Gallatin Manor
900 West Race Street, Ridgway, IL 62979 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 71 certified beds · (618) 272-8831 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 5 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 3.3% | 13.4% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 13.5% | 6.3% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.9% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.7% | 1.5% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 69.2% | 54.2% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.1% | 3.1% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 3.0% | 14.3% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 41.9% | 18.3% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 91.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.3% | 4.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 8.2% | 20.6% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 11.1% | 21.7% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 2.1% | 2.2% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 85.0% | 63.1% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 19.9% | 26.1% | 22.6% | better |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 10.2% | 13.9% | 12.0% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.63 | 2.02 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 4.44 | 2.22 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.67 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 91% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.7%CMS range 6.8–17.6 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 90.5% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 9.5% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.78 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 71 beds and averages 37.3 residents a day — about 53% occupied, or roughly 34 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.15 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.49 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.85 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.13 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.57 on weekdays — 31% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.50 to 0.46 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 39% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-26 · tag F0628 — isolatedProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to provide notification in advance of discharge for one (R1) of 4 residents reviewed for notification of discharge in a sample of 4. Findings include:R1's admission record documents an admission date of 01/13/23 with diagnoses including: disorder of urea cycle metabolism, cirrhosis of the liver, disorder of urea cycle metabolism, fatigue, dysphagia, muscle weakness, lack of coordination, history of falling, long term drug therapy, hypotension, personal history of traumatic brain injury, cognitive communication deficit, anxiety disorder, seizures, vitamin B12 deficiency, anemia, estrapyramidal and movement disorder, insomnia, schizoaffective disorder, accidental poisoning by amphetamines, vitamin D deficiency, dependence on wheelchair, abnormal posture, and muscle wasting and atrophy. R1's admission record documents V5 (Family) as R1's responsible party. R1's MDS (Minimum Data Set) dated 11/10/25 documents R1 has a brief interview of mental status (BIMS) of 01 indicating severe cognition impairment. R1's Admission/Discharge…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2025-09-19 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure dishes and utensils were properly washed/sanitized and food/drinks were covered /dated to prevent cross contamination. This failure has the potential to affect all 37 residents residing in the facility. Findings Include: On 9/16/25, during the initial walk through of the kitchen that occurred between 9:30 AM and 10:00 AM two cups of frozen ice cream were left uncovered and not labeled in the freezer. At this same time a tray full of beverages were found in the reach in refrigerator not covered nor dated/timed. During this same initial tour the dish machine was found to have no sanitizer registering on the chlorine test strip. V3 (Dietary) stated at this time that she had not been able to get any sanitizer to register on her test strip this morning either and couldn't figure out what to do. V3 went on to state that they have been having issues with the dish machine for over a week now and it has been worked on in attempt to get the sanitizer to dispense properly. V3 stated that they have been using the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-09-19 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure the safety of 1 (R20) of 2 residents reviewed for smoking in a sample of 25.Findings include:R20's admission Record documented an admission date of 4/12/22 with diagnoses including: cerebral infarction, expressive language disorder, dysphagia following cerebral infarction. R20's 7/10/25 Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented .Should a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) be Conducted? with the code .0. No (resident is rarely/ never understood).R20's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented no Smoking Evaluation Assessment since the 7/8/24 Smoking Evaluation Assessment documenting .E. Has resident had any safety issue in the past related to smoking (current of pervious setting)? b. No. G. Resident is able to safely handle lit smoking materials? . a. Yes. I. Does resident have clothing with burn holes? b. No. K. Does resident wear a smoking apron? b. No. If resident does not wear a smoking apron, is one needed? b. No. Care plan reviewed and revised for appropriate supervision and smoking directions to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-05-02 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — patternProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to maintain records of controlled substances for accurate reconciliation and administer controlled substances as ordered for 4 (R1, R2, R3, and R5) of 5 residents reviewed for narcotic medication administration in a sample of 5. Findings include: 1. R1's admission Record documented an admission date of 1/13/23 with diagnoses including: Parkinson's disease, low back pain, Crohn's disease, dysarthria, systemic inflammatory response syndrome, and chronic pain syndrome. R1's Order Summary Report documented the following orders: 4/10/25 fentanyl patch 12 mcg (microgram)/ HR (hour) apply 1 patch transdermally every 72 hours with an order status of discontinued, 4/16/25 fentanyl patch 25 mcg/hr apply 1 patch transdermally every 72 hours with an order status of discontinued, 4/21/25 fentanyl