No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Mission Point Nursing & Physical Rehab Center Of L

13030 Commerical Street, Lamont, MI 49430 · For profit - Corporation · 39 certified beds · (616) 677-1243 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (616) 677-1243 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
1 actual-harm citation
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • nursing-staff turnover (62%) runs well above the national median (45%)
  • about 17% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
4868 Lake Michigan Dr · (616) 895-2805 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
6370 Lake Michigan Dr · (616) 895-7426 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
5086 Matterhorn Ln
Park
5998 Leonard St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased8.5%10.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.4%5.4%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.8%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.6%1.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms12.6%4.3%6.5%worse
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.0%3.0%3.3%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.0%12.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication31.2%19.4%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers12.2%5.1%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control19.2%20.0%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table3.4%14.8%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.1%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.5%79.5%79.4%better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.28U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.13hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.28 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 42% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 10% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.55
RN hours/ resident / day
0.38
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.26
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.19
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.94
RN hoursweekends
62.5%
Total nursing turnover
28.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 39 beds and averages 36.9 residents a day — about 95% occupied, or roughly 2 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.19 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.55 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.26 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.37 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.53 on weekdays — 26% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.80 to 0.94 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 62% is well above the national median of 45%. 3 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-16)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-10-23)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · G2023-08-17 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake M100137229 Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to operationalize policies and procedures and implement measures for a wandering resident to prevent falls, thoroughly investigate for root causes of falls, and implement meaningful interventions for 1 (Resident #2), resulting in a fracture of unknown origin. Findings Include: Review of a policy titled Fall Reduction last revised 4/23 revealed: Our residents have the right to be free from falls, or to sustain no or minimal injury from falls. 4. When any resident experiences a fall, the facility will: a. Assess the resident. B. Complete a Post-Fall Assessment. C. Complete a Risk Management Incident Report. E. Review the event and an interdisciplinary team. F. Implement (or revise) new fall prevention intervention (s). G. Obtain witness statement, as applicable. Review of a policy titled Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation last revised 6/23 revealed: It is the policy of this facility to provide protection for the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-12-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement its Infection Control and Prevention policies and procedures during resident care and medication administration and have an active and ongoing plan for reducing the risk of legionella and other opportunistic pathogens of premise plumbing (OPPP), resulting in the potential for increased risk of respiratory infection among all residents in the facility. Findings include: During an observation of medication administration beginning at 8:15 AM on 12/15/2025, Registered Nurse (RN) D was met at the medication cart on the east hall of the facility. An uncovered plastic cup of yellow carbonated liquid was observed to the right of the computer. An uncovered cup of clear liquid was observed to the left of the computer screen. When asked, RN D said the yellow liquid was their personal drink and that the other uncovered cup of clear liquid was water she had poured for another resident who was not yet ready for their medications. During an observation of medication administration on 12/15/2025 at 8:30 AM, RN D…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-12-16 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — widespread
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain general cleanliness and repair of staff access only areas and residents living areas. This resulted in an increased potential for contamination and a possible decrease in satisfaction of living, among all the residents in the facility.Findings include: On 12/14/2025 at 10:58 AM, observed, in the Resident Care Supply room, the condenser cover of ice machine had a buildup of debris on the surface. On 12/15/2025 at 8:25AM, walkthrough of building with Environmental Manager (EM) L, during discussion regarding cleaning schedule EM L stated that their TELLs system automatically reminds his department of continuous cleaning and maintenance schedules, ice machine is scheduled to be wiped down monthly by housekeeping personnel. On 12/14/2025 at 11:01AM, observation of hopper in the Soiled Utility room on East Hall, the hopper had a buildup of brown film on the interior, the film was partially dislodged when sprayed with water. On 12/15/2025 EM L…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-12-16 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — pattern
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the call light was within reach for one (Resident #10) of seven resident's reviewed for call light placement. Findings:Resident #10 (R10)Review of an admission Record revealed R10 was a [AGE] year-old male, originally admitted to the facility on [DATE], with pertinent diagnoses of anoxic (lack of oxygen) brain damage, unsteadiness on feet, muscle weakness, and adjustment disorder with anxiety. R10 required assistance from 1 staff person for most ADL's (activities of daily living).During an observation on 12/14/25 at 9:36 AM, R10 sat up in bed awake and stated that he did not know where his call light was. The call light laid on top of the heat vent, almost to the floor, between the wall and the resident's bed out of sight and out of reach. During an observation on 12/14/25 at 11:40 AM, the floor nurse went into R10's room and brought in his medications. After the nurse finished and exited R10's room, the call light remained on the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-12-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — pattern
