No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Silver Memories Health Care

6996 South Us421, Versailles, IN 47042 · For profit - Corporation · 29 certified beds · (812) 689-6222 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (812) 689-6222 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 14 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
206 W Tyson St · (812) 689-5101 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
326 S Washington St · (812) 689-6251 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1 S Main St · (812) 689-6582 · Call to confirm hours
Park
528, 442 S Tanglewood Rd · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
228 S Washington St · (812) 689-5542

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased26.3%11.0%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight8.3%5.5%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.1%0.4%0.9%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%1.1%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms43.1%25.2%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury1.8%3.9%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened26.4%11.9%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication43.2%23.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.4%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers0.0%3.6%4.7%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control12.6%23.3%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table17.1%13.6%17.1%typical
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.891.611.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.451.441.80better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.23U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.15hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.23 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 30% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 19% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.91
RN hours/ resident / day
0.50
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.16
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.56
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.88
RN hoursweekends
37.0%
Total nursing turnover
33.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 29 beds and averages 25.7 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 3 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.56 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.91 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.16 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.12 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.74 on weekdays — 17% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.92 to 0.88 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 37% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-23)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2024-11-26)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-12-23 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to serve food in a sanitary manner related to hair net use for 3 of 4 kitchen observations. (Cook 4)Findings include:During an observation, on 12/18/2025 at 11:30 A.M., [NAME] 4 was standing in the kitchen in front of the stove stirring a pan of ham casserole. She had approximately 6 inches of long strands of hair on both sides of her face, hanging out of her hair net. During an observation, on 12/18/2025 at 11:50 A.M., [NAME] 4 was in the kitchen with approximately 6 inches of long strands of hair on the sides of her face, hanging out of her hair net. The cook was moving around the kitchen and temping food for the steam table. During an observation, on 12/22/2025 at 12:21 P.M., [NAME] 4 was in the kitchen. She had approximately 6 inches of long strands of hair on the sides of her face, hanging out of her hair net. During an interview, on 12/22/25 at 12:47 P.M., the Administrator indicated staff's hair should be in a hair net and not hanging out. The current facility policy titled, Employee Sanitary Practices, with a revision…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-23 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to implement an intervention after a fall for 1 of 13 residents' Care Plans reviewed. (Resident 25)Findings include:The clinical record for Resident 25 was reviewed on 12/22/2025 at 10:14 AM. A Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 12/12/2025, indicated the resident was severely cognitively impaired. The resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to, Huntington's disease, seizure disorder, anxiety, and depression. The resident had one fall since the last assessment. A Progress Note, dated 11/14/2025, indicated the resident had slid from her Broda chair (a specialized wheelchair) onto the floor on her buttocks. The fall was observed by a Certified Nurse Aide staff. The resident was assisted to her feet and placed back in the chair. There were no injuries. The clinical record lacked a documented intervention for the fall on 11/14/2025, until 12/19/2025 when a late entry note was placed by the Director of Nursing (DON) at 1:00 P.M. The note indicated the root cause of the fall was movements related to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-23 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolated
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to accurately address pharmacy recommendations for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for medications. (Resident 6)Findings include:The clinical record for Resident 6 was reviewed on 12/22/2025 at 12:59 P.M. A Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 12/09/2025, indicated the resident was cognitively intact. The resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to, anemia, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disorder (COPD), hemiplegia, and depression. A Consultant Pharmacist's Medication Regimen Review, dated 07/16/2025, indicated the following:The resident started taking Benefiber (a prebiotic supplement that supports digestive health) once daily. 1. Please add give with 8 oz fluid to the current directions. This will ensure proper administration to decrease the risk of impaction caused by inadequate fluid intake.2. Please adjust the administration time to be 2 hours before or 2 hours after all other medications. I also recommend adding this to the medication directions, so it does not get changed at a later date. This will…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-23 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain complete and accurate resident records related to timely clinical assessments and documented medication administration for 2 of 12 residents reviewed for medical records. (Residents 10 and 6)Findings include: 1. The clinical record for Resident 10 was reviewed on 12/22/2025 at 12:45 P.M. An annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], indicated the resident was cognitively intact. The resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to, anxiety, depression, and major depressive order with psychotic symptoms. The resident's current physician's orders included an open-ended order, with a start date of 03/06/2025, for Vraylar (an antipsychotic medication) 4.5 milligrams (mg) daily. The resident's Electronic Medication Administration Record (EMAR) indicated the resident received the medication daily as ordered. During an interview, on 12/23/2025 at 1:20 P.M., the Director of Nursing (DON) indicated when a resident received an antipsychotic…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to follow infection control guidelines related to pericare (privates area cleaning) for 1 of 13 residents reviewed for infection control. (Resident 16)Findings include:During an observation, on 12/22/2025 at 10:40 A.M., Certified Nurse Aides (CNA) 2 and CNA 8 indicated to Resident 16 they were going to provide pericare. The resident was cleansed in the front appropriately. The resident was turned to her right side. There was stool present. CNA 2 wiped the resident from the back to the front multiple times. A new brief was applied, and the resident was made comfortable in her bed. During an interview, on 12/22/2025 at 10:50 A.M., CNA 2 indicated she should have wiped the resident from the front towards her back. The current, undated, facility policy titled, Perineal and/or Incontinence Care, was provided by the Administrator on 12/22/2025 at 3:49 P.M. The policy indicated, .Washing from front to back.3.1-18(b)

