Signature Healthcare of Spencer County
625 Taylorsville Road, Taylorsville, KY 40071 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 120 certified beds · (502) 477-8838 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited May 2019
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 8.0% | 13.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.5% | 6.6% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.2% | 0.5% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.3% | 1.6% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 27.1% | 17.7% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.1% | 3.9% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 6.0% | 14.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 25.1% | 29.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 88.2% | 96.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.8% | 4.8% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 18.2% | 19.0% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 8.8% | 16.1% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 1.1% | 1.7% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 71.4% | 83.5% | 79.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 31.4% | 24.2% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 11.2% | 13.7% | 12.0% | typical |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
48.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 79 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 34.6% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 26 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.30 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 49% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 2% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 48.8%CMS range 36.6–57.3 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.9%CMS range 8.8–16.7 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 34.6% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 38.5% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 19.2% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | 86.4% | 100.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.9%CMS range 4.6–12.8 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.01 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 120 beds and averages 93.2 residents a day — about 78% occupied, or roughly 27 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.83 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.33 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.81 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.13 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.11 on weekdays — 24% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.38 to 1.19 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 56% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · D2026-04-10 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policies and procedures, the facility failed to ensure an allegation of abuse was reported immediately, but no later than two hours after the allegation was made for two of four sampled residents (Residents (R) 3 and R4).On 3/30/2026 at 3:32 PM, staff found R4 in R3's bed and reported the incident immediately to the Director of Nursing (DON), who was in the facility at the time of the incident. However, the incident was not reported to the Office of Inspector General (OIG) until 04/03/2026, 4 days after the incident. Review of the facility's plan of correction (POC), the facility's education records, and interviews with staff determined the facility implemented their plan of correction as alleged prior to the initiation of this survey with compliance date of 04/03/2026.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy, Resident Rights, revised 01/31/2026, revealed, All residents have the right to be treated with respect and dignity. These rights…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-01-23 · tag F0838 — failed to assess facility resources and resident needs — widespreadConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility failed to develop a facility assessment that adequately addresses informed staffing decisions to ensure that there are sufficient number of staff with the appropriate competencies and skill sets necessary to care for its' residents needs as identified through residents assessments and plans of care. Interview on 01/23/2026 at 10:40 AM with CEO he stated the facility assessment had total number per week for nurses and nurse aides required depending on census, but did not address specific numbers required on a daily basis to determine residents care needs. Based on interview, review of facility policy, and review of the Signature Healthcare of [NAME] County Facility Assessment, it was determined the Facility Assessment failed to address all required components. The Facility Assessment failed to address the facility census in its determination of staffing needs. It also failed to consider specific staffing needs, including a breakdown of licensed nurses and nurse aides, for each resident unit in the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-01-23 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive care plan for each resident, which includes measurable objectives and time frames to meet a resident's medical nursing, mental, and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment. This includes revisions as necessary with changes to create a person-centered care plan for each resident for two (2) of 93 sampled residents. (sampled residents 8, and 74.Review of the care plan for Resident (R) 8 did not match the most current orders or needs of the residents. Observation on 01/21/2026 of the R8's room and property revealed R8's wheelchair was without an anti-tipping device, and there were no non-skid strips on the floor and the resident's bed had two (2) half rails used for mobility, the order was for the right side only.Review of the care plan for R74 revealed no history of PTSD nor specific triggers for adverse behaviors, although it was commonly known.Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-01-23 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility failed to ensure nursing staff followed the standard of care for medication administration medications in a safe manor for one of 93 sample residents. (sample R 8).Review of R8's medication list revealed an allergy to acetaminophen, but the resident continued to receive acetaminophen in different prepared medication.Based on interview, record review, and review of facility documents and policy revealed the facility failed to ensure nursing staff followed the standard of care for medication administration medications in a safe manor for one (Resident (R) 8) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. R8's medication list revealed an allergy to acetaminophen; however, the residents had orders for acetaminophen in two different prepared medications.Findings included:Review of the Medication Administration Policy, revised 06/24/2025, revealed Medications are administered as prescribed in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications, good nursing principles and practices, and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-01-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Observation on 1/21/2026 revealed staff entering a resident's room to deliver food trays. The trays were uncovered and then left while personal care was provided to a resident who was on Enhanced Barrier Precautions. No Protective Personal Equipment was observed in use for two of 93 sampled residents. (Sampled Resident 11, 27).Observation on 1/21/2026 revealed that staff obtained a finger stick blood sugar and brought the dirty machine to the cart, laying