Envive Of Liberty
215 West High Street, Liberty, IN 47353 · For profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (765) 458-5117 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jan 2025
- it has 3 actual-harm citations
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (64%) runs well above the national median (45%)
- about 17% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 16.9% | 11.0% | 15.4% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.9% | 5.5% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.1% | 0.4% | 0.9% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.1% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 68.7% | 25.2% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.0% | 3.9% | 3.3% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 22.9% | 11.9% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 20.5% | 23.5% | 18.9% | typical |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.4% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 6.1% | 3.6% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 28.7% | 23.3% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 1.8% | 13.6% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 88.9% | 79.0% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 32.7% | 22.2% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 13.3% | 10.8% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 3.39 | 1.61 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.39 | 1.44 | 1.80 | better |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
53.1% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 34 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Therapy staffing: not reported. This home filed no therapist hours at all in its payroll data for this quarter. That is a gap in what it reported, and we do not read it as an absence of therapy — the homes that file nothing here include ones that discharged hundreds of Medicare rehab patients in the very same period, who plainly received therapy from someone. Because we cannot tell a home that under-reports from one that genuinely provides little, this home is left out of the comparison above rather than scored at zero. Ask it directly how many therapist hours a rehab resident gets, and on which days.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 53.1%CMS range 37.4–67.0 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.6%CMS range 5.5–14.1 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 88.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.2%CMS range 3.2–12.0 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.96 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 28.7 residents a day — about 48% occupied, or roughly 31 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.74 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.59 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.16 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.80 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.72 on weekdays — about the same on weekends as weekdays. RN hours go from 0.58 to 0.62 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 64% is well above the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Actual harm · G2025-11-06 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to complete neurological assessments after two residents fell and hit their head resulting in Resident B sustaining a subdural hematoma (collection of blood that forms between the dura mater (the outer layer of the brain's protective membranes) and the brain itself) and requiring hospitalization for 2 of 3 residents reviewed for accidents (Residents B and D). Findings include:1. Review of the clinical record of Resident B on 11/6/25 at 11:02 a.m., indicated the resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to sick sinus syndrome, syncope and collapse, hypertensive heart disease, diabetes, anemia, anxiety, coronary artery disease, cerebral vascular accident (CVA) and hypertension. The clinical record for Resident B indicated the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE] from the local hospital. The local hospital note for Resident B indicated the resident was in the hospital from [DATE] to 10/22/25. The resident was riding his 3 wheeled electric…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · Gcited before2025-11-06 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a safe environment in the shower room (wet/slick floor) with two residents suffering a fall in the shower room (Resident B and C). This deficiency resulted in Resident B acquiring a large right acute subdural hematoma with left midline shift and uncal herniation. Findings include: 1. Review of the clinical record of Resident B on [DATE] at 11:02 a.m., indicated the resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to sick sinus syndrome, syncope and collapse, hypertensive heart disease, diabetes, anemia, anxiety, coronary artery disease, cerebral vascular accident (CVA) and hypertension. The clinical record for Resident B indicated the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE] from the local hospital. The baseline functional status assessment for Resident B, dated [DATE] at 12:51 p.m., indicated the resident was cognitively intact for daily decision making. The resident required substantial/maximal assistance for showering.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · Gcited before2024-07-12 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY 1. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure staff effectively implemented fall prevention interventions while using an assistive device in the shower to prevent accidents for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for accidents. This deficient practice resulted in Resident 6 experiencing a fall that required hospitalization for the treatment of a subarachnoid hemorrhage. 