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure licensed nurses followed The Five Rights (Right Resident, Right Drug, Right Dose, Right Route, and Right Time) of medication administration in accordance with professional standards for 2 residents (R8 and R27) out of 3 residents observed during medication administration. Findings Include: During an observation on 12/15/2025 at 8:20 AM, Registered Nurse (RN) D prepared medications for R8 including Lidocaine External Patch 4% (Lidocaine) and Cranberry Oral Tablet 500 MG (milligram) (Cranberry (Vaccinium macrocarpon)) Give 2 tablets by mouth in the morning for UTI (urinary tract infection) prevention. RN D discovered the only dosage form of the Cranberry supplement prescribed for R8 available in the facility was a 450 MG tablet, not the 500 MG dosage ordered. RN D reported she would obtain a clarification order from the prescriber before administering a dose lower than prescribed. During the same medication administration observation on 12/15/2025 at 8:30 AM, RN D discovered a Lidocaine patch was already…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-10-23 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — widespread
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain cleanliness and general repair of equipment, plumbing, the onsite waste water system, and other aspects of the physical environment. This deficient practice has the potential to affect all residents in the facility. Findings Include: During a tour of the dry storage room, at 10:22 AM on 10/21/24, it was found that an odor resembling sewer gas was present upon entering the room. When asked if they knew what the odor was, Dietary Manager R and Regional Dietitian U were unsure. Upon further evaluation of the room, it was found that a slowly leaking sewer pipe was observed in the back left corner with totes underneath it to catch the leak. The sewer pipes were observed covered in duct and electrical tape in some spots, with no adequate fix to the line. No food storage was under this area. During a tour of the facility, at 1:40 PM on 10/21/24, observation of the Ice Machine room with Regional Dietitian U, found a black rubber insulated seal was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-10-23 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — pattern
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to position a urinary catheter collection bag to facilitate drainage for 1 resident (Resident #20) of 2 residents reviewed for urinary catheter care. Findings include: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #20 (R20) admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses which included flaccid neuropathic bladder and retention of urine. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for R20, with a reference date of 10/11/2024 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, out of a total possible score of 15, which indicated R20 was cognitively intact. Review of a current urinary catheter Care Plan intervention for R20, initiated 4/16/2024, directed staff to position her urinary catheter bag below the level of the bladder. In an observation and interview on 10/21/2024 at 3:28 PM in R20's room, R20 was sitting in her wheelchair with her urinary catheter collection bag hanging from the back of her wheelchair…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-23 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to date and discard an outdated-for-use biological medication and failed to discard two insulin pens kept in active storage past the manufacturer's recommended expiration date and after the medication had been discontinued. Findings: On [DATE] at 7:55 AM a review was conducted of the facility medication room with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) J. Review of the medication refrigerator revealed an opened and entered multidose vial of purified protein derivative (PPD) solution. It was observed that the vial was not dated when it had been placed in service. LPN J noted that the box in which the undated vial was contained was dated [DATE] but that the vial itself was not dated. LPN J indicated she did not know the date the vial had been placed into service and reported that the vial expiration date would be the manufacturer's expiration date on the vial. On [DATE] at 8:10 AM the North unit medication cart was reviewed with Registered Nurse (RN)…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure proper use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for residents in Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) for 1 resident (Resident #22) of 12 residents reviewed for infection control. Findings include: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #22 (R22) admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses which included pressure ulcers. Review of R22's Physician's Orders, active 10/23/2024 at 9:00 AM, revealed he required multiple daily dressing changes. Further review revealed no order for EBP's. In an observation and interview on 10/23/2024 at 9:30 AM in R22's room, Registered Nurse (RN) E performed several dressing changes without donning a gown. There was no signage on the door indicating the need for PPE. RN E reported R22 should have EBP's in place because of his wounds. In an interview on 10/23/2024 at 10:04 AM, the Director of Nursing (DON) reported R22 should have had EBP's in place since admitting to the facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-29 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake # MI00145786 Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to effectively implement interventions for effective communication for one resident (R2) of four reviewed for care plans, resulting in the miscommunication of care needs. Findings include: Review of a Face Sheet for R2 revealed she originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnosis of hemiplegia and hemiparesis (one sided weakness), aphasia (may be unable to comprehend or unable to formulate language because of damage to specific brain regions), and cognitive communication deficit. In an interview on 7/24/24 at 8:28 AM, the Designated Power of Attorney (DPOA)/husband of R2 reported that R2 cannot speak or say words like that because she has expressive aphasia. He works with her every day using word cards and a computer program to encourage her to speak in the mornings. He said the facility staff does not know how to communicate with her like he does. In an interview on 7/24/24…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-29 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake # MI00145786 Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to effectively manage care for one resident (R2) of four reviewed for quality