No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Columbiana Health And Rehabilitation, LLC

22969 Highway 25, Columbiana, AL 35051 · For profit - Corporation · 63 certified beds · (205) 669-1712 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (205) 669-1712 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
1 actual-harm citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)$8,018 in federal fines
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
Worth asking about
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • the CMS record shows $8,018 in federal fines (most recent 2024-04-18)
  • about 55% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
  • its last standard health inspection was over 4 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★ 2/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
645 Crenshaw Rd · (205) 678-4373 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
111 S Main St · (205) 669-6713 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
211 W College St · (205) 669-4278 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Washington St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased12.3%12.0%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.3%5.4%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.0%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.5%2.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%1.4%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury7.6%3.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened11.0%12.1%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication29.1%24.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.1%5.4%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control9.9%12.8%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table23.4%21.2%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.9%2.0%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine91.7%80.3%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission23.0%24.8%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit6.2%11.3%12.0%better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

43.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 58 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

43.7%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.6%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.24U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.10hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.24 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 32% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 9% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF43.7%CMS range 32.1–57.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.6%CMS range 7.1–14.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.7%CMS range 3.5–12.27.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.741.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.62
RN hours/ resident / day
0.66
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.23
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.51
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.35
RN hoursweekends
52.8%
Total nursing turnover
83.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 63 beds and averages 60.6 residents a day — about 96% occupied, or roughly 2 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.51 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.62 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.23 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.04 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.70 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.73 to 0.35 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 53% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2022-08-24)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2019-10-17)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 4 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Actual harm · G2024-04-18 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, resident record review, review of the facility's investigative file, review of a facility policy titled, Medication Error ., the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #1, a resident with a history of seizures, received his/her Oxcarbazepine 300 mg (milligrams) QID (four times a day) as ordered. On 05/11/2023 at 10 PM, on 05/12/2023 at 4 AM, 10 AM and 4 PM, RI #1 did not receive the Oxcarbazepine as ordered by the physician; and on 05/13/2023, RI #1 began to have seizures and was sent to ER (Emergency Room) for evaluation. This medication error was significant due to the drug's classification as an anticonvulsant. This deficient practice affected RI #1, one of three residents sampled for the use of anticonvulsant medications. Findings include: Review of a facility policy titled, Medication Error ., dated 04/2020 revealed the following: . Definitions Medication Error/Discrepancy: . an omission of a vital medication due to a . administering error . Significant: Medication errors .…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-18 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, resident record review, and review of a facility policy titled, Hand Hygiene, the facility failed to ensure Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #9, performed hand hygiene and used Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) in a manner to prevent cross-contamination. On 04/17/2024 CNA #9 failed to perform hand hygiene after removing contaminated gloves, and before handling clean linens while providing incontinent care for Resident Identifier (RI) #5. This deficient practice affected RI #5; one of one resident observed receiving incontinent care. Findings include: Review of a facility policy titled, Hand Hygiene, with an effective date of 06/11/2020, revealed the following: PURPOSE: To provide guidelines to employees for proper and appropriate hand washing techniques that will aide in the prevention of the transmission of infections. STANDARD: Handwashing should be performed between procedures with residents . based upon the principle that . body fluids, secretions, excretions . may…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-24 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — isolated
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, interviews, and review of a facility policy titled Intramuscular Medications the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #2 Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), provided privacy when administering intramuscular medication to Resident Identifier (RI) #15 during morning medication administration on 8/23/22. This deficient practice had the potential to affect RI #15, one of one resident observed receiving intramuscular medication. Findings Include: A facility policy titled Intramuscular Medications with a review date of 4/20 documented .Intramuscular medications are administered in a safe and accurate manner. Procedures . 6. Provide privacy. 7. Select an appropriate site for injection. RI #15 was admitted to the facility 12/7/18. On 8/23/22 at 9:05 AM, EI #2 LPN entered RI #15's room. RI #15 was in bed and RI #15's roommate was observed sitting in the middle of the room watching the nurse. Without closing the privacy curtain around RI #15's bed and between RI #15 and the roommate, EI #2 pulled back the covers and RI #15's gown, exposing RI…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-10-17 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews and review of the facility's policies titled NON-CONTROLLED MEDICATION DESTRUCTION, and STORAGE OF MEDICATIONS AND BIOLOGICALS, the facility failed to ensure one medication card containing seven capsules labeled Ramipril/ Altace with an expiration date of 10/12/19 for Resident Identifier (RI) # 2 was not stored on the Medication Cart Two on 10/17/2019. The deficient practice affected one of two medication carts. Findings Include: Review of the facility policies titled, NON-CONTROLLED MEDICATION DESTRUCTION, dated 03/11, revealed, . expired medications . are destroyed or disposed of . and a facility policy titled, STORAGE OF MEDICATIONS AND BIOLOGICALS, dated 3/11, revealed . Procedure . 11. Outdated . medications . are removed from stock, disposed of . RI#2 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. A diagnosis included Hypertensive Heart Disease with Heart Failure. A Physician Order, dated 08/08/17, revealed on the October 1, 2019- October 31, 2019 orders, Altace 10 mg (milligram)…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$8,018 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $8,018 — penalty dated 2024-04-18

