Diversicare Of Quitman
191 Highway 511 East, Quitman, MS 39355 · For profit - Corporation · 120 certified beds · (601) 776-2141 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Nov 2023
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- a high number of inspection citations overall (18) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $8,018 in federal fines (most recent 2024-12-18)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 2 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 14.3% | 20.5% | 15.4% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 7.3% | 6.2% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.7% | 1.4% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.6% | 2.5% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 3.8% | 1.6% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.3% | 3.1% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 8.8% | 19.6% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 22.4% | 23.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 97.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 9.5% | 6.3% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 20.6% | 20.7% | 21.2% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 8.8% | 21.7% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 2.5% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 85.4% | 84.6% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 29.8% | 27.7% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 9.5% | 15.5% | 12.0% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.20 | 2.43 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 2.28 | 2.86 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
48.1% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 42 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.21 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 25% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 9% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 48.1%CMS range 35.5–62.1 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.2%CMS range 7.4–15.6 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 97.3% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | 95.2% | 100.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 2.7% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.1%CMS range 3.5–10.0 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.03 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 120 beds and averages 100.8 residents a day — about 84% occupied, or roughly 19 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.18 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.59 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.83 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.76 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.35 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.69 to 0.34 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 49% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
18 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · G2024-12-18 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide supervision to prevent a resident-on-resident altercation when Resident #61 wandered into another resident's room, which resulted in Resident #61 receiving a hematoma to her forehead and an emergency department (ED) visit for one (1) of 22 sampled residents, Resident #61. Findings included: A record review of the facility's Investigation Template, dated 11/11/2024, revealed that at approximately 6:20 AM on 11/11/2024, a floor tech summoned help to Resident #91's room. Staff found water on the floor, a water pitcher spilled, and Resident #91 sitting on her bed holding her purse. Resident #91 stated she thought a man was trying to take her belongings and said she protected herself. Resident #61 was removed from the room and was noted to have a hematoma on the left side of her forehead and redness on the left side of her face. Resident #61 was assisted to her room and transported to a local hospital's ED. A record review of the local hospital's ED report, dated 11/11/2024,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2026-05-21 · tag F0628 — patternProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure residents and their resident representatives (RRs) received written notice of hospital transfers, including the reason for the transfer, in a language and manner they could understand for three (3) of four (4) residents reviewed for discharges and hospitalization. Resident #1, Resident #3, and Resident #98. Findings include:A review of the facility's policy, Transfer and Discharge, dated 11/1/2016, revealed, .(Proper Name of Facility) shall permit each Resident to remain at the Center, and not transfer or discharge the Resident from the Center except in accordance with Federal and State laws.Procedure.Notice Requirements 4. Before (Proper Name of Facility) transfers or discharges the Resident, it shall notify the Resident and the Resident's Representative of the basis for the or discharge in a language and manner they understand.5.Notice may be made as soon as practicable before a transfer or discharge when.An immediate…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2026-05-21 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to timely develop a comprehensive care plan with interventions related to an indwelling catheter placement for one (1) of (20) sampled residents reviewed for care planning. Resident #92. Findings include:A review of the facility's policy, Care Plans, dated 10/2025, revealed, .Care plans will be developed for all patients and residents.Care plans are developed by the interdisciplinary team.A record review of the Care Plan Report revealed Resident #92 had a care plan Focus of The resident has.Foley Catheter RT (related to) Obstructive Uropathy and Reflux Uropathy initiated on 5/4/26. The care plan included multiple interventions related to catheter care and monitoring, all initiated on 5/4/26.A record review of Section H of the Discharge - Return Anticipated Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 2/21/26 revealed Resident #92 did not have an indwelling catheter when discharged from the facility to an acute care hospital.A record review of the Discharge Summary…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-21 