No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Diversicare Of Oneonta

215 Valley Road, Oneonta, AL 35121 · For profit - Corporation · 120 certified beds · (205) 274-2365 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (205) 274-2365 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0607) — cited Jul 2023Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)1 immediate-jeopardy citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0607), cited Jul 2023
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Urgent care / clinic
2040 2nd Ave E Ste B · (205) 625-3937 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
602 1st Ave E · (205) 625-6420 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
929 Second Ave E · (256) 875-3080 · Call to confirm hours
Park
24 Jack Fendley Dr · (205) 274-2150 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased3.5%12.0%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight8.0%5.4%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.3%1.0%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.5%2.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%1.4%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.1%3.3%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened9.9%12.1%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication29.5%24.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.9%5.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control14.0%12.8%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table12.7%21.2%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.0%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine89.3%80.3%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission24.8%24.8%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit8.7%11.3%12.0%better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

48.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 38 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

48.8%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.3%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.18U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.07hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.18 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 18% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 7% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF48.8%CMS range 35.4–62.951.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.3%CMS range 7.5–16.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified92.3%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.2%CMS range 4.0–14.67.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.991.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.58
RN hours/ resident / day
0.48
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.79
Aide hours/ resident / day
2.85
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.22
RN hoursweekends
46.0%
Total nursing turnover
33.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 120 beds and averages 109.8 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 10 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.85 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.58 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.79 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.42 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.03 on weekdays — 20% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.72 to 0.22 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 46% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 2 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2023-07-23)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2019-12-10)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

