No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Winfield Rest Haven Ii, LLC

1611 Ritchie, Winfield, KS 67156 · Non profit - Other · 41 certified beds · (620) 221-9290 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (620) 221-9290 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)1 actual-harm citation
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
1230 E 6th Ave · (620) 402-6400 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1708 E 9th Ave · (620) 221-0450 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1906 E 9th Ave · (620) 221-0090 · Call to confirm hours
Park
(620) 221-5500 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased22.0%17.9%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.5%4.9%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.2%1.6%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.2%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.4%6.5%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.7%4.3%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened32.8%16.2%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication21.0%23.2%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine85.7%95.5%95.3%worse
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.3%4.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control33.1%22.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table23.9%18.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.9%1.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.551.801.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.332.131.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

10.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.20U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.01hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.17hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.20 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 23% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 15% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.5%CMS range 6.6–15.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.011.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.36
RN hours/ resident / day
0.46
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.98
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.81
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.35
RN hoursweekends
44.4%
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 41 beds and averages 37.5 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.81 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.36 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.98 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.44 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.95 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.37 to 0.35 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 44% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

5
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-12-04)
5
at the previous standard inspection (2023-02-15)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · Gcited before2024-12-04 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 40 residents with 14 residents selected for review which included three residents reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure staff secured one Resident (R)35 in the whirlpool bath chair which resulted in a fall from the chair onto the floor and R35 obtained a forehead laceration that required eight sutures in the emergency room. Findings included: - Review of Resident (R)35's medical record revealed diagnoses that included hemiplegia (paralysis of one side of the body) on the right dominant side, cerebral vascular accident (CVA/stroke, sudden death of brain cells due to lack of oxygen caused by impaired blood flow to the brain by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain), seizure disorder (violent involuntary series of contractions of a group of muscles), agitation (feeling of aggravation or restlessness brought on by a provocation or a medical condition), and expressive aphasia (condition with disordered or…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-04 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 40 residents with 14 residents selected for review. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the accuracy of the Minimum Data Set (MDS), assessment for two of the 14 residents. Residents (R)35 had an inaccurate assessment regarding impairment in extremities, and R12 had an inaccurate assessment regarding the use of positioning bars as a restraint. Findings included: - Review of Resident (R)12's medical record revealed diagnoses that included dementia (progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, confusion), osteoarthritis(degenerative changes to one or many joints characterized by swelling and pain), and ataxia (impaired ability to coordinate movement). The Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], assessed the resident with a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of five, which indicated severe cognitive impairment. The resident used two bed rails daily and was marked as a restraint. The Physical Restraint…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-04 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 40 residents. The sample of 14 residents included two residents reviewed for enhanced barrier precautions. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to review and/or revise care plans for two residents, Resident (R) 26 and R30 to include enhanced barrier precautions related to residents with catheters and nephrostomy tubes. Findings included: - Review of Resident (R) 26's Physician Orders, (PO) dated 11/21/24, included diagnoses of transient ischemic attack (TIA- TIA- temporary episode of inadequate blood supply to the brain), cerebral infarction (CVA/stroke - sudden death of brain cells due to lack of oxygen caused by impaired blood flow to the brain by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain), morbid obesity (severely overweight), and incontinence with catheter use associated with terminal illness. The Significant Change in Status Minimum Data Set, (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident with the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS)…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-04 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 40 residents with 14 residents sampled including five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to monitor one Resident (R)35 for use of antipsychotic medications (drugs used to treat psychosis-related conditions and symptoms). Findings included: - Review of Resident (R)35's electronic medical record (EMR) revealed a diagnosis of anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear). The Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of four, indicating severe cognitive impairment. He received antipsychotic medication (drugs used to treat psychosis-related conditions and symptoms) on a routine basis during the assessment period. The Psychotropic Drug Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 10/02/24, documented the resident had right side weakness due to a history of cerebral infarction…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-04 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 40 residents. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure staff donned appropriate PPE (personal Protective Equipment) for three of five residents on enhanced barrier precautions (EBP, an intervention to reduce the transmission of infections during high contact care activities) to prevent the spread of infection. Residents (R)23, R29 and R26. Findings included: - Observation on 12/03/24 at 10:30 AM, revealed Licensed Nurse (LN) G provided Resident (R)29 PEG tube percutaneous enteral gastric tube (a feeding tube that passes through the skin and enter into the stomach to administer nutrition, fluids, medication) dressing change and administration of water. LN G donned gloves but did not don a gown to change the dressing or administer water through the PEG tube. The resident's room lacked signage for staff awareness of the need for PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) for Enhanced Barrier Precautions an intervention to reduce the transmission of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-02-15 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — pattern