of care, resulting in unmet care needs. Findings include: Review of a Face Sheet for R2 revealed she originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnosis of hemiplegia and hemiparesis (one sided weakness), aphasia (may be unable to comprehend or unable to formulate language because of damage to specific brain regions), and cognitive communication deficit. In an interview on 7/24/24 at 8:28 AM, the Designated Power of Attorney (DPOA)/husband of R2 reported he saw her Friday morning on 7/19/24 and she was timid and didn't want to communicate which was abnormal for her, because she is usually cheery. He left and came back in the afternoon and R2 was having some pain in her abdominal/vaginal area. He had the nurse assess R2 and did not see any concerns. The next morning on 7/20/24, the DPOA came to visit,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-01-10 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to: 1. Ensure sufficient hot water at the hand sink; 2. Properly datemark food product; 3. Properly store food product; and 4. Ensure cleanliness of food and non-food contact surfaces. These conditions resulted in an increased risk of contaminated foods and an increased risk of food borne illness that affected 30 residents who consume food from the kitchen. Findings Include: 1. During the initial tour of the kitchen, starting at 9:05 AM on 1/8/24, it was observed that the hand sink, located to the right of the dish machine, was not providing hot water to achieve the required 100F. At this time, the hot water was checked with a rapid read digital thermometer and found to only reach 61F. An interview with Dietary Aide F found that the hand sink never seems to get hot, but the one compartment wash sink (next to the hand sink on the dish machine line) gets hot. Further observation found that the hot water line under the hand sink passes through a mixing valve. According to the 2017 FDA Food Code section 5-202.12…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-10 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a dignified dining experience for four residents who required assistance to be fed (Resident #10, Resident #14, Resident #18, and Resident #26), of 4 residents reviewed, resulting in staff standing over the residents to assist with feeding in an undignified manner and providing intermittent feeding assistance with the potential for the residents' food to get cold. Findings include: Resident #10 (R10) Review of the Care Plan for R10 revealed she has dysphagia with a general diet with 4-pureed textured foods, thin liquids and is allowed a regular texture meal when alert. Her independence with meals fluctuates and is to be provided assistance as needed. She does better with finger foods at meals, initiated 4/29/19. She is also care planned for being dependent for feeding initiated 2/3/22. Resident #14 (R14) Review of the Care Plan for R14 revealed she is dependent for eating, initiated on 1/27/21. The feeding techniques she requires is to be fed by staff, she has a history of pocketing food, initiated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-10 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications were stored and administered according to professional standards, resulting in the potential for significant medication errors and clinically adverse consequences. Findings include: Review of the Medication Administration policy dated June 2019 revealed, B. Administration: 3. Medications are administered at the time they are prepared. Medications are not pre-poured in advance of the medication pass or for more than one resident at a time. During an observation and an interview on 1/10/24 at 9:35 AM, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) I had two medication cups with medications in them for two different residents in her hand. LPN I reported the one resident was not ready for his medications yet, so she put his name on the cup and placed it back into the locked medication cart and proceeded to the other resident's room to administer his medications. This surveyor told her when she was done with that medication pass, the next medication pass will need to be observed from the beginning. When LPN I…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-17 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — isolated
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide adequate nursing staffing to provide 1 Resident (R202) with care as needed, resulting in R202 sitting in urine past the standard 2-hour check and change and experiencing discomfort and potential for skin breakdown. Findings include: Review of R202's face sheet dated 9/28/23 revealed she was a [AGE] year old female admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had diagnoses that included: Schizoaffective disorder, epilepsy, chronic pain, anoxic brain damage (loss oxygen causing brain damage), aphasia (loss of the ability to understand or express speech caused by brain damage), bipolar disorder, anxiety disorder and muscle weakness, R202 was not her own responsible party and was currently in hospice care. On 9/28/23 at 12:35 PM R202 was up in her chair at the Nurse's Station and Registered Nurse (RN) E was feeding her ice cream. R202 was asked if she liked ice cream and she did not respond. R202 began sliding and lifting her buttock off…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to MISSION POINT HEALTHCARE SERVICES — 14 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.8+1.2 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 52.3+0.7 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 53.9+0.1 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 54.1+0.9 vs chain
The other 13 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
MISSION POINT GRAND RAPIDS HOLDINGS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 02/14/2020
WRIGHT, MELISSAIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 02/14/2020
MALI, HARIIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/14/2020
MISSION POINT MANAGEMENT SERVICES LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/14/2020

CMS files one row per role, so the 5 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.9M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-24.9%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$838K
Related-party expense17% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 60%Medicare 3%Other / private 38%

This home reported $838K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 17% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$405per resident / day
operating cost
$12,306per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$324per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MI

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Michigan Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Michigan
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,969/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,818/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 235355. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-16, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next