No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Meadowbrook At Bloomer

1840 Priddy St, Bloomer, WI 54724 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 31 certified beds · (715) 568-2503 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (715) 568-2503 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0609) — cited Mar 2025
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • nursing-staff turnover (59%) runs well above the national median (45%)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
Pharmacy
1511 Main St · (715) 568-2190 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
Shadick's0.4 mi
1303 Main St · (715) 568-4430 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Witt Park0.3 mi
1920 Chippewa Rd · (715) 568-3032 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased8.9%16.1%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight0.0%5.1%5.4%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder6.2%2.1%0.9%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.7%2.7%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.8%5.7%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.0%3.3%3.3%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication5.9%16.9%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.6%5.0%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control9.4%24.6%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table8.7%15.8%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.7%1.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine93.8%82.2%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission22.6%23.1%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit22.0%15.5%12.0%worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

39.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 70 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

39.8%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.8%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
52.8%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
not reportedno hours filed
Therapy hours / resident / day

Met the expected recovery: 52.8% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 36 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: not reported. This home filed no therapist hours at all in its payroll data for this quarter. That is a gap in what it reported, and we do not read it as an absence of therapy — the homes that file nothing here include ones that discharged hundreds of Medicare rehab patients in the very same period, who plainly received therapy from someone. Because we cannot tell a home that under-reports from one that genuinely provides little, this home is left out of the comparison above rather than scored at zero. Ask it directly how many therapist hours a rehab resident gets, and on which days.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF39.8%CMS range 30.1–53.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.8%CMS range 7.6–16.110.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge52.8%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge44.4%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge55.6%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge95.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization11.3%CMS range 6.2–15.87.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.991.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.12
RN hours/ resident / day
0.69
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.19
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.00
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.78
RN hoursweekends
59.0%
Total nursing turnover
55.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 31 beds and averages 26.6 residents a day — about 86% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.00 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.12 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.19 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.39 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.24 on weekdays — 20% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.26 to 0.78 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 59% is well above the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-29)
5
at the previous standard inspection (2025-03-13)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-04-29 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review the facility did not store, prepare, or serve food in a sanitary manner. This has the potential to affect all 30 residents. ~Staff did not consistently perform hand washing during food service.~Staff did not consistently take temperatures prior to food service.~Staff did not store cold and frozen foods in a timely manner after receiving food delivery.~Surveyor observed refrigerator/freezer logs incomplete on 3 separate units.~Surveyor observed ice scoop cleaning logs not complete.~Surveyor noted dishwasher temperature logs not complete.~Surveyor observed an open gallon of milk without a date on it.~Surveyor observed tray line service audit (food temps) incomplete.~Surveyor observed [NAME] F not wearing a beard restraint. ~Surveyor observed [NAME] F touching ready to eat foods with contaminated gloves. Findings include: Example 1 The facility policy, titled Hand Washing, dated January 2021, states: Proper hand washing promotes safe food handling practices and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-04-29 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. The facility failed to ensure staff wore appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) while handling soiled linens and laundry. This has the potential to affect 30 out of 30 residents.Findings include: Per facility policy titled Handling Linens and Laundry, dated January 2026, states: Purpose: To provide a process for safe and aseptic handling, washing, and storage of linen.7. Employees sorting or washing linens shall wear a gown/apron, gloves and if aerosolization occurs, a mask.16. Remove barrier attire when leaving the soiled linen area. On 4/29/26 at 8:43 AM, Surveyor reviewed laundry services. Laundry Aide (LA) M started tour by walking Surveyor through the process. LA M stated that she uses gloves only, unless clothes come in a yellow bag, that is usually COVID stuff. LA M stated that if clothes come in a yellow…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-04-29 · tag F0628 — pattern
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 5 of 5 residents (R5, R7, R11, R13, & R35) or the residents' legal representatives were notified of the resident's reason for transfer/discharge in writing to the resident and their representative, notify the ombudsman of the transfer and 3 of 5 residents (R5, R7 and R11) did not receive a bed hold. R5 was transferred from the facility, and no notice of transfer was given. R5 did not have a bed hold given.R7 was transferred from the facility, no notice of transfer or bed hold was given on 1/16/26 and no reason for transfer was listed on the notice of transfer on 1/12/26. R13's notice of transfer documentation was missing the date, location R13 was transferring to and reason for the transfer.R11's notice of transfer was missing the date, R11's name, location of transfer and reason for transfer. There was no notice of transfer with the 3/14/26 transfer. The notice for transfer dated 3/28/26 was missing location and the reason for transfer. R11 did…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-29 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not follow through with the appropriate steps of the Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) process for 1 of 2 residents (R1) reviewed for PASARR screening.R1 did not have a PASARR level II (2) completed. Findings include:R1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with a Brief Interview of Mental Status (BIMS) score of 14 which indicated R1 was cognitively intact. R1 has diagnoses that include . schizophrenia (a serious mental health condition that affects how people think, feel and behave) and bipolar (a common, severe, and persistent mental illness characterized by recurrent episodes of mania and depression).R1 had a 5-day Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE]. Section A, subsection 1500 of the MDS was marked No.PASARR Level I completed 3/13/26:Does the person have a major mental disorder? Yes.Has the person displayed any symptoms that may suggest the presence of a major mental illness? Yes.Has the person received a psychotropic medication to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-29 · tag F0699 — isolated
