No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Carrier Mills Nsg & Rehab Ctr

6789 Us Rt 45, Carrier Mills, IL 62917 · For profit - Corporation · 99 certified beds · (618) 994-2323 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (618) 994-2323 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0744)1 actual-harm citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)$12,735 in federal fines
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (30% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • the CMS record shows $12,735 in federal fines (most recent 2026-05-26)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
1/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
901 S Commercial St · (618) 993-3817 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
710 S Commercial St · (618) 252-3059 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
7211 US-45 S · (618) 994-4296 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
109 E Washington St · (618) 994-2071

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased21.1%13.4%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.5%6.3%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.3%0.9%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.1%1.5%2.0%typical
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%54.2%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury6.5%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened16.4%14.3%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication37.0%18.3%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%91.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.7%4.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control28.9%20.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table18.1%21.7%17.1%typical
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine64.8%63.1%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission23.9%26.1%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit20.7%13.9%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.952.021.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days3.772.221.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

36.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 49 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

36.6%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
31.2%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.06hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 31.2% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 32 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 15% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 16% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF36.6%CMS range 27.5–47.051.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.9%CMS range 8.6–16.210.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge31.2%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge31.2%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge31.2%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened4.4%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization11.3%CMS range 7.2–17.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.951.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.38
RN hours/ resident / day
0.53
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.83
Aide hours/ resident / day
2.74
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.24
RN hoursweekends
30.2%
Total nursing turnover
42.9%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 99 beds and averages 81.0 residents a day — about 82% occupied, or roughly 18 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.74 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.38 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.83 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.36 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 2.89 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.44 to 0.24 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 30% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-09-25)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-10-31)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

