St. Joseph's, A Villa Center
9400 Conant Street, Hamtramck, MI 48212 · For profit - Corporation · 169 certified beds · (313) 874-4500 Medicare & Medicaid certified
On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (24% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 10.1% | 10.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 4.3% | 5.4% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.2% | 0.8% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.5% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.9% | 4.3% | 6.5% | better |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.4% | 3.0% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 6.7% | 12.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 6.1% | 19.4% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 98.6% | 95.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.5% | 5.1% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 13.1% | 20.0% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 9.4% | 14.8% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.1% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 97.4% | 79.5% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 26.0% | 24.0% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 5.8% | 11.7% | 12.0% | better |
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
42.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 64 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 63.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 27 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.20 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 23% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 34% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 42.0%CMS range 30.5–54.4 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.3%CMS range 6.4–17.8 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 63.0% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 77.8% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 74.1% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 95.3% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.7%CMS range 3.6–11.0 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.80 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 169 beds and averages 139.2 residents a day — about 82% occupied, or roughly 30 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.30 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.23 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.09 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.05 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.41 on weekdays — 10% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.25 to 0.18 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 24% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-26 · tag F0640 — isolatedEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to timely submit MDS (Minimum Data Set, which is a resident assessment tool) assessment for two residents (R24 and R53) of three reviewed for resident assessment. Findings include: During the recertification survey the resident assessment task was triggered for MDS assessment being overdue 120 days. R24R24 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis of Intervertebral Disc disorder with Radiculopathy, [NAME] region. R24's Minimum Data Set (MDS) Medicare 5 day assessment dated [DATE] was marked Incomplete, Assessment was never added to a batch. The following assessments were submitted for R24:According to the tracking record A0410 was coded 3 which means the Unit is Medicare and/or Medicaid certified bed.No other assessments were submitted, all MDS assessments for R24 are missing. R53A review of R53's medical record revealed, R53 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnosis of Chronic Kidney Disease. A review…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-26 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to apply protective appliances for one resident (R79) out of one reviewed for quality of care. Findings include:A review of the physician's orders noted the following, Date:1/16/2026 .Out of bed daily in wheelchair to tolerance with padded boot on R (right) foot, as well as a leg rest pad to protect her RLE (right lower extremity) .Status: Active .On 3/25/2026 at 9:52 AM, R79 was observed up in their wheelchair. R79 reported they used to wear a boot on their right foot but had not worn them in quite some time. No padded boot was observed on the right foot, or leg rest pad to protect the RLE (right lower extremity). R79 reported they felt as though they still needed to wear the boot and leg rest pad. The medical record revealed R79 admitted into the facility on 1/12/2026 with the following medical diagnoses, Peripheral Vascular Disease and Polyneuropathy. A review of the most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment revealed a Brief Interview for Mental (BIMS) status score of 12/15, indicating an impaired…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the resident's environment was free from accident hazards for one (R58) out of four reviewed for accidents. Findings include:On 3/24/2026 at 10:40 AM, R58 was observed lying in bed in a low position. R58's right side of the bed was against the wall with the left side open to the room. Observed on the floor next to the bed was a floor mat that appeared to be torn in the