No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Fairlane Gardens Nursing and Rehab at Reading

21 Fairlane Road, Reading, PA 19606 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 124 certified beds · (610) 779-8522 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
1 immediate-jeopardy citation$101,602 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • the CMS record shows $101,602 in federal fines (most recent 2026-03-24)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (1/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • about 17% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 1 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Urgent care / clinic
5504 Perkiomen Ave · (717) 913-8546 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
4655 Perkiomen Ave · (610) 406-9644 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
Aldi0.3 mi
4703 Perkiomen Ave · (855) 955-2534 · Call to confirm hours
Park
451 W 48th St · (610) 779-5660 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased11.0%16.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight7.4%6.2%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.7%0.7%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.0%1.5%2.0%typical
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms7.1%10.8%6.5%typical
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.7%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened13.6%17.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication20.1%20.0%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.9%93.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.5%4.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control23.7%25.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table13.8%17.7%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.0%1.4%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine60.2%68.7%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission20.9%22.5%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit4.9%9.5%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.011.621.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.081.181.80better

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

45.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 33 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

45.6%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
38.1%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.22U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.09hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.11hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 38.1% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 21 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.22 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 27% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF45.6%CMS range 32.0–64.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.1%CMS range 6.0–13.410.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge38.1%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge57.1%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge28.6%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified95.8%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.5%CMS range 4.0–11.47.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.081.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.49
RN hours/ resident / day
0.71
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.88
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.08
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.43
RN hoursweekends
46.7%
Total nursing turnover
50.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 124 beds and averages 117.9 residents a day — about 95% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.08 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.49 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.88 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.79 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.20 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.52 to 0.43 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 47% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-08-14)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2024-07-12)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Immediate jeopardy · Kcited before2026-03-24 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, clinical record review, review of facility documentation, observation, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide adequate supervision to monitor a resident at risk for elopement (unauthorized departure from the facility) and self-harm for two of six sampled residents (Residents 1and 3). In addition, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision to monitor a resident at risk for choking for one of six sampled residents (Resident 2). These failures resulted in an Immediate Jeopardy situation. Findings include:Review of the facility policy entitled, Frequent Monitoring Policy, last reviewed July 14, 2025, revealed that if a resident was placed on one to one (1:1) monitoring, an assigned staff member must remain with the resident at all times and that documentation of the monitoring would be noted in the medical record. Review of the facility policy entitled, Elopements/Elopement Policy, last reviewed July 14, 2025, revealed that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-06-23 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — isolated
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of facility documentation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide sufficient nursing staff to meet resident needs. Findings include: Review of the facility's meal service start time revealed that the dining room doors opened at 11:15 a.m. Observation of the main dining room on June 23, 2026, at 11:30 a.m., revealed the room was empty and the door was closed. At the time of the observation, the Food Service Director stated the lunch meal would not be served in the main dining room due to a shortage of nursing staff. Observation on the Side 2 nursing unit on June 23, 2026, from 12:00 p.m. to 12:40 p.m., revealed residents were eating lunch in the lounge area, while other residents were observed eating lunch in their rooms. At the time of the observation, three nurse aids (NA 1, NA 2, and NA 3) stated that the main dining room was closed due to a shortage of nursing staff. The nurse aides reported they had to assist residents with meals in the lounge area and deliver meals to the residents' rooms. Review of facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-05-27 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on a review of facility policy, clinical record review and resident and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that physician ordered medications were available from the pharmacy for one of six sampled residents. (Resident 1) Findings include:A review of the facility policy entitled, Medication Ordering and Receiving from the Pharmacy, last reviewed May 5, 2026, revealed that medications were to be received from the dispensing pharmacy on a timely basis. New medications were to be ordered and timely delivery was required so that the medication administration was not delayed. Original prescriptions for controlled medication were to be given to the pharmacy delivery personnel at the time of the delivery. Clinical record review revealed that Resident 1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], and had diagnoses that included chronic respiratory failure, anxiety, chronic pain, and migraines. According to the Minimum Data Set assessment dated [DATE], the resident was alert and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-03-24 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan to include interventions to meet each resident's medical, physical, mental, and psychosocial needs