2. The facility failed to ensure fall interventions were in place while utilizing an assistive device for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for positioning and mobility. (Resident 23) Findings include: 1. Resident 6's record was reviewed, on 7/11/24 at 10:38 a.m., and diagnoses included, but were not limited to, traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage, chronic pain syndrome, polyosteoarthritis, morbid (severe) obesity, and muscle weakness. The record indicated Resident 6 was hospitalized , from 4/13/24-4/17/24, after falling off a shower bed. The record indicated Resident 6 sustained a subarachnoid hemorrhage as a result from the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-06 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to notify a resident's physician and emergency contact/resident representative when a resident fell and hit his head for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for accidents (Resident B). Finding include:Review of the clinical record of Resident B on 11/6/25 at 11:02 a.m., indicated the resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to sick sinus syndrome, syncope and collapse, hypertensive heart disease, diabetes, anemia, anxiety, coronary artery disease, cerebral vascular accident (CVA) and hypertension. The progress note for Resident B, dated 10/22/25 at 8:58 p.m., indicated the resident fell in the shower room around 8:20 p.m., the Emergency Medical technician (EMT) was called to assist the resident off the floor because the resident had a pacemaker placed on 10/21/25. The Director of Nursing (DON) was notified. There was no documentation of the physician or the resident's representative being notified. During an interview with CNA 1, on 11/5/25 at 11:20 a.m., she indicated she was assisting Resident B with a shower on 10/22/25…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-09-23 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain holding temperatures for pureed food for 4 of 4 residents receiving pureed foods. (Resident 10, 17, 23, and 29) Findings include: A tour of the kitchen was conducted, on 9/19/25 at 11:30 a.m., with [NAME] 2. During an observation of the pureed food temperatures being obtained, it was noted that pureed taco meat was recorded with a holding temperature of 90 degrees Fahrenheit, and pureed green beans had a holding temperature of 100 degrees Fahrenheit. During an observation of the steam table with [NAME] 2, four containers of pureed taco meat and four containers of pureed green beans were stacked to the right side of the steam table. During an interview with [NAME] 2, they indicated food temperatures were obtained one time after being cookedand before they were placed on the steam table. Food temperatures were obtained, on 9/19/25 at 11:00 a.m., before the food was placed on the steam table. [NAME] 2 indicated the taco meat was 171 degrees Fahrenheit, and the green beans were 160 degrees Fahrenheit.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-24 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to protect the resident's right to be free from verbal abuse by a staff member for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for verbal abuse. (Resident B) Findings include: The facility completed an incident report and sent it to the Indiana Department of Health (IDOH) Long Term Care division, on 9-25-24, related to Resident B and Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) 4. In a written witness statement, dated 9-25-24, Registered Nurse (RN) 5, indicated on the same date at 5:15 p.m., he and another resident's family member, overheard [name of CNA 4] using inappropriate language and speaking in a raised tone towards the resident. The resident was heard using a racial slur directed at the staff member. In response, [name of CNA 4] stated 'You will not call me that, do you f-----g understand?' and added, 'You cannot attempt to get out of bed on your own; I already had to help your a-- off the floor once today.' This writer intervened by removing [name of CNA 4] from the room and escorting her to the break room to collect her belongings, followed by an…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-01-24 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure falls were investigated and documented thoroughly for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for falls. (Residents E, G and H) Findings include: 1. The clinical record of Resident E was reviewed on 1-23-25 at 2:52 p.m. Her diagnoses included, but were not limited to, Alzheimer's disease, dementia, anxiety, chronic pain, spinal stenosis, and general muscle weakness. Her most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 11-18-24, indicated she was severely cognitively impaired, used a wheelchair for mobility, and was dependent for walking, toileting, and bed mobility. It indicated she had falls within the last six months, but no fractures. The Director of Nursing (DON) provided a fall log, indicating Resident E had a fall without injury on 10-12-24 at 3:55 p.m. During an interview with the DON on 1-23-25 at 3:16 p.m., she indicated Resident E had a diagnosis of dementia and did have a history of falls. I will have to look in her old chart and the old records for her information. She is the only person with a fall listed for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-07-12 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolatedReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide fresh ice water daily and failed to keep a call light and