No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Envive Of Beech Grove

501 N 17th Ave, Beech Grove, IN 46107 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 52 certified beds · (317) 786-2261 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (317) 786-2261 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 11 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
2030 Churchman Ave · (317) 786-9285 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1808 Albany St · (317) 786-1031 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
3755 E Raymond St · (317) 493-1711 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1300 Churchman Ave · (317) 788-4977 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
1402 Southern Ave · (201) 311-1218

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased34.7%11.0%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight4.9%5.5%5.4%typical
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.4%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.7%1.1%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms35.1%25.2%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury6.1%3.9%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened29.1%11.9%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication15.2%23.5%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine93.5%95.4%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.7%3.6%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control26.7%23.3%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table12.3%13.6%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine35.7%79.0%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission16.0%22.2%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit18.3%10.8%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.061.611.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.321.441.80better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

39.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 35 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

39.7%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.0%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
56.5%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
not reportedno hours filed
Therapy hours / resident / day

Met the expected recovery: 56.5% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 23 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: not reported. This home filed no therapist hours at all in its payroll data for this quarter. That is a gap in what it reported, and we do not read it as an absence of therapy — the homes that file nothing here include ones that discharged hundreds of Medicare rehab patients in the very same period, who plainly received therapy from someone. Because we cannot tell a home that under-reports from one that genuinely provides little, this home is left out of the comparison above rather than scored at zero. Ask it directly how many therapist hours a rehab resident gets, and on which days.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF39.7%CMS range 26.8–52.551.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.0%CMS range 6.2–15.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge56.5%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge47.8%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge60.9%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay3.7%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened3.7%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.5%CMS range 3.6–13.67.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.091.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

RN hours/ resident / day
LPN hours/ resident / day
Aide hours/ resident / day
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
RN hoursweekends
50.0%
Total nursing turnover
57.1%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 52 beds and averages 41.9 residents a day — about 81% occupied, or roughly 10 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.19 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.76 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.75 to 0.35 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 50% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-17)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-12-18)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · E2025-12-17 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — pattern
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed follow the menus prepared in advance for 1 of 1 dining observations. Findings include: On 12/10/25 at 1:00 p.m., observed posted menu on the wall, outside of the main dining room. The menu indicated scalloped potatoes were to be served on 12/10/25 during lunch time. During a dining observation on 12/10/25 at 1:10 p.m., the following was observed: - Resident 44, Resident 24, Resident 29, and Resident 42's lunch plate was observed to include mashed potatoes, the plate did not include the listed scalloped potatoes as indicated on the posted menu. - At that time, Resident 42's a family member indicated the meals Resident 42 received on his meal tray did not match the posted menu. During an interview on 12/19/25 at 1:00 p.m., the Administrator indicated he was not aware of the discrepancy and indicated the posted menu should match the served meal. On 12/12/25 at 9:12 a.m., the Executive Director provided a policy titled Kitchen operations: Meal Service and Distribution, dated December 2022, and indicated it was the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-12-17 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure food was served in a sanitary manner for 1 of 3 kitchen observations. A refrigerator food item was not covered, and a perishable food item was not discarded by the use-by-date. Findings include: During the initial facility tour with the Executive Director (ED) on 12/9/25 at 9:45 a.m., the resident snack pantry, located near the resident dining room area, was observed. The following was observed inside the resident snack pantry refrigerator:-One plastic gallon container of Country Fresh white milk was located on the shelf of the refrigerator door. The milk container contained a grayish colored thick substance that covered the bottom of the container. Similar substances were observed inside the container that was adhered to the sides of the container. Near the top of the milk container, the manufacturer's pre-printed Use By Date: 11/30/25 was observed.-One medium sized plastic pan was observed on the top shelf of the refrigerator unit. The pan was approximately ten percent full of applesauce. The pan was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-17 · tag F0810 — isolated
    Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide special eating utensils for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for restorative services. (Resident 42) Finding included: On 12/10/25 at 1:39 p.m., the clinical record for Resident 42 was reviewed. The diagnoses included, but were not limited to, hemiplegia (loss of strength in the arm, leg, and sometimes face on one side of the body) and hemiparesis (weakness or the inability to move on one side of the body, making it hard to perform everyday activities like eating or dressing). The current Physician's orders, dated 11/9/25 indicated the following: - Regular diet, pureed texture, nectar/mildly thick consistency fluids. - An Occupational Therapy clarification Order, dated 11/17/25 with no end date, indicated Resident 42 was to use a Kennedy cup (a lightweight, easy to grip adapted drinking cup designed to prevent spills) and scoop plate (a scoop plate is a type of dish specifically designed to help individuals with limited motor skills or disabilities that makes eating challenging) during all meals. During a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-17 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement infection control practices for 1 of 1 residents with urinary catheters observed. A urinary catheter drainage bag was touching the floor. (Resident 26)Finding includes: On 12/9/2025 from 12:10 p.m., until 12:30 p.m., observed Resident 26 sitting in the dining room. The resident's catheter drainage bag was observed to be hanging from the wheel chair and the drainage bag was touching the floor. During an interview on 12/9/25 at 12:33 p.m., Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) 2, indicated the catheter drainage bag was not supposed to touch the floor. On 12/9/25 at 12:35 p.m., observed the Assistant Director Nursing adjust the catheter drainage bag so that it was not touching the floor. On 12/12/25 at 8:37 a.m., the Director of Nursing provided a policy titled Catheter Care, dated August, 2024, and indicated it was the current policy being used by the facility. A review of the policy indicated .11. Be sure the catheter tubing and drainage bag are kept off the floor. 3.1-18(b)(1)

