidance are the head, neck, and chest. To reduce the risk of head entrapment, openings in the bed system should not allow the widest part of a small head (head breadth measured across the face from ear to ear) to be trapped. The FDA is using a head breadth dimension of 120 mm (4.75 inches) as the basis for its dimensional limit recommendations. To reduce the risk of neck…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-01 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolated
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the consultant pharmacist reported any irregularities to the attending physician (and the facility's medical director if applicable) and the Director of Nursing on a separate, written report; and that the attending physician documented a review and actions taken to address the identified irregularity in the resident's medical record for one of five residents reviewed for medication regime concerns (Resident 27).Findings include: Interview with the Nursing Home Administrator, Director of Nursing, and Employee 1 (registered nurse/director of clinical operations) on July 30, 2025, at 1:45 PM revealed that the facility's contracted consulting pharmacist reviews each resident's medication regime monthly and, unless listed on the document entitled, Listing of Residents Reviewed with No Recommendations, a resident has a separate report of the identified potential medication irregularity on which the attending physician documents a review and response. The interview indicated that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-01 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that medical records were readily accessible to individuals performing health oversight activities for one of 18 residents reviewed (Resident 27). Findings include: The state survey agency entered the facility on July 29, 2025, at 9:00 AM and provided the Nursing Home Administrator the federal Entrance Conference Worksheet, which included the form entitled, Electronic Health Record (EHR) Information. Instructions on the form direct the provider to, Provide specific instructions on where and how surveyors can access the following information in the EHR (or in the hard if using split EHR and hard copy system) for the initial pool record review process. Surveyors require the same access staff members have to residents' EHRs in a read-only format. Clinical record review for Resident 27 revealed that the surveyor was unable to view three months of nurse aide documentation of the completion of tasks necessary for Resident 27's care (e.g., bathing, toileting assistance, bowel…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-10-13 · tag F0623 — pattern
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to notify the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman of a transfer to the hospital for three of three residents reviewed (Residents 13, 37, and 46). Findings include: Review of Resident 13's clinical record revealed that the facility transferred him to the hospital on August 8, 2023. There was no documented evidence that the facility notified the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman of Resident 13's transfer to the hospital. Review of Resident 37's clinical record revealed that the facility transferred him to the hospital on June 20, 2023, and again on September 17, 2023. There was no documented evidence that the facility notified the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman of Resident 37's transfers to the hospital. Review of Resident 46's clinical record revealed that the facility transferred the resident to the hospital on August 31, 2023, at 7:50 AM. There was no documented evidence that the facility notified the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-10-13 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — pattern
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to develop and implement an individualized person-centered care plan to address dementia and cognitive loss displayed by three of three residents reviewed (Residents 4, 42, and 49). Findings include: Clinical record review for Resident 4 revealed the facility admitted her on September 9, 2021, with diagnosis including Dementia (loss of memory, language, problem-solving, and other thinking abilities that interfere with daily life). A review of a significant change Minimum Data Set Assessment (MDS, a form completed at specific intervals to determine care needs) dated March 21, 2023, indicated that the facility assessed Resident 4 as having the diagnosis of dementia. The facility determined that a care plan for dementia and cognitive loss would be developed. A review of Resident 4's care plan revealed that there was no indication that the facility had developed and implemented a person-centered care plan to address the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-10-13 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolated
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, observation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to accommodate resident needs regarding the accessibility of a call bell for one of 14 residents reviewed (Resident 39) Findings include: Clinical record review for Resident 39 revealed a diagnoses list that included a history of muscle weakness. Resident 39's current care plan noted the resident was at risk for falls due to weakness. An intervention included having the call bell in reach. Observation of Resident 39 on October 11, 2023, at 11:28 AM revealed the resident was in bed. The resident's call bell was observed draped over a recliner that was positioned next to the bed. The call bell was four feet from the resident and not easily accessible. Observation of Resident 39 on October 13, 2023, at 10:44 AM revealed the resident was in bed. The resident's call bell was observed coiled up on the right arm of the recliner that was positioned next to the bed and not easily accessible. Interview with Employee 4, licensed practical nurse, on October 13, 2023, at 10:44 AM…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-10-13 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on review of select facility policies and procedures, review of clinical records, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to thoroughly investigate an injury of unknown origin for one of one resident reviewed (Resident 3). Findings include: The policy entitled Abuse Policy, last reviewed on August 29, 2023, indicates that the facility describes an injury of unknow origin as an injury that was not observed by any person, cannot be explained by the resident, and a suspicious location not generally vulnerable to trauma. The policy does not specify how the facility will specifically rule out abuse when an injury of unknown origin occurs. Review of Resident 3's clinical record revealed a nursing care plan indicating that she needs the help of two staff members to use a mechanical lift to transfer her out of bed. Resident 3 is not self-ambulatory. A nursing note dated October 6, 2023, at 6:30 PM indicated that staff noted a bruise to the top of Resident 3's left foot measuring 5 cm (centimeters) by 4 cm. The note further described the bruise as green and blue…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-10-13 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide the highest practicable care regarding the care of a pacemaker for one of one resident reviewed with a pacemaker (Resident 12). Findings include: Clinical record review revealed Resident 12 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Clinical record review of Resident 12's diagnoses list included a left bundle branch block (a disease that impacts or disrupts the electrical impulse that causes the heart to beat). Clinical record review for Resident 12 revealed hospital documentation that noted the resident had a pacemaker implanted in October 2018. A current care plan for Resident 12 indicated the resident had cardiac disease related to the left bundle branch block and an intervention included, pacemaker checks as ordered. A review of the current physician orders for Resident 12 revealed no current orders related to pacemaker checks; however, an order dated October 28, 2018, noted cardiology consult as needed. A…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-10-13 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, review of facility investigation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to thoroughly investigate an accident regarding an elopement and implement interventions to prevent recurrence for one of one resident reviewed (Resident 51). Findings include: Review of Resident 51's clinical record revealed nursing documentation dated September 21, 2023, at 4:56 PM indicating that nursing staff called Resident 51's representative to discuss Resident 51's elopement. Nursing documentation dated September 21, 2023, at 5:08 PM indicated that Employee 5, cook, received a text message from a neighbor indicating that an older lady was standing in front of her house. v Employee 5 drove to the neighbor's house and found Resident 51 in front of the neighbor's garage. Employee 5 brought Resident 51 back to the facility in her personal vehicle at approximately 4:25 PM with no apparent injuries. Review of the facility's investigation into Resident 51's elopement revealed that according to witness statements, Resident 51 was last seen at the nursing…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to AKIKO IKE — 6 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 53.5+0.5 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 53.0+1.0 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 54.4-0.4 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 54.2-0.2 vs chain
The other 5 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.5★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
MAGYAR, SHARONIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 02/15/2022

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.6M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-2.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 86%Medicare 5%Other / private 10%

About 86% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$291per resident / day
operating cost
$8,857per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$284per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in PA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Pennsylvania Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Pennsylvania
$11,954/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$13,688/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,480/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 395614. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-01, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next