60 West
60 West Street, Rocky Hill, CT 06067 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 95 certified beds · (860) 529-0880 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (27% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Aug 2023
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 5 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 8.3% | 18.0% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 3.2% | 6.5% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.3% | 0.7% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.8% | 1.5% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 3.6% | 22.3% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.9% | 3.5% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 5.7% | 16.4% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 37.3% | 17.6% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 93.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 0.0% | 4.0% | 4.7% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 7.9% | 24.7% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 22.4% | 17.8% | 17.1% | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.12 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 7% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 8% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 95 beds and averages 92.8 residents a day — about 98% occupied, or roughly 2 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.12 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.48 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.60 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.59 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.33 on weekdays — 17% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.56 to 0.28 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 27% is below the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-06-24 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on a tour of the kitchen, observations, interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to ensure that beards were covered when handling food on the steam table. The findings included: During observations of meal service on 6/18/25 at 11:45 AM with the Dietary District Manager, the following was identified: Cook #1 was at the steam table prepping food items for food service delivery. [NAME] #1 was placing hamburgers, chicken, and condiments in the compartments on the steam table without the benefit of wearing a beard restraint. [NAME] #1 had visible facial hair in the form of a goatee beard. Dietary Assistant (DA) #1 assisted [NAME] #1 with placing items on the steam table and was in direct contact with food items. DA #1's beard restraint was partially covering his beard with the right side of his face not completely covered with exposed facial hair. An interview with the Dietary District Manager on 6/18/25 at 11:50 AM indicated that [NAME] #1 should have been wearing a beard restraint as he was in direct contact with food. In addition, DA #1 beard restraint should have…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-08-07 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, facility documentation review, and interviews for one of three residents (Resident #4) reviewed for abuse, the facility failed to ensure the clinical record was complete and accurate to include documentation of every 15-minutes observations. The findings include: Resident #4's diagnoses included dementia, and schizoaffective disorder. The quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] identified that Resident #4 was severely cognitively impaired and had no behaviors. Review of the facility Reportable Event Form dated 7/22/2024 at 8:35 PM identified Resident #4 was involved in a resident-to-resident incident on 7/22/2024 at 7:15 PM. The residents were separated, and Resident #4 was placed on every 15-minute checks. A nursing note dated 7/22/2024 at 9:02 PM identified Resident #4 was involved in a resident-to-resident incident on 7/22/2024 at 7:15 PM. The residents were separated, and Resident #4 was placed on every 15-minute checks. Review of facility Every 15-minute…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-16 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — patternProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy, and interviews for 3 residents (Resident #39, 54 and 60) reviewed for allegations of sexual abuse, the facility failed to ensure that the residents were free from inappropriate touching by Resident #29, and for 1 resident (Resident #36) reviewed for an allegation of abuse, the facility failed to ensure the resident was free from physical abuse by Resident #41. The findings include. 1. Resident #29 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included disorganized schizophrenia, intellectual disability and fluency disorder, and diabetes. The quarterly MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #29 had intact cognition, was always continent of bowel and bladder, and was independent with transfers, dressing and toileting. The care plan dated 5/30/23 identified Resident #29 had a history of disorganized schizophrenia with psychotic symptoms including delusions of a sexual nature, disinhibited sexual speech, and disinhibited…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-08-16 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — patternTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy, and interviews for 3 residents (Resident #39, 54 and 60) reviewed for allegations of sexual abuse, the facility failed to immediately report allegations of sexual abuse by Resident #29. The findings include. 1. Resident #29 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included disorganized schizophrenia, intellectual disability and fluency disorder, and diabetes. The quarterly MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #29 had intact cognition, was always continent of bowel and bladder, and was independent with transfers, dressing and toileting. The care plan dated 5/30/23 identified Resident #29 had a history of disorganized schizophrenia with psychotic symptoms including delusions of a sexual nature, disinhibited sexual speech, and disinhibited sexual behaviors. Interventions included to report any observed behavior/speech to the charge nurse, and if any behavior/speech was observed to ask the resident to stop, redirect…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-08-16 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — patternRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy, and interviews for 3 residents (Resident #39, 54 and 60) reviewed for allegations of sexual abuse, the facility failed to initiate a thorough investigation, according to their policy, into the allegations of sexual abuse by Resident #29 to prevent further abuse from occurring while the investigation was in progress. The findings include. 