Nowata Nursing Center
436 South Joe, Nowata, OK 74048 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 65 certified beds · (918) 273-2236 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (18) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 3 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 29.9% | 13.6% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.6% | 3.3% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.7% | 1.9% | 0.9% | typical for the state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.2% | 2.8% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 18.1% | 3.4% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.2% | 4.7% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 32.7% | 13.7% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 20.2% | 25.7% | 18.9% | typical |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 88.9% | 94.6% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.4% | 4.7% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 30.8% | 17.1% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 3.1% | 17.5% | 17.1% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.73 | 2.31 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 5.43 | 2.96 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.07 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 3% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 65 beds and averages 32.3 residents a day — about 50% occupied, or roughly 33 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.18 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.48 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.72 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.20 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.17 on weekdays — about the same on weekends as weekdays. RN hours go from 0.52 to 0.37 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 54% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
18 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 8 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · D2026-01-30 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to report an allegation of a crime toward a resident to OSDH and local law enforcement within 2 hours for 1 (#4) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for abuse.The DON identified 32 residents resided in the facility.Findings:A facility policy titled Policy and Procedure Regarding Responsibility of Reporting Allegations of Resident Abuse, Criminal Acts, Injury of Unknown Source, Neglect, Misappropriation of Property, and Exploitation, dated 10/11/22, read in part, It is the policy of this facility to act on all allegations of abuse, neglect, misappropriation of resident property, exploitation, injuries of unknown source and suspected criminal acts which included reporting the allegation withing the required time frame to the appropriate authorities.A quarterly assessment for Res #4, dated 04/18/25, showed the resident had a brief interview for mental status score of 12, indicating moderate cognitive impairment.A Transfer to Hospital Summary, dated 06/24/25 at 1:45 p.m., was found in the progress note section of Res #4's EMR. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-11-21 · tag F0851 — widespreadElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide staffing data to CMS for the third quarter of 2024. The ADON stated 34 residents resided at the facility. Findings: A PBJ Staffing Data Report for the third quarter of 2024 (04/01/24 through 06/30/24) documented the facility had failed to submit the mandated staffing data for that quarter. On 11/20/24 at 1:50 p.m., the administrator stated they were the person who put in the data for the third quarter. They stated they had not followed up to ensure the data have been uploaded to CMS. They stated the person who usually uploaded the data had been out ill and they had put in the data remotely. They stated the business office manager would put in the data in the future.
- Potential for harm · E2024-11-21 · tag F0582 — patternGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide accurate CMS-10055 forms to residents who discharged from part A services for two (#31 and #32) of three sampled residents reviewed for accurate skilled services beneficiary notices. The ADON reported four residents had discharged from skilled services in the previous six months. Findings: An undated facility document titled, Form Instructions Skill Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice of Non-coverage (SNF ABN) Form CMS-10055 (2024), read in part, The SNF ABN provides information to the patient so that [they] can decide whether or not to get the care that may not be paid for by Medicare and assume financial responsibility. A CMS-10055 form, dated 02/16/24, documented it was for Resident #31 and had been approved via telephone by the resident's representative. The document did not document the estimated costs to the resident if they wished to continue the identified skilled services. The form did not document the resident representative's choice whether they wished to continue the services and bill Medicare…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-11-21 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — patternImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. an antianxiety medication was not prescribed on an as needed basis without a 14-day limit or a physician's explanation why it should be used beyond 14 days for one (#24); and b. gradual dose reductions were recommended or attempted for antidepressants for two (#17 and #30) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The ADON reported 27 residents at the facility were prescribed psychotropic medications. Findings: A facility policy titled Policy for the Management of Resident Medication, dated 10/2017, read in part, For resident who require the us of these medications, gradual dose reductions will be attempted unless contraindicated, and behavioral interventions implemented in an effort to discontinue the medication. 