No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Henderson Nursing and Rehabilitation Center

2500 North Elm Street, Henderson, KY 42420 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 90 certified beds · (270) 826-9794 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (270) 826-9794 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 10 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • about 20% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★ 2/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
2242 US Highway 41 N · (270) 971-4831 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Omnicare0.7 mi
1900 US Highway 41 N · (270) 826-6790 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
2480 US Highway 41 N Ste B · (270) 844-8081 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Cs 1003 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 3 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased11.2%13.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight8.7%6.6%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder2.2%0.5%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.5%1.6%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%17.7%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.8%3.9%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened15.3%14.0%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication37.0%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.7%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.7%4.8%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control19.9%19.0%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table11.7%16.1%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.7%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%83.5%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission35.5%24.2%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit6.1%13.7%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.631.941.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.352.141.80better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

10.3%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
15.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.27U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.12hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.11hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 15.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 20 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.27 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 41% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 8% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.3%CMS range 6.3–14.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge15.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge10.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge10.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified90.3%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay3.2%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened6.5%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.9%CMS range 3.7–11.27.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.131.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.58
RN hours/ resident / day
0.36
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.16
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.10
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.33
RN hoursweekends
42.5%
Total nursing turnover
53.8%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 90 beds and averages 80.4 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 10 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.10 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.58 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.16 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.66 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.27 on weekdays — 19% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.68 to 0.33 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 42% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 2 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-06-05)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2025-05-16)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