personal items within reach for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for choices (Resident 20, Resident 17 and Resident 2). Findings include: 1. During an observation and interview with Resident 20, on 7/9/24 at 12:59 p.m., she had a warm pitcher of water on her nightstand. The resident indicated she frequently went without fresh ice water and only received fresh fluids with meals. During an observation, on 7/10/24 at 10:58 a.m., Resident 20 had a water pitcher of water on her nightstand. Review of Resident 20's clinical record, on 7/12/24 at 11:32 a.m., indicated the diagnoses included, but were not limited to, diabetes, hypertension, anxiety, chronic kidney disease, and bladder disorder. The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 6/21/24, indicated Resident 20 was cognitively intact for daily decision making. The resident was consistent and reasonable. The physician order for Resident 20, dated 6/18/24, indicated to offer additional 120…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-07-12 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to store a Bi Pap facial mask and nebulizer mouthpiece in a bag to maintain good infection control practices for 1 of 4 residents reviewed for respiratory therapy (Resident 17). Findings include: During an observation, on 7/09/24 at 1:31 p.m., Resident 17's Bi Pap (airway support administered through a mask) facial mask was lying on the nightstand and not in a bag. The facial mask had brown substance around the facial mask. During an observation, on 7/10/24 at 10:57 a.m., Resident 17 was sitting in her geriatric chair and her nebulizer machine mouthpiece was lying on the bedside table with no bag. During an observation and interview, on 7/10/24 at 1:30 p.m., Resident 17's nebulizer machine mouthpiece was lying on the bedside table with no bag. The resident indicated some nurses put the nebulizer mouthpiece in a bag and some do not. Review of the record for Resident 17, on 7/10/24 at 12:52 p.m., indicated the resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to, peripheral vascular disease, congestive heart…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-07-12 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide and administer a resident's medication, as ordered, for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for antibiotic use. (Resident 18) Findings include: The clinical record for Resident 18 was reviewed on 7/10/24 at 11:17 a.m. The diagnosis included, but were not limited to, urinary tract infection. The chronic urinary tract infection care plan, last revised 7/1/24, indicated the goal was for Resident 18 to be free from signs and symptoms of urinary tract infection. Two of the interventions were to administer medications as ordered and Macrobid 100 milligrams (mg) on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday for 36 doses. The 6/20/24, Urology Visit Summary indicated, Chief Complaint as stated by patient: f/u [follow up] UTI [urinary tract infection.] How long have you been experiencing this issue?: weeks What improves/worsens this issue?: Requesting ongoing low dose abx [antibiotic ] PLAN .pt [patient] here for more UTI .Will get str [straight] cath [catheter] cx [culture] sent out and start on low dose preventative antibx…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-06 · tag F0557 — isolatedHonor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to provide a respectful and dignified environment during care for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for dignity (Resident B). Finding include: During an interview with Resident B's family member on 6/1/23 at 10:19 a.m., indicated they were visiting their family member on 4/18/23. The resident was in the bathroom and pushed the call light for assistance. CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) 1 came into the resident's room and said what do you want I have better things to do. Resident B indicated to the family member that girl was mean to me. The family member filed a grievance and within in an hour was contacted by the Administrator. The Administrator indicated CNA 1 was having a bad day and the facility would retrain her. The family member did not feel the grievance was resolved and CNA 1 was rude and disrespectful to Resident B. During an interview with CNA 1 on 6/2/23 at 2:20 p.m., indicated on 4/18/23 Resident B was in the bathroom and had pushed the call light. CNA 1 went into the bathroom and the resident told her she had bugs…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-06 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to keep bedroom wall in good repair, maintain and odor free environment and keep bedroom window clean and good repair for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for environment (Resident E, Resident F and Resident B). Findings include: 1. During an observation on 5/31/23 at 11:18 a.m., Resident E had peeling paint and scratches on the bedroom wall. During an interview with Resident E's family member on 5/31/23 at 2:25 p.m., indicated the resident had always been particular and clean. The resident's bedroom wall was in disrepair with peeling paint. 