patch 12 mcg/hr apply 1 patch transdermally every 72 hours with an order status of discontinued, 4/25/25 fentanyl patch 25 mcg/hr apply 1 patch transdermally every 72 hours with an order status of discontinued, 5/1/25 fentanyl patch 50 mcg/ HR…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-02 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolatedProvide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to administer narcotic pain medication as ordered for 1 (R1) of 5 residents reviewed for pain control in a sample of 5. Findings include: R1's admission Record documented an admission date of 1/13/23 with diagnoses including: Parkinson's disease, low back pain, Crohn's disease, dysarthria, systemic inflammatory response syndrome, and chronic pain syndrome. R1's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documents in Section C a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating R1 is cognitively intact. Section J documents under Pain Management that R1 has received a PRN (as needed) pain medication or was offered and declined in the last 5 days from the assessment date. R1's Care Plan documented a focus area initiated on 1/13/23 I currently have an alteration d/t (due to) chronic pain r/t (related to) SIRS (Systemic Inflammatory Response Syndrome). Documented interventions include Administer medication & treatments ordered by MD (Medical Doctor) and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-09-12 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — patternDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure pneumonia vaccinations were offered in accordance with Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations for five (R4, R8, R12, R25, R26) of five residents reviewed for immunizations in a sample of 24. Findings Include: 1. R25's Face Sheet documents an admission date of 3/15/2022 and documents R25 is [AGE] years old. R25's Diagnosis Information listed on the Face Sheet included type 2 diabetes mellitus and malignant neoplasm of unspecified site of unspecified female breast. R25's facility document titled Clinical-Immunizations documents PCV13 (pneumococcal 13-valent conjugate vaccine) was administered on 9/29/2014. The facility did not have documentation to show R25 was offered another pneumococcal vaccine after receiving the PCV13 on 09/29/14 nor any documentation of refusal. R25's Physician Order Sheet (POS) documents an order of: may administer immunizations per facility policy with an order date of 03/16/2022. The CDC's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-09-12 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide appropriate treatment and services to follow up on an abnormal urinalysis for 1 (R7) of 1 resident reviewed for urinary tract infections in a sample of 24. Findings include: R7's Face Sheet documented an admission date of 04/29/2019 and included a diagnosis of chronic kidney disease. R7's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] has a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 00 out of 15 total, which indicates a severe impairment. R7's MDS further documents in section h-bowel and bladder, that R7 is always incontinent of bladder. A Physician's Note dated 03/01/2024, found in the miscellaneous tab of R7's medical record, documents that R7 was having an increase in behaviors and insomnia. This same physician's note documents an order for a CBC (complete blood count), BMP (basic metabolic panel), and a UA (urinalysis) and C&S (culture and sensitivity). R7's Progress Notes document on 03/03/2024 Resident straight cathed (sic) via sterile…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-09-12 · tag F0742 — isolatedProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop an individualized plan of care for the treatment of PTSD (Post traumatic Stress Disorder) for 1 of 1 (R13) residents reviewed for mental health services in a sample of 24. Findings included: On 9/9/2024 at 10:30 AM, R13 stated he was a war veteran and had PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). R13 said that due to his PTSD, he suffers from flash backs. R13 said when he reports having issues with flash backs the staff does not really do anything to help him. R13's Face Sheet documented R13 was admitted to this facility on 10/31/2018 with diagnoses of PTSD, schizophrenia, anxiety and dementia among others. R13's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented R13's has a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 10, which indicated R13 had moderate cognitive impairment. A form in R13's Electronic Health Record (EHR) titled Initial Social History and dated 11/2/2018, documents R13 was admitted to this facility with the diagnosis of PTSD…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2023-08-11 · tag F0925 — failed to control pests — widespreadMake sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program so the facility is free of flies. This has the potential to affect all 34 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: On 8/8/23 at 9:45 AM during the lunch preparation observation flies were observed to be flying over the stove, the steam table, dish washing room and landing on the countertops. At that time, V8 (Dietary Supervisor) stated that she wishes that they could rid of the flies. On 08/08/23 at 10:00 AM, R14 was lying in bed with his eyes closed, with food that had spilled onto his sweat shirt, and four flies sitting on his sweat shirt around the food. On 8/8/23 at 10:45, V9 (Dietary Aide) stated that the flies are horrible. V9 thinks that part of the problem is that the door that leads to the outside where staff take breaks lets the flies in. They try to keep the door closed to that hallway, but the flies still make their way in. On 8/8/23 at 1:30AM, R7 who was alert to person, place and time stated that flies are bad and she needs her own fly…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0561 — failed to honor residents' choices — isolatedHonor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to allow an independent smoker the right to choose when to smoke for 1 of 3 residents (R29) reviewed for smoking in a sample of 22. Findings include: 1. R29's face sheet documented an admission date of 9/27/21 and diagnoses including: generalized arthritis, pneumonia, acute sinusitis, refractory anemia, osteomyelitis, hyperlipidemia. R29's 7/31/23 Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating R29 was cognitively intact. R29's 7/21/23 Wandering/ Elopement Risk Assessment documented R29 was a low wandering or elopement risk. R29's Smoking Evaluation assessment dated [DATE] documented a score of 7-16 requires supervision. On 8/10/23 at 11:47 AM, V4 (Social Services Director) said she completed R29's 