No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Benedictine Living Center Of Garrison

609 4th Ave NE, Garrison, ND 58540 · Non profit - Church related · 52 certified beds · (701) 463-2226 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (701) 463-2226 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Jul 20241 actual-harm citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)$8,278 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jul 2024
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • the CMS record shows $8,278 in federal fines (most recent 2025-06-18)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
131 Main St N · (701) 463-2626 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
21 Main St N · (701) 463-2242 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
304 1st Ave SE · (701) 897-1297 · Call to confirm hours
Park
(701) 463-2600 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased8.6%19.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.2%5.8%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.6%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.2%2.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%4.4%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury5.9%5.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened9.1%17.6%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication18.9%17.4%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%98.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.6%4.9%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control21.7%24.9%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table25.2%22.7%17.1%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.081.491.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.591.861.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 14% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 1% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.59
RN hours/ resident / day
0.40
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.19
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.18
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.37
RN hoursweekends
36.4%
Total nursing turnover
55.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 52 beds and averages 48.9 residents a day — about 94% occupied, or roughly 3 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.18 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.59 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.19 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.96 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.27 on weekdays — 10% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.68 to 0.37 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 36% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-07-22)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-07-24)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · Gcited before2025-06-18 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on review of the facility reported incident (FRI) investigation, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure each resident received adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #1) who fell from a mechanical lift. Failure to safely use the mechanical lift resulted in a fall with injury. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on review of the corrective action the facility implemented immediately following the incident. Findings include: The surveyor determined a deficient practice existed on 06/17/25. The facility immediately implemented corrective action, completed corrective action on 06/18/25, and continues with staff education and monitoring. Review of the facility policy titled Using a Mechanical Lift occurred on 06/18/25. This policy, dated October 2024, stated, . At least two (2) trained associates are needed to safely move a resident with a mechanical full body . lift . Review of Resident #1's medical record occurred on 06/18/25. The care plan stated, . Utilize the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-07-22 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, review of the facility competency guide, review of professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow professional standards for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #3) reviewed for blood sugars levels, and 1 of 1 supplemental resident (Resident #27) observed during administration of an oral inhaler. Failure to notify the provider of out-of-range blood sugars levels may lead to inaccurate insulin dose administration and/or adverse health conditions, and failure to prompt a resident to rinse his/her mouth with water after administration of an inhaler has the potential to cause side effects in the oral cavity related to the medication. Findings include: Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing, Concepts, Process and Practice, 11th Edition eText, 2021, Pearson, Boston, Massachusetts, page 63, stated, Nurses are expected to analyze procedures . ordered by the physician or primary care provider. If the order is neither ambiguous nor apparently erroneous, the nurse is responsible for carrying it out. Review of the Annual Skills…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-07-22 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of the facility competency guide, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #7) observed during a dressing change. Failure to practice infection control standards related to dressing changes and hand hygiene has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility.Findings include: Review of the Annual Skills Competency Resource Guide occurred on 07/22/25. This undated guide stated, . DRESSINGS/WOUND CARE: 1. Bring 2 pairs of clean gloves - one for removing the soiled dressing and another for applying clean dressing. 5. Wash your hands and apply gloves. 6. remove the soiled dressing . 7. Observe the wound . 8. Gather soiled dressing in gloved left hand. Remove left hand glove . right glove . dispose of soiled materials . 9. Wash your hands and apply a clean pair of gloves. Observation on 07/21/25 at 11:28 a.m. showed a licensed nurse (#3) performed dressing changes on Resident #7's abdominal wounds. The nurse (#3) applied gloves, removed the soiled…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-05 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment for 1 of 1 closed record resident (Resident #4) reviewed for advanced directives. Failure to honor the resident/resident representative's wishes for code status resulted in unwanted treatment for Resident #4. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on review of the corrective action the facility implemented immediately following the incident. Findings include: This surveyor determined a deficient practice existed on [DATE]. The facility implemented corrective action and completed on [DATE]. Review of the facility policy titled Initiation of CPR/AED [cardiopulmonary resuscitation/automated external defibrillator] and BLS [basic life support] Associate Training Expectations occurred on [DATE]. This policy, dated 2018, stated, . CPR/AED will be initiated on a resident who is found unresponsive, except when: 1) a Provider medical…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · E2024-07-24 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — pattern