2. During an interview and observation on 5/31/23 at 11:41 a.m., Resident F's bedroom had a strong odor of urine. Resident F indicated he could smell the urine in his room. The resident indicated the facility did not clean his mattress regularly and would change his sheets without washing the bed. During an observation on 6/1/23 at 2:12 p.m., Resident F's bedroom had a strong smell of urine. During an observation on 6/2/23 at 2:20 p.m., Resident F's bedroom had a strong smell of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-06 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide a resident with oral care for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). (Resident 18) Finding include: During an observation on 5/31/23 at 1:40 p.m., Resident 18 had a thick film with white substance on his teeth and gum line. During an observation on 6/1/23 at 2:08 p.m., Resident 18 had a thick film with white substance on his teeth and gum line. During an observation on 6/2/23 at 3:01 p.m., Resident 18 had a thick film with white substance on his teeth and gum line. During an observation and interview with Resident 18 on 6/5/23 at 1:55 p.m., the resident had a thick film with white substance on his teeth and gum line. Resident 18 indicated the facility staff did not assist him with brushing his teeth or flossing. The resident indicated he was right-handed, and it was difficult to brush his own teeth because he was missing four fingers on his right hand. Resident 18 indicated he would appreciate it if staff would help him with oral care. Review of the record of Resident 18 on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-06-06 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to transfer a resident in a safe manner for 1 of 4 residents reviewed for accidents (Resident B). Finding include: During an interview with Resident B's family member on 6/1/23 at 10:19 a.m., indicated on 4/18/23 Resident B was in the bathroom and pushed her call light for help getting up. CNA 1 came into the bathroom and was pulling on the resident's arm and pants to get her off the toilet. The CNA did not use a gait belt and ripped the resident's pants during the transfer. During an interview with CNA 1 on 6/2/23 at 2:20 p.m., indicated on 4/18/23 she transferred Resident B from the toilet by holding the resident under her arm and by her pants. CNA 1 indicated she did not use a gait belt during the transfer. The CNA indicated she felt rushed that day. Review of the record of Resident B on 6/5/23 at 12:45 p.m., indicated the resident's diagnoses included, but were not limited to, muscle weakness, unsteadiness on feet, anxiety, difficulty walking, major depression disorder, acute kidney disorder, low back pain, syncope, and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-06 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolatedProvide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, observation, and record review, the facility failed to implement nonpharmacological pain control, failed to administer as needed pain medication for verbal reports of pain, and failed to notify the physician of breakthrough pain for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for pain management. (Resident 11) Findings include: The clinical record for Resident 11 was reviewed on 6/2/2023 at 1:05 p.m. The medical diagnosis included chronic pain. A Quarterly Minimum Data Set Assessment, dated 2/22/2023, indicated that Resident 11 was cognitively intact and experiences constant pain. An interview with Resident 11 on 5/31/2023 at 1:41 p.m. indicated he had a history of chronic pain related to breaking his tailbone in the past. He indicated that his pain was currently a 4/10 and he had already told the nurse working, but she did not do anything to help him. He stated he received his routine Tylenol around lunch. In the past when he reported his pain to the staff, they do not give him anything like medication or offer heat/ice, massage, or any other intervention. He reported only takes…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to ENVIVE HEALTHCARE — 12 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 1 of 5 | 2.2 | -1.2 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 2.3 | -0.3 vs chain |
| Staffing | 1 of 5 | 1.8 | -0.8 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 3 of 5 | 3.8 | -0.8 vs chain |
The other 11 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.2★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| MRT OF LIBERTY IN-SNF LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
| BORNE-BAUMAN, CANDICE | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| FLUECKIGER, RUSSELL | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| LEHMAN, SCOTT | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| MACKLIN, LARRY | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| MCINTIRE, DAVID | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| ENVIVE OF LIBERTY LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
| LT CARE ACQUISITION CORP | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| MAZHAR, ALIZA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
| SMITH, SCOTT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| SPRUNGER, KYLE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| STEELE, SHAWN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 02/24/2025 |
| WHEELER, DANE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2025 |
| BLUE MANAGEMENT SERVICES LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
| ENVIVE HEALTHCARE LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
| FIRST BANK OF BERNE | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
| PROACTIVE CLINICAL PARTNERS | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 27 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
8 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 73% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $678K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 17% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in IN
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Indiana Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 155507. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-09-23, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.