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-23 · tag F0912 — isolated
    Provide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide at least 80 sq ft (square feet) per resident for 2 of 11 resident rooms. (rooms [ROOM NUMBERS]) 1. During an observation of room [ROOM NUMBER] on 12/18/2025 at 11:15 A.M., each of the four residents in this room had adequate space to move about the room and store their belongings. During an observation and interview on 12/18/2025 at 1:58 P.M., room [ROOM NUMBER], a licensed SNF/NF (Skilled Nursing Facility/Nursing Facility) room, was measured at 299 sq ft. This room had 75 sq ft for each of the four residents who resided in the room. The room size was verified by the Maintenance Director. 2. During an observation of room [ROOM NUMBER] on 12/18/2025 at 11:18 A.M., each of the three residents in this room had adequate space to move about the room and store their belongings. During an observation on 12/18/2025 at 2:05 P.M., room [ROOM NUMBER], a licensed SNF/NF room, was measured at 209 sq ft. This room had 69 sq ft for each of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · No revisit needed
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-09-18 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide appropriate assistance with a mechanical lift device to ensure safe transfers for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for transfer/mobility devices. (Resident B) Findings include:A Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 9/1/25, indicated Resident B was severely cognitively impaired. The resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to, non-traumatic brain dysfunction, Alzheimer's disease, and hypertension. The Resident was dependent on staff assistance for all mobility.During an interview, on 9/18/25 at 9:57 A.M., the Administrator indicated Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) 2 used the full body mechanical lift on Resident B without any additional staff assistance on 8/12/25. The mechanical lifts should always be operated with two staff present, and staff were available to assist if the CNA would have requested for assistance. CNA 2 was discharged from service due to using a mechanical lift improperly.During an interview, on 9/18/25 at 10:42 A.M., CNA 2 indicated that on 8/12/25 she had put Resident B down…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-11-26 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow the manufacturer's guidelines related to the dishwasher temperatures and chemical sanitation for 1 of 2 kitchen observations and failed to maintain the resident snack refrigerator in a sanitary manner related to the storage of undated and unlabeled food and non-food items for 1 of 1 snack refrigerator observed. This deficient practice had the potential to affect 29 of 29 residents who received food from the kitchen or snack refrigerators. Findings include: During the initial kitchen tour on 11/21/24 at 10:48 A.M., with Human Resources (HR) 1, the following was observed: - The thermometer on the dishwasher registered 90 degrees Fahrenheit during the rinse cycle. The sticker on the machine indicated it was supposed to be 120 degrees Fahrenheit. There was no steam rising off of the dishwasher. - A chemical test of the dishwasher solution was conducted with HR 1 and the result was 10 Parts Per Million (PPM). HR 1 indicated it was supposed to be between 50 and 100 PPM. The residents' snack refrigerator,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-26 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow infection control guidelines related to isolation for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for isolation. (Resident 20) Findings include: During an observation and interview on 11/21/24 at 1:58 P.M., Resident 20 was propelling herself in her wheelchair out of the room. She indicated she was going to the shower room bathroom. It was a public bathroom that was shared with other residents, she had never used a bedside commode and had always used the public bathroom. During an observation on 11/21/24 at 2:01 P.M., Resident 20 was in the public bathroom in the shower room. Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) 4 donned gloves and the resident stood up from her wheelchair and CNA 4 assisted the resident with pulling her pants and brief down. The CNA removed the resident's soiled brief, placed it in a trash can, gathered a new brief from a shelf, and put it on the resident. When the resident was done, she stood up, and the CNA cleansed her and pulled up her pants. The resident sat back into her wheelchair. The CNA removed her…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-26 · tag F0912 — isolated
    Provide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide at least 80 sq ft (square feet) per resident for 2 of 11 resident rooms. (rooms [ROOM NUMBERS]) 1. During an observation of room [ROOM NUMBER] on 11/21/24 at 11:15 A.M., each of the four residents in this room had adequate space to move about the room and store their belongings. During an observation and interview on 11/25/24 at 2:08 P.M., room [ROOM NUMBER], located in the licensed Skilled Nursing Facility/Nursing Facility (SNF/NF), was measured at 316 sq ft. This room had 79 sq ft for each of the four residents who resided in the room. The room size was verified by the Maintenance Director. 2. During an observation of room [ROOM NUMBER] on 11/21/24 at 11:20 A.M., each of the three residents in this room had adequate space to move about the room and store their belongings. During an observation on 11/25/24 at 2:11 P.M., room [ROOM NUMBER], a licensed SNF/NF room, was measured at 218 sq ft. This room had 72 sq ft for each of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Waiver has been granted
  • Potential for harm · E2023-09-15 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — pattern
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to have sufficient nurse staffing for 24 hours hours a day. This deficient practice had the potential to affect 28 of 29 residents that resided in the facility. Findings include: The Labor Detail Reports were provided by the Administrator on 09/11/23 at 2:00 P.M. The reports indicated there was a licensed nurse, providing direct resident care, for less than 24 hours on the following dates and times: - On 01/15/23 there were 23.75 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. - On 01/21/23 there were 23.50 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. - On 01/22/23 there were 23.75 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. - On 01/28/23 there were 23.75 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. - On 02/12/23 there were 23.25 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time,. - On 03/03/23 there were 23.75 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. - On 03/24/23 there were 23.75 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. - On 03/26/23 there were 23.75 licensed nurse hours in a 24 hour time. During an interview on 09/11/23 at 2:45 P.M., the Administrator…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-15 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to update a resident's fall interventions for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for accidents. (Resident 11) Findings include: During an observation on 09/13/23 at 9:06 A.M., Resident 11 was lying in her bed, awake with the TV on. The clinical record was reviewed on 09/13/23 at 1:30 P.M. A Quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment, dated 07/27/23, indicated the resident was severely cognitively impaired. The diagnoses included, but were not limited to, Huntington's disease, non-Alzheimer's disease, seizure disorder, anxiety, and depression. The resident had impairments on both sides of her lower extremities. The Progress Notes, were reviewed and indicated the resident had multiple falls on the following dates and times: - On 12/17/22 at 1:29 P.M., the resident was in the shower with staff. The staff were assisting the resident with a shower. The resident was resisting care and had raised herself up out of the chair lunged forward, landing on the floor in the prone position. She hit the right side of her forehead on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-15 · tag F0698 — failed to provide proper dialysis care — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to monitor a dialysis access site for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for dialysis. (Resident 25) Findings include: During an observation on 09/14/23 at 2:54 P.M., Resident 25 was in his wheelchair. A Quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment, dated 08/12/23, indicated the resident was severely cognitively impaired. The diagnoses included, but were not limited to, end stage renal disease, anemia, heart failure, hypertension, diabetes, and dependence on renal dialysis. The physician's order for the resident indicated a standard order to inspect the dialysis access site fistula on the left forearm for infection daily. Access the site for bruit and thrill, with a start date of 08/23/23. The August and September 2023 EMAR/ETAR (Electronic Medication Administration Record/Electronic Treatment Administration Record) lacked a physician's order or documentation related to bruit and thrill monitoring. During an interview on 09/13/23 at 2:45 P.M., LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) 2 indicated the resident went to dialysis three…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-15 · tag F0912 — isolated
    Provide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide at least 80 sq ft per resident for 2 of 11 resident rooms. (rooms [ROOM NUMBERS]) 1. During an observation of room [ROOM NUMBER] on 09/11/23 at 11:15 A.M., each of the four residents in this room had adequate space to move about the room and store their belongings. During an observation and interview on 09/15/23 at 1:08 P.M., room [ROOM NUMBER] (a licensed Skilled Nursing Facility/Nursing Facility [SNF/NF]) was measured at 316 sq ft (square feet). This room had 79 sq ft for each of the four residents who resided in the room. The room size was verified by the Maintenance Director. 2. During an observation of room [ROOM NUMBER] on 09/11/23 at 11:20 A.M., each of the three residents in this room had adequate space to move about the room and store their belongings. During an observation on 09/15/23 at 1:11 P.M., room [ROOM NUMBER] (SNF/NF room) was measured at 218 sq ft. This room had 72 sq ft for each of the three residents who…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Waiver has been granted

