No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Sunporch Of Smith County

920 E Kansas Ave, Smith Center, KS 66967 · Non profit - Other · 22 certified beds · (785) 282-6722 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (785) 282-6722 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 9 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
119 E Parliament St · (785) 282-6834 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
317 US-36 · (785) 282-3333 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
318 S Madison St · (785) 282-6813 · Call to confirm hours
Park
319 School Ave · (785) 282-3832 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased31.2%17.9%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.6%4.9%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.6%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection7.2%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms10.5%6.5%6.5%worse
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury7.1%4.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened15.5%16.2%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication24.7%23.2%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.6%4.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control33.7%22.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table21.2%18.1%17.1%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.601.801.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.232.131.80better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.09U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.09 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 5% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 8% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.72
RN hours/ resident / day
0.99
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.68
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.40
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.43
RN hoursweekends
44.8%
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 22 beds and averages 21.7 residents a day — about 99% occupied, or roughly 0 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.40 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.72 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.68 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.02 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.55 on weekdays — 12% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.84 to 0.43 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 45% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-10-24)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2023-05-03)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

9 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · F2024-10-24 · tag F0726 — failed to have competent, trained nursing staff — widespread
    Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 22 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure one nurse aide had the appropriate skills, competencies, and active certification and failed to ensure Licensed Nurse staff had the knowledge and skills to safely pass medications to the residents. This placed the residents at risk for impaired quality of care. Findings included: - On 10/23/24 at 02:00 PM, a review of Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) N certification on the Registry Certification and Credentialing site revealed CNA N had an Aide ID issued on 12/18/19 and her certification was marked inactive on 12/18/21. CNA N had been employed at the facility since 07/12/22. On 10/24/24 at 08:30 AM, Administrative Nurse D verified, after reviewing the State of Kansas Nurse Aide Registry Certification and Credentialing database, that CNA N had an inactive certification. Administrative Nurse D verified she would contact the state's credentialing office to get guidance on how to get CNA N's certification renewed so she could work at the facility.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-24 · tag F0582 — isolated
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 22 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide Resident (R)16, R22, and R74, or their representatives, the completed Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notices (ABN) Form 10055. This placed the resident at risk of uninformed decisions about their skilled services. Findings included: - The Medicare ABN form 10055 informed the beneficiary that Medicare may not pay for future skilled therapy services. The form included an option for the beneficiary to receive specific services listed, and bill Medicare for an official decision on payment. The form stated 1) I understand if Medicare does not pay, I will be responsible for payment but can make an appeal to Medicare, (2) receive therapy listed, but do not bill Medicare, I am responsible for payment for services, (3) I do not want the listed services. A review of the ABN provided to R16 revealed form CMS-R-131 was issued instead of CMS Form 10055. The resident's skilled services ended on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-24 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 22 residents. The sample included 12 residents with four residents reviewed for urinary catheter (a tube inserted into the bladder to drain the urine into a collection bag.) Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to revise the care plan for Resident (R) 16 who was on Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP-infection control interventions designed to reduce transmission of resistant organisms which employ targeted gown and glove use during high contact care). This deficient practice placed R16 at risk for impaired care due to uncommunicated care needs. Findings included: - R16's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented diagnoses of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH-non-cancerous enlargement of the prostate which can lead to interference with urine flow, urinary frequency, and urinary tract infections,) hypertension (HTN-elevated blood pressure,) and dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion. The Quarterly Change Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated 09/17/24, documented the resident had…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-24 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 22 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview the facility failed to adhere to infection control for Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP -an infection control intervention designated to reduce transmission of resistant organisms that employs targeted gown and gloves used during high contact resident care activities), for Resident (R)16, who had an urinary catheter (a tube inserted into the bladder to drain the urine into a collection bag.) This placed the resident at risk for infection. Findings included: - On 10/23/24 at 12:10 PM observation revealed Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) M entered the room of R16, who had a urinary catheter. CNA M assisted R16 in ambulating with a walker from his recliner to the bathroom toilet. Observation in the bathroom revealed a plastic tote with personal protection equipment (PPE-supplies including gown and gloves). Continued observation revealed CNA M donned gloves but no gown, disconnected the drain spout from its sleeve at the bottom of the drainage bag, opened the valve…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-05-03 · tag F0636 — isolated