1. Resident #17 had diagnoses of recurrent depressive disorder. A medication administration record, dated 11/01/24 through 11/30/24, documented Resident #17 had been ordered citalopram hydrobromide (SSRI) 40mg…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-11-21 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure kitchen staff with beards wore beard guards while preparing food for the resident. The ADON stated 34 residents at the facility routinely ate meals provided by the facility kitchen staff. Findings: On 11/18/24 at 8:10 a.m., the facility's dietary manager and dietary aide #1 were observed working in the kitchen where food items were being prepared. Each had a beard and were not wearing beard guards. On 11/18/24 at 11:03 a.m., the facility's dietary manager and dietary aide #1 were observed in the food preparation area. They were not wearing beard guards. The dietary manager stated they did not have any beard guards in the facility. On 11/19/24 at 9:35 a.m., the administrator stated they were unaware there were not beard guards in the facility and would immediately obtains some. They stated the beard guards were required in the facility when preparing food.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-11-21 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to implement a policy related to enhanced barrier precautions to prevent the spread of MDROs in the facility. The ADON reported 34 residents resided in the facility. Findings: A facility Enhanced Barrier Precautions policy, revised 07/21/22, read in part, The expanded use of PPE .during high-contact care activities that provide opportunities for transfer of Multi-Drug Resistant Organisms [MDRO] to or from staff hands or clothing or indirectly transferred from resident/client to resident/client during high-contact activities Use Enhanced Barrier Precautions when providing care to any resident/client with an indwelling medical device or colonized infection with an MDRO. On 11/18/24 at 8:30 a.m., a tour of the facility was conducted. No signage was noted on resident doors indicating EBP was implemented for at risk residents. On 11/21/24 at 12:35 p.m., CMA #1 stated to their knowledge enhanced barrier precautions were not in place in the facility. On 11/21/24 at 12:49 p.m., CNA #1 stated they were unaware what EBP was or how they…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-11-21 · tag F0623 — isolatedProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide a written notice of transfer to a resident prior to a transfer to an acute care hospital for one (#32) of two sampled residents reviewed for hospitalizations and discharges. The ADON reported that seven residents had transferred to a hospital in the previous six months. Findings: A facility Transfer or Discharge Notice policy, dated December 2016, read in part, Under the following circumstances, the notice will be given as soon as it is practicable but before the transfer or discharge: a. The transfer is necessary for the resident's welfare and the resident's needs cannot be met in the facility. A progress note, dated 08/27/24 at 7:50 a.m., documented Resident #32 had been sent to an acute care hospital for confusion and a low blood oxygen saturation rate. The note documented a family member of the family was notified of the situation. A progress note, dated 08/31/24 at 2:45 p.m., documented Resident #32 was returned to the facility from the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-11-21 · tag F0625 — isolatedNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide a written notice of the bed hold policy when a resident was sent to a hospital for one (#32) of two sampled residents reviewed for hospitalizations and discharges. The ADON reported that seven residents had transferred to a hospital in the previous six months. Findings: A facility Bed-Hold and Returns policy, dated March 2017, read in part, Prior to transfers and therapeutic leaves, residents or resident representatives will be informed in writing of the bed-hold and return policy. A progress note, dated 08/27/24 at 7:50 a.m., documented Resident #32 had been sent to an acute care hospital for confusion and a low blood oxygen saturation rate. On 11/21/24 at 9:35 a.m., Resident #32 stated they had been sent to the hospital earlier that year because of breathing problems. On 11/21/24 at 9:50 a.m., RN #1 and LPN #1 stated they did not give a written notice of the bed hold policy when Resident #32 was sent to the hospital on [DATE]. On 11/21/24 at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-03 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a dose reduction recommendation was provided for one (#9) of five sampled residents who were reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 07/27/23, documented 15 residents who received psychoactive medications. Findings: Resident #9 admitted on [DATE], with diagnoses which included schizophrenia and depression. Review of Patient Discharge Instructions from the discharging hospital, dated 03/03/21, revealed Resident #9 admitted to the facility with psychoactive medications which included, Risperidone 3mg one tablet one time a day, and chlorpromazine Hcl 50 mg two tablets one time a day. An Expanded DRR [Drug Regimen Review] Report, dated 06/10/21, read in part, .Chlorpromazine 100mg daily ordered on adminssion[sp] with risperidone 3mg daily also ordered on admission dx schizophrenia . No recommendation was made for a reduction to these medications. The report was signed by the attending…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0576 — patternEnsure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on interviews, it was determined the facility failed to deliver mail to the residents on Saturdays for 10 of 10 residents who attended the resident council meeting. The facility identified 30 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: On 05/19/21 at 1:30 p.m., a resident council meeting was held with ten alert and oriented residents. The residents were asked if they received mail on Saturdays. All 10 of the residents stated they did not. One resident stated they only got mail on the days the activities director was working which was Monday through Friday. 05/19/21 at 2:02 p.m., the social services/activities director was asked if residents received mail on Saturdays. She stated, No. She stated she passed out the mail and she was not in the facility on Saturdays. On 05/26/21 at 3:05 p.m., the executive director was asked if the facility had a policy for mail delivery on Saturdays. She stated the mail was delivered to the facility on Saturday, but it was not passed out to residents on the weekends.