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility did not ensure that trauma informed care was provided in accordance with professional standards of practice and account for resident's experiences and preferences in order to eliminate or mitigate triggers that may cause re-traumatization for 1 of 2 residents (R11) reviewed for Post Traumatic Stress disorder (PTSD).R11's care plan did not provide individualized interventions based on the triggers noted in R11's trauma informed assessment.Findings:Facility policy titled, Trauma Informed Care Revised on January 2026, stated in part:.6. The facility will identify triggers which may re-traumatize residents with a history of trauma. Trigger-specific interventions will identify ways to decrease the resident's exposure to triggers which re-traumatize the resident, as well as identify ways to mitigate or decrease the effect of the trigger on the resident and will be added to the residents care plan .R11 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with a Brief Interview of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-29 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility did not ensure all drugs and biologicals were stored and labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles. This occurred for 1 of 1 medication storage rooms observed. Surveyor observed control medication Lorazepam not double locked in a permanently affixed compartment.Findings include:The facility policy, titled Controlled Substance Management, dated January 2026, states in part: It is the policy of this facility to promote safe, high quality patient care, compliant with state and federal regulations regarding monitoring the use of controlled substances. The facility will have safeguards in place in order to prevent loss, diversion or accidental exposure.1. General Protocols:a. Controlled substances are stored in a separate compartment of an automated dispensing system or other locked storage unit with access limited to approved personnel. The facility policy, titled Storage of Medication, revised 4/2007, states in part:Compartments (including but not limited to, drawers, cabinets, rooms.boxes) containing…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-03-13 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility did not prepare, store or distribute foods in a sanitary manner. The facility practices had the potential to affect all 25 residents. Dietary Aide (DA) G did not allow the thermometer probe to air dry of alcohol prior to inserting into glasses of milk and juice intended to be served to residents for breakfast. Resident foods that were brought in were not labeled with resident names/dates and disposed of in a manner to prevent illness. DA G was observed with her shirt, which had been sprayed with water and food debris, putting away clean dishes in a manner that contaminated the clean dishes. DA G put the clean dishes away when still saturated with water. This is evidenced by: Example 1: Surveyor reviewed the facility policy titled, Thermometer, dated February 2020. The policy, in part, read: Procedure: ~Sanitize thermometer before and between testing of different foods. ~The thermometer may be stored in or dipped into sanitized solution to sanitize. The policy does not direct if using an alcohol preparation pad to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-03-13 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. This has the potential to affect all 25 residents (R). -Residents with infection symptoms not placed on proper precautions. -Observations of Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA) not donning Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and providing proper hand hygiene prior to entering/exiting rooms for residents on precautions. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) C did not wear her surgical mask in a manner (above her nose) to prevent the spread of infection during a facility outbreak of respiratory illness, covid 19 and gastrointestinal illness (GI). CNA C did not perform hand hygiene before donning gown and gloves and entering R23's room who was on precautions for gastrointestinal illness (GI). CNA D did not don gown and gloves…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-03-13 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not report 1 of 3 residents' (R), R131, allegations of exploitation to the State Survey Agency via the State's Misconduct Incident Reporting (MIR) system immediately upon learning of the incident. Findings include: Facility policy titled Abuse Prevention Program, stated in part, -#1. Initial Reporting of Allegations. When an allegation of abuse, exploitation, neglect, mistreatment, or misappropriation of resident property has been made, the administrator, or designee, shall complete and submit a DQA form F-62617, notifying DQA that an occurrence of potential abuse, neglect, exploitation, mistreatment or misappropriation of a resident property has been reported to the administrator and is being investigated. This report shall be made immediately. On 03/13/25, Surveyor reviewed an anonymous complaint, dated 10/30/24, alleging that Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) E took a picture of R131's private area from her personal cell phone to show another staff…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-03-13 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility did not accurately code the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 1 of 12 sampled residents (R) reviewed. (R18) -The MDS assessments are coded in error stating that a Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) level 2 screen had not been completed when it was completed at the time of assessment for R18. Findings include: R18 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including depression, anxiety, and PTSD. Record review identified R18 had a PASARR level 2 screen completed on 12/06/24 indicating R18 has a major mental disorder. R18's comprehensive MDS assessment, dated 12/08/24, indicated for question A 1500 that No PASARR level 2 had been completed. Section I of the MDS notes R18 has PTSD. On 03/12/25 at 2:02 PM, Surveyor interviewed Director of Nursing (DON) B who agrees that the discrepancy had occurred and question A 1500 should have been coded Yes.