Desoto Retirement & Rehab Ctr, LLC
635 Schley Street, Mansfield, LA 71052 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 135 certified beds · (318) 872-0276 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (27% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Dec 2025
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 18.4% | 17.8% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 1.9% | 5.2% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.7% | 1.2% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.4% | 2.1% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 2.3% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.1% | 3.5% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 22.7% | 17.9% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 15.4% | 23.2% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 94.9% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.0% | 5.6% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 16.5% | 15.8% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 21.1% | 22.7% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 10.3% | 3.1% | 1.4% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.14 | 2.56 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 3.14 | 2.74 | 1.80 | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.20 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 22% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 2% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 12.0%CMS range 7.8–17.3 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 8.5%CMS range 4.0–14.6 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.34 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 135 beds and averages 57.8 residents a day — about 43% occupied, or roughly 77 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.40 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.27 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.08 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.88 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.61 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.30 to 0.20 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 27% is below the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · E2026-04-22 · tag F0644 — patternCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to refer 1 (#3) of 1 resident with a new diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder for a Level II PASARR.Findings:Review of Resident #3's medical record revealed an admit date of 02/15/2023 with the following diagnoses, including in part: unspecified psychosis not due to a substance or known physiological condition, unspecified mood (affective) disorder. Further review revealed a new diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder dated 12/15/2023.Review of Resident #3's medical record failed to reveal a Level II PASARR referral was completed for a new diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder.During an interview on 04/22/2026 at 10:00 a.m., S1Social Services Director confirmed Resident #3 was admitted on [DATE] and Resident #3 had a new diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder on 12/15/2023. S1Social Services Director acknowledged a Level II PASARR should have been submitted.
- Potential for harm · E2025-12-08 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — patternProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, observations, and interviews the facility failed to protect resident's right to be free from verbal abuse by a staff member for 1 (Resident #2) of 3 sampled residents. The facility implemented corrective actions which were completed prior to the State Agency's investigation, thus it was determined to be a Past Noncompliance citation.Findings: Review of the facility's Abuse Prevention and Intervention Policy (undated) revealed in part:Policy:It is the policy of this facility to provide protections for the health, welfare and rights of each resident by developing and implementing written policies and procedures that prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, exploitation and misappropriation of resident property.Definitions: Verbal Abuse means the use of oral, written or gestured communication or sounds that willfully includes disparaging and derogatory terms to residents or their families, or within their hearing distance regardless of their age, ability to comprehend, or disability. Review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-12-08 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — patternTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews and interviews the facility failed to complete required reporting to the State Survey Agency in accordance with State law in a timely manner for 1 (Resident #2) of 2 sampled residents who required reporting to be submitted. The facility failed to report an allegation of verbal abuse from a staff member to Resident #2 within 2 hours after the allegation was made.Findings: Review of the facility's Abuse Prevention and Intervention Policy (undated) revealed in part:Policy:It is the policy of this facility to provide protections for the health, welfare and rights of each resident by developing and implementing written policies and procedures that prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, exploitation and misappropriation of resident property.Definitions: Verbal Abuse means the use of oral, written or gestured communication or sounds that willfully includes disparaging and derogatory terms to residents or their families, or within their hearing distance regardless of their age, ability to comprehend, or disability.Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines:2. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-02-19 · tag F0641 — patternEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure resident's assessments accurately reflected the resident's status during the observation period for 3 (#5, #21, #50) of 18 (#5, #15, #21, #22, #24, #28, #35, #38, #41, #43, #49, #50, #58, #63, #66, #67, #118, #119) residents reviewed for assessment. The facility failed to ensure the MDS (Minimum Data Set) were coded accurately for restraints and use of bedrails. Findings: Resident #5 Review of Resident #5's medical record revealed an admit date of 09/01/2020 with diagnoses that include in part, major depressive disorder, anxiety disorder, pain and paranoid schizophrenia. Review of Resident 5's physician orders revealed an order dated 7/27/2024: ¼ side rails up times 2 to assist with bed mobility Review of the Resident #5's MDS dated [DATE] revealed Resident #5 had a BIMS (Brief interview for mental status) score of 6 out of 15 indicating severely impaired mental cognition. Further review revealed Resident #5 was impaired on one side to upper and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews and interview, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive person- centered care plan to meet the resident's medical, nursing and mental and psychosocial needs for 2 (#28, #118) out of 31 sampled residents reviewed. Findings: Resident #28 Review of Resident #28's medical records revealed an admit date of 01/20/2025 with the following diagnoses, including in part: chronic obstructive