Avalon Care Center - Scappoose
33910 E. Columbia Avenue, Scappoose, OR 97056 · For profit - Corporation · 40 certified beds · (503) 543-7131 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Dec 2019
- inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (18) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 1 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 12.4% | 14.9% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.0% | 4.7% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.4% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.0% | 2.0% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 11.8% | 4.9% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.8% | 2.4% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 0.0% | 20.6% | 16.1% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 8.6% | 12.4% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.4% | 5.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 16.4% | 21.8% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 11.9% | 13.9% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 3.9% | 1.4% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 26.8% | 21.4% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 22.3% | 16.1% | 12.0% | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.29 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 46% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 95.7% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 4.3% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 8.7% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 40 beds and averages 31.2 residents a day — about 78% occupied, or roughly 9 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 5.36 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.60 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 4.06 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.89 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.55 on weekdays — 12% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.67 to 0.45 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 44% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
18 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · G2024-08-16 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to provide care in accordance with care planned interventions while pushing a resident in a wheelchair for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#1) reviewed for accidents. This failure resulted in an avoidable fracture to Resident 1's left ankle. Findings include: Resident 1 was admitted to the facility in 2015 with diagnoses including dementia. The 6/2023 Annual MDS revealed Resident 1 had a BIMS of 11 (moderate cognitive impairment). Resident 1's mobility care plan dated 12/9/22 instructed staff to promote Resident 1's independence with locomotion as tolerated without leg rests and revealed Resident 1 needed assistance with leg rests in place for wheelchair mobility when being pushed by staff. A 12/6/23 FRI report revealed on 12/3/23 Resident 1 mobilized her/himself independently while in her/his wheelchair from the dining room toward her/his room. Resident 1 became tired and Staff 11 (CNA) pushed Resident 1 towards her/his room. Staff 11 felt resistance while pushing Resident 1 and immediately stopped while Resident 1…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-04-03 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure appropriate nail care services was provided for 1 of 4 sampled residents (#2) reviewed for nail care. This placed the resident at risk for unmet care needs and potential complications related to diabetes. Findings includeResident was admitted on 9/2024 with diagnosis of diabetes.A Physician's Order dated 1/24/26 directed Resident 2 to receive diabetic nail care every week on Saturdays.Resident 2's 1/19/26 Care Plan indicated licensed nurses were responsible for providing nail care to Resident 2.On 4/2/26 at 2:11 PM, observation revealed Resident 2's left thumb nail was approximately 3/4 inches thick, significantly elevated off nail bed and discolored. Resident 2's left index finger had minimal nail bed remaining. Resident 2 denied pain to her/his left fingers at time of observation.In an interview on 4/2/26 at 11:35 AM, Staff 10 (CNA) stated they do not provide nail care to Resident 2's nails due to Resident 2's diabetic status. Staff 10 reported occasionally cleaning but indicated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-12-19 · tag F0628 — patternProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to provide notice of bed hold policies for 2 of 2 sampled residents (#s 8 and 18) reviewed for hospitalizations. This placed residents at risk for miscommunication of the discharge process. Findings include:1.Resident 8 was readmitted to the facility in 9/2025 with diagnoses including mechanical complications of an indwelling ureteral stent (a tube from the kidney to the bladder to maintain drainage). Resident 8's medical record indicated she/he was transferred to the hospital on 5/18/25, 6/15/25, 7/23/25 and 9/18/25. No evidence was found in Resident 8's clinical record indicating written notice of the facility's bed hold policy was provided to her/his representative when she/he was transferred to the hospital on 6/15/25, 7/23/25 and 9/18/25. On 12/18/25 at 10:43 AM, Staff 9 (RN) stated the nurses, or social services staff completed the bed hold policy. Staff 9 stated she didn't complete the bed hold policy when Resident 8 was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview it was determined the facility failed to provide a safe and clean homelike environment for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#11) reviewed for environment. This placed residents at risk for an unkept environment. Findings include: Resident 11 was admitted to the facility in 4/2025 with diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease.The 12/8/25 Quarterly MDS indicated Resident 11 had a BIMS score of zero and was not cognitively intact. The 4/15/24 Care Plan indicated, notifying maintenance when the padded mobility bars were damaged or removed. On 12/15/25 through 12/16/2025 from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, the padding around the bed rails in Resident 11's room was unkept, the metal was rusty, and parts of the mobility bars were left uncovered, and the metal was exposed. On 12/17/25 at 1:19 PM, Staff 15 (CNA) stated she told maintenance, the nurses and the administrator when equipment was damaged and made sure equipment was safe before she used it. Staff 15 stated she didn't report any damaged equipment in Resident's 11 room. Staff 15 entered Resident 11's room and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0636 — isolatedAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to accurately complete MDS assessments for 1 of 1 resident (#19) reviewed for communication and sensory needs. This placed residents at risk for lack of timely assessed care needs. Findings include:The facility's 11/2017 Resident Assessment policy and procedure specified the following:-The facility would address residents' needs and strengths regardless of whether or not the issue was included in the MDS or CAAs.