10 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-06-05 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policies, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment, and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 6 sampled residents, Resident (R)79. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Administration, revised 03/2026, revealed the purpose is for medications to be administered by licensed staff who will follow the established facility infection control procedures. Review of the facility's policy titled, Hand Hygiene Protocol, not dated, revealed hand hygiene means cleaning your hands by using either handwashing (washing hands with soap and water), antiseptic hand wash, antiseptic hand rub (i.e. alcohol-based hand sanitizer including foam or gel). Gloves may be used including but not limited to food and medication preparation areas. In addition, gloves changed, and hand hygiene performed before moving from a contaminated-body site to a clean-body…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-05-16 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to implement a comprehensive person centered care plan for 2 of 23 sampled residents, (Resident (R)50, and R42). 1. Review of R50's comprehensive person centered care plan revealed the resident was to wear left and right hand and knee splints daily for six days. However, observation on 05/13/2025 at 12:03 PM and 2:18 PM, on 05/14/2025 at 9:10 AM, 11:23 AM , on 05/15/2025 at 9:20 AM and 11:30 AM of R50, revealed two hand splints lying on the resident's bedside table; and observation on 05/16/2025 at 10:18 AM revealed the hand splints were located in R50's closet. Additionally, observation on 05/13/2025 at 12:03 PM and 2:18 PM, on 05/14/2025 at 9:10 AM, 11:23 AM revealed R50 lying on her bed with no knee splints in place and her knees drawn up to her chest. 2. Review of R42's comprehensive person centered care plan revealed the resident was not to have chips and was to be supervised with all (oral) intake. However, observation on 05/13/2025 at 11:42 AM and 2:48 PM, revealed R42…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-05-16 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure residents with limited range of motion received appropriate treatment and services to prevent further decrease in range of motion (ROM) for 1 of 23 sampled residents, (Resident (R)50). R50 was care planned with interventions to have left and right wrist and knee splints daily for six days. However, observation revealed two hand splints lying on R50's bedside table or located in the resident's closet. Additionally, observation revealed R50 did not have knee splints on while in bed and the resident's knees were drawn up to her chest. The findings include: Review of the facility policy, Restorative Nursing Standards of Practice, revised 12/2023, revealed the facility strived to promote a restorative nursing program that encourages all residents to attain or maintain their highest practical level of function. Per review, residents were to be evaluated for potential nursing restorative nursing needs on admission, quarterly, and with a change in condition. Continued review revealed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-05-16 · tag F0808 — failed to follow doctor-ordered diets — isolated
    Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, the facility failed to ensure residents received and consumed foods in the appropriate form or the appropriate nutritive content as prescribed for 1 of 23 sampled residents, (Resident (R)42). R42 had a diet order for supervision with all (oral) intake and to have no chips. However, observation on 05/13/2025 at 11:42 AM and 2:48 PM, revealed R42 self-propelling throughout the facility while eating a bag of potato chips unsupervised. The findings include: A policy was requested however, the Administrator stated the facility did not have a policy related to the deficient practice. Record review revealed the facility admitted R42 on 03/13/2020, with diagnoses that included Dysphagia, Idiopathic Epilepsy, and Profound Intellectual Disabilities. Review of the Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 02/11/2025 for R42, revealed the facility assessed the resident as having a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of zero out of 15, indicating the resident was rarely or never understood.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-05-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 5 residents sampled for wound care out of the total sample of 23 residents (Resident (R)21). Staff providing R21's wound care failed to utilize proper hand washing during the resident's wound care procedure. The findings include: Review of the facility policy, Hand Hygiene, undated, revealed hand hygiene meant cleaning your hands by using either handwashing (washing hands with soap and water) or using hand sanitizer. Per review, hand hygiene was to be performed; before and after glove use; and before and after having contact with blood, body fluids or excretions, mucous membranes, non-intact skin, or wound dressing. Review further revealed gloves were to be changed and hand hygiene performed before moving from a contaminated body site to a clean body…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2021-04-30 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure all residents' drugs and biologicals which were expired were removed from all medication administration areas in order to prevent possible administration to residents. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Administering Oral Medications Level III Purpose, undated, revealed, staff were to check the expiration dates on all residents' medications and return any expired medications to the Pharmacy. Observation 04/29/2021 at 10:10 AM, of the refrigerator located in the facility's Medication Prep Room, revealed one (1) bottle of Omeprazole Suspension 20 milligrams/milliliter (mg/ML) with an expiration date of 03/21/2021. Observation on 4/30/2021 at 9:18 AM of the Hall 1 medication carts #1, #2 and #3 and the Hall 2 medication carts #1, #2 and #3 revealed the following expired medications: *Ondansetron 4 mg tablets (tabs), 4 tabs with an expiration date of 02/15/2021 *Loperamide 2 mg, 13 tabs - with an expiration date of 02/08/2021 *Ibuprofen 800 mg, 8…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2021-04-30 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    The facility failed to prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety as related to the kitchen floor not being clean. Review of facility policy titled, Environment, revision date of 09/2017, revealed All food preparation areas, food service areas, and dining areas will be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. The Dining Services Director will ensure that the kitchen is maintained in a clean and sanitary manner, including floors, walls, ceilings, lighting and ventilation. Observation on 04/27/2021 at 9:51 AM, while on initial tour of the kitchen with the Dietician, it was noted the floors were dirty with dirt, debris and dirty paper towels noted in the floor. Interview with the District Manager of Dietary, on 04/30/2021 at 8:13 AM, revealed that the dietary staff are expected to keep the floor clean. States that they usually clean the floor between breakfast and lunch. He would expect the floor to be free from debris and dust.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-04-30 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to revise the Comprehensive Care Plan for one (1) of twenty-four (24) sampled residents (Resident #3). The facility failed to ensure Resident #3's Comprehensive Care Plan was revised to include the intervention for bladder cycling related to the Physician's Order received on 04/08/2021. The resident's care plan was not revised to include the intervention until 04/26/2021, fourteen (14) days after the order was received. The findings include: Review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual dated 10/2018, revealed residents' care plans were to be reviewed and revised based on the resident's needs, changing goals, preferences and in response to current interventions. Record review revealed the facility admitted Resident #3 on 10/18/2020, with diagnoses which included: Obstructive and Reflux Uropathy; Sepsis; Metabolic Encephalopathy; Acute…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-04-30 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, record review and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents received the necessary care and services to promote healing and prevent infection for one (1) of twenty-four (24) sampled residents, Resident (#33). Observation of a dressing change for Resident #33 revealed the nurse failed to ensure reusable resident care equipment was cleaned and sanitized before and after each use. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Cleaning and Disinfection of Resident-Care Items and Equipment, revised on 10/2018 revealed resident care equipment which included reusable items and durable medical equipment were to be cleaned and disinfected according to current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations for disinfection and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Bloodborne Pathogens Standard. Continued review revealed reusable items, such as stethoscopes and durable medical equipment, etc. were to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-04-30 · tag F0808 — failed to follow doctor-ordered diets — isolated
    Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, interview and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure all residents requiring a therapeutic diet prescribed by the Physician received the diet as ordered for one (1) of twenty-four (24) sampled residents (Resident #56). Resident #56 had a Physician ordered dietary change for a therapeutic diet which the facility failed to implement immediately. The findings include: Review of the facility policy entitled, Therapeutic Diets, revision date of 09/2017, revealed all residents were to have a Physician ordered diet which included regular, therapeutic and modified texture diets. Continued review revealed the licensed nurse accepting the diet order from the prescriber was to complete and sign the facility's Diet Requisition Form. Further review revealed the licensed nurse was to ensure the Diet Requisition Form included the diet ordered by the prescriber, any food allergies and specific food preference requests. In addition, review revealed all…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to BENJAMIN LANDA — 48 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 53.4-0.4 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 53.3+0.7 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 52.3-1.3 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 53.5-0.5 vs chain
The other 47 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.4★, per CMS)
1 of 5Christian Heights Nursing and Rehabilitation CentePembroke, KY 1 of 5Golden Gate Rehabilitation & Health Care CenterStaten Island, NY 1 of 5River Haven Nursing And Rehabilitation CenterPaducah, KY 1 of 5Salyersville Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterSalyersville, KY 1 of 5Silver Healthcare CenterCherry Hill, NJ 2 of 5Brookwood Gardens Rehabilitation And Nursing CenteHomestead, FL 2 of 5Cumberland Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterSomerset, KY 2 of 5Elizabethtown Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterElizabethtown, KY 2 of 5Golfview Nursing CenterSaint Petersburg, FL 2 of 5Homestead Rehabilitation & Health Care CenterNewton, NJ 2 of 5Southern Pines Nursing CenterNew Port Richey, FL 2 of 5The Five Towns Premier Rehabilitation & Nursing CeWoodmere, NY 2 of 5Westside Oaks Rehabilitation & Nursing CenterJacksonville, FL 3 of 5Bay Breeze Rehabilitation By HarborviewGulf Breeze, FL 3 of 5Brookhaven Rehab & Health Care Center L L CFar Rockaway, NY 3 of 5Franklin-Simpson Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterFranklin, KY 3 of 5Golfcrest Nursing CenterHollywood, FL 3 of 5Hardinsburg Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterHardinsburg, KY 3 of 5Ormond Rehabilitation And Nursing CenterOrmond Beach, FL 3 of 5Pinnacle Multicare Nursing and Rehabilitation CentBronx, NY 3 of 5Premier Nursing and Rehab Center of Far RockawayFar Rockaway, NY 3 of 5Stanton Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterStanton, KY 4 of 5Campbellsville Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterCampbellsville, KY 4 of 5Fordsville Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterFordsville, KY 4 of 5Graceville Rehabilitation By HarborviewGraceville, FL 4 of 5Grand Boulevard Health And Rehabilitation CenterMiramar Beach, FL 4 of 5Gulf Valor Rehabilitation By HarborviewPensacola, FL 4 of 5Irvine Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterIrvine, KY 4 of 5Marianna Nursing And Care CenterMarianna, FL 4 of 5Middleburg Rehabilitation And Nursing CenterMiddleburg, FL 4 of 5Orange Park Rehabilitation And Nursing CenterOrange Park, FL 4 of 5Specialty Health And Rehabilitation CenterPensacola, FL 4 of 5Spring Creek Rehabilitation & Nursing Care CenterBrooklyn, NY 4 of 5Surrey Place Nursing CenterLive Oak, FL 4 of 5The Grandview Nursing and Rehabilitation FacilityCampbellsville, KY 4 of 5Woodcrest Nursing and Rehabilitation CenterElsmere, KY 5 of 5Arcadia Health And Rehabilitation CenterPensacola, FL 5 of 5Bayside Health And Rehabilitation CenterPensacola, FL 5 of 5Chautauqua Springs Health CenterDefuniak Springs, FL 5 of 5Eastchester Rehabilitation And Health Care CenterBronx, NY