for two of six sampled residents. (Residents 1, 2)Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], and had diagnoses that included acute kidney failure, anxiety, depression, and a history of suicidal ideation (thoughts centered around death or suicide). On February 25, 2026, staff documented that the resident was found outside after climbing out the window. Review of facility documentation dated February 25, 2026, revealed that Resident 1 removed two safety brackets, two screws, pushed the screen out and climbed out the window. On March 2, 2026, the psychology provider (a licensed mental health professional who evaluates and treats mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders through talk therapy, behavioral interventions, and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-12-10 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation, it was determined that the facility failed to provide a safe, clean, and comfortable environment on four of four nursing units. (1A, 1B, 2A, 2B)Findings include:Observations on December 10, 2025, from 9:00 a.m. through 1:37 p.m. revealed the following:Debris and black, red, and brown substances were observed on the hallway floors of Units 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B and in rooms 107, 115, 116, 122, 129, 201, 206, 216, 217, 305.42 CFR S 483.10(i) Safe EnvironmentPreviously cited 8/14/2528 Pa. Code 201.14(a) Responsibility of licensee. 28 Pa. Code 201.18(b)(1) Management.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-08-14 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, it was determined that the facility failed to provide a safe, clean, and comfortable environment on four of four nursing units. (1A, 1B, 2A, 2B)Findings include:Observations on August 12, 2025, from 9:00 a.m. through 12:17 p.m. revealed the following:Debris and a dark/black substance splattered throughout the hall floors of Units 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B and rooms 101, 109, 110, and 115.The floor in 217 had red and brown spots between the beds.There were brown spots on the ceiling in the hallway at room [ROOM NUMBER].There were red spots on the wall by the door in room [ROOM NUMBER]. The radiator in the resident lounge was broken with sharp, loose parts lying on the floor. The wall by the left entrance door in the main dining room was damaged. The wall behind both beds in room [ROOM NUMBER] was damaged. The ceiling and wall behind the toilet in room [ROOM NUMBER] were damaged. The mirrors were damaged in the bathrooms in rooms 217, 224, 308, 309, and 310.There were flying winged insects noted…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-08-14 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — pattern
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on review of facility policy, clinical record review, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to administer medications in accordance with physician orders for four of 24 sampled residents. (Residents 2, 6, 19, 34)Findings include: Review of the policy entitled, Medication Administration, last reviewed July 14, 2025, revealed staff were to obtain vital signs if necessary, and document physician indicated medication administration information.Clinical record review revealed that Resident 2 had diagnosis of hypertension (high blood pressure). On April 3, 2025, the physician ordered staff to administer a blood pressure medication (lisinopril) one time a day. The medication was to be held if the resident's systolic blood pressure (SBP, the first measurement of blood pressure when the heart beats and the pressure is at its highest) was less than 110 millimeters of mercury (mm/Hg) or if the resident's heart rate (the number of times a heart beats in one minute) was less than 60 bpm (beats per minute). Review of Resident 2's Medication Administration Records…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-14 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment was completed to accurately reflect the resident's status for two of 24 sampled residents. (Residents 27, 78) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Section N (Medications) of Resident 27's MDS assessment dated [DATE], indicated that the resident was not on an antipsychotic medication during the seven-day review period. Review of the resident's Medication Administration Record from June 2025 revealed that the resident did receive an antipsychotic (lurasidone) during the seven-day review period. Clinical record review revealed that section O (Special treatments, procedures, and programs) of the MDS assessment dated [DATE], indicated that Resident 78 did not receive tracheostomy care during the seven-day review period. Review of Resident 21's Treatment Administration record from July 2025 revealed that the resident did receive tracheostomy care during…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-14 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide treatment and services to prevent a reduction in range of motion and/or to improve or maintain mobility on a consistent basis for two of 24 sampled residents. (Residents 27, 78) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 27 had diagnoses that included muscle weakness and difficulty in walking. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], indicated that the resident was cognitively impaired and required limited assistance from staff for activities of daily living. On April 17, 2025, the physical therapist had recommended a Restorative Nursing Program (RNP) for ambulation. A physician's order dated April 17, 2025, directed staff to provide the RNP for 15 minutes twice a day, seven days a week. There was a lack of documentation to support that between July 16, 2025, through August 13, 2025, the resident was offered restorative ambulation twice a day, as ordered, on 30 of 30 days. Clinical…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-04-05 · tag F0806 — failed to honor food preferences — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, resident interview, and a review of facility documentation, it was determined that the facility failed to accommodate resident food allergies one of three sampled residents. (Resident 1) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], and that he was allergic to bananas. On March 31, 2025, a nurse noted that the resident reported that he had been served yogurt containing bananas at dinner. In an interview on April 5, 2025, at 8:30 a.m., the resident stated that he had recently been served yogurt containing bananas, and that it happened several times before. Review of facility investigation documents confirmed that on March 31, 2025, the resident was served yogurt containing bananas and that he ingested a small amount. The facility investigation further revealed that he had been served food containing bananas on three prior occasions. 28 Pa. Code 201.14(a) Responsibility of licensee. 28 Pa. Code 201.18(b) Management.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-07-12 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — pattern
