Windsor Nursing And Rehabilitation Center Of Edinb
1505 S Closner Blvd, Edinburg, TX 78539 · Non profit - Corporation · 96 certified beds · (956) 383-5656 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 4.0% | 15.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.5% | 3.0% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.8% | 2.0% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 1.3% | 2.4% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 3.1% | 3.3% | 3.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 2.4% | 14.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 6.0% | 18.0% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 98.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.1% | 3.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 10.5% | 13.4% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 15.9% | 9.6% | 17.1% | typical |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.5% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 88.0% | 79.4% | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.31 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 50% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 8% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 96 beds and averages 68.3 residents a day — about 71% occupied, or roughly 28 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.99 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.26 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.82 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.59 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.15 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.29 to 0.17 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 51% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · E2025-08-28 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in 1 of 1 kitchen reviewed for kitchen sanitation. 1. The facility failed on 08/26/2025 to ensure foods were properly labeled and dated.2. The facility failed on 08/26/2025 to ensure the cook's hands were washed and gloves were worn during food preparation. These failures placed all residents who ate food served by the kitchen at risk of cross contamination and food-borne illness. Findings Include: Observation of the kitchen counter on 08/26/25 at 8:27 AM revealed the following: 2 jars of spices were not labeled or dated 1 jar of spice with the date was smeared off A metal container with individually wrapped rolls was not labeled or dated A tray of covered juice cups was not labeled or dated Observation of the walk-in refrigerator on 08/26/25 at 8:30 AM revealed the following: 1 bag of cabbages was not labeled or dated In an observation and interview on 08/26/25 at 8:34 AM, the cook was observed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-08-28 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — patternSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to maintain medical records on each resident that are accurately documented for 3 of 5 residents (Resident #51 and Resident # 34 and Resident # 10) reviewed for medical records. 1. Facility failed on 8/26/2025 to ensure physician orders were written for IV (intravenous) access and maintenance of IV site for Resident # 34. 2. Facility failed on 08/26/2025 to ensure physician orders were written for IV (intravenous) access and maintenance of IV site for Resident #10. On 09/08/25, record review of August's order summary revealed resident obtained an order for IV hydration, thus revealing resident already had an IV lock in place. No orders were found to indicate the date, time and location the IV lock was initially placed. No orders were found to indicate maintenance on IV lock such as flushes or IV lock replacements. On 09/08/25, observation noted that resident #10 still had an IV lock in place with still no orders for IV access and IV maintenance for IV…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-28 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that each resident received adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents for 1 of 3 residents (Resident # 11) reviewed for accidents and supervision.The facility failed to ensure Resident # 11's door handle remained unlocked from the outside when the door was closed.This failure could place residents at risk for accidents and injuries.Findings included:Record review of Resident # 11 face sheet dated 07/24/24 revealed an [AGE] year-old male admitted to the facility on [DATE], with the diagnosis of Dementia (brain disorder that causes a gradual decline in cognitive abilities), Gastro-Esophageal Reflux Disease (Condition where stomach acid flows back into the esophagus, causing symptoms of heartburn), Hypertension (high blood pressure), Muscle Wasting and Atrophy.Review of Resident # 11's MDS assessment dated [DATE] revealed a BIMS score of 06 which means severe cognitive impairment.Review of Resident # 11 Care Plan…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-28 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review the facility failed to ensure a resident who was incontinent of bladder received appropriate treatment and services to prevent urinary tract infections for 1 of 5 residents (Resident # 15) reviewed for quality of care. The facility failed on 08/27/2025 to ensure Residents # 15's indwelling catheters (drains urine from your bladder into a bag outside your body) had a securement device to anchor their catheters. This failure could place residents at risk for urinary tract infections and catheter related injuries. Findings included: Record review of a facility face sheet dated 8/28/25 for Resident # 15 indicated that she was a [AGE] year-old female admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including: type 2 diabetes (uncontrolled blood sugar), hypertension (high blood pressure), and malfunction, dislodgement, and/or obstruction (distinct issues that can block the flow of urine, potentially causing severe pain, infection, and kidney damage). Record review…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-28 · tag F0694 — isolatedProvide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure parenteral care and services were administered consistent with professional standards of practice for 2 of 2 residents reviewed for intravenous fluids. (Resident #10 and #34) 1) The facility failed on 8/26/2025 to ensure the dressing on Resident # 34's peripheral intravenous line (a short flexible tube inserted into the vein to administer fluids and medications) was dated and initialed. 2) The facility failed on 08/26/2025 to ensure the dressing on Resident #10's peripheral intravenous line (a short flexible tube inserted into a vein to administer fluids and medications [IV]) was dated and initialed. Dressing on Resident's hand revealed a clear dressing over IV line site with no date of insertion and no initials indicating which nurse had inserted IV line.This failure could place residents at risk of not receiving the appropriate IV care and services. 1) Record review of Resident # 34's face sheet dated 12/06/2024 revealed an [AGE]…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-28 · tag F0711 — isolatedEnsure the resident's doctor reviews the resident's care, writes, signs and dates progress notes and orders, at each required visit.