1. Resident #29 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included disorganized schizophrenia, intellectual disability and fluency disorder, and diabetes. The quarterly MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #29 had intact cognition, was always continent of bowel and bladder, and was independent with transfers, dressing and toileting. The care plan dated 5/30/23 identified Resident #29 had a history of disorganized schizophrenia with psychotic symptoms including delusions of a sexual nature, disinhibited sexual speech, and disinhibited sexual behaviors. Interventions included to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-16 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, review of facility documentation, facility policy and interviews, the facility failed to ensure dry food was stored in a clean and sanitary manner, failed to ensure that hot and cold food temperatures for meals were obtained and documented appropriately, failed to ensure that out of range rinse temperatures logged for a high temperature dish washer had corrective actions documented and implemented per protocol, and failed to ensure that food items stored for the emergency 3-day supply were within use by dates. The findings include. 1. During an initial tour of the kitchen with the Food Services Director on 8/13/23 at 7:50 AM, observations of the dry storage area identified a significant amount of fruit fly activity throughout the area. Multiple fruit flies were observed flying throughout the storage area, resting on the walls and metal shelving, and resting on the exterior packages of multiple food products which included unopened boxed snacks, bagged dinner rolls, unopened cartons of dry potato pearls, and individually bagged turkey gravy mix packages. During…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-08-16 · tag F0925 — failed to control pests — patternMake sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, review of facility documentation, facility policy and interview, the facility failed to ensure an effective pest control program in the food storage, preparation, and service areas. The findings include: During an initial tour of the facility kitchen with the Food Services Director on 8/13/23 at 7:50 AM, observations of the dry storage area identified a significant amount of fruit fly activity throughout the area. Multiple fruit flies were observed flying throughout the storage area, resting on the walls and metal shelving, and resting on the exterior packages of multiple food products which included unopened boxed snacks, dinner rolls, dry potato pearls, and turkey gravy mix. During this observation, a previously opened bag of yellow cake mix, which did not identify a date or time opened, was observed to be partially tied in the original package with a loose knot with visible open areas to the bag. The dry storage area was located directly adjacent to the cooking, food preparation, and steam table area of the kitchen with direct opening connecting the two…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy, and interviews for 3 residents (Resident #39, 54 and 60) reviewed for allegations of sexual abuse, the facility failed to immediately notify the physician and resident representatives when the residents reported they had been touched inappropriately by Resident #29, and for 1 resident (Resident #71) reviewed for dental services, the facility failed to ensure the physician and the resident representative were notified of multiple dental appointments and follow up dental recommendations, and for 1 resident (Resident #72) reviewed for hospitalization, the facility failed to notify the physician following a documented change in cognition. The findings include: 1. Resident #29 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included disorganized schizophrenia, intellectual disability and fluency disorder, and diabetes. The quarterly MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #29 had intact cognition, was always continent of bowel…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy, and interview for 2 residents (Resident #39 and 87) reviewed for abuse, the facility failed to revise the care plans after Resident #87 inappropriately touched Resident #39. The findings include: 1. Resident #87 was admitted to the facility in February 2023 with diagnoses that included dementia, and anxiety disorder. The care plan dated 2/11/23 identified Resident #87 has a history of disinhibited sexual behaviors and physical aggression. Interventions included to ask the resident to stop the disinhibited sexual behaviors if he/she exhibits such, redirect to a quiet space, attempt to explain to the resident why the behavior is not appropriate and notify the nurse. The 5-day MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #87 had severely impaired cognition, exhibited no behaviors, required supervision with transfers and was independent with bed mobility, walking in room, and walking in corridor. Physician's orders dated March 2023 directed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, review of the clinical record, facility policy, and interviews for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #51) reviewed for accidents, the facility failed to ensure the nurse followed standards of practice during medication administration. The findings include: Resident #51 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included cirrhosis of the liver, constipation, and major depressive disorder. A physician's order dated 1/31/23 directed to administer Lactulose 30ml three times daily, for constipation. The annual MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #51 had intact cognition and was independent with bed mobility, transfers, and locomotion on the unit. The care plan dated 7/6/23 identified a PASARR recommended that Resident #51 receive specific services, including interventions to provide medication education. Review of the August 2023 MAR identified the morning dose of Lactulose was administered on 8/13/23. Observation on 8/13/23 at 9:38 AM identified an unsupervised medication cup…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy, and interviews for 3 residents (Resident #39, 54 and 60) reviewed for allegations of sexual abuse, the facility failed to conduct an RN assessment after the residents reported an allegation of sexual abuse by Resident #29, and for 1 resident (Resident #72) reviewed for hospitalization, the facility failed to ensure a change of condition assessment was completed for a resident with documented change in cognition. The findings include. 