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to IDE MANAGEMENT GROUP — 10 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 53.2+0.8 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 53.2-0.2 vs chain
Staffing 3 of 52.1+0.9 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 52.9+2.1 vs chain
The other 9 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.2★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
BORNE-BAUMAN, CANDICEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2019
FLUECKIGER, RUSSELLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2015
LEHMAN, SCOTTIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/14/2020
MACKLIN, LARRYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2015
MCINTIRE, DAVIDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2019
SMITH, SCOTTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2020
SPRUNGER, KYLEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2018
WHEELER, DANEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2015
ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITALOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2015
SILVER MEMORIES NURSING AND REHAB LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
RADADIYA, PRAGNESHKUMARIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2020
WOODS, SHARONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/21/1981
ADVANCED CARE CONSULTANTS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2020
BLUE MANAGEMENT SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
CLINICAL CONSULTING SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2020
FIRST BANK OF BERNEOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
JSJ HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/12/2026
LME FAMILY HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2020
MIDWEST IN OPCO LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/12/2026
SAMARA FAMILY HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2020
SUMMATION FINANCIAL SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2020

CMS files one row per role, so the 32 rows in the source record cover these 21 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

11 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.4M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+22.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$396K
Related-party expense15% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 96%Medicare 1%Other / private 3%

About 96% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $396K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 15% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$261per resident / day
operating cost
$7,921per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$337per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Indiana Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Indiana
$8,943/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,326/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,639/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 155847. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-23, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next