pulmonary disease/unspecified, type 2 diabetes mellitus without complications, acquired absence of left leg below knee, peripheral vascular disease/unspecified, unspecified lack of coordination, personal history of other venous thrombosis and embolism, transient ischemic attach (TIA), cerebral infarction without residual deficits and unspecified abnormalities of gait and mobility. Review of Resident #28's comprehensive care plan failed to include problems and approaches for oxygen therapy, type 2 diabetes mellitus, hypertension,activities of daily living self-care deficit, impaired mobility/amputation, anticoagulant therapy, unsafe smoker and diuretic use. During an interview…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — patternProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observations, and interviews the facility failed to ensure a resident who is unable to carry out ADLs (activities of daily living) received the necessary services to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene for 2 (#43, #63) of 5 (#28, #38, #43, #63, #119) residents reviewed for activities of daily living. The facility failed to ensure residents received nail care. Findings: Review of the facility's Nail Care Policy (un-dated) provided by S2 DON on 02/19/2025 revealed the following: The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the provision of care to a resident's nails for good grooming and health. Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: 1. Routine cleaning and inspection of nails will be provided during activities of daily living care on an ongoing basis. 2. Routine nail care, to include trimming and filing, will be provided by nurse on a regular schedule per care plan unless contraindicated. Nail care will be provided between scheduled occasions as the need arises.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — patternProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure 1 (#49) of 1 resident reviewed for limited range of motion received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice by failing to follow physician orders for a palm protector for Resident #49's right contracted hand, accurately assess Resident #49's limitation in range of motion and for refusals of care and services and ensure Resident #49's fingernails were trimmed. Findings: Review of Resident #49's face sheet revealed an initial admit date of 09/28/2022 and a re-entry admit date of 10/28/2023 with the following diagnoses but not limited to end stage renal disease, hypertensive heart disease without heart failure, and major depressive disorder. Review of Resident #49's February 2025 physician orders dated 11/05/2024 for palm protector to right hand as tolerated and to monitor skin integrity to right hand every day for signs and symptoms of status change related to palm protector use; one time a day for prevention. Review of Resident #49's Quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Sets)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0700 — patternTry different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews the facility failed to ensure correct use and maintenance of bed rails by ensuring residents were accurately assessed for the risk of entrapment from bed rails and an informed consent was obtained from resident or resident representative prior to installation for 2 (#43, #63) of 5 (#5, #21, #41, #43, #63) residents reviewed for bed rails. Findings: Review of the facility's Bed Rail policy (undated) revealed the following: If a bed or side rail is used, the facility must ensure correct installation, use, and maintenance of bed rails including but not limited to the following elements: a. assess the resident for risk for entrapment from bed rails prior to installation b. review risk an benefits of bed rails with the resident size and weight c. the facility must document in the residents care plan specific interventions and services for use of a bed rail. Resident #43 Review of Resident #43's medical record revealed an admit date of 06/23/2023 with a diagnosis of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0726 — failed to have competent, trained nursing staff — patternEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews, observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff provided nursing services to assure residents maintained the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident, as determined by individual plans of care. The facility failed to ensure medication was administered prior to documentation of medication for Resident #24 and proper storage of medication for Resident #26. Findings: Resident #24 Observation of medication administration on 02/17/2025 at 3:38 P.M. revealed S3 LPN (License Practical Nurse) administered Sucralfate 1gm to Resident #24. Review of Resident #24's EMAR (electronic medication administration record) revealed S3 LPN signed off on 4:30 P.M. administration of 8 units of Humalog (Insulin Lispro) per sliding scale. During an interview on 02/17/2025 at 3:50 P.M. S3 LPN reported she had not administered Humalog (Insulin Lispro) to Resident #24 that was due at 4:30 P.M. S3 LPN reported Resident #24's blood sugar was 310 when checked earlier. S3 LPN further reported Resident #24 would require 8…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — patternProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review, observations and intreviews, the facility failed to provide current pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident as evidenced by having expired medications available for resident use on 2 of 2 medication carts in the facility. Findings: Review of facility's policy for Medications - Administering (not dated) revealed: Policy statement: Medications shall be administered in a safe and timely manner, and as prescribed. Expiration/Beyond Use Dates: 9. The expiration/beyond use date on the medication label must be checked prior to administering. When opening a multi-dose container, the date opened shall be recorded on the container. Observation of the Medication Cart 1 for Hall 1 on 02/17/2025 at 10:15 A.M. with S5 LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) revealed Vitamin D 25 mcg (microgram) had a best used by date of 01/2025. During an interview on 02/17/2025 at 10:15 A.M. S5 LPN confirmed Vitamin D 25 mcg was expired and should not have been available on the medication cart for usage. Observation of the Medication Cart for Hall 2 on 02/17/2025 at 10:25 A.M.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-19 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews, observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure staff practices were consistent with current infection control principles and practices to prevent infection and cross contamination. The facility failed to ensure (1) incontinence care was provided in a sanitary manner for Resident #62 that was observed for incontinence, and (2) proper storage of patient equipment Findings: Review of facility's Incontinence Care policy (undated) revealed: Equipment and Supplies: 2. wash basin; wash clothes 3. Incontinent brief (disposable or cloth) 4. non-drying soap and water and/or incontinence spray cleaner (periwash) 6. plastic bag for soled linen Steps in Procedure: 3. Fill the wash basin with warm water. (Note: If a premixed solution is used, run warm water over the container to assure that the solution is warm). 