-The facility would use resident observation and communication as the primary source when completing assessments and also review records, communicate with staff and other sources as needed to complete residents' assessments.Resident 19 was admitted to the facility in 5/2025 with diagnoses including metabolic encephalopathy (a change in brain function due to an underlying condition) and hearing loss.A review of Resident 19's 6/5/25 admission MDS and 12/6/25 Quarterly MDS revealed she/he had severe cognitive impairment and she/he did not have hearing aids. The CAA for communication…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-19 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure care plans accurately reflect bowel care needs for 1 of 1 resident (#1) reviewed for constipation. The placed residents at risk for constipation and fecal impaction. Findings include.The facility's 11/2017 Comprehensive Care Plans policy and procedure indicated a care plan will be comprehensive and person-centered. It will drive the type of care and services that a resident receives and will describe the resident's medical and nursing needs as well as how the facility will assist in meeting those needs.Resident was admitted to the facility in 7/2019 with diagnoses including quadriplegia (a form of paralysis that affects all four limbs and torso).A Care Plan revised 9/6/25 stated Resident 1 was at risk of constipation as result of bowel incontinence and was to have one bowel movement every three days. No information was included regarding Resident 1's normal bowel movement consistency.On 12/18/25 at 4:58 PM Staff 9 (RN) stated Resident 1 was at risk for constipation due to quadriplegia and she/he was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0676 — failed to keep up residents' daily-living abilities — isolatedEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure staff assisted a resident with wearing hearing aids for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#19) reviewed for hearing. This placed residents at risk for a decline in communication. Findings include:Resident 19 was admitted to the facility in 5/2025 with diagnoses including metabolic encephalopathy (a change in brain function due to an underlying condition) and hearing loss.A review of Resident 19's 6/5/25 admission MDS revealed she/he had severe cognitive impairment, functional limitation in range of motion of both sides of her/his upper body, was dependent on staff for completion of ADLs and she/he did not have hearing aids. The CAA for communication indicated she/he was hard of hearing without hearing aids and staff were to elevate their voices when speaking to her/him.A review of Resident 19's care plan revealed she/he had a communication deficit related to being hard of hearing without hearing aids. No evidence was found in the care plan for staff to provide Resident 19 with assistance to use…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to provide the necessary care and assistance to maintain good grooming and hygiene for 1 of 2 sampled residents (#11) reviewed for ADLs. This placed residents at risk for poor grooming. Findings include:Resident 11 was admitted to the facility in 2024 with diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease. The 4/15/24 Care Plan indicated Resident 11 required one person substantial to dependent assistance completing personal hygiene and directed staff to offer and encourage nail care twice per week on shower days. The 12/8/25 Quarterly MDS, revealed Resident 11 had a BIMS score of zero which indicated the resident was not cognitively intact and required maximum assistance to complete personal hygiene. The 12/2025 Documentation Survey Report indicated Staff 15 (CNA) completed a shower for Resident 11 on 12/16/25 and didn't provide nail care. On 12/15/25 through 12/17/25 from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Resident 11 had untrimmed nails. The left hand had uneven trimmed fingernails. Two nails had a brown substance…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — isolatedProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to provide an ongoing person-centered activities program for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#13) reviewed for activities. This placed the resident at risk for a decline in psychosocial well-being and diminished quality of life. Findings include:The 11/2017 Quality of life: Activities Policy indicated the following:-The facility activities will be meaningful to the residents. -Activities will enhance the physical, cognitive and emotional health of the residents.-Activities are scheduled daily, and residents are given an opportunity to contribute to the planning, preparation and conducting of the program as able and as appropriate.-The activity program consists of individual, small and large activities which are designed to meet the assessed needs and interest of each resident.Resident 13 was admitted in 9/2025 with diagnoses including chronic pain and muscle weakness. The 9/29/25 Care Plan indicated the following:-Resident 13 wishes to attend spiritual activities. -Staff to post calendar in room and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to provide pressure ulcer care consistent with professional standards of practice for 1 of 2 sampled residents (#1) reviewed for pressure ulcer. This placed residents at risk for new and worsening pressure ulcers. Findings include: The 8/2018 Quality of Care Skin Integrity Policy indicated the following:A weekly evaluation of the PU/PI (Pressure Ulcer/Pressure Injury) will include:-Evaluation of the PU/PI, if no dressing is present.