middle and curled up towards the ends of the mat. A review of R58's medical record revealed, R58 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis of Dementia, severity, without behavioral disturbance, Psychotic disturbance, Mood disturbance. A review of R58's Minimum Data Set (MDS) noted R58 with moderately impaired cognition and required some assistance with activities of daily living by staff. A review of R58's progress note, revealed the following, 1/27/2026 13:45 (1:45 PM) Incident/Accident: Writer observed resident on the floor in front of her wheelchair…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-26 · tag F0757 — failed to avoid unnecessary drugs — isolatedEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure one resident (R154) was free from unnecessary medications out of six reviewed for medications. Findings include:A review of the medical record showed R154 was admitted into the facility on 3/13/26 with diagnoses of heart failure, pulmonary hypertension, and acute respiratory failure with hypoxia (low oxygen levels). A review of the most recent MDS (minimum data set) of R154 showed a BIMS (brief interview for mental status) of 15/15, indicating fully intact cognition.A review of the medication orders of R154 revealed the following active orders:1.Trelegy Ellipta Inhalation Aerosol Powder Breath Activated 200-62.5-25 MCG/ACT (microgram per actuation) (Fluticasone-Umeclidinium-Vilanterol) 1 puff inhale orally in the morning for SOB (shortness of breath)/Asthma. D/C (discontinue) Trelegy when Fluticasone/Salmetrol 100/50 mcg inhaler arrives.2. Advair Diskus Aerosol Powder Breath Activated 100-50 MCG/DOSE (Fluticasone-Salmeterol)1 inhalation inhale orally every 12 hours for Asthma.A review of the March 2026…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-03-26 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain accurate information in the medical record for one resident (R57) out of two reviewed for medical records. Findings include:On 3/24/2026 at 10:00 AM, R57 was observed sitting up in their wheelchair. R57 stated they were doing much better since they completed therapy and was looking to discharge home soon.A review of the medical record revealed R57 admitted into the facility on 1/16/2026 with the following medical diagnoses, Metabolic Encephalopathy and Obstructive and Reflux Uropathy. A review of the most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment revealed a Brief Interview for Mental status (BIMS) score of 6/15, indicating an impaired cognition. R57 also required staff assistance with bed mobility and transfers. A review of the progress notes revealed the following provider note, Effective date: 3/18/2025 .PLAN: Obstructive Uropathy-(name of indwelling catheter) in place-Monitor closely for urinary retention-Patient will need outpatient follow up with urology .On 3/24/2026 at 12:57 PM, R57 reported…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0742 — isolatedProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to Intake numbers MI00151424 and MI00152073. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide adequate assessment, treatment and services to attain mental and psychosocial well-being for one resident (R502) of five residents reviewed for mental and psychosocial services. Findings include: R502 R502 was observed in bed in her room on 4/9/25 at 10:47 AM. R502 was crying with tears, stating they are not getting adequate mental health care and services that were appropriate for their health condition. R502 mentioned their diagnoses had crippled them and made them disabled. They also stated they used to walk, but now requires help. R502 expressed they are not getting any psychological services at the facility. R502's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) was reviewed on 4/9/25 at 4:00 PM. It revealed R502 was admitted on [DATE] with a diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder, current Episode Manic Severe with Psychotic features, Mood Disorder due to known physiological…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2025-02-05 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain sanitary conditions in the kitchen. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all142 residents that consume food from the kitchen. Findings include: On 2/3/25 between 8:35 AM-8:50 AM, during an initial tour of the kitchen with [NAME] B, the following items were observed: The paper towel dispenser by the hand washing sink at the entrance to the kitchen was empty. According to the 2017 FDA Food Code section 6-301.12 Hand Drying Provision, Each handwashing sink or group of adjacent handwashing sinks shall be provided with: (A) Individual, disposable towels;. In the walk-in cooler, there was a pack of cheddar cheese with no date on it. [NAME] B discarded the cheddar cheese. The smaller cooler had a temperature of 49 degrees Fahrenheit. Three individual beverages were observed in the freezer with no labeling on the bottles. The [NAME] indicated that the beverages were most likely employee beverages that had been placed in the freezer. On 2/4/25 at 10:28 AM, Dietary Manager (DM) C was interviewed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-05 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide timely Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) for one sampled resident (R140) of three reviewed