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility reported a census of 36 residents with 14 residents sampled. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to provide a safe and sanitary environment for the staff and residents of the facility, regarding the storage of supplies directly on the floor. Findings included: - During an environmental tour on 02/15/23 at 10:13 AM with Maintenance Staff U, revealed the following areas of concern: 1. One soiled workroom on A hall had one box of 50 face shields and two boxes of 75 disposable isolation gowns which rested directly on the floor. 2. The shower room on C hall had a shower corner which contained broken vinyl. 3. One supply closet on D hall had a closet which contained three cases (24 count) and one 12-pack of soda, which rested directly on the floor. On 02/15/23 at 10:13 AM, Housekeeping staff U stated supplies should not be stored directly on the floor. The facility policy for Receipt and Storage of Supplies and Equipment, revised November 2009, included: All supplies and equipment must be stored in accordance with the manufacturer's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-02-15 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolated
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 36 residents with 14 residents sampled, including one resident reviewed for notification of change. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to notify the physician of a change of condition for one Resident (R)5, regarding the need for the implementation of oxygen. Findings included: - Review of Resident (R)5's electronic medical record (EMR), revealed a diagnosis of anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear). The annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of nine, indicating moderately impaired cognition. She did not use oxygen while a resident. The Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Functional/Rehabilitation Potential Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 11/08/22, documented the resident was generally independent with bed mobility, transfers and ambulation. The quarterly MDS, dated 01/25/23, documented the resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-02-15 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 36 residents with 14 residents sampled including one resident reviewed for hospice care. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R)30's medical record contained an order for hospice care, following admission to the facility. Findings included: - The Physician Order Sheet (POS), dated 12/27/22, documented Resident (R)30 had diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure) and adult failure to thrive (a decline in older adults with multiple chronic medical conditions). The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], lacked documentation of the resident's cognition. She required extensive assistance of two staff for bed mobility, locomotion on the unit, dressing and personal hygiene. The resident received hospice services while a resident. The Cognitive Loss/Dementia Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 04/19/22, documented the resident was on hospice and had a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-02-15 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 36 residents with 14 residents sampled including two residents reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to follow fall interventions, which resulted in a non-injury fall for one Resident (R)30. Findings included: - The Physician Order Sheet (POS), dated 12/27/22, documented Resident (R)30 had a diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure). The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], lacked documentation of the resident's cognition. She required extensive assistance of two staff for bed mobility and total assistance of two staff for transfers. She had unsteady balance and was only able to stabilize with staff assistance. She had no falls since admission to the facility. The Falls Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 04/19/22, documented the resident was non-ambulatory, had unsteady balance and used a wheelchair for mobility. Staff used a mechanical lift…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-02-15 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 36 residents with 14 residents sampled including one resident reviewed for respiratory. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to obtain an order for oxygen for one Resident (R)5, who required as needed (PRN)oxygen usage. Findings included: - Review of Resident (R)5's electronic medical record (EMR), revealed a diagnosis of anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear). The annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of nine, indicating moderately impaired cognition. She did not use oxygen while a resident. The Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Functional/Rehabilitation Potential Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 11/08/22, documented the resident was generally independent with bed mobility, transfers and ambulation. The quarterly MDS, dated 01/25/23, documented the resident had a BIMS score of 12, indicating…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-08-25 · tag F0582 — isolated
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility reported a census of 20 residents which included three residents sampled for appropriate and timely notification of the termination of all Medicare Part A services for coverage reasons. The facility failed to provide the NOMNC (Notification of Medicare Non-Coverage) when all covered services ended for coverage reasons for residents (R)18, R 71, and R 72. The facility failed to issue SNFABN (Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice), which must be issued to inform the beneficiary of potential liability for the non-covered stay) in a timely manner, for two residents, that remained in the facility in a non-covered stay R 18 and R 71. Furthermore, the facility failed to submit a claim for appeal of decision of non-coverage to Medicare A upon request of R 71. Findings included: 1. Resident (R)18's last covered day (LCD) of Medicare part A services was 02/23/21. The resident remained in the facility. The SNF ABN, (Skilled Nursing Facility Advance Beneficiary Notice) Form CMS-10055 provided to the resident, signed on 02/03/21, two days after the LCD, verses two…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to GRACE TEAM SERVICES — 9 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.6+1.4 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.6+1.4 vs chain
Staffing 3 of 54.2-1.2 vs chain
Quality measures 2 of 51.7+0.3 vs chain
The other 8 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
WINFIELD REST HAVEN INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF100%since 01/01/1966
BACHMAN, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2024
FOX, MIKEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2025
HOWELL, KENNETHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 02/11/2017
LAWRENCE, TERRYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/27/2006
LEMER, AMYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/28/2025
NEAL, MIKEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2013
TURNEY, LYNETTEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/19/2021
WATTS, DOUGIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2025
WILLIS, CELINAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/01/2020
BLAND & ASSOCIATES, P.C.OrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2025
GRACE TEAM LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2021
BIRD, ALVINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2025
GRACE, RYANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2021
HUEBERT, ERICIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2021

CMS files one row per role, so the 24 rows in the source record cover these 15 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

3 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$4.3M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-0.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 72%Medicare 5%Other / private 24%

About 72% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$321per resident / day
operating cost
$9,757per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$321per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KS

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kansas
$8,669/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,064/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,975/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175488. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-12-04, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next