No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Avina of Sun Prairie

41 Rickel Rd., Sun Prairie, WI 53590 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 50 certified beds · (608) 837-8529 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (608) 837-8529 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citations — no harm found (F0609, F0610) — most recent Apr 2024
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Urgent care / clinic
908 Windsor St · (414) 249-4420 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1571 Ivory Dr · (608) 318-2871 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1221 W Main St · (608) 318-0682 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1351 Linnerud Dr · (608) 837-9971 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased10.2%16.1%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight9.0%5.1%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%2.1%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%2.7%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%5.7%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.9%3.3%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened15.5%18.4%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication9.0%16.9%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.5%5.0%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control28.2%24.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table6.8%15.8%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine88.0%82.2%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission17.4%23.1%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit8.0%15.5%12.0%better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

61.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that better than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 99 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

61.8%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.8%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
59.4%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.30U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.16hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 59.4% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 64 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.30 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 47% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF61.8%CMS range 52.1–69.551.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024better than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.8%CMS range 7.5–14.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge59.4%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge62.5%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge60.9%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified93.6%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge74.5%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened1.3%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization5.9%CMS range 2.9–9.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.971.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.64
RN hours/ resident / day
0.69
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.23
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.57
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.46
RN hoursweekends
45.0%
Total nursing turnover
50.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 50 beds and averages 37.4 residents a day — about 75% occupied, or roughly 13 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.57 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.64 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.23 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.10 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.76 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.71 to 0.46 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 45% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-01-08)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2024-08-22)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-08 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure that residents receive treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for 1 of 15 residents (R8) reviewed for change of condition. R8 was experiencing watery stools and nursing assessments were not performed by the facility.Evidenced by:The facility's Change of Condition policy, dated 1/5/25, states, in part: It is the policy of this facility to promptly identify, evaluate, address, and report a resident's change in condition.3. The nurse will complete a resident evaluation. 4. Phone calls to attending or on-call physicians should be made by the nurse who has collected pertinent information, including the resident's current symptoms and status, onset, duration, severity of the change in condition and available strategies to manage the change of condition in the facility, if appropriate.12. The staff will monitor and will document the residents' progress. 13. The nursing staff and Attending Physician will monitor a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-08 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolated
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure a resident who is fed by and received medications by enteral means (also known as tube feeding, as way of sending nutrition and/or medications directly to the stomach or small intestine) receives the appropriate treatment and services for 1 of 1 Resident (R5) reviewed for tube feeding.LPN C administered a water flush and tube feeding without checking placement of R5's gastrostomy tube (a flexible tube inserted through the abdominal wall directly into the stomach, providing a pathway for nutrition, fluids, and medications).Evidenced by:The facility's Verifying Placement of Feeding Tube policy, dated 9/5/25, states, in part: It is the practice of this facility to ensure proper placement of feeding tubes prior to beginning a feeding, flushing the tube, or before administering medications via feeding tube. Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: 1. Before beginning a feeding, flushing the tube, or administering a medication via the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-08 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure that it was free of medication error rates of 5% or greater. There were 3 errors in 29 opportunities that affected 1 out of 4 residents (R4) included in the medication pass task, which resulted in an error rate of 10.34%. R4 received three different eye drops, Latanoprost, Brinzolamide, and Timolol one after another, without any amount of wait time between each different type of eye drop. Evidenced by:Facility policy titled Administration of Eye Drops or Ointments, dated 4/9/2025 states in part: . Eye medications are administered as ordered by the physician and in accordance with professional standards of practice. If a second medication is required in the same eye, wait approximated time per manufacturer's specifications (usually 5 minutes). R4 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of unspecified Glaucoma (an eye condition that damages the optic nerve, which can lead to vision loss or blindness), Type II Diabetes…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-04 · tag F0554 — isolated