5. Place plastic bag within reach to hold soiled linen and laundry. 11. Place disposable items into special waste container. 13. Remove gloves and discard into appropriate receptacle. 15. wash hands 1. Review of Resident #62's face sheet revealed an…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-19 · tag F0640 — isolatedEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to transmit within 7 days after a completed resident's assessment for 1 (#118) resident out of 31 sampled residents reviewed. Findings: Review of Resident #118's medical records revealed an admit date of 01/17/2025 with the following diagnoses, including in part: hypertensive heart disease without heart failure, obesity/unspecified, anemia/unspecified, and insomnia/unspecified. Review of Resident #118's MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment dated [DATE] revealed the status was in progress. During an interview on 02/19/2025 at 9:30 a.m. S4 MDS acknowledged Resident #118's MDS assessment dated [DATE] was completed but had not been transmitted and it should have been.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-19 · tag F0655 — isolatedCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to develop and implement a baseline care plan within 48 hours of admission for 1 (#119) resident out of 31 sampled residents reviewed. Findings: Review of Resident #119's medical records revealed an admit date of 02/06/2025 with the following diagnoses, including in part: unspecified protein-calorie malnutrition, generalized anxiety disorder, undifferentiated schizophrenia, unspecified dementia with agitation, anorexia, other specified extrapyramidal and movement disorders, major depressive disorder/recurrent/moderate, impulsive disorder/unspecified, and gastrostomy status. Review of Resident #119's medical record failed to reveal a baseline care plan was completed on admission. During an interview on 02/19/2025 at 9:30 a.m. S4 MDS (Minimum Data Set) acknowledged Resident #119 did not have a baseline care plan developed on admission and should have.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-19 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews and record reviews the facility failed to provide residents necessary respiratory care and services in accordance with accepted professional standards of practice for 1 (#28) out of 1 (#28) residents reviewed for respiratory care. The facility failed to ensure oxygen concentrator filter was cleaned weekly. Findings: Review of Facility's Respiratory Equipment - Infection Control Guidelines dated June 2024 revealed: Oxygen concentrators, nebulizers, suction machines. The nursing department is responsible for all the following except: 3. Housekeeping will be responsible to clean oxygen concentrator filters weekly. Oxygen concentrators: 4. Rinse filters from oxygen concentrators weekly in water. Squeeze dry and return to use. Review of Resident #28 medical records revealed an admit date of 01/20/2025 with the following diagnoses, including in part: chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)/unspecified. Review of Resident #28 Physician's orders revealed an order dated 01/20/2025 for O2 (oxygen) at 2 liters/NC (nasal cannula) PRN (as needed) shortness…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-03-20 · tag F0638 — patternAssure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a quarterly assessment was completed for 1 (#57) out of 2 (#41, #57) residents reviewed for resident assessment. Findings: Review of Resident #57's Medical Record revealed an admit date of 09/27/2022 with the following diagnoses, in part: alcoholic cirrhosis of liver without ascites, chronic viral hepatitis C, and adult failure to thrive. Review of Resident #57's MDS (Minimum Data Set) Assessments revealed yearly assessment completed 10/17/2023, a significant change assessment completed 10/25/2023, and failed to reveal a MDS Quarterly Assessment was completed. During an interview on 03/20/2024 at 9:50 a.m. S1 DON (Director of Nursing) acknowledged Resident #57 has not had a MDS Assessment completed since 10/25/2023 and should have.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-03-20 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure an accurate assessment was completed for 1 (#41) out of 2 (#41, #57) residents reviewed for resident assessment. Findings: Review of Resident #41's Medical Record revealed an admit date of [DATE] and discharge date of [DATE] with the following diagnoses, in part: chronic obstructive pulmonary disease/unspecified, cognitive communication deficit and unspecified sequelae of cerebral infarction. Review of Resident #41's MDS (Minimum Data Set) Assessments revealed last assessment completed was on [DATE]. Review of Resident #41's notes dated [DATE] at 1:26 a.m. - revealed in part, resident pronounced deceased at 11:32 pm ([DATE]) During an interview on [DATE] at 9:50 a.m. S1 DON (Director of Nursing) acknowledged Resident #41 doses not have an accurate MDS Assessment completed following discharge on [DATE] and should have.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to RIGHTCARE HEALTH SERVICES — 13 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 3 of 5 | 2.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 3.3 | -0.3 vs chain |
| Staffing | 4 of 5 | 2.5 | +1.5 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 2 of 5 | 1.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
The other 12 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REVOCABLE TRUST OF ROY BUSH BRIDGES AND JUDY KAYE WINN BRIDGES | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 15% | since 11/13/2020 |
| THE VERNICE C WRIGHT IRREVOCABLE TRUST | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 15% | since 09/01/2018 |
| ABINGTON, LEONARD | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 15% | since 03/06/2002 |
| JONES, LORENE DORIS | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 6% | since 03/06/2002 |
| SANDERS, JACK | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 12% | since 05/01/2024 |
| CALVIN H JONES ESTATE | Organization | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | — | since 08/11/2025 |
| BRIDGES, ROY | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 7% | since 01/01/2022 |
| ROOS, ELLA | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 7% | since 01/01/2022 |
| RIGHTCARE HEALTH SERVICES LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 03/20/2025 |
| JENSEN, TERRI | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/13/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 15 rows in the source record cover these 10 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 79% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $515K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 10% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in LA
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Louisiana Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 195556. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-22, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.