No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Nhc Healthcare, St Charles

35 Sugar Maple Lane, Saint Charles, MO 63303 · For profit - Corporation · 120 certified beds · (636) 946-8887 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (636) 946-8887 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0602) — cited Jan 2024
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0602), cited Jan 2024
  • nursing-staff turnover (59%) runs well above the national median (45%)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
2101 Collier Corporate Pkwy · (636) 336-8049 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Walgreens0.9 mi
2310 S Old Highway 94 · (636) 477-7996 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
ALDI0.9 mi
1095 Regency Pkwy
Park
130 Wildwood Ct · (636) 949-3372 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
2051 Collier Corporate Pkwy · (636) 724-0200

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased10.0%18.1%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight2.2%5.3%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.1%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.2%2.3%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.4%18.5%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury1.6%4.1%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.2%17.4%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication22.7%25.6%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.9%90.9%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.4%4.5%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control23.3%17.8%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table9.2%23.5%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.8%2.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine93.6%63.5%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission22.1%26.0%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit10.2%13.7%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.432.111.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.872.331.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

46.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 50 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

46.6%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.6%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
67.7%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.19U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.06hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.11hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 67.7% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 31 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 20% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 31% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF46.6%CMS range 35.5–60.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.6%CMS range 7.0–15.410.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge67.7%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge67.7%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge74.2%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened2.6%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.6%CMS range 3.8–11.97.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.821.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.69
RN hours/ resident / day
0.62
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.03
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.34
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.38
RN hoursweekends
59.0%
Total nursing turnover
22.2%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 120 beds and averages 91.9 residents a day — about 77% occupied, or roughly 28 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.34 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.69 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.03 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.96 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.49 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.81 to 0.38 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 59% is well above the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-06-20)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2022-11-10)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · E2024-06-20 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff performed appropriate hand hygiene and changed gloves during personal care of two residents (Residents #21 and #55), in a review of 21 sampled residents. The facility census was 89. Review of the facility's policy, Hand Hygiene, dated April 2024, showed the following: -Hand hygiene includes both handwashing with plain or antiseptic containing soap and water or the use of alcohol-based products that do not require the use of water for the following situations: -Before and after contact with each resident; -Before donning gloves; -After removing gloves. Review of the facility's policy, Glove Technique, dated April 2024, showed gloves are used to prevent contamination of healthcare personnel hands in the following situations: -Anticipating direct contact with blood or body fluids, mucous membranes, nonintact skin and other potentially infectious material; -Having direct contact with residents who are colonized or infected…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-06-20 · tag F0909 — failed to maintain a comfortable temperature — pattern
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to complete inspections of bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails, as part of a regular maintenance program to identify areas of possible entrapment for three residents (Resident #3, #7, #36 ), who used bed rails/assist bars, in a review of 21 sampled residents. The facility census was 89. Review of the undated facility policy, Bed Rails Safety Check, showed the following: -When using bed rails, close attention must be given to the design of the rail and the relationship between rails and other parts of the bed. The seven areas in the bed system that have the potential for entrapment include; 1. Within the rail; 2. Under rail, between rail supports; 3. Between rail and mattress; 4. Under rail, and ends of rail; 5. Between split bed rails; 6. Between end of rail and side edge of head or foot board; 7. Between head or foot board and mattress end; -Entrapment may occur in flat or raised bed positions, with the rails fully or partially raised;…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-06-20 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to safely transfer one resident (Resident #36), in a review of 21 sampled residents, during a mechanical lift transfer when staff failed to maintain control of the resident during the transfer, causing the resident to hit his/her head and foot on the lift. The facility census was 89. 1. Review of Resident #36's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), a federally mandated assessment instrument, dated 5/23/24, showed the following: -His/Her cognition was moderately impaired; -Dependent on staff for bed to chair transfers and chair to bed transfers. Review of the resident's care plan, last reviewed/updated on 5/28/24, showed he/she required the use of a mechanical lift for all transfers. Review of the certified nurse assistant (CNA) care reference book, located at the nurse's desk, showed the resident required two persons assist with the mechanical lift. Observation on 6/19/24 at 10:42 A.M. showed the following: -The resident lay in his/her bed; -CNA A and CNA B placed a lift pad under the resident to transfer him/her…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-01-19 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — pattern