-Evaluation of the status of the dressing, is present.-Status of the area surrounding the PU/PI (without removing existing dressing).-If pain is present, is it being controlled. PU/PI documentation will include:-The type of injury (pressure versus non-pressure)-The stage-A description of the PU/PI's characteristics-Progress toward healing and identification of potential complications-If infection is present. Resident 13 admitted to the facility in 9/2025 with diagnoses including quadriplegia (paralysis or significant weakness in both arms and legs).A 2024 Care Plan…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-19 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolatedProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to manage contractures and provide continued treatment and services to prevent decrease in ROM and mobility for 2 of 4 residents (#s 1 and 3) reviewed for contracture and mobility. This placed residents at risk for contractures and decreased mobility. Findings include:The facility's 11/2017 Quality of Life ADLs/Maintain Abilities Policy indicated the facility provided necessary care and services to prevent avoidable decline in ADLs, ensured residents received treatment to maintain or improve ADL abilities, including mobility, and staff avoided using clinical diagnoses as the sole justification for decline. 1. Resident 3 was admitted to the facility in 3/2023 with diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease, generalized weakness, and pain. Random observations from 12/15/25 through 12/19/25 from 8:50 AM to 2:47 PM revealed Resident 3 was seated in a recliner with her/his left foot and ankle resting on a footrest, and the left foot and ankle were rotated towards the midline of the body. Resident 3 was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-26 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolatedHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to honor a grievance resolution for 1 of 3 residents (#401) reviewed for grievances. This placed residents at risk of not having their preferences honored regarding ADL care. Findings include:Resident 401 was admitted to the facility in 3/2025 with diagnoses including dementia and a femur fracture.A 3/30/25 admission MDS indicated Resident 401 had significant cognitive impairments.A 6/19/25 Grievance Form revealed concerns of Staff 4 (CNA) forcing Witness 1 (Power of Attorney) to leave Resident 401's room when care was provided. When Witness 1 requested to remain present, Staff 4 was reported to have stormed out of the room. A request was made by Witness 1 for Staff 4 to no longer provide care to Resident 401.A 6/24/25 Grievance Summary Report completed by Staff 2 (DNS) revealed the resolution was for Staff 4 to no longer provide care to Resident 401.Review of the 6/2025 and 7/2025 Documentation Survey Reports revealed Staff 4 provided ADL care which included brief changes, oral hygiene and/or showers to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-16 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — patternEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure proper food temperatures were maintained for meals served to residents on 3 of 3 halls reviewed for dining. This placed residents at risk for increased risk for impaired nutrition. Findings include: Observation on 8/12/24 at 11:45 AM during tray pass Resident 1 complained of cold food. Observation on 8/12/24 at 11:47 AM during tray pass Resident 4 complained of cold food. Resident Council Meeting documentation from 5/2024 recorded residents complaints that breakfast was often cold. On 8/14/24 at 3:37 PM Staff (5) Dietary Manager confirmed the residents had complained about cold food. Twelve residents were interviewed during a Resident Council meeting on 8/15/24 at 10:21 AM. The residents complained about cold food on all halls. On 8/15/24 at 2:51 PM the concern related to cold food was shared with Staff 1 (Administrator). No additional information was provided.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-16 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review it was determined the facility failed to monitor temperatures and cleanliness of 1 of 1 unit refrigerator. This placed the residents at risk for food-borne illness. Findings include: The facility guideline for Dietary Service Resident Community Refrigerator stated: -Housekeeping staff/designee will monitor the refrigerator daily for cleanliness. Concerns will be delegated to the designated department. - Each refrigerator will have an approved thermometer inside the refrigerator. Designated staff will record the temperature at least daily. On 8/14/24 at 12:48 PM the unit refrigerator used for resident snacks and personal foods was observed to have yellow liquid spilled on a lower shelf. There was no thermometer in the refrigerator. On 8/14/24 at 12:49 PM Staff 5 (Dietary Manager) stated the cleaning and monitoring of unit refridgerators was the responsibility of the kitchen staff. She confirmed the refridgerator needed to be cleaned and no thermometer was present. She was not able to locate a temperature log for the refrigerator.