Southern Utah Veterans Home - Ivins
160 North 200 East, Ivins, UT 84738 · For profit - Corporation · 108 certified beds · (435) 634-5220 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 8.6% | 11.3% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.3% | 3.4% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.7% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.8% | 1.8% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 11.2% | 16.5% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.6% | 2.5% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 13.0% | 15.1% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 44.6% | 25.3% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 96.9% | 98.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.2% | 3.9% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 18.2% | 21.5% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 16.9% | 14.2% | 17.1% | typical |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.8% | 0.9% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 94.3% | 91.0% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 10.4% | 16.5% | 22.6% | better |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 10.3% | 11.6% | 12.0% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 0.69 | 1.25 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 0.80 | 1.43 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
47.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 38 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 25.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 32 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.24 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 32% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 47.8%CMS range 33.8–63.2 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.2%CMS range 6.8–15.2 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 25.0% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 28.1% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 18.8% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 88.9% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.6%CMS range 3.6–12.4 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.35 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 108 beds and averages 104.2 residents a day — about 96% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 5.79 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.55 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.40 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 5.36 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.96 on weekdays — 10% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.69 to 1.21 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 37% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
12 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Potential for harm · E2025-05-20 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — patternProvide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY On 5/20/25 at 9:50 AM, a follow-up interview was conducted with Director of Nursing (DON). The DON stated hopefully staff were able to anticipate resident's pain. The DON stated the expectation was for staff to assess the general criteria of pain like where, how bad, and if it had happened before, and then complete a full assessment if it was not identified before. The DON stated nurses provided interventions and contacted the physician for pain medication. The DON stated if the interventions were not effective, staff should notify the provider for additional assistance. The DON stated resident 78 had multiple medications available and resident 78 was discussed in their clinical meeting. The DON stated the physicians were usually in the building so staff were able to report pain to them verbally. The DON stated sometimes staff did not document contacting the physician, but it was done. On 5/20/25 at 10:28 AM, an interview was conducted with the DON. The DON stated according to resident 78's Medication…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-05-20 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — patternEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not provide food that was palatable, attractive, and served at a safe and appetizing temperature. Specifically, for 9 out of 35 sampled residents, residents complained of food quality, a test tray was not attractive or palatable, and Dining Committee meetings revealed complaints of food. Resident identifiers: 5, 24, 29, 39, 58, 78, 91, 94, and 101. Findings include: 1. On 5/13/25 at 9:17 AM, an interview was conducted with resident 5. Resident 5 stated the food was good and bad. Resident 5 stated the evening meal was awful and hot dogs were served 3 days a week. Resident 5 stated he felt like chicken was served too often. 2. On 5/12/25 at 3:29 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 39. Resident 39 stated that even with his dentures, he had a hard time chewing the meat because it was tough. Resident 39 stated that the food was not good. 3. On 5/13/25 at 9:56 AM, an interview was conducted with resident 78. Resident 78 stated that he did not like the food and it did not taste good. Resident 78 stated that he…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0561 — failed to honor residents' choices — isolatedHonor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview it was determined, for 1 of 35 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that the resident had the right to self determination through support of the resident's choice. Specifically, a resident had their aerosolized can of deodorant removed from their possession. Resident identifier: 39. Findings included: Resident 39 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which consisted of type II diabetes mellitus, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, emphysema, cervicalgia, hypertension, low back pain, and pulmonary hypertension. On 5/12/25 at 3:31 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 39. Resident 39 stated that the facility took his deodorant and told him he could not have it because it was a metal can. Resident 39 stated that they just took it from him because of the state survey inspection, but they were never worried about it before. Resident 39 stated that it upset him. Resident 39 stated that the Resident Advocate (RA) took it and said he would give…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 35 sampled residents, that the facility did not immediately consult with the resident's physician when there was a significant change in the resident's physical status or a need to alter treatment. Specifically, a resident had complaints of uncontrolled pain and the physician was not notified. Resident identifier: 75. Findings included: Resident 75 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, dementia, cognitive communication deficit, traumatic brain injury, post-traumatic stress disorder, cervical disc disorder, radiculopathy, hemiplegia and hemiparesis right side, and a history of falls. On 5/13/25 at 9:17 AM, an interview was conducted with resident 75. Resident 75 complained of pain in his right shoulder and neck. Resident 75 stated that he had 5 shoulder operations and it was aching him like crazy. Resident 75 stated that he had an Oxycodone this morning but it had worn off and his current…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0582 — isolatedGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, it was determined, the facility did not inform each resident periodically during the resident's stay, of services available in the facility and of charges for those services, including any charges for services not covered under Medicare/Medicaid or by the facility's per diem rate. Specifically, for 1 out of 3 sampled residents, a resident was not issued a Notice of Medicare Non-coverage (NOMNC) when the Medicare part A services were terminated. Resident identifier: 74. Findings include: The facility provided a list of residents who had been discharged from Medicare covered Part A stay with days remaining. Resident 74 was on the list with a discharged date from Part A of 12/7/24 and he remained in the facility. Resident 74's medical record was reviewed. A NOMNC was not located in resident 74's medical record. On 5/14/25 at 8:37 AM, an interview was conducted with Medical Records. Medical Records stated the NOMNC's were provided by the Social Services Department. Medical Records stated that she uploaded any signed NOMNC's that were received into…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, for 2 of 35 sampled residents, the facility did not ensure an assessment accurately reflected the resident's status. Specifically, a resident who was discharged home was coded as being admitted to an acute hospital. In addition, another resident with a Preadmission Screening Resident Review (PASRR) level II was not coded as having one. Resident identifiers: 22 and 104. Findings include: 