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolatedReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure a resident's call light remained accessible and within reach for one (1) of (20) sampled residents reviewed for call light accessibility. Resident #77.Findings include:A review of the facility's policy, Nurse Call Policy, dated 9/1/2014, revealed, .Guidelines.2. Each cord needs to be visible and reachable by the resident which it operates for.4. Any component that does not function should be repaired as soon as practically feasible.A record review of the admission Record revealed the facility admitted Resident #77 on 1/18/24 with diagnoses including Dementia.A record review of the Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 4/8/26 revealed Resident #77 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of (13), which indicated the resident was cognitively intact.On 5/18/26 at 11:51 AM, during an observation and interview, Resident #77's call light string was observed out of the resident's reach. Resident #77 stated the string was out of reach…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-21 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on staff interview, record review, and facility guideline review, the facility failed to revise the comprehensive care plan to reflect Resident #29's current diabetic management orders and interventions for one (1) of (20) sampled residents reviewed for care plans. Resident #29.Findings include:A review of the facility's Care Plans guideline, dated 10/2025, revealed, .Care plans are developed.and revised as needed according to resident and patient status or change.A record review of the Care Plan Report revealed Resident #29 had a focus area for Alteration in Blood Glucose due to: Hyperglycemic Episodes, DX OF TYPE 2 DIABETES MELLITUS, initiated on 3/15/24 and revised on 6/26/24. Further review revealed interventions including ACCU Checks PRN, accuchecks bid. Notify provider if BG is less than 70 and greater than 450 mg/dL two times a day for DM, and Accuchecks PRN. Notify provider of BG 70 and >400. A comparison of the care plan interventions to the active physician orders revealed Resident #29 did not have physician orders for accuchecks as needed (PRN) or accuchecks twice…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-21 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide treatment and services according to professional standards of practice by failing to monitor, assess, and provide appropriate follow-up for abnormal blood sugar results, insulin holds/refusals, and glucagon administration for Resident #29 and by failing to timely implement physician orders related to indwelling catheter management for Resident #92 for two (2) of (20) sampled residents reviewed for treatment and services. Findings include: A review of the facility's policy, Medication Administration, dated 7/2023, revealed, .Policy: Medications are administered as prescribed, in accordance with good nursing principles and practices.Procedure.When PRN medications are administered, the following documentation is provided.Complaints or symptoms for which the medication was given.If a dose of regularly scheduled medication is withheld, refused.An explanatory note is entered on the reverse side of the record provided for PRN (as needed) documentation. A review of the Patient Information for GVOKE…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-05-21 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to store oxygen tubing and a nasal cannula in a manner to prevent possible contamination and respiratory complications for one (1) of (1) residents reviewed for respiratory care. Resident #29. Findings include:A review of the facility's policy, Oxygen Guideline, dated 8/1/2024, revealed, .Medical oxygen.is provided in accordance with a health care provider's order and in accordance with acceptable standards of practice.A record review of the admission Record revealed the facility admitted Resident #29 on 1/19/25 with diagnoses including Diabetes Mellitus (DM).A record review of the Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 3/31/26 revealed Resident #29 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of fifteen (15), which indicated the resident was cognitively intact.A record review of the Order Summary Report revealed Resident #29 had a physician order dated 5/8/26 for Oxygen at 2L (liters) per nasal cannula for decreased oxygen saturation PRN (as…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-03-17 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, facility policy review and record review, the facility failed to implement Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) and infection prevention and control practices for one (1) of six (6) sampled residents. (Resident #2) Findings include:Record review of the Infection Control Guide policy dated 2025 revealed, .Enhanced Barrier Precautions refers to the expanded use of PPE (personal protective equipment) and refer to the use of gown and gloves during high-contact resident care activities that provide opportunities for transfer of MDROs to staff hands and clothing.residents with wounds.are especially high risk.On 03/17/2026 at 10:40 AM, during an observation of wound care for Resident #2, no signage for EBP was noted on the door. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 performed wound care while wearing gloves but did not don (put on) a gown during care. The resident was noted to have a sacral wound with a large amount of grayish drainage and strong odor. LPN#1 performed hand hygiene; however, handwashing duration was observed to be approximately 10 seconds during…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-12-18 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to develop care plans related to a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine (Resident #2) and an indwelling catheter (Resident #74) for two (2) of 22 sampled residents. Findings included: A record review of the facility's policy Comprehensive Care Plan dated May 1, 2012, revealed, Standard: Social services staff and/or designee will participate in the development of a comprehensive care plan for each resident. Practice Guidelines: 1. The interdisciplinary care plan is implemented to guide healthcare center staff in the provision of necessary care and services to obtain