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interviews the facility failed to ensure residents remained free from resident-to-resident abuse for 2 of 3 sampled residents (Residents #24 and #51) and 4 supplemental residents (Resident #3, #11, #31, and #36) who received or displayed physical and/or verbal abuse. Failure to identify physical altercations between residents as physical abuse placed residents at risk for possible emotional distress and/or physical injury. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on review of the corrective action the facility implemented following the incidents. Findings include: This surveyor determined a deficient practice existed on 06/08/24. The facility implemented corrective actions and staff education on 07/16/24. Review of the facility policy titled Abuse Prevention Plan occurred on 07/24/24. This policy, dated 2017, stated, Prevention Plan: . Population of neighbors [residents] who reside in facility vary in their ability to ambulate. Neighbors…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-24 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview the facility failed to report incidents of resident-to-resident abuse to the State Survey Agency (SSA) for 2 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #24 and #51) and 1 supplemental resident (Resident #31). Failure to report resident-to-resident abuse allegations and the results of the facility's investigation to the SSA placed all residents at risk for possible abuse. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Abuse Prevention Plan occurred on 07/24/24. This undated policy stated, . All events will be investigated whether they cause injury or harm or no injury or harm. Events may include, but are not limited to, . resident to resident altercations [a resident to resident altercation is an incident involving a resident who willfully inflicts injury upon another resident. 'Willful' means the individual must have acted deliberately, not that the individual must have intended to inflict injury or harm], . If the event that caused suspicion…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-07-24 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, review of manufacturer's instructions for use, and staff interview the facility failed to ensure staff followed standards of practice for 3 of 4 residents (Resident #6, #23, and #40) observed during administration of rapid acting insulin. Failure to administer rapid acting insulin within the time specified by the manufacturer may result in a hypoglycemic (low blood sugar) reaction. Findings include: Prescribing information for Humalog insulin (a raid acting insulin), found at https://www.humalog.com, occurred on 07/24/24 and stated, Administer HUMALOG . within 15 minutes before a meal or immediately after a meal. Important safety information for NovoLog (a rapid acting insulin), found at novolog.com, occurred on 07/24/24 and stated, Novolog starts acting fast. Eat a meal within 5 to 10 minutes after taking it. - Review of Resident #6's medical record occurred on all days of survey. Current physician's order included, Novolog insulin; 20 units with meals three times a day. Observations on 07/22/24 showed the following: * 3:38 p.m., a nurse (#2)…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-24 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than five percent for 2 of 4 residents (Resident #20 and Resident #40) observed during medication administration. Four medication errors occurred during staff administration of 32 medications, resulting in a 12.5 percent error rate. Failure to properly prepare medications may result in residents receiving an ineffective dose and experiencing adverse reactions. Findings include: Review of the prescribing information for NovoLog insulin, found at www.novo-pi.com/novolog.pdf, occurred on 07/24/24, and stated, Instructions for use . C. Pull off the big outer needle cap . E. Turn the dose selector to select 2 units. F. Hold your NovoLog FlexPen with the needle pointing up. G. Keep the needle pointing upwards, press the push-button all the way in. The dose selector returns to zero. - Observation of medication administration on 07/23/24 at 8:43 a.m. showed a nurse (#3) prepared a Lantus (long-acting) insulin pen and a Novolog (rapid-acting) insulin pen…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-09-07 · tag F0641 — pattern
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) 3.0 User's Manual (Version 1.17.1), and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure accurate coding of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 5 of 13 sampled residents (Resident #11, #14, #21, #26, and #27) and one supplemental resident (Resident #33). Failure to accurately complete the MDS does not allow each resident's assessment to reflect their current status/needs and may affect the accurate development of a comprehensive care plan and the care provided to the residents. Findings include: SECTION K: SWALLOWING/NUTRITIONAL STATUS The Long-Term Care Facility RAI User's Manual, revised October 2019, page K-3 through K-9, stated, . Coding Instructions . K0310: Weight Gain . Code 0, no or unknown: if the resident has not experienced weight gain of 5% or more in the past 30 days or 10% or more in the last 180 days or if information about prior weight is not available. Code 2, yes, not on physician-prescribed weight-gain…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-09-07 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control for 2 of 7 sampled residents (Resident #14 and Resident #27) and 5 supplemental residents (#1, #12, #18, #39, and # 47) observed during personal cares or transfers. Failure to practice infection control standards related to hand hygiene and cleaning of mechanical lifts has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility. Findings include: HAND HYGIENE: Review of the facility policy titled Hand Hygiene occurred on 09/06/23. This policy, effective June 2017, stated, . all associates will be trained and competent in following proper hand hygiene practices. Times to Perform Hand Hygiene are, but not limited to .Before and after direct resident contact . Before and after assisting a resident with personal cares . Before and after assisting a resident with toileting . After contact with a resident's mucous membranes and body fluids or excretions . After removing gloves or aprons . - Observation on 09/05/23 at 3:53 p.m. showed two certified nurse…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-07 · tag F0554 — isolated