1. Resident 22 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, Parkinson's disease, and dysphagia. A significant change Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed resident 22 was not currently considered by the state level II PASRR process to have serious mental illness and/or intellectual disability or a related condition. A review of resident 22's medical record revealed a PASRR level II dated 8/7/24. On 5/14/25 at 9:01 AM, an interview was conducted with Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 1. LCSW 1 stated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 35 sampled residents, that the facility did not develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident that included measurable objectives and timeframe's to meet the resident's medical, nursing, and psychosocial needs that were identified in the comprehensive assessment. Specifically, the resident's care plan did not address the resident's wrist splint. Resident identifier: 8. Findings included: Resident 8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and was re-admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, hemiplegia and hemiparesis of the left side following a cerebral infarction, and vascular dementia. On 5/12/25 at 2:45 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 8. Resident 8 stated that he had limited movement in his left hand and arm. An observation was made of resident 8's left hand and wrist. The left wrist was observed contracted. Resident 8 stated that he had a brace for the left…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0676 — failed to keep up residents' daily-living abilities — isolatedEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, for 1 of 35 sampled residents, the facility did not provide appropriate treatment and services to maintain or improve his or her ability to carry out the activities of daily living (ADL). Specifically, a resident was not provided oral hygiene to prevent tooth decay. Resident identifier: 22. Findings include: Resident 22 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, Parkinson's disease, and dysphagia. On 5/12/15 at 3:29 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 22's family member. The family member stated resident 22 did not get his teeth brushed regularly. The family member stated resident 22 had a cavity and needed a new crown from not receiving oral hygiene. The family member stated when she kissed him, she would know if his teeth had been brushed that day. On 5/12/15 at 3:29 PM, an observation was made of a sign on resident 22's door. The sign revealed, Attention [name of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolatedProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 out of 35 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that a resident who had limited range of motion received the appropriate treatment and services to increase range of motion and/or to prevent further decrease in range of motion. Specifically, a resident had a hand/wrist splint that was not being applied consistently and the resident did not have any physician orders for the application of the medical device. Resident identifier: 8. Findings included: Resident 8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and was re-admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, hemiplegia and hemiparesis of the left side following a cerebral infarction, and vascular dementia. On 5/12/25 at 2:45 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 8. Resident 8 stated that he had limited movement in his left hand and arm. An observation was made of resident 8's left hand and wrist. The left wrist was observed contracted.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 out of 35 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as was possible and that each resident received adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents. Specifically, a resident who was identified as a two-person assist for bed mobility and incontinence care sustained a fall during a one-person assist for incontinence care. Resident identifier 8. Findings included: Resident 8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and was re-admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, hemiplegia and hemiparesis of the left side following a cerebral infarction, vascular dementia, pain in right shoulder, contusion of right shoulder, complete rotator cuff tear of right shoulder, and unspecified fracture of left humerus. On 5/12/25 at 2:31 PM, an interview was conducted with resident 8. Resident 8 stated he fell out of bed one time and hit his head…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-20 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 35 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that the irregularities identified by the pharmacist were acted upon by the attending physician. Specifically, the pharmacist identified that the resident's as needed (PRN) order of Lorazepam exceeded 14 days and did not have a stop date or a rationale to extend the use or duration of treatment and the provider did not act upon the pharmacists recommendations. Resident identifier: 8. Resident 8 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and was re-admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included encounter for palliative care, vascular dementia, cognitive communication deficit, anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and major depressive disorder. Resident 8's medical records were reviewed. Resident 8's Lorazepam orders revealed the following: a. On 1/9/25, an order was initiated for Lorazepam Oral Tablet 0.5 milligram (mg), give 1 tablet by mouth two times a day for chronic anxiety AND…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-28 · tag F0638 — isolatedAssure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, it was determined the facility did not complete a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment every three months for 3 of 26 sample residents. Specifically, quarterly MDS Assessments were not completed within 14 days of the Assessment Reference Date for 3 residents. Resident identifiers: 13, 75, and 94. Findings include: 1. Resident 13 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included post-traumatic stress disorder, major depressive disorder, hyperlipidemia, chronic kidney disease, and muscle weakness. Resident 13's medical record was reviewed on 6/28/23. Review of resident 13's medical record indicated that a quarterly MDS had been initiated on 5/23/23. The MDS revealed it was in progress and had not been completed. 2. Resident 75 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, atherosclerotic heart disease, venous insufficiency, essential…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to AVALON HEALTH CARE — 16 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 5 of 5 | 3.4 | +1.6 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.8 | +0.2 vs chain |
| Staffing | 5 of 5 | 3.9 | +1.1 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 5 of 5 | 4.2 | +0.8 vs chain |
The other 15 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.4★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVALON VA MANAGEMENT LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 02/17/2015 |
| AVALON VETERANS SERVICES, L.L.C. | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 12/18/2018 |
| DANGERFIELD, DAVID | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 08/20/2012 |
| KIRTON, BYRON | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 08/27/2024 |
| KIRTON, CHARLES | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/20/2012 |
| KIRTON, HYRUM | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 03/29/2022 |
| KIRTON, SPENCER | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 08/27/2024 |
| WOLTIL, ROBERT | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 08/20/2012 |
| BORISEVICH, MARIA | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/08/2024 |
| HASH, ALAN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/15/2017 |
| SMITH, NICOLE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 03/01/2023 |
| AVALON HEALTH CARE INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/03/2010 |
| AVALON HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/03/2010 |
| STATE OF UTAH | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/20/2012 |
| BRERETON, DEAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/23/2023 |
| OLSON, JERRY | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/01/2013 |
| SABOL, DUSAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/30/2023 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 41 rows in the source record cover these 17 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in UT
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Utah Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 465180. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-05-20, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.