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on record review, observation and interview the facility failed to complete the required Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) for Resident (R) 12 which placed the resident at risk for inappropriate care and unmet needs. Findings included: - R12's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R12 had severe cognitive impairment, required extensive assistance of two staff for activities of daily living, and frequently incontinent of urine and bowel. The MDS further documented R12 had scheduled pain medication regimen, took an antianxiety medication (class of medications that calm and relax people with excessive anxiety- mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear, nervousness, or tension), antidepressant (class of medications used to treat mood disorders and relieve symptoms of depression- abnormal emotional state characterized by exaggerated feelings of sadness, worthlessness,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-05-03 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for Resident (R)12 who received hospice (special care to people who are near the end of life)services, which placed the resident at risk for unmet care needs. Findings included: - R12's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) recorded diagnoses of hypertension (elevated blood pressure), osteoporosis (abnormal loss of bone density and deterioration of bone tissue with an increased fracture risk), chronic pain, major depressive disorder (major mood disorder), edema (swelling resulting from an excessive accumulation of fluid in the body tissues) and sleep related hypoventilation (breathing at an abnormally slow rate). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R12 had severe cognitive impairment and required extensive assistance of two staff for activities of daily living. R12 was frequently incontinent of urine and bowel.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-05-03 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents with one of five reviewed for accidents and/or falls. Based on observation, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to identify and implement interventions to prevent further falls for Resident (R)21. This placed the resident at risk for further falls and fall related injuries. Findings included: -- R21's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) recorded diagnoses of radiculopathy (a disease of the root of a nerve such as a pinched nerve or a tumor) of lumbar (lower portion of spine) region, chronic kidney disease, diabetes mellitus (when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin made or the body cannot respond to the insulin), hemiplegia (paralysis of one side of the body) and hemiparesis (muscular weakness of one half of the body) following cerebral infarction (stroke - sudden death of brain cells due to lack of oxygen caused by impaired blood flow to the brain by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain) affecting left non-dominant side, major depressive disorder (abnormal emotional state…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2021-11-04 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespread
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to use the services of a registered nurse for at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week for the 21 residents who resided in the facility. Findings included: - Review of the Registered Nursing Staffing Schedule for September and October 2021, recorded registered nursing coverage was lacking a registered nurse for at least eight consecutive hours a day for 11 of 61 days. On 11/03/21 at 01:45 PM, Administrative Staff A verified the facility was not in compliance for the daily eight consecutive hour registered nurse coverage for the months of September and October. On 11/04/21 at 10:45 AM, Administrative Nurse D verified there were eleven days without registered nurse coverage in the months of September and October and stated there had not been a plan in place for when the Director of Nursing went on maternity leave to provide the eight hours of registered nurse coverage on all the weekends. The facility's undated Staffing…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2021-11-04 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 21 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to prepare, store, and serve meals under sanitary conditions for the 21 residents who received meals from the facility kitchens. Findings included: - On 11/01/21 at 10:00 AM, observation during the initial tour of the facility kitchens revealed the following: The microwaves in [NAME] House and [NAME] House with dried brown food particles all over the inside of the microwaves. An uncovered, unlabeled dish of ice cream in the freezer with ice crystals covering the ice cream. On 11/01/21 at 11:45 AM, observation revealed Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) M used gloved hands to dip a cup into a bag of ice and fill the cups up with ice for lunch. CNA M went to the dry storage room and punched in the code to the dry storage room with her gloved hand, went into the dry storage room and then came back out and continued to dip the cup into the bag of ice to fill the cups with ice for the residents with the soiled…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to GRACE TEAM SERVICES — 9 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 52.6+2.4 vs chain
Health inspection 5 of 52.6+2.4 vs chain
Staffing 5 of 54.2+0.8 vs chain
Quality measures 2 of 51.7+0.3 vs chain
The other 8 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
SUNPORCH OF SMITH CENTER INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL100%since 10/01/2017
HOWLAND, AMYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/01/2017
MORGAN, LINDAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/01/2017
TIMMONS, BARBIEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/09/2020
WELTMER, KENTONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 02/13/2020
WINDSCHEFFEL, TAMARAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/01/2017
WOLTERS, SHARONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 02/13/2020
DILL, WHITNEYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/01/2022
GRACE TEAM LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/13/2025
GRACE, RYANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2017
HAACK, HANNAHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2017
HUEBERT, ERICIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2017

CMS files one row per role, so the 19 rows in the source record cover these 12 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.0M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-9.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 60%Medicare 6%Other / private 34%

A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$422per resident / day
operating cost
$12,837per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$387per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KS

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kansas
$8,669/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,064/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,975/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175565. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-10-24, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next