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, review of facility policy, staff and resident interview, the facility failed to ensure the interdisciplinary team assessed the appropriateness to self-administer medications (SAM) for 1 of 1 supplemental resident (Resident #2) with medications observed in the room. Failure to determine whether SAM is a safe practice has the potential to limit a resident's right to SAM or result in a medication error and/or harm to a resident. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Self-Administration of Medication occurred on 09/07/23. This policy, dated 2020, stated, . 1. The nursing associates will assess each resident's mental and physical abilities. Assessment is documented in the EHR [Electronic Health Record]. 3. If it is determined a resident cannot safely administer medications, the nursing associates will administer the medication. Observations during medication administration on 09/05/23 at 4:11 p.m., showed a bottle of Refresh Plus (Sterile eye drops) located in Resident #2's room. When asked, Resident #2 stated, I'm allowed to use them…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-07 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure staff followed standards of practice for 1 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #13) with an indwelling catheter. Failure to follow physician's orders for residents with indwelling catheters may result in delayed treatment, pain and/or worsening of resident's condition. Findings include: [NAME], [NAME], and Frandsen's Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts, Process, and Practice, 11th ed., Pearson Education, Inc., page 63, states, . Carrying Out a Physician's Orders . If the order is neither ambiguous nor apparently erroneous, the nurse is responsible for carrying it out. Review of Resident #13's medical record occurred on all days of survey. Diagnoses included neuromuscular dysfunction of bladder and urinary retention. A physician order signed on 02/23/22, stated, Next appointment 1 [one] year. The medical record lacked evidence of a follow up physician visit. During an interview on 09/07/23 at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-07 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide appropriate and sufficient supervision and/or assistive devices for 1 of 4 sampled residents (Resident #13) observed during a pivot transfer. Failure to provide adequate assistance and use the assistive devices properly during transfers placed the residents at risk for accidents, falls, or injuries. Findings include: The facility failed to provide a copy of their policy addressing transfers. Review of Resident #13's medical record occurred on all days of survey and included diagnoses of multiple sclerosis and incomplete paraplegia. The current care plan stated, . I do need assistance with mobility due to weakness, unsteadiness, and diagnosis of multiple sclerosis and paraplegia. A1 [assist of one] to stand pivot transfer with FWW [front wheeled walker] and gait belt . During an observation on 09/06/23 at 8:29 a.m., a certified nurse aide (CNA) (#5) stood at the end of Resident 13's bed while the resident slid himself to the edge of the bed, stood, swung his hips towards the wheelchair, and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-07 · tag F0710 — isolated
    Obtain a doctor's order to admit a resident and ensure the resident is under a doctor's care.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on facility policy, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a physician's response to changes in resident's weight for 3 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #23, #44, and #45) with significant weight loss. Failure to ensure the physician responded in a timely manner may result in a delay of treatment and further weight loss for residents. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Weight Monitoring and Documentation occurred on 09/07/23. This policy, dated August 2019, stated, . 7. Resident's weights are tracked monthly through an established monitoring system to ensure that significant changes are identified and addressed . 10. The physician . will be notified on any significant weight change. - Review of Resident #23's medical record occurred on all days of survey. Diagnoses included diabetes mellitus, diverticulosis, Parkinson's, and dementia. The current care plan stated, . I'm at risk for weight changes/nutritional deficiency due to dx Dementia, Diabetes and Diverticulosis. Assist me with meals. Review of dietary progress notes…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$8,278 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $8,278 — penalty dated 2025-06-18

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to BENEDICTINE HEALTH SYSTEM — 23 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.8+0.2 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 52.5+0.5 vs chain
Staffing 3 of 54.0-1.0 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 52.9+0.1 vs chain
The other 22 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
BENEDICTINE LIVING COMMUNITIES INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF100%since 06/01/1989
BENEDICTINE HEALTH SYSTEMOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF100%since 06/01/1989
CARLEY, GERALDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2018
GLYNN, JEFFREYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/01/2024
GRAEBER, LUANNAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 05/18/2023
GREFF, KEVINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/01/2018
HACK, TAYLARIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2022
KADRMAS, BEVERLYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/01/2020
LINDEMANN, GENEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 04/02/2024
TRUPKA, JERRYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/01/2024
BERGIEN, TRICIAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 11/17/2016
RYMANOWSKI, KEVINIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 07/17/2000
DORNACKER, JONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2006
FOSS, SCOTTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2001

CMS files one row per role, so the 21 rows in the source record cover these 14 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

What families pay in ND

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the North Dakota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in North Dakota
$11,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,304/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,729/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 355064. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-07-22, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next