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, and record review the facility failed to ensure, in accordance with accepted professional standards and practices, medical records were maintained on each resident that were complete, accurately documented, readily accessible, and systematically organized for 3 of 5 residents (Resident #51 and Resident # 34 and Resident # 10) reviewed for resident record 1. Facility failed on 8/26/2025 to ensure physician orders were written for IV (intravenous) access and maintenance of IV site for Resident # 34.2. Facility failed on 08/26/2025 to ensure physician orders were written for IV (intravenous) access and maintenance of IV site for Resident #10. On 09/08/25, record review of August's order summary revealed resident obtained an order for IV hydration, thus revealing resident already had an IV lock in place. No orders were found to indicate the date, time and location the IV lock was initially placed. No orders were found to indicate maintenance on IV lock such as flushes or IV lock…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-28 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment, and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 3 (Resident #3, Resident #11, Resident #12) of 5 residents reviewed for infection control practices, in that: 1) The facility failed on 8/26/205 to ensure maintenance A, ADON/RN B, Houskeeper C did not don (put on) PPE before entering Resident #11, Resident #3, Resident #12 room. Residents were under contact precautions as per physician orders. This failure could place residents who resided in the facility, as well as employees and visitors, at risk of communicable diseases. The findings included: 1) Record review of Resident #11's face sheet dated 07/24/24 revealed an [AGE] year-old male admitted to the facility on [DATE], with the diagnosis of Dementia (brain disorder that causes a gradual decline in cognitive abilities), Gastro-Esophageal…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-09-19 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan that included measurable objectives and time frames to meet the residents psychosocial needs for one (Resident#11) of two residents reviewed for comprehensive person centered care plan. The facility did not have interventions in place for Resident #11's behavior of removing peg tube. Resident #11 had removed his peg tube on 2 separate occasions and was sent to hospital. This failure could affect residents and place them at risk of not receiving appropriate interventions. The findings were: Record review of Resident 11's admission Record dated 09/19/24 revealed a [AGE] year-old male with an original admission date of 06/07/24 and diagnoses of Alzheimer's Disease Unspecified (brain disorder that slowly destroys memory and thinking skills), Gastrostomy Status (surgical procedure that creates an opening in the abdomen & into the stomach to provide nutritional support), Displacement of other…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-07-24 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — patternProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services, including procedures that assured the accurate acquiring, receiving, dispensing, and administering of all drugs and biologicals in 1 of 1 medication room review for medication storage . The facility failed to ensure that all medical supplies in the main medication storage room located in the in the front of the building were not past their expiration date. The facility's failure could result in residents receiving expired medical supplies, such as formula, as well as those supplies not being maintained at their best therapeutic level. The findings included: An observation on 07/22/2024 at 2:00 PM of the main medication storage room revealed 6 Aztreonam 500 MG/50 ML NS IV antibiotic medication with an expiration date of 07/18/2024 and 2 Azithromycin 250 MG/250 NS IV antibiotic medication with an expiration date of 07/19/2024 along with non-expired IV medication. In an interview/observation on 07/22/2024 at 2:05 PM, LVN B who witnessed the medication storage and labeling review of the main…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-07-24 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolatedReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents had the right to reside and receive services in the facility with reasonable accommodation of resident needs and preference for one (Resident #23) of four residents reviewed for call light. The facility failed to ensure Resident #23 had a padded call light as indicated on his care plan. This failure could place residents at risk of not having their needs met. Findings were: Record review of Resident #23's face sheet dated 07/24/2024 reflected an [AGE] year-old male with an admission date of 01/03/2024. Resident 23's relevant diagnoses included Parkinsonism (disorder of the central nervous system that affects movement, often including tremors), stiffness of right elbow, vascular dementia (brain damage caused by multiple strokes), hemiplegia of left nondominant side (paralysis of one side of the body), age related physical debility, osteoarthritis (when flexible tissue at the ends of bones wears down) on left hand, muscle…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-07-24 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation interview and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with the resident rights, that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment for 1 of 4 residents (Resident #23) reviewed for care plans, in that: The facility failed to ensure Resident #23's comprehensive care plan dated 06/06/24 identified him as a one or two person assist for ADL's. This deficient practice could place residents in the facility at risk of not being provided with the necessary care or services and no having personalized plans developed to address their specific needs. The Findings included: Record review of Resident #23's face sheet dated 07/24/2024 reflected an [AGE] year-old male with an admission date of 01/03/2024. Resident 23's relevant diagnoses included Parkinsonism (disorder of the central nervous…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-07-24 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure resident who have not used psychotropic drugs are not given these drugs unless the medication is necessary to treat a specific condition as diagnosed and documented in the clinical record for two Residents (R#46, R#16) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The facility failed to ensure that: 1) Resident #46 had an appropriate diagnosis for Risperidone (an antipsychotic used to treat schizophrenia and bipolar disorder). 2) Resident # 16, with a diagnosis of unspecified dementia without behavioral disturbance, psychotic disturbance, mood disturbance, and anxiety received antipsychotic medication Lurasidone without an additional diagnosis indicating the use for antipsychotic medication. This failure puts residents at an increased risk for adverse consequences such as impairment or decline in an individual's mental or physical condition or functional or psychosocial status from receiving unnecessary antipsychotic medications. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-04-14 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review the facility must ensure that a resident with pressure ulcers receives necessary treatment and services consistent with professional standards of practice to promote healing, prevent infection and prevent new ulcers from developing for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #20) reviewed for pressure sores in that: LVN C failed to utilize appropriate wound care treatment during wound care to Resident #20 This failure could affect residents with pressure injuries and wounds and could place the residents at risk for worsening of pressure ulcers. The findings were: Record review of Resident #20's face sheet, dated 4/12/23 revealed a [AGE] year-old male admitted on [DATE] and re-admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included elevated white blood cell count (also known as leukocytosis; usually occurs because of an infection or inflammation in the body), cutaneous abscess of left lower limb (localized collection of pus in the skin), heart disease and respiratory failure with…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-04-14 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services (including procedures that assure the accurate acquiring, receiving, dispensing and administering of all drugs and biologicals) to meet the needs of each resident for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #57) and 1 of 4 medication carts (200 hall medication cart) reviewed for medication administration and storage, in that: 1. Certified Medication Aide (CMA) D used her ungloved right index finger to take a pill from a medication bottle intended for Resident #57 2. LVN C had a loose pill in a medication cup inside the top drawer of the medication cart intended for Resident #14 These deficient practices could affect residents who received medication and place them at risk of infection, not receiving the appropriate amount of medication and drug diversion. The findings were: 1. Record review of Resident #57's face sheet, dated 4/13/23 revealed a [AGE] year-old male admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included type 2…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-04-14 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #20) reviewed for infection control practices, in that: LVN C failed to utilize appropriate hand hygiene during wound care and skin treatment to Resident #20 This failure could place residents at risk for infection, slow wound healing and or a decline in health. The findings were: Record review of Resident #20's face sheet, dated 4/12/23 revealed a [AGE] year-old male admitted on [DATE] and re-admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included elevated white blood cell count (also known as leukocytosis; usually occurs because of an infection or inflammation in the body), cutaneous abscess of left lower limb (localized collection of pus in the skin), heart disease and respiratory failure…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2023-04-14 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespreadDispose of garbage and refuse properly.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to dispose of garbage and refuse properly, for 2 of 2 dumpsters in that: 1. Dumpster #1 did not have a drain plug. 2. Dumpster #2 did not have a drain plug. These failures posed a sanitary and safety hazard that could result in the attraction of vermin and affect all resident residing in the facility by exposing them to germs and diseases carried by vermin and rodents. The findings were: During an interview and observation on 4/13/2023 at 8:01 a.m., while viewing the dumpsters, the Dietary Manager said the dumpsters are supposed to be closed everywhere. The Dietary Manager said, they do not have stoppers, they haven't had them that I know of and I think they ordered them but I am not sure. The Dietary Manger was unable to state or provide any additional information regarding how long the stoppers were missing from the dumpster drain hole. During an interview and observation on 4/13/2023 at 8:06 a.m., while viewing the facility dumpsters, the administrator said, the holes in the bottom of the dumpster are…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to WELLSENTIAL HEALTH — 67 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 4 of 5 | 2.7 | +1.3 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 4 of 5 | 2.9 | +1.1 vs chain |
| Staffing | 1 of 5 | 1.6 | -0.6 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 5 of 5 | 4.2 | +0.8 vs chain |
The other 66 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.7★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 66; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VAL VERDE COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | 100% | since 04/24/2025 |
| REGENCY IHS OF EDINBURG MANOR LLC | Organization | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/21/2024 |
| CSV RHEA MANAGEMENT HOLDCO, LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| DWD TX HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| JACK AND NANCY DWYER WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT CENTER INC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| REG LEASED OPCO LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| REG OPERATOR HOLDCO LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| REGENCY IHS REHAB LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/24/2025 |
| REGENCY INTEGRATED HEALTH SERVICES LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/24/2025 |
| REGENCY TEXAS HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| CHARTRAND, DANIEL | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | — | since 05/19/2014 |
| CLAPP, BARBARA | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | — | since 06/01/2021 |
| DIAZ, CRIS | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | — | since 05/22/2022 |
| JURADO, JORGE | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 10/13/2023 |
| MANDELBAUM, ELLIOT | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| OTAZO, JULIO | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | — | since 05/25/2022 |
| PALMER, ROBIN | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | — | since 11/18/2020 |
| DEKOWSKI, DONOVAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| QUINTERO, GRISELDA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/16/2024 |
| REGENCY IHS CLINICAL CONSULTING, LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/15/2022 |
| GARCIA, HILLARY | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| MOLINA SALINAS, MONICA | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| NUNEZ URIBURU, HUMBERTO | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 33 rows in the source record cover these 23 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
11 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 78% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in TX
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Texas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 675414. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-28, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.