10 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · J2023-07-23 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record reviews, interviews, facility document review, the Confirmation of Receipt of Online Incident Report, and facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, the facility failed to ensure staff implemented the facility's abuse policies and procedures when: staff failed to identify an allegation of abuse, protect residents from further potential abuse, and immediately report an allegation of resident-to-resident sexual abuse on 01/14/2023 involving Resident #21 and Resident #2. Multiple staff (Registered Nurse (RN)#4, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #2, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #3, and CNA #37) became aware of the allegation, but no staff reported the incident to the Administrator for two days following the incident, during which time Resident #21 and Resident #2 continued to be roommates, with no measures implemented to prevent further potential abuse. It was determined the facility's non-compliance with one or more requirements of participation had caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment, or death to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0644 — isolated
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to complete a new Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) Level I after the resident was diagnosed with a new mental illness for one (Resident #80) of three residents reviewed for PASARR completion. Findings included: A review of the facility's undated policy titled, PASRR [PASARR] Requirements, revealed, .3. In the event a resident is discharged to a 'mental health or psychiatric hospital' and returns with a new mental illness diagnosis, a new PASRR must be completed prior to or immediately upon readmission. A review of Resident #80 admission Record revealed the facility admitted Resident #80 on 10/29/2020 with diagnoses that included Depressive Disorders. Per the admission Record, on 04/29/2022, the resident received a diagnosis of Paranoid Schizophrenia and on 05/04/2022, a diagnosis of Adjustment Disorder with Mixed Anxiety and Depressed Mood. A review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference date (ARD) of 04/13/2023, indicated Resident #80 had a Brief…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure a level I Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) was updated with a newly developed mental illness for one (Resident #14) of three residents reviewed for PASARRs. Findings included: A review of the facility undated policy titled, PASRR (Preadmission Screening and Resident Review) [PASARR] Requirements revealed, .Guidelines: In an effort of the Health Information Management Coordinator to obtain a completed record, all patients [residents] must have a Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review prior to or immediately upon admission as required by Federal and/or a patient/resident specific review process as defined by local State guidelines. The PASRR is completed to determine provision of appropriate and needed serviced [sic] to individuals who have been diagnosed with MI/MR [mental illness/mental retardation]. Process: 1. Upon admission a PASRR must be completed timely for patients by qualified individuals . A review of Resident #14's admission Record revealed the facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure treatment was provided per physician's orders for a resident who required their legs to be wrapped with a compression bandage daily due to edema for one (Resident #45) of 27 sampled residents. Findings included: A review of Resident #45's admission Record revealed the facility admitted Resident #45 on 07/16/2022 with diagnoses that included Heart Failure, Weakness, and Type Two Diabetes Mellitus. A review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference date (ARD) of 06/16/2023, indicated Resident #45 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, which indicated the resident was cognitively intact. Resident #45 required limited assistance with dressing and personal hygiene. A review of Resident #45's physician's orders revealed an order dated 06/15/2023 for the resident to have both of their legs tightly wrapped with a compression bandage in the morning for edema and remove at bedtime. In an interview on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0685 — isolated
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, and document review, the facility failed to ensure one (Resident #90) of one resident reviewed for vision/hearing was seen by the in-house optometrist as ordered by the physician. Findings included: A review of Resident #90's admission Record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 03/17/2023 with a principal diagnosis of Parkinson's Disease. A review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 03/23/2023, revealed Resident #90 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of eight, which indicated the resident had moderate cognitive impairment. The MDS indicated the resident had adequate vision. A review of Resident #90's Order Summary Report indicated a physician's order dated 06/12/2023 for an Optometrist consult for right eye for in house MD [medical doctor]. A review of a document titled [Name] Final Appointment Listings in Alabama indicated an optometrist would be in the facility on 06/23/2023 to see 19 residents. Per…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-23 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the physician documented a clinical rationale for continuing a psychotropic medication ordered on an as-needed (PRN) basis beyond 14 days and failed to indicate a duration on the PRN order for one (Resident #63) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Findings included: A review of Resident #63's admission Record indicated the facility admitted Resident #86 on 03/19/2021 with diagnoses that included Major Depressive Disorder, Panic Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). A review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 06/01/2023, revealed Resident #63 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating the resident was cognitively intact. Further review of the MDS indicated the resident had Anxiety Disorder, Depression, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and received antianxiety medication. A review of Resident #63's care plan, revised on 04/07/2023, indicated the resident had diagnoses that included PTSD,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-10 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — isolated