Showing 40 of 47; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
PLATSCHEK, ALEXANDERIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF24%since 05/31/2024
RUBENSTEIN, DAVIDIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF11%since 05/31/2024
FTKY OPCO, LLCOrganizationINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTsince 05/31/2024
KENTUCKY HEALTH HOLDINGS, LLCOrganizationINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2024
KY MAGNOLIA, LLCOrganizationINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTsince 05/31/2024
SAMZIL HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTsince 05/31/2024
THE GOLDIE PLATSCHEK 2021 FAMILY TRUSTOrganizationINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2024
KELMAN, MOSHEIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2024
PLATSCHEK, RICHARDIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2024
MEDCO HENDERSON RE, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTsince 10/01/2018
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENTOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTsince 10/01/2018
METROPOLITAN COMMERCIAL BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTERESTsince 10/01/2018
ZIEGLER FINANCING CORPORATIONOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTERESTsince 10/01/2018
BLAIR, AMYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/30/2024
RAYMER, MYRAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/10/2020
WHITEHOUSE, ERINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/13/2026
RUBIWEB SERVICES GROUP USA, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2024
PLATSCHEK, GOLDIEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2024

CMS files one row per role, so the 28 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

10 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$8.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-2.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$1.7M
Related-party expense20% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 89%Medicare 5%Other / private 6%

About 89% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.7M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 20% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$308per resident / day
operating cost
$9,353per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$300per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185402. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-06-05, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next