Show the remaining 8 citations
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0636 — patternAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive assessment was accurate related to hospice services for one (#23) of 12 sampled residents whose assessments were reviewed. The facility identified 30 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: A facility policy titled, Electronic Transmission of the MDS (minimum data set), dated September 2010, documented, .All staff members responsible for completion of the MDS receive training on the assessment .Staff members are trained on updates/revisions to the MDS form and software upgrades as they are released . Resident #23 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses which included covid-19, heart failure, and hypertension. A physician order, dated 12/18/20, documented, .Admit to [Hospice name withheld] . A review of the hospice record revealed the resident had been admitted to hospice on 12/18/20. A quarterly assessment, dated 12/21/20, documented the resident was cognitively intact and required supervision with most ADLs (activities of daily living). The assessment had not revealed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0640 — patternEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to electronically transmit data to the CMS system within 14 days after completion of an annual assessment for one (#1) of 19 sampled residents whose MDS assessments were reviewed. This had the potential to affect all 30 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: Resident #1 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses which included major depressive disorder, mood affective disorder, anxiety disorder, and sexual aversion disorder. The annual assessment, dated 03/10/21, had a notation in red that read, Export Ready. A resident assessment had been triggered for further investigation related to the MDS record being over 120 days old. On 05/26/21 at 2:41 p.m., the executive director was asked who was responsible for transmitting MDS data to CMS. She stated they have been without a full time MDS person since November 2020. She stated their MDS person was only part time. She was asked what their process was for transmitting MDS data. She stated once the DON has signed the data information it was transmitted.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — patternEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, it was determined the facility failed to: ~Ensure chemicals were secured for one of one utility closets observed for hazardous materials; and ~Ensure equipment was properly stored and the room locked for one of five resident room on the north hall, and one of 12 resident rooms on the dining room hall observed for storage. The facility identified 30 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: A facility policy titled, Storage Areas, Maintenance, dated December 2009, documented, .Maintenance storage areas shall be maintained in a clean and safe manner .Cleaning supplies .must be stored as instructed on the labels of such products . On 05/18/21 at 12:56 p.m., an unlocked and unoccupied resident room on the north hall was observed to contain the following: ~Four beds; and ~One wheelchair. At 1:00 p.m., the DON (director of nursing) was asked how many residents wandered in the facility. He stated two. At 1:05 p.m., the maintenance supervisor was asked how long the unoccupied resident room had been used for storage. He stated he did not know. He…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — patternProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to: ~Provide sufficient qualified nursing staff to provide nursing and related services; and ~Ensure staffing met the state minimum requirement. This had the potential to affect all 30 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: 1. On 05/18/21, during entrance conference the executive director was asked if the facility had any nursing waivers. She stated no. Staffing was reviewed for the period of May 9th through May 15, 2021. The review revealed the facility had been without an RN for eight consecutive hours, seven days a week on the following days: ~Thursday, 05/06/21, had an RN for 1.25 hours in a 24 hour period; ~Monday, 05/10/21; ~Tuesday, 05/11/21; and ~Wednesday, 05/12/21. On 05/26/21 at 2:41 p.m., the executive director was asked why they had been without an RN on the day mentioned above. She stated it had been difficult trying to find an RN to work. She stated the DON had gotten married and was gone on those dates. 2. Staffing was reviewed for the period of 12/01/2020 through 01/31/21. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — patternHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to utilize a Registered Nurse at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week. The facility identified 25 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: On 05/18/21, during entrance conference the administrator was asked if the facility had any nursing waivers. She stated no. Staffing was reviewed for the period of May 9th through May 15, 2021. The review revealed the facility had been without an RN for eight consecutive hours, seven days a week on the following days: ~Thursday, 05/06/21, had an RN for 1.25 hours in a 24 hour period; ~Monday, 05/10/21; ~Tuesday, 05/11/21; and ~Wednesday, 05/12/21. On 05/26/21 at 2:41 p.m., the executive director was asked why they had been without an RN on the day mentioned above. She stated it had been difficult trying to find an RN to work. She stated the DON had gotten married and was gone on those dates. Staffing was reviewed for the period of 12/01/2020 through January 31, 2021. The review revealed the facility had been without an RN (registered nurse) for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-05-26 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — patternEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the physician had provided a clinical rationale when he/she disagreed with a recommendation made by the consulting pharmacist during a medication regimen review for three (#1, 15, and #22) of five sampled residents whose records were reviewed for unnecessary medications. This had the potential to affect all 30 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: 1. Resident #1 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses which included major depressive disorder, mood affective disorder, anxiety disorder, and sexual aversion disorder. The assessment documented the resident had been administered an antidepressant and had not received an antipsychotic medication seven days of the seven day look back period. A monthly medication regimen review, dated 12/09/20, documented, Could we DC sliding Scale insulin increasing Victoza? The physician's response was, Disagree. He had not documented a clinical rationale as to why he had disagreed. An annual assessment, dated 03/10/21, documented the resident was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2021-05-26 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the dishwasher temperatures were maintained at the manufacturer's recommended temperature during use. The facility identified 30 residents who received meals from the kitchen. Findings: A facility policy titled, Dishwashing Machine Use, dated March 2010, documented, .The operator will check temperatures using the machine gauge with each dishwashing machine cycle, and will record the results in a facility approved log. The operator will monitor the gauge frequently during dishwashing machine cycle. Inadequate temperatures will be reported to the supervisor and corrected immediately .If hot water temperatures .do not meet requirements, cease use of dishwashing machine immediately until temperatures .are adjusted . On 05/18/21 at 10:45 a.m., the dish machine was observed to reach a wash temperature of 100 degrees F (Fahrenheit) and a rinse temperature of 100 degrees F. The manufacturer's label documented minimum temperature for wash and rinse was 120 degrees F. A Dish Machine…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2021-05-26 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure infection control had been maintained by serving meals in a manner to prevent cross contamination for three (noon meals) of three meal services observed for infection control. The facility identified 30 residents who received nourishment from the kitchen and 18 resident who routinely ate in the dining room. Findings: A facility policy titled, Handwashing/Hand Hygiene, dated August 2015, documented, .The facility considers hand hygiene the primary means to prevent the spread of infections .Hand hygiene products and supplies ( .alcohol-based hand rub .) shall be readily accessible and convenient for staff use to encourage compliance with hand hygiene policies .Use an alcohol-based hand rub .for the following situations .Before and after direct contact with residents .After contact with objects (e.g., [for example] medical equipment) in the vicinity of the resident .Before and after assisting a resident with meals . On 05/18/21 at 11:50 a.m., the noon meal service was observed in the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to OKLAHOMA NURSING HOMES, LTD. — 7 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 3 of 5 | 2.6 | +0.4 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
| Staffing | 3 of 5 | 2.6 | +0.4 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 2 of 5 | 2.6 | -0.6 vs chain |
The other 6 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MIDWEST NURSING HOMES, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| CHEEK, BARNIE | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| CHEEK, SANDRA | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| ESTEP, PATSY | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| HASKINS, LLOYD | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| MCGREW, JUSTIN | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| TUBBS, STEVEN | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/01/2024 |
| BROWN, JACK | Individual | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| OKLAHOMA NURSING HOMES, INC. | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/07/2025 |
| OKLAHOMA NURSING HOMES, LTD | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/07/2025 |
| HUXALL, MARY | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 15 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
3 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 95% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in OK
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Oklahoma Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 375354. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-11-21, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.