7/14/23 Smoking Evaluation Assessment. V4 said she selected 2) Moderate problem to the questions General awareness and orientation, including ability to understand the facility safe smoking…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to report an alleged allegation of abuse to the State Survey Agency within 24 hours for one of ome residents (R22) reviewed for abuse in a sample of 22. The Findings Include: On 8/8/23 at 9:30 AM, V11 (Ombudsman) stated that she had reported an allegation of staff to resident abuse brought to her by a resident in regards to an event that occurred on 6/9/23. V11 stated that she reported the abuse to V1 (Administrator) on 7/31/23 around 4:30 PM and that she has not heard any follow up the allegations. On 8/10/23 at 10:00 AM, V1 (Administrator) stated that he had not officially reported the incident but started his investigation. V1 stated that he would immediately report to the Illinois Department of Public Health. V1 acknowledged that this was beyond the 24 hour window of reporting the alleged incident to the state agency. V1 stated that he had contacted the staff members that were mentioned in the abuse allegation and would thoroughly investigate the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0644 — isolatedCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to obtain a Level II PASRR (Preadmission screening and Resident Review) screening for 1 of 10 residents (R4) reviewed for PASSR screenings in the sample of 22. The findings include: R4's face sheet document that R2's initial admission date was 11/18/2015. The same face sheet includes diagnoses as Epilepsy, unspecified, intractable, without status epilepticus, schizophrenia, unspecified, generalized anxiety disorder. R4's PAS (Preadmission Screening)/MH (Mental Health) Level 1 Determination dated 11/18/16 documents in part, Determination: Doesn't meet Severe Mental Illness Criteria Level 1 Narrative Summary Medical is primary, therefore referred to (Name of Provider) for certification.:\ The Facility's for Policy and Procedure Pre-admission Process dated 8/19/2020 notes under Procedures vii, PASRR level I for all referrals and Level II when appropriate. On 8/10/23 at 9:00am, V1 said he had called the agency that performs the screenings to request a copy of R4's Level II screening. On 8/11/23 at 10:00am, V1 said the agency…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — isolatedProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to document resident behaviors, and failed to update and implement resident centered care plans following a new diagnosis and introduction of new medication for 3 of 8 residents (R12, R14, R21) reviewed for behaviors in a sample of 22. The Findings Include: 1. R12's admitting Diagnoses Sheet dated 10/31/18 includes Schizophrenia, anxiety, bipolar, mood disorder, delusional disorder, Parkinson's, dementia, and major depressive. R12 was given a new diagnosis of other sexual dysfunction not due to a substance or known physiological condition on 05/12/23. R12's Face Sheet indicates he is his own representative. R12's August 2023 Physician's Order Sheet (POS) includes a prescription for Depo-Provera Intramuscular Suspension 150 mg/ml (milligram/milliliter) (Medroxyprogesterone Acetate (Contraceptive) dated 05/12/23 - Inject 1 milliliter intramuscularly one time a day every 90 day(s) related to other sexual dysfunction not due to a substance or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0757 — failed to avoid unnecessary drugs — isolatedEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide an adequate indication for the use and sufficient monitoring of male residents prescribed an oral contraceptive (Depo Provera) for 3 of 8 residents (R12, R14, R21) reviewed for unnecessary medications in a sample of 22. The Findings Include: 1. R12's admitting Diagnoses Sheet dated 10/31/18 includes Schizophrenia, anxiety, bipolar, mood disorder, delusional disorder, Parkinson's, dementia, and major depressive. R12 was given a new diagnosis of other sexual dysfunction not due to a substance or known physiological condition on 05/12/23. R12's Face Sheet indicates he is his own representative. R12's August 2023 Physician's Order Sheet (POS) includes a prescription for Depo-Provera Intramuscular Suspension 150 mg/ml (milligram/milliliter) (Medroxyprogesterone Acetate (Contraceptive) dated 05/12/23, Inject 1 milliliter intramuscularly one time a day every 90 day(s) related to other sexual dysfunction not due to a substance or known…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to STERN CONSULTANTS — 22 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 4 of 5 | 2.5 | +1.5 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 5 of 5 | 2.4 | +2.6 vs chain |
| Staffing | 1 of 5 | 2.2 | -1.2 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 4 of 5 | 3.8 | +0.2 vs chain |
The other 21 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.5★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| ETN FAMILY HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | since 06/01/2021 |
| E NEWHOUSE FAMILY TRUST | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 12/01/2017 |
| T NEWHOUSE FAMILY TRUST | Organization | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | since 12/01/2017 |
| NEWHOUSE, ERIC | Individual | INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF | since 12/01/2017 |
| ERBLICH, AVRAHAM | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 12/01/2017 |
| FRIEDMAN, BENJAMIN | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 12/01/2017 |
| MATHEW, STANLEY | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 03/01/2025 |
| MILLMAN, CHAIM | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 12/01/2017 |
| SHEPS, BORUCH | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 12/01/2017 |
| JACKSON, WARREN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 02/17/2021 |
| GALLATIN PROPCO LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 06/01/2021 |
| STERN THERAPY CONSULTANTS LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 12/01/2017 |
| STERN, BEZALEL | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | since 06/01/2021 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 27 rows in the source record cover these 13 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 86% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $618K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 16% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in IL
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Illinois Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 146054. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-09-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.