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to NHS MANAGEMENT — 43 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.7+1.3 vs chain
Staffing 3 of 53.7-0.7 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 53.5+0.5 vs chain
The other 42 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)
1 of 5Aspire Physical Recovery Center At Cahaba RiverVestavia, AL 1 of 5Aspire Physical Recovery Center At Hoover, LLCHoover, AL 1 of 5Cordova Health And Rehabilitation, LLCCordova, AL 1 of 5Glen Haven Health And Rehabilitation, LLCNorthport, AL 1 of 5Huntsville Health & Rehabilitation, LLCHuntsville, AL 1 of 5Legacy Health And Rehabilitation Of Pleasant GrovePleasant Grove, AL 1 of 5Prattville Health And Rehabilitation, LLCPrattville, AL 1 of 5St Augustine Health And Rehabilitation CenterSaint Augustine, FL 1 of 5Wetumpka Health And Rehabilitation, LLCWetumpka, AL 2 of 5Civic Center Health And Rehabilitation, LLCBirmingham, AL 2 of 5Gulf Coast Health And Rehabilitation, LLCMobile, AL 2 of 5Legacy Health And Rehabilitation CenterFort Smith, AR 2 of 5South Health And Rehabilitation, LLCBirmingham, AL 2 of 5Springdale Health And Rehabilitation CenterSpringdale, AR 2 of 5Tallassee Health And Rehabilitation, LLCTallassee, AL 2 of 5West Melbourne Health & Rehabilitation CenterWest Melbourne, FL 3 of 5Ashland Place Health And Rehabilitation, LLCMobile, AL 3 of 5Fayetteville Health And Rehabilitation CenterFayetteville, AR 3 of 5Florala Health And Rehabilitation LLCFlorala, AL 3 of 5Hunter Creek Health And Rehabilitation, LLCNorthport, AL 3 of 5Jacksonville Health And Rehabilitation, LLCJacksonville, AL 3 of 5Northway Health And Rehabilitation, LLCBirmingham, AL 3 of 5Oak Knoll Health And Rehabilitation, LLCBirmingham, AL 3 of 5Opp Health And Rehabilitation, LLCOpp, AL 3 of 5Ozark Health And Rehabilitation, LLCOzark, AL 3 of 5Park Manor Health And Rehabilitation, LLCNorthport, AL 3 of 5South Haven Health And Rehabilitation, LLCBirmingham, AL 3 of 5Sumter Health And Rehabilitation, L L CYork, AL 4 of 5Aspire Physical Recovery Center Of West AlabamaNorthport, AL 4 of 5Covington Court Health And Rehabilitation CenterFort Smith, AR 4 of 5Crystal River Health And Rehabilitation CenterCrystal River, FL 4 of 5Georgiana Health And Rehabilitation, LLCGeorgiana, AL 4 of 5Luverne Health And Rehabilitation, LLCLuverne, AL 4 of 5Moundville Health And Rehabilitation, LLCMoundville, AL 4 of 5Ocala Health And Rehabilitation CenterOcala, FL 4 of 5Paris Health And Rehabilitation CenterParis, AR 4 of 5Valley View Health And Rehabilitation, LLCMadison, AL 5 of 5Athens Health And Rehabilitation LLCAthens, AL 5 of 5Crossville Health And Rehabilitation, LLCCrossville, AL 5 of 5Daytona Beach Health And Rehabilitation CenterDaytona Beach, FL

Showing 40 of 42; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
NORTHPORT HOLDING OPERATIONS, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 08/21/2002
JAMES N ESTES JR FAMILY DYNASTY TR NO 2Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST18%since 12/27/2012
JAMES NORMAN ESTES JR TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST6%since 06/30/2013
JENNIFER E AGEE FAMILY DYNASTY TR NO 2Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST18%since 12/27/2012
JENNIFER LEE ESTES TR 031093Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST6%since 06/30/2013
ESTES, JAMESIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER51%since 08/21/2002
REGIONS BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; 5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTERESTsince 08/25/2015
COLUMBIANA HEALTH REALTY, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTERESTsince 10/01/2019
COBB, LEIGHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/24/2023
MORRIS, HILARYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/01/2023
RASCO, LYNNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/29/2013
LONG, PHILLIPIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 10/01/2019
SMITH, KRISTINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/05/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 19 rows in the source record cover these 13 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.3M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-4.2%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$3.6M
Related-party expense55% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 34%Medicare 5%Other / private 61%

This home reported $3.6M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 55% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$297per resident / day
operating cost
$9,029per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$285per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in AL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alabama
$8,334/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$8,787/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,425/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015453. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2022-08-24, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next