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · D2025-03-13 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide interventions in the comprehensive care plan to mitigate re-traumatization for 1 of 1 resident (R18) reviewed for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). -Staff were not aware there was a resident with PTSD. R18's PTSD care plan did not indicate triggers and specific interventions related to loud noises. Findings include: R18 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including anxiety, depression, and PTSD. R18's most recent quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], stated a Brief Interview of Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 indicating R18 is cognitively intact. R18 was independent with bed mobility, eating, transferring, and toileting. On 03/12/25 at 12:18 PM, Surveyor reviewed R18's medical record that indicated a Trauma Informed Care assessment, dated 12/02/24, noted loud noises trigger R18. Care plan dated 12/05/24 includes a plan for PTSD, however, does not include loud noise triggers R18, or interventions to loud noises…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-08-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure each resident receives adequate supervision to prevent accidents for 5 of 5 residents (R1, R2, R4, R5, and R6). R1 experienced a fall after staff did not appropriately place sling for mechanical lift transfer. The facility did not ensure all direct care staff were educated on proper sling placement to ensure all other residents requiring a mechanical lift transfer, did not sustain a fall or injury during a transfer. Findings: R1 was admitted to the facility in 07/19/24 for rehabilitation services, after a right below the knee amputation (BKA) on 07/12/24. Facility assessment of R1's transfer status indicated on 07/19/24, R1 was assessed for needing assistance of two with mechanical (Hoyer) lift transfers. On 08/03/24, R1 was in his wheelchair and the sling needed to be placed in order to transfer him into bed per his request. Two Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) were present and placed the sling but did not get the sling far enough underneath R1 in order to safely lift him. R1 began to slip out from the sling and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-03-06 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to store prepare and distribute food under sanitary conditions this has the ability to affect 21 of the facility's 22 residents. Low temperature chemical sanitization dish machine is used but the facility has no monitoring system in place to monitor the machine to ensure proper chemical sanitization occurs. Beard restraints were not always worn during food preparation. Oscillating fan on kitchen wall is dirty and blows towards food preparation areas. This is evidenced by: The facility policy, entitled Dishwashing Temperature Log, dated February 2020, states in part: For low temperature (chemical sanitizing) machines, concentration of sanitizer must be recorded on form. The facility policy, entitled Personal Cleanliness and Hygienic Practices, dated February 2020, states in part: All dietary staff, including the dietary manager, and any person entering the kitchen, must wear an approved hair restraint* to keep hair and particles in the hair from falling into food. Hair restraints must entirely cover all hair. Food…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-03-06 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to submit complete and accurate data to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) mandatory Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) data for quarter four of 2023 (July 1 - September 30). This has the potential to affect all 22 residents. This is evidenced by: Surveyor noted during survey preparation that the facility triggered for failing to have licensed nursing coverage 24 hours each day for the dates of: 07/08/23 (Saturday), 07/09/23 (Sunday), 07/22/2023 (Saturday), 08/05/2023 (Saturday), 08/06/2023 (Sunday), 09/02/23 (Saturday), 09/03/23 (Sunday), 09/04/23 (Monday), 09/16/23 (Saturday), 09/30/23 (Saturday). On 03/05/24 at 11:18 AM, Surveyor spoke with Nursing Home Administrator (NHA) A and Corporate Human Resources Director (CHRD) H regarding the nursing coverage for the months of July, August, and September of the 2023 year. Neither NHA A nor CHRD H could think of a time when they did not have full nursing coverage. Surveyor then reviewed the staff schedules for the period of July 1 - September 30, 2023, specifically the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-03-06 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. The facility did not a have a clear water management process or plan in effect with control measures to prevent transmission of Legionella infection. This has potential to effect 22 of 22 residents (R). Findings include: Example 1 The facility policy entitled, Water Management Program, dated 08/02/23, states in part: The organization will follow guidance of ASHRAE and CDC guidelines in creating this Water Management Program. The purpose of this program is to ensure the facility is inhibiting microbial growth in the buildings water system that reduce risk of growth and spread of legionella and other opportunistic pathogen by properly maintaining water systems. The facility will create a flowsheet of the path the water…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to SYNERGY SENIOR CARE — 5 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.0+1.0 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 52.2+0.8 vs chain
Staffing 3 of 53.4-0.4 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 53.0≈ chain avg
The other 4 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.0★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
VANDER VELDEN, BARBARAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019
LINDEMANN, MITULIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019
SYNERGY SENIOR CARE LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/28/2025
DICKSON, ERIKIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/17/2021
SHRADER, KAIYAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/10/2022
BLOOMER NURSING REALTY LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 04/05/2022
REINHART BOERNER VAN DEUREN S.C.OrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019
ROTH & CO, LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019
WIPFLI LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019
MASLOVSKY, BORISIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019
PUKSHANSKY, ROSTISLAVIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2019

CMS files one row per role, so the 17 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-15.9%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$276K
Related-party expense7% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 75%Medicare 15%Other / private 10%

About 75% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $276K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$459per resident / day
operating cost
$13,949per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$396per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in WI

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Wisconsin Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Wisconsin
$10,646/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,319/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,540/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 525580. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-29, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next