9 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · Gcited before2026-05-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, observation, and record review the facility failed to provide the identified level of supervision and assistance required to prevent an accident for 1 of 3 (R1) residents reviewed for accidents in a sample of 9. This failure resulted in R1 falling and having multiple rib fractures.This past noncompliance occurred on 05/06/26.The findings include:R1's admission Record documents an admission date of 08/02/25, with diagnoses in part of unspecified dementia, bursitis of unspecified shoulder, unilateral primary osteoarthritis right hip, primary generalized osteoarthritis, unsteadiness on feet, unspecified abnormalities of gait and mobility, repeated falls, cognitive communication deficit, and other reduced mobility.R1's MDS (Minimum Data Set) dated 02/27/26 documents in Section C a BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) score of 7, which indicates moderately impaired cognition. Section GG documents toileting as partial/moderate assistance. Sit to stand and chair/bed to chair transfers documents…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-06-04 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure that residents who require assistance receive a shower for 2 (R20 and R1) of 3 residents reviewed for Activities of Daily Living in the sample of 20.This past non-compliance occurred between 4/1/26 and 5/26/26.1. R20's admission Record dated 6/2/26 documented an admission date of 2/18/26 and included diagnoses of fracture of left femur, dementia, lack of coordination, reduced mobility and generalized muscle weakness.R20's most recent Care Plan documents a focus area for self-care deficit dated 2/23/26. Interventions for this focus area include assisting with ambulation and transfers, assisting with toileting and showering/bathing both dated 2/23/26.R20's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] documents a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 3, indicating R20 has severe cognitive impairment. This MDS also documents R20 is dependent for showering/bathing, dressing and tub/shower transfers.R20's shower documentation from her…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-06-04 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure wound treatments were completed as ordered by the physician for 3 of 3 residents (R1, R19 and R20) reviewed for pressure ulcers in the sample of 20.This past non-compliance occurred between 4/1/26 - 5/26/26.1. R1's admission Record with print date of 6/2/26 documented an admission date of 3/28/26 and included diagnoses of infection and inflammatory reaction due to other cardiac vascular devices implants and grafts and end stage renal disease.R1's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] documents R1 is at risk for developing pressure ulcers and that he has two unhealed pressure ulcers that are unstageable. The MDS documents treatments for these unhealed pressure ulcers include the application of ointments/medications and pressure ulcer care.R1's most recent Care Plan documents a focus area of actual alteration in skin integrity AEB: DTI (deep tissue injury) to right lateral foot and right 5th toe and healing surgical wound to right upper…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · E2025-09-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure personal protective equipment was worn per current standards of practice for 5 of 9 (R5, R34, R44, R57, R76) residents reviewed for transmission-based precautions in the sample of 33. Findings Include:1. R34's admission Record with a print date of 09/25/2025 documents R34 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that include heart failure and hypertension. R34's MDS (Minimum Data Set) dated 7/4/2025 documents R34 has a BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) score of 07, indicating R34 has a severe cognitive deficit. R34's Order Summary Report dated 09/25/2025 documents a physician order dated 9/22/25 of, Isolation, due to covid positive, per facility protocol. R34's current Care Plan did not document a Focus area related to Covid 19 and/or transmission-based precautions. 2. R57's admission Record with a print date of 9/25/2025 documents R57 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that include Alzheimer's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-10-31 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide showers or bathing alternative, twice per week for 2 (R7 and R56) of 3 residents reviewed for showers in a sample of 36. Findings included: 1. R7's admission Record documents admission to the facility on [DATE] and included diagnoses of muscle weakness, abnormal gait, Parkinson's disease and extra-pyramidal/movement disorder. R7's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented R7 needs partial moderate assistance from staff for showering/bathing and does not exhibit the behavior of rejecting care. This same MDS documented R7 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 14, indicating he was cognitively intact. On 10/28/2024 at approximately 10:00 AM, R7 said he does not receive his showers as scheduled and at times goes long periods without a bath. R7 said he was supposed to get two showers per week but sometimes the staff do not come and get him for his shower. R7 said he needs a lot of assistance from the staff to get his showers.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-31 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure restorative programs were implemented to prevent a decline in condition for one of one residents (R35) reviewed for position/mobility in the sample of 36. Findings Include: R35's admission Record with a print date of 10/31/24 documents R35 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included heart failure, heart disease, insomnia, and obstructive and reflux uropathy. R35's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documents R35 had a BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) score of 04, which indicates R35 has a severe cognitive deficit. This same MDS does not document any restorative programs or physical therapy. On 10/29/24 at 11:27 AM, V9 (Licensed Practical Nurse/LPN) was observed administering medication to R35. R35 was tearful. V9 questioned R35 why he was tearful and R35 stated that his family wants him to walk but they cannot find a tank (oxygen tank) for him to use. R35 stated he has not walked in he does not know…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-10-31 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review and observation, the facility failed to implement planned fall interventions for 2 (R7 and R52) of 7 residents reviewed for falls in a sample of 36. Findings included: 1. R7's admission Record documented admission to the facility on [DATE] and included diagnoses of muscle weakness, abnormal gait, Parkinson's disease and extra-pyramidal/movement disorder among others. R7's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented R7 needs supervision from staff for toileting. This same MDS documented R7's had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 14, which indicates R7 was cognitively intact. A nursing note in R7's Electronic Health Record (EHR) dated 9/21/24 at 6:00 AM, documented the following in part: Resident observed lying on floor on back in doorway of room with overturned walker beside him. When asked what happened resident stated that he fell trying to go to bathroom. Resident is alert and verbal per norm. A form titled Illinois Department of Public Health Report with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-31 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — isolated
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a plan of care for a resident with Dementia that included appropriate treatment and services to attain or maintain the highest practicable well being for 1 (R77) of 3 residents reviewed for dementia care in a sample of 36. Findings included: According to his admission Record, R77 was admitted to this facility on 10/10/2024 with diagnoses of dementia, bipolar and anxiety among others. R77's MDS (Minimum Data Set) dated 10/17/2024 documented R77 is never understood, has short and long term memory problems, and due to this R77 could not participate in a BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) assessment. R77's Care Plan, with initiation date of 10/11/2024 included focus areas with interventions for the following problems and risks: urinary tract complications, weakness, self care deficit, risk for falls, risk for pain, risk for skin injury, risk for Covid 19, risk for constipation, black box medication warning and anticoagulant therapy. R77's Care Plan did not include a focus area with planned…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-23 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure timely physician notification of a change in a pressure wound, clarify changes in wound treatment orders, and administer treatments as ordered for a pressure wound for 1 (R1) of 3 residents reviewed for wound care in the sample of 3. Findings include: 1. R1's face sheet documented an admission date of 9/27/17 and diagnoses including: other reduced mobility, obstructive sleep apnea, unsteadiness on feet, morbid obesity, type 2 diabetes mellitus, pressure ulcer of sacral region stage 4, bacteremia, osteomyelitis. R1's 1/16/24 Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 8, indicating moderate cognitive impairment. On 1/16/24 at 9:50 AM, V5 (R1's Power of Attorney/ POA) said she was speaking with R1 on the phone about a month prior to this investigation when R1 complained of pain to R1's bottom. V5 said she called the facility and spoke with V2 (Director of Nursing/ DON) about assessing R1's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$12,735 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $12,735 — penalty dated 2026-05-26

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to WLC MANAGEMENT FIRM — 18 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.8+0.2 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 53.7+0.3 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 51.8+0.2 vs chain
Quality measures 1 of 51.5-0.5 vs chain
The other 17 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
WLC MANAGEMENT FIRM LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 03/01/2017
STOUT, SCOTTIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL100%since 03/01/2017

CMS files one row per role, so the 4 rows in the source record cover these 2 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-0.3%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$310K
Related-party expense5% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 66%Medicare 7%Other / private 27%

This home reported $310K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$242per resident / day
operating cost
$7,362per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$241per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Illinois Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Illinois
$8,304/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,216/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,219/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 145323. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-09-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next