for activities of daily living. Findings include: On 2/03/25 at 11:56 AM, R140 was observed with thick chin hair and with matted hair on the back of their head. On 2/04/25 at 4:08 PM, R140 was observed with a thick layer of chin hair and matted hair. R140 was asked about the chin hair. R140 was observed to grab their chin hair and pulled it away from their chin, then stated, I got a beard. R140 was asked if they preferred their hair this way and stated, No. It's out of control. R140 was asked if they had refused to get it cut and reported no they had not refused. R140 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis of Osteoarthritis. A review of R140's five day Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment noted, R140 with an intact cognition. R140's Nursing assessment dated [DATE] revealed, R140 required assistance with ADLs. On 2/04/25 at 4:18…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-11-29 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide a homelike environment for two residents (R24 and one confidential group resident) of seven residents reviewed for a homelike environment resulting in resident feelings of dissatisfaction with their living environment. Findings include: On 11/27/23 at 11:20 AM, during an initial tour of the facility R24 was interviewed regarding their satisfaction with care and services at the facility. R24 stated, There's not enough room. I don't feel comfortable in this room. R24 further indicated that their bed was too close to their roommate's bed. An observation of R24's room revealed that a total of four residents resided in the room and the distance between R24's bed and the resident's bed closest to them was less than one foot, with a privacy curtain hanging between the two beds. On 11/28/23 at 10:00 AM, a confidential group meeting was conducted with six confidential group members and the group was asked about their level of satisfaction…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-11-29 · tag F0711 — isolatedEnsure the resident's doctor reviews the resident's care, writes, signs and dates progress notes and orders, at each required visit.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to obtain a physician order in a timely manner for provided and implemented hand splints for one (R113) of three residents reviewed for hand splints. Findings include: Review of the facility record for R113 revealed an admission date of 07/21/23 with diagnoses that included Cerebral Palsy, Muscle Wasting/Atrophy and Seizure Disorder. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] indicated R113 required total assistance for all activities of daily living. On 11/27/23 at 12:30 PM, R113 was observed laying in bed. The resident was not able to functionally communicate and both upper extremities appeared to be contracted. A right wrist/hand splint was observed to be in place in a loose and incorrect position. Additional review of the facility record for R113 revealed no physician order, care plan item or resident care Task item related to upper extremity splints. Review of R113's therapy record revealed an Occupational Therapy (OT) Discharge…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · D2023-11-29 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure biologicals were labeled and dated when opened on the actual medication container in two of five medication carts reviewed, resulting in the potential for use of medications and biologicals past the expiration date and decreased efficacy of the medications and biologicals. Findings include: On 11/28/23 at 8:55 AM, the C wing medication cart was reviewed with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) A. A Dorzolamide,/Timolol eye drop vial for Resident R30 was not dated on the vial with the new expiration and or opened date, On 11/28/23 at 9:58 AM, the B wing second cart was reviewed with Registered Nurse (RN) B. The glucometer test strips were not dated with a date opened nor the new expiration date. A fluticasone/salmeterol 100/50 diskus inhaler for Resident R8, was not dated on the inhaler with the new expiration and or opened date, On 11/28/23 at 10:33 AM, Nursing Unit Manager C was queried about the labeling of medications and reported the open and or expiration date should be on the package and actual…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · Ccited before2026-03-26 · tag F0912 — widespreadProvide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to provide 80 square feet per resident in multiple resident rooms, for 16 of 49 multiple resident rooms (#'s 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 118, 119, 120, 122, 123, 124, 210, 213, 214, 215, and 216) resulting in, inadequate room space. Findings include:On 3/24/26 at 1:30 PM, observation of resident rooms and review of the facility bed count information revealed the following rooms that did not meet the minimum requirement of 80 square feet per resident: ROOM SQ. FT # OF BEDS112 282 4 113 282 4 114 282 4 115 282 4 116 282 4 118 282 4 119 282 4 120 282 4 122 282 4 123 282 4 124 282 4 210 282 4 213 282 4 214 286 4215 286 4 216 286 4On 3/25/26 at 2:45 PM, when asked about the insufficient square footage in some of the resident rooms, the Administrator stated there was a remodeling plan in process, and that in the interim, residents who express a concern are offered a larger room if available.
