Signature Healthcare at Jackson Manor Rehab and We
96 Highway 3444, Annville, KY 40402 · For profit - Corporation · 51 certified beds · (606) 364-5197 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Dec 2023
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (75%) runs well above the national median (45%)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 2 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 8.5% | 13.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 11.6% | 6.6% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.5% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.6% | 1.6% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 66.4% | 17.7% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.9% | 3.9% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 2.3% | 14.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 48.7% | 29.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 93.0% | 96.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.3% | 4.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 24.3% | 19.0% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 16.7% | 16.1% | 17.1% | typical |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 3.1% | 1.7% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 84.0% | 83.5% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 27.9% | 24.2% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 16.6% | 13.7% | 12.0% | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
58.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 55 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.32 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 52% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 16% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 58.0%CMS range 43.8–68.0 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 12.2%CMS range 8.1–17.7 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.9%CMS range 3.7–12.5 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.85 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 51 beds and averages 47.6 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 3 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.04 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.42 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.33 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.35 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.33 on weekdays — 23% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.76 to 0.57 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 75% is well above the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-02 · tag F0640 — isolatedEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review, interview, facility document, policy review, and review of the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument [RAI] 3.0 User's Manual, the facility failed to ensure Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments were transmitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) system within 14 days after the assessments were completed for three (Resident (R)12, R34, and R47) of three sampled residents reviewed for resident assessments. The findings included: A facility policy titled, Resident Assessment, revised on 09/15/2023, revealed, 15. The Assessment Coordinator will be responsible for ensuring that all required resident assessments are completed and submitted in accordance with current federal and state guidelines outlined in the RAI manual. Review of the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument 3.0 User's Manual, Version 1.19.1, effective 10/2024, indicated, under the Comprehensive Assessments section, The MDS must be transmitted (submitted and accepted into iQIES) electronically no later than 14 calendar days after the care plan…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-02 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the accuracy of Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments for three (Resident (R) 107, R21, and R53) of 15 sampled residents. MDS data was not coded accurately, in accordance with instructions from the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) User Manual, related to fall history, antipsychotic use, and/or discharge status. Findings included: A facility policy titled, Resident Assessment, revised on 09/15/2023, revealed, 1. The Resident Assessment Instrument User Manual version 3.0 will be utilized for all items coded on Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments., Care Area Assessments (CAA) development, Care planning, MDS scheduling, submission, modifications, and Medicare regulations. The policy continued, 6. Assessment data will/may be collected from sources including the resident's medical record, interview with the resident and/or resident representative, observations, assessment tools including PASRR Level II determination and the Preadmission Screening & Resident Review (PASRR) evaluation, facility…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-12-21 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure an environment that was free from verbal abuse involving one (1) of eighteen (18) sampled residents (Resident #7). On 08/02/2023, Resident #8 entered Resident #7 room and cursed at Resident #7. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse, Neglect, and Misappropriation of Property, effective 05/27/2016, revealed it was the organization's intention to prevent the occurrence of abuse, neglect, exploitation, injuries of unknown origin, and misappropriation of resident property, and to assure that all alleged violations of federal or state laws which involved abuse, neglect, exploitation, injuries of unknown origin, and misappropriation of resident property are investigated, and reported immediately to the facility administrator, the state survey agency, and other appropriate state and local agencies in accordance with federal and state law. Continued review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2020-09-25 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — patternProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review it was determined the facility failed to have sufficient staffing to provide for the care needs of the residents in the facility. Resident #10 and Resident #15 had incontinence episodes while waiting on staff to help them to the bathroom. Resident #30 and Resident #20 did not receive assistance with shaving due to insufficient staff and were observed to have several days' growth of beard. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Scheduling and Staffing, revised date 11/07/2018, revealed, The facility will staff the building using the following considerations, when applicable as it pertains to each individual facility resident needs and population: A.) Acuity Based Staffing modeling as a guideline, not a minimum, which considers our resident populations Minimum Data Set (MDS) input; each facility's volume of assessments and admissions. B.) State and Federal regulations; any mandated staffing minimums. C.) Reviews of the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2020-09-25 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and facility policy review it was determined the facility failed to ensure food was stored under sanitary conditions (covered, labeled and dated) for 12 residents who receive thickened liquids. In addition, observation, on 09/22/2020 at 9:50 AM, revealed unlabeled and undated food and food products being stored in the refrigerator for use. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Food Storage, revised 03/09/2020, revealed food products should be covered, labeled and dated. Observation of the walk in refrigerator during initial tour of the kitchen, on 09/22/20 at 9:50 AM, revealed forty-eight (48) small clear plastic cups covered with clear plastic wrap, on large trays with a yellow/golden thick liquid in each cup unlabeled and undated. Per interview with the Dietary Manager at the time of the observation, the yellow/golden thick liquid was nectar honey flavored thickener, used to thicken liquids for residents that require thickened liquids for drinking. The observation also revealed forty-eight (48) small clear plastic cups covered…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-09-25 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for one (1) resident (Resident #15) and failed to implement the care plan for one (1) of fifteen (15) sampled residents (Resident #10). Resident #15 had an admission assessment with a reference date of 07/14/2020 that assessed the resident to be occasionally incontinent of urine. The facility failed to develop a care plan to address the resident's toileting needs. Resident #10's care plan stated for the resident to be checked for incontinence episodes every two (2) hours; however, the facility failed to implement Resident #10's care plan and the resident had to wait extended amounts of time for incontinence care. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans, with a last reviewed and revised date of 07/19/2018, revealed a person-centered comprehensive care plan is developed for each resident to meet the resident's medical, nursing, mental, and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-09-25 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents at risk for elopement received supervision to prevent accidents for one (1) of fifteen (15) sampled residents (Resident #11). Resident #11 was assessed at risk for elopement and displayed wandering behaviors; however, the facility failed to ensure the resident's picture and identifying information were in the Elopement Book per the resident's plan of care and facility policy. The findings include: Review of facility policy titled, Elopement/Wandering, reviewed 05/30/2018, revealed, A wandering/elopement notebook containing pictures and pertinent demographic information will be maintained by social services, kept at nurse's stations and receptionist desk. Updates will be done at least quarterly. Review of Resident #11's medical record revealed the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Encephalopathy, Unspecified Dementia without behavioral…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-09-25 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure a resident who was continent of bladder received assistance to maintain continence for one (1) of fifteen (15) sampled residents (Resident #15). Resident #15 was assessed by the facility on the admission Minimum Data Set to be occasionally incontinent of bladder (resident was incontinent less than seven times during the seven-day look back period). The facility failed to provide care and services to ensure the resident received assistance with toileting. Interview with Resident #15 revealed the resident was now having more incontinence episodes because staff were not toileting the resident when needed. The findings include: Interview with the facility's Care Consultant on 09/24/2020 at 5:00 PM revealed the facility did not have a policy regarding toileting needs for residents. The Care Consultant stated staff were expected to follow a resident's care plan regarding toileting needs. Observation and interview, on 09/23/2020 at 9:26 AM, revealed Resident #15 was in a wheelchair and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-09-25 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review it was determined the facility failed to ensure the facility was free of a medication error rate of 5% or greater. Observations during medication administration on 09/24/2020 revealed the nurse made two (2) medication errors out of thirty-one (31) opportunities for a medication administration error rate of 6.45%. The Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled Medication Administration General Guidelines, dated September 2018, revealed medications were to be administered as prescribed and in accordance with manufacturers' specifications and good nursing principles and practices. The policy further stated medications were to be administered in accordance with written order of the prescriber. Observation of medication administration for Resident #3, on 09/24/2020 at 10:26 AM, revealed Nurse #1 prepared and administered Januvia (anti-diabetic medication) 50 milligram (mg) tablet. Review of the record for Resident #3 revealed a physician's order for Januvia and the medication was to be administered at 9:00 AM daily.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2020-09-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, review of facility policy and review of Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidance, it was determined the facility failed to prevent the possible spread of COVID-19 for two (2), Resident #186 and Resident #187, of forty-two (42) sampled resident's. Resident's #186 and #187 were new admits to the facility and were not placed in isolation per the facility policy and per CDC guidance. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), last revised date 08/31/2020, revealed For residents admitted to a facility and whose COVID status is unknown/they have not been tested: Resident/patient placed in droplet precautions for 14 days. Review of the CDC Preparing for COVID-19 in Nursing Homes updated 06/25/2020, revealed as demonstrated by the COVID-19 pandemic, a strong infection prevention and control (ICP) program was critical to protect residents and healthcare personnel (HCP). Continued review of CDC guidance revealed the facility should create a plan for managing new admissions and readmissions whose…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2019-03-28 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — widespreadProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure sufficient staff was available to provide nursing and related services to maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being. Observation during meal service on 03/26/19 revealed not enough staff were available to deliver meal trays timely during the lunch meal. The group interview revealed residents stated call lights were not answered timely. In addition, interview with Resident #44 on 03/26/19 at 11:34 AM, revealed the resident had to wait up to thirty (30) minutes for staff to replace his/her colostomy bag. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Scheduling and Staffing, revised date 05/24/18, revealed the facility was staffed according to each individual resident's acuity and care needs. A Resident Council Meeting conducted on 03/27/19 at 10:00 AM revealed residents who lived on Hallway C were served last during meal service. They stated their food was cold a lot. In addition, the residents stated that it took longer…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2019-03-28 · tag F0802 — failed to prepare enough nourishing food — widespreadProvide sufficient support personnel to safely and effectively carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to employ sufficient dietary staff with the appropriate competencies and skill sets to safely and effectively carry out the functions of food and nutrition service for forty-two (42) residents who received meals at the facility. Observation and interview revealed there was not enough dietary staff to serve food to residents timely. In addition, the recipe was not followed for the pureed ranch chicken sandwich; the temperature of the potato salad was not taken, and the potato salad was not properly cooled on 03/26/19. The findings include: 1. A post survey telephone interview conducted with the Dietary Director on 04/02/19 at 11:42 AM revealed the facility did not have a dietary staffing policy. Observation of the evening meal service on 03/26/19 at 5:01 PM revealed there were two (2) dietary staff persons working in the Kitchen during the tray line meal service. Review of the Dietary Department's monthly staff schedule revealed five (5) individuals were employed in the Kitchen. According to the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2019-03-28 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — widespreadEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure food was palatable and at a safe and appetizing temperature. Three (3) of twenty-nine (29) sampled residents and seven (7) residents who attended the Resident Council Meeting stated foods served at the facility did not taste good and the food was often served cold. A test tray of the meal served to forty-two (42) facility residents on 03/26/19 revealed the Ranch Chicken Sandwich and Potato Salad were not palatable and were not within a palatable temperature as defined by the facility's policy. The findings include: Review of the Food Temperatures policy, revised 01/04/19, revealed generally hot food was palatable between 110 degrees Fahrenheit (F) and 120 degrees F and cold food was palatable between 50 degrees F and 45 degrees F. Interview with seven (7) residents who attended the Resident Council Meeting on 03/27/19 at 10:31 AM revealed the food served at the facility did not taste good and the food was often cold. At 6:02 PM on 03/26/19 a palatability test was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2019-03-28 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to distribute and serve food under sanitary conditions during the lunch and supper meal service on 03/26/19 and the lunch meal service on 03/27/19 for forty-two (42) residents who received nutrition from the Kitchen. The facility failed to cool the potato salad and hold the food at a safe temperature, and failed to clean the juice machine, and a heavy buildup of dust was observed on the machine. Further, observation revealed the Regional [NAME] President (RVP) entered the Kitchen on three (3) occasions while tray line service was in progress to retrieve a prepared food tray with no beard restraint in place. In addition, staff removed a meal tray from the dining room meal cart, brought the tray inside the Kitchen, and placed it on the meal cart that was being loaded with residents' food. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's Cooling Monitor for Hazardous Foods policy, with a revision date of 08/31/18, revealed the temperature of Potatoes and Mayo Mixed Salads must be…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2019-03-28 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to maintain an effective infection prevention and control program to provide a safe and sanitary environment to prevent the transmission and development of infection. Observation of wound care for Resident #17 revealed the resident was in Contact Isolation due to an infection of the resident's pressure sore. The facility failed to ensure staff took measures to prevent the spread of the infection. Further observation revealed a nurse took wound cleanser in Resident #17's room, utilized the cleanser to clean the resident's wound, and took the cleanser out of the room and stored it in a treatment cart that contained other residents' treatment items. In addition, staff failed to assist residents with hand hygiene prior to meal service on 03/26/19 at the lunch and evening meals, and on 03/27/19 for the lunch meal. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility's Policies and Practices - Infection Control…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-03-28 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to protect the right to a dignified existence for one (1) of two (2) residents (Resident #44). Interview with Resident #44 on 03/26/19 at 11:34 AM, revealed the facility failed to maintain the resident's colostomy bag (a small pouch used to collect stool) to prevent leakage of stool, resulting in the resident feeling bad. The findings include: Review of a facility policy titled, Resident Rights, revised 08/16/18, revealed the facility would make every effort to assure that the resident was always treated with respect, kindness, and dignity. Review of the medical record for Resident #44 revealed the facility admitted the resident on 09/22/17, with diagnoses that included Ulcerative Colitis, Massive Peritoneum Sepsis, Pancytopenia, and Chronic Anemia. Review of the most recent quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #44 dated 02/20/19, revealed the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of fifteen (15), which indicated intact…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to SIGNATURE HEALTHCARE — 67 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 3 of 5 | 3.1 | -0.1 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
| Staffing | 2 of 5 | 2.8 | -0.8 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 3 of 5 | 3.9 | -0.9 vs chain |
The other 66 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.1★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 66; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHC LP HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 12/01/2015 |
| ASBR HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 05/01/2018 |
| JJLA LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/01/2015 |
| LPSNF LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/01/2015 |
| WHEATEN LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/01/2015 |
| STEIER III, ELMER | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 11/01/2007 |
| DODD, SARAH | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 08/01/2023 |
| HARRISON, JOHN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 11/01/2007 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 9 rows in the source record cover these 8 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 79% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $677K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 13% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KY
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185249. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-05-02, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.