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, medical record review, interviews, and review of a facility policy tilted Specific Medication Administration Procedures Administration Procedures For All Medications the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #20 was provided privacy during medication administration by a licensed nurse. This affected RI #20, one of four residents observed during medication administration, and one of four licensed nurses observed during medication administration. Findings Include: A review of a facility policy titled, Specific Medication Administration Procedures Administration Procedures For All Medications, with a date of 06/15, revealed, . Procedures: . 2. Provide privacy for resident during administration of medications, . RI #20 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses to include Acute Respiratory Failure with Hypoxia, Other Pneumonia, Unspecified Organism, Chronic Atrial Fibrillation. On 12/09/19 at 7:15 a.m., Employee Identifier (EI) #1, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-12-10 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, a review of a document provided by the facility titled Perry.[NAME] Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques 8th Edition, the facility failed to ensure a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) removed her gloves and washed her hands or used an alcohol-based hand rub between giving Resident Identifier (RI) #61's oral medications and a nebulizer breathing treatment. This affected RI #61, one of four residents observed during the medication pass, and one of four licensed nurses observed during the medication pass. Findings Include: A review of a document provided by the facility titled Perry.[NAME] Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques 8th Edition, with a copyright date of 2014, revealed . Hand Hygiene . The most important and basic technique in preventing and controlling transmission of infections is hand hygiene . If hands are not visibly soiled, use an alcohol-based hand rub . a . after having direct contact with patients . f. After contact with inanimate objects (e.g., medical equipment) in…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2018-10-25 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, record review and review of the facility's document titled, Peri Care Audit Tool, the facility failed to ensure peri-care was provided in a manner to prevent the potential for cross contamination when a staff wiped Resident Identifier (RI) #42 from the back to the front when providing incontinent care. This resident also has a history of urinary tract infections (UTI). This affected one of two residents observed during incontinent care. A facility document titled, Peri Care Audit Tool, revealed, Action .3.wash front to back . RI #42 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. A record review revealed, RI #42 had diagnoses of urinary tract infection, site not specified, and dementia. Peri Care was observed on RI #42 on at 10/24/18 at 7:19 PM, with Employee Identifier (RI) #3. EI #3 wiped back to front, in the perineal area. He then went to wash his hands and placed a brief on the resident. An interview with EI #3 was conducted on 10/24/18 at 7:50 PM. EI #3 was asked, which way should…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2018-10-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, record review and review of a facility policy titled, Handwashing/Hand Hygiene, and a document titled, Peri Care Audit Tool , the facility failed to ensure: 1. Staff members did not turn the faucet off with their bare hands, and 2. Staff members wiped front to back while providing peri care. This had the potential to effect Resident Identifier (RI) #78, one of 6 residents observed during med pass and RI #42, one 2 residents observed during peri care. Findings include: A facility policy titled, Handwashing/Hand Hygiene, revised August 2015, revealed Policy Statement This facility considers hand hygiene the primary means to prevent the spread of infections. Policy Interpretation and Implementation . Procedure . Washing Hands . 3. Dry hands thoroughly with paper towels and then turn off faucets with a clean dry paper towel. RI #78 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis to include Type II Diabetes Mellitus. 1. A observation was made on 10/24/18 at 03:13 PM, of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to DIVERSICARE HEALTHCARE — 44 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.6+0.4 vs chain
Health inspection 2 of 52.5-0.5 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 53.0-1.0 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 53.5+1.5 vs chain
The other 43 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)
1 of 5Diversicare Of BessemerBessemer, AL 1 of 5Diversicare Of HaysvilleHaysville, KS 1 of 5Diversicare Of MeridianMeridian, MS 1 of 5Diversicare Of Oak RidgeOak Ridge, TN 1 of 5Diversicare Of OxfordOxford, AL 1 of 5Diversicare Of RipleyRipley, MS 1 of 5Diversicare Of SedgwickSedgwick, KS 1 of 5Diversicare Of SouthavenSouthaven, MS 1 of 5Lampasas Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterLampasas, TX 1 of 5Windsor HouseHuntsville, AL 2 of 5Diversicare Of AmoryAmory, MS 2 of 5Diversicare Of ArabArab, AL 2 of 5Diversicare Of BatesvilleBatesville, MS 2 of 5Diversicare Of BoazBoaz, AL 2 of 5Diversicare Of BrookhavenBrookhaven, MS 2 of 5Diversicare Of ChanuteChanute, KS 2 of 5Diversicare Of Council GroveCouncil Grove, KS 2 of 5Diversicare Of EuporaEupora, MS 2 of 5Diversicare Of FoleyFoley, AL 2 of 5Diversicare Of MontgomeryMontgomery, AL 2 of 5Diversicare Of Moss PointMoss Point, MS 2 of 5Diversicare Of Pell CityPell City, AL 2 of 5Diversicare Of TupeloTupelo, MS 2 of 5St Martin's In The PinesIrondale, AL 3 of 5Chisolm Trail Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterLockhart, TX 3 of 5Diversicare Of Copper BasinCopperhill, TN 3 of 5Diversicare Of LulingLuling, TX 3 of 5Diversicare Of QuitmanQuitman, MS 3 of 5Diversicare Of RiverchaseBirmingham, AL 3 of 5Diversicare Of ShelbyShelby, MS 3 of 5Park PlaceSelma, AL 3 of 5Yorktown Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterYorktown, TX 4 of 5Baron House Of HueytownHueytown, AL 4 of 5Diversicare Of Big SpringsHuntsville, AL 4 of 5Diversicare Of HutchinsonHutchinson, KS 4 of 5Diversicare Of LanettLanett, AL 4 of 5Diversicare Of WinfieldWinfield, AL 4 of 5Hartford Health CareHartford, AL 5 of 5Diversicare Of GreensboroGreensboro, AL 5 of 5Diversicare Of LarnedLarned, KS

Showing 40 of 43; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
DIVERSICARE LEASING COMPANY III LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 07/01/2016
ADVOCAT FINANCE, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 07/01/2016
DAC NEWCORP INCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 04/04/2022
DIVERSICARE HEALTHCARE SERVICES LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 05/10/1994
DIVERSICARE MANAGEMENT SERVICES LP.Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 07/01/2016
CLEMONS HOSFORD, LISAIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 09/01/2023
KELLMAN, FRANKLINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/13/2024
KOHN, BRIANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/19/2021
RATNER, ERANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/13/2024
BODIE, REBECCAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 03/02/2020
NEE, STEPHENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 02/20/2023
WEISHAAR, MATTHEWIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 12/01/2003
DMS GP LLCOrganizationGENERAL PARTNERSHIP INTERESTsince 04/04/2022

CMS files one row per role, so the 15 rows in the source record cover these 13 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$9.9M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-0.2%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$521K
Related-party expense5% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 65%Medicare 3%Other / private 32%

This home reported $521K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$248per resident / day
operating cost
$7,535per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$247per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in AL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alabama
$8,334/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$8,787/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,425/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015159. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-07-23, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next