and maintain the highest practical physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of the resident and promotion of the resident and family in planning care . Resident #2 A record review of the Discharge Summary, dated 11/27/2024, for Resident #2 revealed, .There was concern for obstructive sleep apnea .11/25 (2024) .will have to have…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-12-18 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure residents' rights to privacy by allowing wandering residents to enter resident rooms without invitation or permission (Resident #5 and Resident #57) and failing to cover a urinary drainage bag (Resident #74) for three (3) of 22 sampled residents. Findings included: A record review of the facility's policy titled Resident Rights & Quality of Life Policy, dated March 13, 2020, revealed, .All patients and residents have the right to a dignified existence, self-determination, and communication with access to people and services inside and outside the center . Procedure: A patient or resident has the right .To personal privacy and confidentiality of personal and clinical records . Resident #5 On 12/15/2024 at 10:37 AM, during an interview, Resident #5 stated that a female resident in a wheelchair often entered her room without permission, during the daytime and nighttime hours. She reported this to staff several times, but the behavior has continued. She explained she kept the door…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-12-18 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement physician orders for the use of a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine (Resident #2) and for an indwelling catheter (Resident #74) for two (2) of 22 sampled residents. Findings included: A review of the facility's document, Standards of Practice, dated 12/19/2024 and signed by the Administrator, revealed, The expectation set forth by management is that nurses comply with current standards of practice in terms of following physician's orders . A record review of the facility's policy, Electronic Clinical Records System Timely Admission-readmission Data Entry, undated, revealed, Guideline: The practice of the center clinicians is to enter specific patient critical and pertinent clinical data and documentation related to the patient's admission or readmission in a timely manner into the patient's electronic record . Processes: 2. Entry of Physician's Orders is the responsibility of the Health…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-12-18 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — isolatedProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure sufficient nursing staff to provide nursing and related services to meet residents' needs safely and in a manner that promotes each resident's rights, physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for one (1) of four (4) staffing quarters reviewed. Findings included: 1) Cross Reference to F550. 2) Cross Reference to F689. A record review of the facility's policy titled Staffing Requirements for Resident Care, effective March 2023, revealed, The facility must ensure that sufficient nursing staff is present at all times to meet residents' individual care needs and maintain a safe and sanitary environment. A record review of the facility's Payroll-Based Journal (PBJ) Staffing Data Report for Quarter 4, 2024 (July 1 - September 30), revealed excessively low weekend staffing triggered alerts, indicating that submitted weekend staffing data was consistently low compared to weekday staffing data. A record review of the facility's Center Assessment Tool dated 09/23/24 revealed . Other…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-11-28 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on staff interviews, record review, facility investigation, and policy review, the facility failed to protect a resident from verbal abuse for one (1) of four (4) residents sampled. Resident #1 Findings include: A review of the facility's policy, Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation Policy, dated January 2019 revealed, .Purpose: To prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, exploitation, .Definitions .Verbal abuse includes the use of oral, written, or gestured communication, or sounds, to residents within hearing distance . A record review of the Investigation Template, dated 10/24/2023, revealed on 10/20/23, the Administrator was in her office when she overheard Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) #1 being disrespectful when yelling at Resident #1 to be still with profanity used. Several other residents heard the encounter with CNA #1 and Resident #1. CNA #1 admitted to using profanity to Resident #1 . Actions taken post investigation: . CNA (Proper Name) was terminated due to poor customer service . A record review of the handwritten statement, dated 10/23/23, and signed by CNA #1…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2023-04-19 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, record review and facility policy review the facility failed to remove expired, undated, and spoiled food items from storage areas for one (1) of four (4) kitchen observations. This had the potential to affect all residents in the facility receiving food from the dietary department. Findings include: Review of facility's policy, Food and Supply Storage Procedures, undated, revealed, .Remove from storage any items for which the expiration date has expired . Review of the facility's policy, Food Storage: Dry Goods, revised 9/2017, revealed, All dry goods will be appropriately stored will be appropriately stored in accordance with the FDA Food Code . 5. All packaged and canned food items will be kept clean, dry, and properly sealed. 6. Storage areas will be neat, arranged for easy identification, and date marked as appropriate. Review of facility's policy, Receiving, revised 9/2017, revealed, . 