1. Resident #29 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included disorganized schizophrenia, intellectual disability and fluency disorder, and diabetes. The quarterly MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #29 had intact cognition, was always continent of bowel and bladder, and was independent with transfers, dressing and toileting. The care plan dated 5/30/23 identified Resident #29 had a history of disorganized schizophrenia with psychotic symptoms including delusions of a sexual…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy and interview for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for accidents, the facility failed to ensure a resident was assessed and monitored following discontinuation of close monitoring due to a documented history of elopements. The findings include: Resident #8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included vascular dementia, schizoaffective disorder, and chronic kidney disease. A physician's order dated 1/11/23 directed for Resident #8 to have a wander guard placed and check placement every shift. The nurse's note dated 1/11/23 at 10:10 PM identified Resident #8 was placed on 1:1 observation due to risk of elopement and refusal of wander guard placement. The nurse's note dated 1/13/23 at 12:08 PM identified Resident #8 had verbalized he/she did not want to be at the facility and could not be forced to stay at the facility. The note further identified Resident #8 remained on 1:1 supervision as…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-16 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — isolatedProvide or obtain dental services for each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, review of facility documentation and interviews for 1 resident (Resident #71), the facility failed to follow a dental recommendation for over 16 months. The findings include: Resident #71 was admitted to the facility in September 2020 with diagnoses that included schizophrenia, anxiety disorders, and dementia. Review of a dental consultation form dated 4/1/22 identified Resident #71 had a dental examination that reveals buccal decay, maxillary anteriors and fractured tooth #12. Resident #71 was referred to outside dentist to restore the buccal surfaces of the maxillary anteriors, and to repair fractured tooth #12 with sedation. Review of the facility patient appointment/transportation form dated 4/5/22 identified Resident #71 has an appointment on 12/2/22 at 9:30 AM with a dental specialty. Reason for appointment; restore the buccal surface of the maxillary anteriors, repair fracture tooth #12, and need sedation. Review of the clinical record failed to reflect the resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-16 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of the clinical record, facility documentation, facility policy review, and interviews for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for accidents, the facility failed to ensure that elopement assessments were accurately documented for a resident with a documented history of elopements, and for1 resident (Resident #39) reviewed for an allegation of sexual abuse, the facility failed to document the incident in the clinical record, and for 1 resident (Resident #87) who inappropriately touched Resident #39, the facility failed to document the incident in the clinical record. The findings 1. Resident #8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included vascular dementia, schizoaffective disorder, and chronic kidney disease. The care plan dated 1/13/23 identified Resident #8 was at risk of his/her psychosocial well-being due to chronic medical and psychological conditions, vascular dementia with behavioral disturbances, bipolar disorder with psychotic features, and schizophrenia…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-09-03 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, facility documentation review, facility policy review, and interviews for one of two residents (Resident #67) reviewed for abuse, the facility failed to ensure a resident was free from mistreatment. The findings include: a. Resident #67 was admitted with diagnoses that included end stage renal disease and major depressive. The quarterly minimum data set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] identified Resident #67 was alert an oriented, independent with ambulation and had no history of falls in the prior 90 days. The Resident Care Plan (RCP) dated 2/1/2021 identified Resident #67 was alert and oriented, forgetful at times, and could become anxious when challenged with a new task or unexpected obstacle. Interventions directed to allow time for Resident #67 to process, and to assist with appropriate decision making one step at a time. b. Resident #184 was admitted with diagnoses that included diffuse traumatic brain injury (TBI) and dementia with behavioral disturbances. The quarterly MDS…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-09-03 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, facility documentation review, facility policy review, and staff interviews for one of five residents (Resident #71) reviewed for unnecessary meds, the facility failed to ensure an order was obtained timely in accordance with a pharmacy recommendation approved by the APRN. The findings include: Resident #71 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included osteoarthritis and mild spondylosis. The quarterly MDS dated [DATE] identified Resident #71 had moderately impaired cognition, had occasional pain, and received a scheduled and a PRN pain medication. The Resident Care Plan (RCP) dated 4/1/2021 identified a problem with pain. Interventions directed to monitor for non-verbal cues of pain and discomfort and report to my charge nurse. The Physician's order dated 4/1/2021 directed to administer Acetaminophen 1000 milligrams (mg) by mouth at 9 AM and 9 PM. Additional order directed to administer Acetaminophen 650 mg by mouth every four hours as needed for general discomfort…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to ICARE HEALTH NETWORK — 12 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 5 of 5 | 2.8 | +2.2 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 5 of 5 | 2.7 | +2.3 vs chain |
| Staffing | 5 of 5 | 3.0 | +2.0 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 4 of 5 | 3.7 | +0.3 vs chain |
The other 11 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SECURECARE OPTIONS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 10/31/2012 |
| LTC ASSOCIATES LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 10/31/2012 |
| MONTEFIORE INVESTMENT TRUST | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 10/31/2012 |
| ROCKY ASSOCIATES LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 10/31/2012 |
| UNIVERSAL GENERAL TRUST | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 10/31/2012 |
| VANTAGE CAPITAL INVESTORS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 10/31/2012 |
| LANDI, MICHAEL | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 01/21/2022 |
| WRIGHT, CHRISTOPHER | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 10/31/2012 |
6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 97% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.4M paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in CT
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Connecticut Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 075442. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-06-24, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.