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-08-16 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for 1 of 1 sampled resident (#24) reviewed for communication-sensory services. This placed residents at risk for decreased ability to communicate their wants and needs. Findings include: Resident 24 was admitted to the facility in 6/2024 with diagnoses including aphasia (a language disorder that affects a person's ability to communicate) following non-traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage (bleeding in the space between the brain and the surrounding membrane) and dysarthria (weakness in the muscles used for speech, causing slowed, slurred speech) following non-traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage. A review of Resident 24's 6/27/24 admission MDS revealed she/he had adequate hearing but did not speak during the assessment. On 8/13/24 at 9:31 AM Resident 24 was observed sitting up in bed. Her/his eyes were closed and she/he was awake. She/he did not speak when asked how she/he felt, but she/he gestured to a pool of saliva on her/his shirt. A review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-12-13 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents were treated in a dignified manner for 1 of 2 sampled residents (#72) reviewed for dignity. This placed residents at risk for lack of dignity. Findings include: Resident 72 was admitted to the facility in 9/2018 with diagnoses including urine retention. The 9/18/19 MDS indicated Resident 72 had a BIMS score of 15, which indicated no cognitive impairment. Resident 72's Care Plan under Alteration in Elimination indicated a Foley catheter was added on 10/2/19 for urine retention. Multiple observations were made of Resident 72 on 12/9/19 and 12/11/19 between the hours of 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. The door to the resident's room was open and the right side of the resident's bed was visible from the hallway. During these observations, the urinary drainage bag from the Foley catheter was hanging on the right side of the bed with no privacy cover and was visible from the hallway. The urinary drainage bag had contents of yellow urine inside. In an interview on 12/10/19 at 11:51 AM, Resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-12-13 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents were free from physical abuse for 1 of 4 sampled residents (#6) reviewed for resident to resident incidents. This placed residents at risk for potential abuse. Findings include: The 12/2018 Facility Abuse Prohibition Policy outlined the following: - All residents will be free from verbal, sexual, physical, mental abuse and involuntary seclusion. d. Physical abuse includes hitting, slapping, pinching, kicking, biting, unnecessary restraints or other means of inappropriate physical contact. Resident 1 was admitted to the facility in 11/2017 with diagnoses including dementia. Resident 1's 4/26/19 Significant Change MDS indicated the resident had moderate cognitive impairment and poor memory recall. Resident 6 was admitted to the facility in 7/2018 with diagnoses including dementia. Resident 6's 10/16/19 Significant Change MDS indicated the resident had moderate cognitive impairment and poor memory recall. Review of the 8/25/19 Facility Incident & Accident Report revealed Resident 6 slapped…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-12-13 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review it was determined the facility failed to ensure the care plan was followed for 3 of 3 sampled residents (#s 4, 18 & 172) whose care plans were reviewed for falls. This placed residents at risk for falls. Findings include: 1. Resident 172 was admitted to the facility in 8/2017 with diagnoses including dementia. The 10/7/19 Quarterly MDS Section J: Health Conditions indicated Resident 172 had a history of falls. Resident 172's Care Plan directed Resident 172 was not to be left alone while in her/his wheelchair. The 6/17/19 Facility Reported Incident described Resident 172's 6/14/19 unwitnessed, non-injury fall from her/his wheelchair. The incident report indicated staff left Resident 172 alone and did not follow the care plan. In an interview on 12/11/19 at 10:22 AM Staff 2 (DNS) confirmed Resident 172 had an unwitnessed, non-injury fall from her/his wheelchair, was left alone in her/his wheelchair and staff did not follow the care plan. In an interview on 12/11/19 at 12:27 PM Staff 1 (Administrator) acknowledged Resident 172 was left alone in…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to AVALON HEALTH CARE — 16 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 4 of 5 | 3.4 | +0.6 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 4 of 5 | 2.8 | +1.2 vs chain |
| Staffing | 4 of 5 | 3.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 3 of 5 | 4.2 | -1.2 vs chain |
The other 15 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.4★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVALON HOLDING INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | 100% | since 07/01/2024 |
| DANGERFIELD, DAVID | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| KIRTON, BYRON | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 08/27/2024 |
| KIRTON, HYRUM | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| KIRTON, SPENCER | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/27/2024 |
| WOLTIL, ROBERT | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| BORISEVICH, MARIA | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/08/2024 |
| SMITH, NICOLE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| AVALON HEALTH CARE INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| AVALON HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/11/2025 |
| FATHIZADEH, ARASH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/16/2024 |
| HASH, ALAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| HUTCHINSON, JONATHAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/01/2025 |
| MOBERLY, RICHARD | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| NELSON, RYAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| AVALON REAL ESTATE LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| AVALON REALTY - SCAPPOOSE LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2024 |
| HYRUM A KIRTON INDIVIDUAL TR | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/01/2025 |
| K-TEAM LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/01/2025 |
| SPENCER K KIRTON INDIVIDUAL TR | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/01/2025 |
| THE BYRON A KIRTON INDIVIDUAL TR | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/01/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 42 rows in the source record cover these 21 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
9 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
What families pay in OR
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Oregon Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 385283. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.