it on the cart without a barrier. The nurse wiped the machine with a Clorox wipe, one time, and did not leave it wet according to the facility policy or manufacturer's recommendation. One of 93 sampled Residents (sampled Resident 102) Based on observation, interview, and review of manufacturer's instructions and facility policy, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention (IP) program designed to help prevent and manage the transmission of diseases and infections for two (Resident (R) 11 and R102) of 20 sampled residents, as well as one supplemental resident (R27.) Staff failed to thoroughly cleanse and disinfect a…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-08-02 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to prepare, distribute, and serve food in a sanitary manner and in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Dietary staff failed to wash hands and wear gloves prior to cooking resident foods and checking food temperatures on the steam table during the lunch meal on 07/30/2024. A cook, who was crying, was observed to stand at the tray line for approximately five minutes with no face covering and a contract staff member, who was not wearing a hair net, walked through the kitchen three times by the food cart which was being filled with resident food trays. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled Food: Preparation revised 02/2023, revealed all foods were prepared in accordance with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Food Code. Per the policy, all staff would practice proper hand washing techniques and glove use and the staff would be responsible for food preparation procedures that avoid contamination by potentially harmful physical,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-08-02 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. The facility failed to follow the Legionella Water Management Plan. Additionally, laundry staff were observed on 08/01/2024 to fold linen which touched the laundry room floor and the laundry worker's body. A contractor was observed, on 07/30/2024, cleaning the inside of a fish tank with bare hands, then carrying a bucket into the kitchen to obtain water while meal trays were being prepared. The findings include: Review of facility policy Infection Control, dated 01/23/2024, revealed the facility infection control policies and practices were intended to facilitate maintaining a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent and manage transmission of diseases and infections. Further review revealed facility infection control polices and procedures applied…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-08-02 · tag F0922 — failed to maintain the building's systems — widespreadHave enough backup water supply for essential areas of the nursing home.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure that safe drinking water was available when there was a loss of normal water supply for all residents. The census was 89 residents. The findings include: Review of the Dietary Services Agreement dated [DATE], revealed the contracted company was responsible for following state guidelines, for maintaining an adequate supply of emergency water. Review of the contracted company policy titled Guidelines for Water, not dated, revealed the contract company was to establish a contract with a local vendor to supply bottled water. The inventory guide revealed for non-potable water the amount was to be one gallon per person per day. Observation on [DATE] at 4:20 PM of the facility's emergency water supply revealed the emergency potable water was stored in an approximate 10 foot by 10 foot metal storage building located outside to the back of the facility. The storage building did not have a locking device and floor of the building…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-02 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — patternEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the resident environment remained free of accident hazards. On 07/30/2024, chemical products were noted underneath the sink of two bathrooms located near the back nurse's station. Additionally, the doors to both bathrooms were noted to be open with eight residents sitting in wheelchairs near the bathrooms and other residents walking near the bathrooms. The findings include: The facility did not produce an Accident/Supervision Policy upon request from the Administrator on 08/02/2024 10:54 AM . Review of the facility's Resident Rights Policy, revised 09/15/2023, revealed it was the facility's policy all residents would be treated in a manner and in an environment that promoted maintenance or enhancement of quality of life. Observation, on 07/30/2024 at 9:05 AM, revealed two public bathrooms near the back nurse's station with open doors. Further observation revealed chemical products underneath the sinks of both bathrooms. These products included Dermafungal cream,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-02 · tag F0925 — failed to control pests — patternMake sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the facility was free of pest in for four of 34 sampled residents (Resident [R]11, R29, R44, and R67). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, titled Pest Control, undated, revealed the facility would establish a program for the control of insects and rodents and all areas would be monitored regularly for any signs of pest/vermin. Observation during initial facility rounds on 07/30/2024 at 10:50 AM, in the room shared by R29 and R44 and in R67's room revealed multiple gnats flying around in the room. Continued observation during facility rounds on 07/30/2024 at 11:01 AM revealed R29 and R44's room shared a bathroom with R67 and there were multiple gnats flying in the bathroom. Observation of Resident (R)11's room on 07/31/2024 at 9:18 AM revealed one gnat flying around the breakfast tray while R11 was attempting to eat breakfast. Observation of R29 and R44's room, R67's room and the shared bathroom between the rooms on 07/31/2024 at 11:36 AM and on 08/01/2024 at 2:56 PM revealed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-02 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review and facility policy review it was determined the facility failed to treat each resident with respect and dignity and care for each resident in a manner and in an environment that promoted, maintained or enhanceed his or her quality of life, recognizing each resident's individuality for one of 34 sampled residents (Resident (R) 13). The facility must protect and promote the rights of the resident. The findings include: Review of R13's admission Record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 05/13/2024 with diagnoses including cervical disc disorder with myelopathy, quadriplegia, and cervical fusion. Review of R13's admission Miminum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of fourteen of fifteen, which indicated R13 was cognitively intact. Review of R13's Baseline Care Plan completed on 05/13/2024 revealed a communication goal for R13 that communication with staff would be understood. Triggers for the need for communication…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-02 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment for three of 34 sampled residents (Resident [R]29, R44, and R67). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, titled Resident Rights, effective 06/20/2005, revealed a resident had the right to care in an environment that promoted maintenance or enhancement of each resident's quality of life. Continued review of the facility's policy revealed the resident had the right to a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment, including, but not limited to receiving treatment and support for daily living safely. Observation during initial facility rounds on 07/30/2024 at 10:50 AM, revealed R29 and R44's room shared a bathroom with R67 ' s room. A strong urine odor was noted in the bathroom. Observation of R29 and R44 and R67's shared bathroom on 07/31/2024 at 11:36 AM and on 08/01/2024 at 2:56 PM revealed a strong odor of urine was still present in the shared bathroom. During an interview with the Social Services Director (SSD) on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-02 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — isolatedEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide food at palatable temperature for hot foods and at a palatable point of service temperature for three of 34 sampled residents (Residents [R]19, R60 and R13). A test tray was requested on 08/02/2024 and the eggs were 90.7 degrees Fahrenheit (F). The findings include: Review of the facility policy, titled Meal Distribution, revised 02/2023 revealed foods were to be transported to the dining locations in a manner that ensures proper temperature maintenance, protected against contamination, and are delivered in a timely and accurate manner. Interview with R19 on 07/31/2024 at 3:40 PM revealed the food was okay but was often cold. Review of admission record revealed the facility admitted R19 on 07/11/2013 with a diagnoses of cerebral palsy. Review of Minimum Data Set (MDS) with a Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 01/21/2024 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 of 15 which indicated resident was cognitively intact. During an interview with R60 on 08/01/2024, at 11:45…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-05-31 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, facility policy review, and review of an abuse investigation, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents remained free from abuse for one (1) of forty (40) residents, Resident #47. Resident #47's roommate, Resident #41, threatened to kill the resident. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Abuse, Neglect, and Misappropriation of Property, revised May 2019, revealed it is the organization's intention to prevent the occurrence of abuse, neglect, exploitation, injuries of unknown origin, and misappropriation of resident property. The policy defined abuse as the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation, or punishment, with resulting physical harm, pain, or mental anguish. Abuse included physical abuse, mental abuse, verbal abuse, and sexual abuse. Verbal abuse was the use of oral, written, or gestured language that included any threat, or any frightening, disparaging, or derogatory language, to a resident or their families, or within hearing distance, regardless of age, ability to comprehend, or disability.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-05-31 · tag F0635 — isolatedProvide doctor's orders for the resident's immediate care at the time the resident was admitted.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to obtain physician orders for care of a resident's Mediport upon re-admission to the facility for one (1) of forty (40) residents, Resident #79. The findings included: Review of the facility's policy, Vascular Access Devices: Accessing/De-Accessing an Implanted Port, dated August 2016, revealed if the port was not in use, it must be accessed, flushed, and de-accessed at a minimum of once every thirty (30) days. Staff was to document the procedure and resident tolerance in the nurses' notes or flow sheet. Review of the clinical record for Resident #79 revealed the facility re-admitted the resident from the hospital on [DATE], with diagnoses of Acute Right Ankle Pain, Peripheral Vascular Disease (PVD), Coronary Artery Disease (CAD), and Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD). Further review revealed the resident had a Mediport. Review of Resident #79's admission Orders, dated 02/25/19, revealed no orders for the maintenance…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-05-31 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, review of the facility's policy, and review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual, it was determined the facility failed to develop and implement a care plan for three (3) of forty (40) residents, Resident #69, #71, and #79. The facility failed to develop and implement a care plan to ensure Resident #69 and #71's safety while smoking. In addition, the facility failed to develop a care plan for Resident #79's Mediport. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Comprehensive Care Plans, revised 07/19/18, revealed a person-centered comprehensive care plan that included measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's medical, nursing, mental, and psychological needs, was developed for each resident. The care plan would include how the facility would assist the resident to meet their needs, goals, and preferences. The comprehensive care plan was based on a thorough assessment that…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-05-31 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to maintain an effective infection control program to prevent the transmission of infections for one (1) of forty (40) residents, Resident #87. Observation revealed Resident #87 was on contact isolation precautions and staff failed to utilized appropriate Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) while in the resident's room. The findings include: Review of the facility's In-service Training, Isolation, Personal Protective Equipment, and Infection Control, dated 05/28/19, revealed Contact Precautions signs were posted on resident doors with instructions for everyone to clean hands when entering and leaving the room; doctors and staff must gown and glove at the door; and doctors and staff were to use patient dedicated or disposable equipment, and clean and disinfect shared equipment. If the patient had diarrhea (Clostridium difficile), use contact Enteric Precautions, which included washing or sanitizing hands when entering and exiting the room, and using a gown and gloves…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to SIGNATURE HEALTHCARE — 67 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 2 of 5 | 3.1 | -1.1 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 2.9 | -0.9 vs chain |
| Staffing | 4 of 5 | 2.8 | +1.2 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 4 of 5 | 3.9 | +0.1 vs chain |
The other 66 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.1★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 66; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LP CS HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 11/01/2007 |
| AGEMO HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 11/01/2007 |
| JJLA LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 11/01/2007 |
| LPSNF II LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 11/01/2007 |
| WHEATEN LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 11/01/2007 |
| STEIER III, ELMER | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 11/01/2007 |
| DAVIS, MMICHELE | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 10/24/2022 |
| HARRISON, JOHN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 11/01/2007 |
5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 79% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.1M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 11% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KY
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185327. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-23, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.