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide restorative nursing services to prevent a reduction in range of motion and/or to improve or maintain mobility on a consistent basis for two of 20 sampled residents. (Residents 11, 21) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 11 had diagnoses that included traumatic brain injury, functional quadriplegia (complete inability to move due to severe disability), and bilateral hand contractures. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], indicated that the resident was cognitively impaired and dependent on staff for all activities of daily living. Review of Resident 11's current care plan revealed that the resident is at high risk for contractures due to immobility and that staff was to provide a restorative nursing program for passive range of motion to bilateral upper extremities at fingers and shoulders to reduce risk for further contracture twice a day. There was a lack of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-07-12 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the environment remained free of accident hazards on two of four nursing units. (Station 2A, Station 2B) Findings include: Observation on July 9, 2024, from 10:48 a.m. through 10:57 a.m., on Station 2A, medication in applesauce was left unattended on top of the medication cart. The medication was accessible to three cognitively impaired, mobile residents in the area. Observation on July 10, 2024, from 09:03 a.m. through 09:16 a.m., on Station 2B, medication in vanilla pudding was left unattended on top of the medication cart. The medication was accessible to three cognitively impaired, mobile residents in the area. In an interview on July 11, 2024, at 02:45 p.m., the Nursing Home Administrator confirmed that medication should not be unattended on the medication cart. 28 Pa. Code 211.12(d)(1)(5) Nursing services.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-07-12 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment was completed to accurately reflect the resident's status for two of 20 sampled residents. (Residents 11, 21) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Section N (Medications) of Resident 11's MDS assessment dated [DATE], indicated that the resident was not on an opioid medication during the seven-day review period, however review of the resident's record revealed that the resident did receive an opioid (tramadol) during the seven-day review period. Clinical record review revealed that section P of the MDS assessment dated [DATE], indicated that Resident 21 used a chair or other alarm less than daily during the seven-day review period. Review of Resident 21's clinical record revealed that the resident was not ordered and did not use a chair or other alarm during the seven-day review period, as inaccurately identified on the MDS assessment. In an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-12 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, observation, and staff and resident interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide services to maintain adequate grooming and personal hygiene for two of 20 sampled residents. (Residents 16, 40) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 16 had diagnoses that included bilateral hand contractures and diabetes mellitus. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed that the resident required assistance from staff for activites of daily living including personal hygiene. On July 11, 2024, at 10:35 a.m., Resident 16 was observed in his wheelchair and his fingernails and beard were long. The resident stated that he preferred his nails and beard to be short and that he had asked for them to be cut. Clinical record review revealed that Resident 40 had diagnoses that included diabetes mellitus and hypertension. Review of the MDS assessment dated [DATE], revealed that the resident required assistance from staff for activities…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-12 · tag F0685 — isolated
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and resident and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure each resident received timely treatment and services to maintain hearing abilities for one of 20 sampled residents. (Resident 33) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 33 had diagnoses that included diabetes mellitus and congestive heart failure. Review of the Minimum Data Set assessment dated [DATE], revealed that the resident had some difficulty hearing and used a hearing appliance. In an interview on July 10, 2024, at 1:00 p.m., Resident 33 stated that she has not received her hearing aides and has been waiting almost a year. Review of facility documentation revealed that on August 9, 2023, Resident 33 was seen by audiology and the physician determined that she would benefit from hearing aides. There was no documented evidence that the resident received hearing aides or that facility addressed this recommendation until July 11, 2024. In an interview on July 12, 2024,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-12 · tag F0810 — isolated
    Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review and observation, it was determined that the facility failed to provide adaptive equipment to assist with eating meals for one of 20 sampled residents. (Resident 44) Findings include: Clinical record review revealed that Resident 44 had diagnoses that included aspiration pneumonia and dysphagia. On May 13, 2024, the physician ordered for staff to provide assistance to Resident 44 at meals and for all food to be served in bowls. The care plan indicated that the resident was to receive her food in bowls. On July 9, 2024, from 11:45 a.m. through 12:30 p.m., the resident was observed in the dining room for lunch. She was served her meal on a regular plate. The resident was feeding herself and had a large amount of food spilt on her clothing protector. In an interview on July 12, 2024, at 12:20 p.m., the Director of Nursing confirmed that the resident should have received her food in bowls. 28 Pa. Code 211.12(d)(1)(3)(5) Nursing services.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$101,602 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $101,602 — penalty dated 2026-03-24

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to LME FAMILY HOLDINGS — 15 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 1 of 52.1-1.1 vs chain
Health inspection 1 of 52.2-1.2 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 52.3-0.3 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
The other 14 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.1★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
UNDERSCORE HOLDINGS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 05/14/2018
SAMARA HOLDINGS COMPANY LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST32%since 01/28/2020
STRAWBERRY HILL HOLDINGS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST32%since 01/28/2020
SEBBAG, GABRIELIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST5%since 05/14/2018
CLINICAL CONSULTING SERVICES LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2019
PRIORITY CARE GROUP LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2019
SUMMATION FINANCIAL SERVICES LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2019
PEARLSTEIN, ROBERTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/14/2018
ROBINSON, JACQUELYNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/26/2025
GPH MOUNT PENN LPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 05/14/2018

CMS files one row per role, so the 14 rows in the source record cover these 10 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$10.3M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+1.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$1.7M
Related-party expense17% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 74%Medicare 4%Other / private 22%

About 74% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.7M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 17% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$291per resident / day
operating cost
$8,837per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$294per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in PA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Pennsylvania Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Pennsylvania
$11,954/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$13,688/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,480/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 395627. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-14, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next