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-12-18 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure foods were maintained and served in a sanitary and safe manner for 4 of 4 observations. Staff hair was not covered while in the kitchen food preparation and serving area. (Dietary Manager) Findings include: 1. The initial kitchen tour was conducted with the Dietary Manager (DM) on 12/10/24 from 9:00 a.m. to 9:20 a.m. The DM was observed walking through out the kitchen area and near the food preparation table where the noon meal was being prepared. The DM was observed to have multiple loose facial chin hairs approximately one-fourth inch to one-half inch in length. The chin hairs were observed to not be covered. 2. During a follow up kitchen observation on 12/10/24 from 11:25 a.m. to 11:45 a.m., the DM was observed at and near the steam table where the noon meal foods were being held. The DM was observed taking and recording the noon meal food temperatures. The DM was observed to have multiple loose facial chin hairs approximately one-fourth inch to one-half inch in length. The chin hairs were observed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-18 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a physician's ordered skin tear treatment was followed for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for skin integrity. Wound dressings were not dated and initialed and the dressing change was continued beyond the physician's orders.(Resident 6) Findings include: During an observation on 12/10/24 at 10:45 a.m., Resident 6 was observed sitting in her wheelchair in the hall near her room. Resident 6's left mid-shin area was observed. A dry and intact tan colored dressing, approximately two inches by three inches, was observed covering the mid-shin area. The dressing lacked any documentation that indicated when and who had applied the dressing to the resident's shin area. During an interview at that time, Resident 6 indicated she was unsure when or why the dressing had been applied to her leg. On 12/12/24 at 1:15 p.m., Resident 6 was observed in her room and was sitting in her recliner with both legs elevated. Resident 6's left mid-shin area was observed. A dry and intact tan colored dressing, approximately two inches…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-18 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to document the drug dispositions for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for closed records. (Resident 47) Finding includes: On 12/13/24 at 12:36 p.m., Resident 47's clinical record was reviewed. The diagnoses included, but were not limited to, hypertension, cerebral infarction (stroke), and hyperlipidemia (high cholesterol). A physician's order summary report of medications, dated for active orders as of 9/17/24, included but were not limited to: - hydralazine HCL 25 milligrams (mg) for hypertension (high blood pressure) - atorvastatin calcium 80 mg for lowering cholesterol - carvedilol 3.125 mg for hypertension - hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg for hypertension The Envive Discharge Summary document, was initiated on 9/16/24 in anticipation for Resident 47's planned discharge. A review of the document indicated Resident 47's current medications were to be sent home with the resident on her scheduled discharge date of 9/17/24. The record included Resident 47's current medications; however, it lacked the actual number of pills per…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-12-18 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — isolated
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a soiled utility room lock was repaired for 1 of 1 soiled utility rooms observed. Findings included: On 12/10/24 at 10:00 a.m., observed the door to the Soiled Utility Room between room [ROOM NUMBER] and room [ROOM NUMBER] to be unlocked. An observation of the lock to the door was missing numerical key pads and the door latch was taped to prevent the door from locking when the door closed. In the unlocked room, a barrel labeled trash, three barrels labeled soiled linen, and two barrels containing items in biohazard bags were observed. The door to the Soiled Utility Room had a sign which read, Restricted Area, Authorized Personnel Only. During an interview on 12/10/14 at 10:05 a.m., Qualified Medication Aide (QMA) 2 indicated the door should have been locked, but the lock was broken and there should have been a work order for it. During an interview on 12/10/24 at 10:22 a.m., the Director of Nursing (DON) indicated the door should…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-12-20 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a Resident's Advanced Directive (code status) preference was implemented and recorded accurately in the clinical record for 1 of 16 residents reviewed for Advanced Directives. (Resident 46) Finding includes: On [DATE] at 2:45 p.m., Resident 46's clinical record was reviewed. Resident 46 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. The new admission MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment, dated [DATE], indicated Resident 46 was severely cognitively impaired. Resident 46's baseline care plan indicated .Focus: [NAME] Care Guide, date initiated: [DATE] and current through [DATE] .Goal: The resident's care will be provided .Interventions: Code status/advanced directive [decision regarding health care intervention]: Full code [meaning a desire for all life sustaining measures were to be implemented] . Resident 46 had an appointed Health Care Power of Attorney (a legal document that grants a trusted person the authority to make healthcare decisions on your…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-12-20 · tag F0655 — isolated
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to initiate a baseline care plan for a newly admitted resident for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for baseline careplans. (Resident 27) Finding includes: On 12/12/23 at 1:38 p.m. the clinical record for Resident 27 was reviewed. The diagnoses included, but were not limited to, Diabetes Mellitus and fractured left patella. Resident 27 was admitted on [DATE]. The clinical record lacked a personalized baseline careplan. During an interview 12/14/23 at 2:12 p.m., RN 2 indicated Resident 27 should have had a baseline careplan initiated within 48 hours of admission. On 12/14/23 at 2:30 p.m., the Director of Nursing provided a policy titled Nursing Admission/Return Admission, dated August of 2022, and indicated it was the current policy being used by the facility. A review of the policy indicated .6. After completion of the admission nursing assessment a Baseline care plan will be initiated for all new admissions . 3.1-30(a)