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure five residents (Resident #1, #2, #3, #4, and #6) in a review of 16 sampled residents, were free from misappropriation of property when Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) A misappropriated the residents' medications. The facility census was 86. On [DATE] at 9:57 A.M., the administrator was notified of the past noncompliance which occurred on [DATE]. On [DATE] the Director of Nurses (DON) identified Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) A misappropriated Resident #1's antianxiety medication (Xanax). Upon discovery, staff sent LPN A home, conducted an investigation which showed additional misappropriation and inconsistencies, followed the facility policy and notified appropriate parties, including local law enforcement. Staff reviewed the abuse and neglect policies on [DATE], [DATE] and [DATE] which included abuse and neglect and the destruction of discontinued medications. LPN A was listed as do not return and the deficiency was corrected on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · E2022-11-10 · tag F0641 — pattern
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure that assessments were completed accurately for four (Residents #15, #17, #38, and #63) of nineteen residents reviewed. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure that 1. Residents #15, #17, and #63 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) attempted; 2. Resident #17 had skin conditions coded correctly; and 3. Resident #38 had insulin and anti-coagulant medications coded correctly. Findings included: A review of an undated Nursing Policies document indicated, Patients are assessed initially and at regular intervals using a Federal/state specified, standardized, comprehensive resident assessment instrument to identify functional capacity and health status. 1. A review of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument 3.0 Manual, dated 10/2019, indicated that a BIMS should be completed if a resident was at least sometimes understood. a. A review of Resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-11-10 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, document review, and policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure food was covered during delivery on two (C and D Hall) of four halls in the facility. The deficient practice had the potential to affect 24 residents who were served meals in their rooms. Findings included: A review of the facility's policy, revised 11/2020 and titled, Meal Service & Patient Meal Delivery, revealed the policy did not address covering food items during meal delivery. During an observation on 11/08/2022 at 11:53 AM, the surveyor observed Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) #1 delivering lunch meal trays on D Hall. The enclosed cart containing the meal trays was parked at the end of the hall near room D1. CNA #1 removed a food tray from the cart, poured a beverage, and placed the beverage on the cart. CNA #1 then carried the tray, with the dessert and the beverage uncovered, approximately 70 feet down the hallway, past the medication cart and the nurses' station, to room D9. CNA #1 then returned to the cart and picked up another meal tray, poured a beverage,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-11-10 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and facility policy review, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure the medication cart was closed and locked when unattended for one (B Hall) of four medication carts in the facility. Findings included: A review of the facility's policy titled Security of Medication Cart, dated 04/2007, indicated, Medication carts must be securely locked at all times when out of the nurse's view. When the medication cart is not being used, it must be locked and parked on the hallway. During an observation on 11/08/2022 at 8:59 AM, the medication cart on the B Hall was unlocked, with the top drawer open approximately 1/4 inch. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #2 was sitting in a computer area approximately seven feet away. During a concurrent observation and interview on 11/08/2022 at 9:02 AM with another surveyor present, the surveyor opened the third drawer of the medication cart and then closed it. LPN #2 was in the computer area and did not respond. When asked, LPN #2 indicated Certified Medical Technician (CMT) #1 was responsible for the B Hall…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2019-10-11 · tag F0730 — widespread
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure five of five randomly selected Certified Nurse Aides (CNA) received the required annual 12 hours resident care training. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all residents. The facility census was 101. Review of the CNA individual in-service records, showed: - CNA A, hired 04/17/12, no documentation of the training hours per in-service; - CNA B, hired 10/07/02, no documentation of the training hours per in-service; - CNA C, hired 06/29/17, no documentation of the training hours per in-service; - CNA D, hired 08/06/15, no documentation of the training hours per in-service; - CNA E, hired 09/13/12, no documentation of the training hours per in-service. During an interview on 10/09/19 at 10:48 A.M., the Director of Nursing (DON) said the prior DON had not been tracking each CNAs hours of in-service training. She said the in-service records listed the topic and the date but no length of time. She said she expects each CNA to receive 12 hours of in-service training. The facility did not provide a policy…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to NATIONAL HEALTHCARE CORPORATION — 69 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 54.0≈ chain avg
Health inspection 4 of 53.5+0.5 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 53.5+0.5 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 54.4-0.4 vs chain
The other 68 homes this chain runs (chain average 4.0★, per CMS)
1 of 5NHC Healthcare - MauldinGreenville, SC 2 of 5NHC Healthcare - CharlestonCharleston, SC 2 of 5NHC Healthcare, GlasgowGlasgow, KY 2 of 5Nhc Healthcare RossvilleRossville, GA 2 of 5Nhc Healthcare, AnnistonAnniston, AL 2 of 5Nhc Healthcare, FranklinFranklin, TN 2 of 5Nhc Healthcare, JoplinJoplin, MO 2 of 5Nhc Healthcare, SpringfieldSpringfield, TN 2 of 5Osage Beach Rehabilitation And Health Care CenterOsage Beach, MO 2 of 5White Oak Manor-ShelbyShelby, NC 3 of 5Adamsplace, LLCMurfreesboro, TN 3 of 5NHC Healthcare - GreenwoodGreenwood, SC 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, Ft SandersKnoxville, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, HendersonvilleHendersonville, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, KnoxvilleKnoxville, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, LewisburgLewisburg, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, PulaskiPulaski, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, SmithvilleSmithville, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, SpartaSparta, TN 3 of 5Nhc Healthcare, TullahomaTullahoma, TN 3 of 5The Health Center At Richland PlaceNashville, TN 3 of 5The MeadowsNashville, TN 3 of 5White Oak Manor - YorkYork, SC 4 of 5NHC HealthCare - North AugustaNorth Augusta, SC 4 of 5NHC Healthcare - BlufftonOkatie, SC 4 of 5NHC Healthcare - Garden CityGarden City, SC 4 of 5NHC Healthcare - LexingtonWest Columbia, SC 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, ChattanoogaChattanooga, TN 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, ColumbiaColumbia, TN 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, DeslogeDesloge, MO 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, Maryland HeightsMaryland Heights, MO 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, MilanMilan, TN 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, Oak RidgeOak Ridge, TN 4 of 5Nhc Healthcare, OakwoodLewisburg, TN 4 of 5Nhc Place At Cool SpringsFranklin, TN 4 of 5White Oak Manor - CharlestonCharleston, SC 4 of 5White Oak Manor - SpartanburgSpartanburg, SC 5 of 5HeartlandNashville, TN 5 of 5Holston Health & Rehabilitation CenterKnoxville, TN 5 of 5Macon Health Care CenterMacon, MO