5. All food items will be appropriately labeled and dated wither through manufacturer packaging or staff rotation . On 4/16/23 at 11:00 AM, during an initial…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-04-19 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolatedEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy (peg) feeding tube care in a manner to prevent complications for one (1) of three (3) residents reviewed with peg feeding tubes. Resident #64 Findings include: A record review of the facility's Care of a Gastrostomy or Jejunostomy Tube Competency Audit provided by the Director of Nursing (DON) revealed, .Cleansed skin around site with water and soap using gauze . Further review revealed the document did not contain steps for the actual cleansing procedure to include the direction of wipes and the rotation of gauze. A record review of the Order Summary Report, with Active Orders As Of: 04/19/2023 revealed Resident #64 had a Physician's Order dated 8/2/22 to Clean peg tube site with soap and water and leave open to air q (every) shift . On 04/18/23 at 2:20 PM, in an observation of Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #2 providing peg feeding tube care to Resident #64, she cleaned the peg feeding tube insertion site with a moistened gauze, using a circular motion wiping four…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-04-19 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, observation, record review, the facility failed to adhere to accepted standards of practice for the proper storage of a nebulizer mask for two (2) of three (3) observations. Resident # 74 Findings include: During an observation on 04/16/23 at 11:42 AM, Resident #74 was in bed, and his nebulizer mask was noted directly on the floor. There was no visible container designated to store the nebulizer tubing/mask. On 4/16/23 at 2:54 PM, Resident #74 was observed in his bed. His nebulizer mask continued to be on the floor, with no visible container to store the mask to prevent contamination. On 4/16/23 at 3:04 PM, during an interview with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #2, she explained Resident #74 had scheduled nebulizer treatments, but was unsure how often. She stated that the nebulizer mask should be kept in a bag when it is not in use because of infection control. LPN #2 entered Resident #74's room and confirmed the nebulizer mask was lying on the floor. She also confirmed there was no container or designated area to store the mask to prevent contamination. She…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-04-19 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — isolatedProvide or obtain dental services for each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure recommended dental services were provided for one (1) of twenty (20) sampled residents. Resident # 79 Findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Dental/Oral Care dated December 1, 2010, revealed, Purpose To ensure residents receive care and services and attain or maintain the highest level of oral hygiene . Procedure .5. Interdisciplinary Care Team will assess for specific needs and review as indicated .7. Regular and emergency dental care will be provided by contracted services of a dentist. 8. Dentist referrals will be arranged by the Nursing Department or Social Services Departments . During an observation, on 04/16/23 at 10:33 AM, Resident #79 was lying in bed and the right side of his face was swollen. During an interview on 04/17/23 at 10:35 AM, with Resident # 79, he said he had an abscess on his right tooth and he had reported it to the nurse. The resident said that it was painful, but the facility was giving him pain medication. Record review of the facility's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-04-19 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, observation, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to prevent the possible spread of infection when a nurse flushed and administered a medication via a percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy (peg) feeding tube without wearing gloves for one (1) of three (3) residents reviewed with peg feeding tubes. Resident # 64. Findings Include: A record review of the facility's policy, Policies and Practices-Infection Control, dated 11/1/17, revealed, .This center's infection control policies and practices are intended to facilitate maintaining a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent and mange transmission of diseases and Infection . On 04/16/23 at 12:41 PM, during an observation and interview, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 was in Resident #64's room using a syringe and water to flush his peg feeding tube. LPN #1 was touching the resident's feeding tube, container of water, and syringe with ungloved hands. She flushed the tube and then administered a liquid medication that she identified as Acidophilus. On 04/16/23 at 01:00…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$8,018 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $8,018 — penalty dated 2024-12-18
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to DIVERSICARE HEALTHCARE — 44 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 3 of 5 | 2.6 | +0.4 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.5 | +0.5 vs chain |
| Staffing | 4 of 5 | 3.0 | +1.0 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 3 of 5 | 3.5 | -0.5 vs chain |
The other 43 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 43; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAC OPCO MISSISSIPPI LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 04/11/2022 |
| DAC OPCO, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 61% | since 01/27/2022 |
| PEARSON, KENYATTA | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/14/2013 |
| RATNER, ERAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 04/01/2022 |
| BODIE, REBECCA | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 04/01/2022 |
| KOHN, BRIAN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 09/13/2024 |
| NEE, STEPHEN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 02/20/2023 |
| WEISHAAR, MATTHEW | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 04/01/2022 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 10 rows in the source record cover these 8 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 82% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $501K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in MS
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Mississippi Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 255288. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-05-21, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.