- No harm found · Ccited before2025-02-05 · tag F0912 — widespreadProvide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide 80 square feet per resident in multiple resident rooms, for 16 of 49 multiple resident rooms (#'s 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 118, 119, 120, 122, 123, 124, 210, 213, 214, 215, and 216) resulting in, inadequate room space. Findings include: On 2/13/25 at 9:00 AM, observation of resident rooms and review of the facility bed count information revealed the following rooms that did not meet the minimum requirement of 80 square feet per resident: ROOM # SQ. FT # OF BEDS 112 282 4 113 282 4 114 282 4 115 282 4 116 282 4 118 282 4 119 282 4 120 282 4 122 282 4 123 282 4 124 282 4 210 282 4 213 282 4 214 286 4 215 286 4 216 286 4 On 2/3/25 at 4:34 PM, Maintenance Director (MD) D was interviewed about the rooms that provided less that 80 square feet of living space per resident. MD D indicated over the past year, A few rooms had been converted to three person rooms or less. On 2/4/25 at 11:30 AM, the Administrator (NHA) was interviewed about the lack of square footage in some of the rooms. The NHA indicated that…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2025-02-05 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — widespreadMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a clean and homelike environment for residents in one (C-wing) of four nursing units. Findings include: On 02/04/25 at 2:00 PM, an observation was made of the C-wing medication storage room. The air vents in the room were noted to have layers of dirt and dust on it. Additionally an oberservation of a dried reddish stain on a light cover in the C-wing hallway was noted. On 02/04/25 at 2:10 PM, an interview occurred with the Maintenance Director D(MDD) to discuss the cleaning of the vents and light fixtures. The MMD stated, it must have been missed. On 02/04/25 at 2:20 PM, an interview was held with the Nursing Home Administrator (NHA) about the responsibility of cleaning the vents and cleaning light fixtures. The NHA stated that environmental services (housekeeping and maintenance) handle those services and should follow the cleaning policy. A review of the facility policy entitled Cleaning Procedures revealed, High Dust. Work your way clockwise around the the room (starting at the door and finishing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · Ccited before2023-11-29 · tag F0912 — widespreadProvide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide 80 square feet per resident in multiple resident rooms, for 12 of 49 multiple resident rooms (#'s 112, 113, 115, 116, 118, 119, 120, 122, 123, 124, 214, 215) resulting in, inadequate space and resident complaints. Findings include: On 11/27/22 at 9:00 AM, observation of resident rooms and review of the facility bed count information revealed the following rooms that did not meet the minimum requirement of 80 square feet per resident: ROOM # SQ. FT # OF BEDS 112 282 4 113 282 4 115 282 4 116 282 4 118 282 4 119 282 4 120 282 4 122 282 4 123 282 4 124 282 4 214 286 4 215 286 4 On 11/27/23 at 11:20 AM, residents in room [ROOM NUMBER] were interviewed regarding their room size, and R24 expressed concerns regarding their room being too crowded and their bed being too close to their roommate's bed.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to VILLA HEALTHCARE — 18 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 5 of 5 | 2.8 | +2.2 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 4 of 5 | 2.3 | +1.7 vs chain |
| Staffing | 3 of 5 | 2.7 | +0.3 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 5 of 5 | 4.5 | +0.5 vs chain |
The other 17 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OMNIA OPCO HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 07/01/2025 |
| TODD A STERN 2015 IRRV INS TR | Organization | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2025 |
| CIBC BANK USA | Organization | 5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST | — | since 12/01/2025 |
| AARON, JONATHAN | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 07/15/2025 |
| BAUMOL, YEHOSHUA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 07/15/2025 |
| GRAF, MARCELLA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 07/15/2025 |
| HEATH, SIMONE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/15/2025 |
| SINGERMAN, JOSEPH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/15/2025 |
| BERGER, MENACHEM | Individual | INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/01/2025 |
| ISRAEL, BENJAMIN | Individual | INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/01/2025 |
| STERN, TODD | Individual | INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/01/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 15 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
3 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 81% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.8M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 13% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in MI
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Michigan Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 235383. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-03-26, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.