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2023-12-20 · tag F0732 — widespread
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the daily posted nursing hours reflected the actual hours worked by nursing staff for 14 of 14 days reviewed. Findings include: On 12/12/23 at 9:33 a.m., observed the posted nursing hours. The posted nursing hours did not specify the actual nursing hours worked. On 12/12/23 at 9:45 a.m., the Director of Nursing provided copies of the previous posted nursing hours. The posted nursing hours for November 28, 29, 30, December 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11, 2023, lacked the actual hours worked by nursing staff. On 12/12/23 at 10:00 a.m., during an interview the Director of Nursing was not aware the actual hours had to be posted and indicated the facility follows the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services nursing home requirements. On 12/12/24 at 10:05 a.m., the facility policy was requested from the Director of Nursing. On 12/20/23 at 10:00 a.m., a specific policy for posted nursing hours was not provided by the end of the survey.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to ENVIVE HEALTHCARE — 12 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.2+0.8 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.3+1.7 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 51.8-0.8 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 53.8-0.8 vs chain
The other 11 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.2★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITALOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTsince 10/01/2022
BANKWELL BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTsince 10/01/2022
BORNE-BAUMAN, CANDICEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
FLUECKIGER, RUSSELLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
LEHMAN, SCOTTIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
MACKLIN, LARRYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
MCINTIRE, DAVIDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYsince 10/01/2022
SMITH, SCOTTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
SPRUNGER, KYLEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
WHEELER, DANEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2022
LT CARE ACQUISITION CORPOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2022
PAUL HERMITAGE OPERATOR LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2022
BENSON, DAVIDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/24/2022
MUSTAKLEM, MARWANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/12/2022
501 N 17TH PROPERTY LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2022
BLUE MANAGEMENT SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
ENVIVE HEALTHCARE LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2022
FIRST BANK OF BERNEOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2022

CMS files one row per role, so the 29 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

8 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$7.1M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+11.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$886K
Related-party expense14% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 38%Medicare 4%Other / private 58%

This home reported $886K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 14% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$249per resident / day
operating cost
$7,575per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$280per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Indiana Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Indiana
$8,943/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,326/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,639/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 155859. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-17, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next