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the interdisciplinary team had determined it was appropriate for a resident to self-administer medications for 1 of 1 resident's (R2) reviewed for medication self-administration out of 9 sampled residents. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Self Administration [sic] of Medication and Treatments and dated 04/22/24, revealed . If it is determined by a member of the interdisciplinary team, or the resident requests to self-administer, a self-administer assessment is completed, it is documented in the resident's chart and the physician is called for an order to self-administer medications and keep the medications at the bedside . Review of R2's undated Face Sheet located under the Profile tab in the electronic medical record (EMR) revealed R2 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with the diagnosis of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Review of R2's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) located in the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-08-22 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. This has the potential to affect all 40 residents. Surveyor observed frozen drips on the ceiling inside of the facility's walk-in freezer and boxes of unsealed food (under the dripping) to have water damage. Surveyor observed hairlike dust adhered to the electrical cords and piping directly above the food preparation and serving area. Surveyor observed staff washing their hands for a lesser time than the current standards of practice and less than the time outlined by the facility's handwashing policy. Surveyor observed food to be in the facility's main kitchen and in the kitchenette to not have an expiration date, an open date, or a use by date on it. Surveyor observed the facility's meat slicer to be stored unclean with visible dried meat particles on it. Evidenced by: Example freezer On 8/20/24 at 9:10 AM Surveyor and DM E (Dietary Manager) observed frozen drops hanging from the ceiling inside of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-08-22 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview, the facility did not ensure each resident had a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment for 3 of 15 sampled residents (R30, R14, R24) and 3 supplemental residents (R1, R20, R35). R14, R1, R24, R35, R20, and R30 indicated that the dining room is always cold, and they have to wear a jacket or wrap up in a blanket to stay warm. R30 was observed getting blankets from his room and wrapping it around other residents in the dining room. Resident Council meeting minutes dated 7/19/24, indicated the facility was aware that resident's had concerns of it being too cold in the building. Evidenced by: Facility policy, entitled Environment-Quality of Life, dated 4/2023, with a revision date of 7/3/24, includes in part . The facility cares for its residents in a manner and in an environment that promotes maintenance or enhancement of each resident's quality of life. The facility provides a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment . and includes . comfortable and safe…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-08-22 · tag F0806 — failed to honor food preferences — pattern
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility did not provide food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences or who request a different meal choice for 3 of 15 sampled residents (R3, R17, and R25) out of a total sample of 18 and 1 supplemental resident (R33). Residents were not being served the menu items of their preferences or within parameters of their physician ordered diet, and at times were refused a substitution meal. This is evidenced by: The facility's policy entitled, Meal Identification and Preference Cards/Tickets with no reference date, includes in part: A meal identification and food preferences card (meal ID card/ticket) will be used to properly identify each individual's needs including food and beverage preferences . The meal ID card/ticket should include the name of the individual, diet order, beverage preferences, food dislikes and any other applicable diet information . Meal ID cards/tickets will be used during meal service to assure the correct…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-22 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility did not ensure prompt resolution of all grievances for 2 (R48 and R30) of 15 sampled residents of a total sample of 18. R48 and R30 voiced concerns during individual interviews regarding the facility not following up on voiced concerns/grievances. Staff reported they were aware of concerns voiced by R48 and R30 and reported these concerns to the Grievance Official, who did not follow the facility's grievance process. R48 reported to NHA A (Nursing Home Administrator) multiple times regarding a pair of missing pants. NHA A did not document the grievance on the grievance log and ensure the grievance was resolved. The facility did not ensure prompt resolution of voiced grievances. Evidenced by: The facility's policy, Grievance Guideline, revised 1/27/2017, indicates in part, the following: It is the policy of the facility to provide a system whereby residents, and/or their significant others or representatives, can voice concerns about the quality of services…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-22 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility did not implement professional standards of practice to prevent pressure injuries (PIs) from developing and/or worsening or to promote healing of PIs for 1 of 1 residents (R47) reviewed for PIs out of a sample of 18 residents. Pressure Ulcer/Injury R47 was admitted to the facility 3/22/24 with diagnoses including, but not limited to, the following: paraplegia, functional injury at T10-T11 level of thoracic spinal cord, Stage IV right ischial pressure ulcer s/p (status post) excision and flap 2/22/24 with pseudomonas infection/osteomyelitis requiring prolonged course of IV (intravenous) antibiotics, Stage IV sacrococcygeal pressure injury, history of Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus infection, and history of transient ischemic attack (TIA) and cerebral infarction without residual deficits. On 5/25/24 R47 discharged home per her decision. R47's admission MDS (Minimum Data Set) dated 3/28/24 indicates R47 has a BIMS (Brief Interview of Mental Status) of 15 out of 15, indicating she is cognitively intact. R47 is her own…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-22 · tag F0742 — isolated
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure residents admitted with mental or psychosocial adjustment difficulties or history of trauma and/or PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder) received appropriate person-centered and individualized treatment and services to meet their assessed needs for 2 of 18 sampled residents (R30 & R37). R37 has a diagnosis of PTSD, and his care plan does not address personalized potential triggers or person-centered and individualized treatment and services related to his PTSD. R30 does not have a formal diagnosis of PTSD, however, R30 indicated that he has experienced several traumatic experiences in his past that would indicate symptoms of PTSD. R30's care plan does not address his PTSD symptoms or potential triggers to meet assessed needs related to PTSD. Evidenced by: The facility policy, entitled, Treatment/Services for Mental/Psychosocial Concerns Policy, dated 9/29/22, states in part . The facility will ensure that, a resident who displays or is diagnosed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 6 citations
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-03 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure that all injuries of unknown origin/serious bodily injury were reported to the State Agency for 1 of 3 sampled residents (R1) for change of condition. R1 was discovered to have severe bleeding of unknown origin which led to a change of condition and death this was not reported to the State Agency. This is evidenced by: R1 admitted to the facility following a femoral artery bypass surgery and amputation of right foot's digits. R1 had the following diagnoses: idiopathic progressive neuropathy, COVID-19, (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), centrilobular emphysema, sever protein-calorie malnutrition, displacement of femoral arterial graft (Bypass), malignant neoplasm of prostate, complete traumatic amputation of two or more right lesser toes, coronary artery dissection, supraventricular tachycardia, other ventricular tachycardia, peripheral vascular disease, nontraumatic ischemic infarction of muscle- right lower leg, anemia, occlusion and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-03 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolated
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility did not ensure that all injuries of unknown origin/serious bodily injury were thoroughly investigated for 1 of 3 sampled residents (R1) for change of condition. R1 had severe bleeding which led to a change of condition and death this was not thoroughly investigated. This is evidenced by: R1 admitted to the facility following a femoral artery bypass surgery and amputation of right foot's digits. R1 had the following diagnoses: idiopathic progressive neuropathy, COVID-19, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), centrilobular emphysema, severe protein-calorie malnutrition, displacement of femoral arterial graft (Bypass), malignant neoplasm of prostate, complete traumatic amputation of two or more right lesser toes, coronary artery dissection, supraventricular tachycardia, other ventricular tachycardia, peripheral vascular disease, nontraumatic ischemic infarction of muscle- right lower leg, anemia, occlusion and stenosis of bilateral vertebral arteries,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-03 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility did not maintain medical records on each resident that are complete; accurately documented; readily accessible, and systematically organized for 1 of 3 sampled residents (R1) for change of condition. R1's medical record is missing documentation of his change of condition and subsequent passing away from [DATE]. This is evidenced by: R1 admitted to the facility following a femoral artery bypass surgery and amputation of right foot's digits. R1 had the following diagnoses: idiopathic progressive neuropathy, COVID-19, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), centrilobular emphysema, sever protein-calorie malnutrition, displacement of femoral arterial graft (Bypass), malignant neoplasm of prostate, complete traumatic amputation of two or more right lesser toes, coronary artery dissection, supraventricular tachycardia, other ventricular tachycardia, peripheral vascular disease, nontraumatic ischemic infarction of muscle- right lower leg, anemia, occlusion and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-04-27 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — widespread
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, review of facility policy, and document review, it was determined the facility failed to follow the prepared menu for 36 of 39 residents who received a regular diet, a National Dysphagia Diet Level (NDDL) 3, or a NDDL 2 from the facility kitchen. Specifically, the facility failed to serve the correct portion size for vegetables during the lunch meal on 04/25/2023. Findings included: A review of the facility's undated policy and procedure titled, Menu Planning, indicated, Menu planning will be completed by the facility at least 2 weeks in advance of service and menus will be kept on file for a minimum of 90 days. The policy indicated, Regular and therapeutic menus will be written to provide a variety of foods served on different days of the week, adjusted for seasonal changes, and in adequate amounts at each meal to satisfy recommended daily allowances. The policy also indicated, Temporary changes to the menu will be noted on the menus substitution sheets and posted so the facility staff is aware of changes. The RD [Registered Dietitian] or designee…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-04-27 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and facility policy review, the facility did not ensure that staff treated 19 of 29 residents resident with dignity and respect. Staff were noted to be wearing ear buds (inner ear headphones) to talk on the phone or listen to music while providing care to residents on the South Wing. Findings included: Review of a facility policy titled, Professional Appearance and Dress Code Guidelines for Employees, dated 02/01/2020, indicated, Cell Phones and PDA [personal digital assistant] Devices - Employees should not have any type of cell phone, pager, PDA or other personal media on their person in work areas, unless required for job duties. Personal media include earpieces, cameras, MP3 [digital music device] players and devices used for texting. Review of a facility policy titled, Dignity, dated 07/21/2022, indicated, Residents should not be excluded from conversations during activities or when care is being provided, nor should staff discuss residents in settings where others can…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-04-27 · tag F0637 — isolated
    Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a significant change Minimum Data Set (MDS) was completed within 14 days after hospice services were discontinued for 1 (R4) of 1 sampled resident who received hospice services. R4's hospice services were discontinued on 1/19/23. As of 4/26/23, a significant change MDS had not been completed. Findings included: Review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) 3.0 User's Manual, Version 1.17.1, revealed, An SCSA [Significant Change in Status Assessment] is required to be performed when a resident is receiving hospice services and then decides to discontinue those services. According to the RAI User's Manual, the SCSA assessment is required to be performed within 14 days of the effective date of hospice revocation, the expiration date of the certification of terminal illness, or the date of the physician's or medical director's order stating the resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to AVINA HEALTHCARE — 9 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 52.2+2.8 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.1+1.9 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 51.9+0.1 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 53.3+1.7 vs chain
The other 8 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.2★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
REBEL, IGORIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF20%since 12/01/2017
TOPPER, AARONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2017
SIDHU, SARFRAZIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2021
VANDER MEER, PETERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/29/2024

CMS files one row per role, so the 11 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.3M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+10.3%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$412K
Related-party expense9% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 64%Medicare 14%Other / private 23%

This home reported $412K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$356per resident / day
operating cost
$10,829per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$397per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in WI

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Wisconsin Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Wisconsin
$10,646/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,319/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,540/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 525313. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-08, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next