Showing 40 of 68; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Investor-owned

CMS ownership filings flag an owner of this facility as an investment firm. That’s a fact worth knowing about who ultimately profits from the home. Read the inspection and staffing record above on its own merits.

  • BLACKROCK INC — investment firm · 12.60% share · 5% Or Greater Indirect Ownership Interest
  • MORGAN STANLEY — investment firm · 5.30% share · 5% Or Greater Indirect Ownership Interest
  • VANGUARD GROUP INC — investment firm · 9.00% share · 5% Or Greater Indirect Ownership Interest

Source: CMS SNF ownership filings (PECOS). These flags are self-reported and undercount — federal auditors (GAO) and researchers find CMS captures only a fraction of true private-equity and REIT ties, so the absence of a flag on other homes is not proof they lack investor owners. How investor ownership affects care →

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
NHC/DELAWARE INCOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTsince 02/01/2000
RECTOR, MELVINIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/01/2000
NATIONAL HEALTHCARE CORPORATIONOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/01/2000
NHC-OP LPOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/01/2000
BENSON, DENISEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/23/1998
DODSON, VICKIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/01/2019
ITZKOWITZ, ANDREAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/25/2000
KIDD, BRIANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2017
PEIMANN, SETHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/05/2025
USSERY, ROBERTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/01/2000
BLACKROCK INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/20/2010
NATIONAL HEALTH CORPORATIONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 05/05/2025
NATIONAL HEALTH INVESTORS, INC.OrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/17/1991
VANGUARD GROUP INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/30/2006

CMS files one row per role, so the 21 rows in the source record cover these 14 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$8.8M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-9.6%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$727K
Related-party expense8% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 60%Medicare 4%Other / private 37%

This home reported $727K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$308per resident / day
operating cost
$9,361per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$281per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MO

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Missouri Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Missouri
$6,741/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$7,604/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,400/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 265166. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-06-20, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next