No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Oak Creek Rehabilitation Center of Kimberly

500 Polk Street East, Kimberly, ID 83341 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 57 certified beds · (208) 423-5591 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Flagged for abuse1 immediate-jeopardy citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)1 actual-harm citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)$13,627 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

Worth asking about
  • CMS has flagged it for abuse
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0609) — most recent Dec 2025
  • inspectors recorded 2 serious findings as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • the CMS record shows $13,627 in federal fines (most recent 2024-07-04)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • nursing-staff turnover (72%) runs well above the national median (45%)
  • about 17% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
2550 Addison Ave E · (208) 814-7700 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
210 Main St S · (208) 423-4248 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
118 Main St N · (208) 312-0538 · Call to confirm hours
Park
(208) 423-4151 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased4.3%15.6%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.1%5.2%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.8%1.2%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%2.0%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms28.9%15.1%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.7%3.0%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened5.7%16.1%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication31.0%16.3%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers0.9%3.2%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control6.1%22.1%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table42.6%20.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.8%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine95.7%86.5%79.4%better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

43.3% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 26 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

43.3%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.2%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.15U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.06hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.15 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 12% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 5% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF43.3%CMS range 30.0–61.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.2%CMS range 6.8–16.110.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.101.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.50
RN hours/ resident / day
0.88
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.21
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.59
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.36
RN hoursweekends
72.2%
Total nursing turnover
62.5%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 57 beds and averages 35.7 residents a day — about 63% occupied, or roughly 21 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.59 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.50 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.21 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.22 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.73 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.56 to 0.36 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 72% is well above the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

14
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-05)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2024-07-04)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · Jcited before2024-07-04 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, record review, facility investigation review, and staff interview, the facility failed to prevent physical abuse, verbal abuse, and neglect for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #15) reviewed for abuse. This deficient practice placed Resident #15 in immediate jeopardy of serious harm, impairment, or death when the facility did not protect him from physical and verbal abuse and neglect from LPN #1. Findings include: The facility's Abuse policy, undated, stated residents are to be free from abuse, neglect misappropriation of resident property, and exploitation. The policy further stated staff or management accused employees were immediately removed from resident contact and suspended from duty. Resident #15 was admitted on [DATE], with multiple diagnoses including personal history of a traumatic brain injury. A quarterly MDS assessment, dated 5/17/24, documented Resident #15 was severely cognitively impaired. Resident #15's care plan, dated 5/17/24, documented he had behaviors related to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Actual harm · G2024-07-04 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, record review, facility investigation review, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to report an allegation of physical and verbal abuse and neglect to the State Survey Agency. This was true for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #15) reviewed for abuse. This failure resulted in harm to Resident #15 when the allegation of physical and verbal abuse was not acted on in a timely manner, investigated, and measures implemented to protect residents during the investigation. Findings include: The facility's Abuse policy, undated, stated, All alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, including injuries of unknown source and misappropriate of resident property, and exploitation are reported immediately, but not later than two hours after the allegation is made, if the events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result in serious bodily injury or not later than 24 hours if the events that cause the allegation do not involve abuse and do not result…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · E2025-12-05 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, policy review, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents were provided with a clean, safe, homelike environment. This was true for all 33 residents who resided in the facility whose equipment and environment were observed. This deficient practice created the potential for harm if: a) residents were embarrassed by and/or felt the disrepair in the facility was unacceptable, disrespectful, undignified, or b) residents were injured due to unsafe areas in the facility. Findings include: The facility's Preventive Maintenance Program policy, revision date December 2025, documented preventive maintenance schedule included daily tasks of: inspecting halls, exits, lighting . On 12/1/25 at 12:00 PM, observed during dining room inspection, directly over tables where residents were eating, was 2 fluorescent lights with large cracks and broken light covers with dead insects on the inside of the light covers.On 12/3/25 at 2:50 PM, the administrator and maintenance director verified the lights needed cleaned and fixed and said they would…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-12-05 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure adherence to infection control and prevention practices to provide a safe and sanitary environment when staff did not offer or encourage residents hand hygiene prior to meals, replace resident's soiled equipment, and implement water management control and monitoring measures. This was true for the facility and 1 of 3 residents (Resident #7). These failures placed residents at risk for cross-contamination and infection. Findings include: A. The following was observed during resident meal service in the dining room. 1.On 12/1/25 at 12:40 PM, the lunch meal was served to residents in the dining room. No hand hygiene was offered to the residents prior to eating their food. On 12/1/25 at 1:20 PM, LPN #1 stated residents are usually offered hand hygiene prior to eating but the facility had run out of the hand wipes and no hand hygiene was provided today. 2. On 12/1/25 at 12:40 PM, observed staff picking up the residents' knife utensil to pry the meal plate of food out of the warmer tray and replace the knife…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-05 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, the State Survey Agency's Long-Term Care Reporting Portal, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents' rights were protected to be free from abuse. This was true for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #4) reviewed for abuse. This failure placed all residents at risk of ongoing abuse, potential physical, and psychosocial harm. Findings include: Resident #4 was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE] with readmission on [DATE], with multiple diagnoses including, hemiplegia (paralysis of one side of the body) and depression. A facility reported incident investigation, initiated 4/27/25 at 11:00 AM, documented CNA #3 heard CNA #2 verbally abuse Resident #4. CNA #3 immediately reported the incident to the Charge Nurse. The DON was notified, and CNA #2 was suspended pending an investigation. On 12/4/25 at 12:02 PM, during record review the facility grievances dated 5/28/25 to 9/27/25 revealed no abuse/neglect issues. On 12/4/25 at 12:32 PM, Resident Council…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0628 — isolated
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, policy review, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a copy of the residents' discharge or transfer notices were sent to the Office of the State Long Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman. This was true for 1 of 1 Residents (Resident #2) reviewed for Ombudsman notification. This failed practice had the potential to affect all residents by; 1) denying residents the added protection from being inappropriately discharged ; 2) providing the residents with access to an advocate who can inform them of their options and rights; and 3) ensuring the Office of the State LTC Ombudsman was aware of facility practices and activities related to transfers and discharges. Findings include:Review of the facility's Discharge and Transfer policy, revision date 4/17/2025, documented a copy of the notice [of discharge] is sent to the Office of the State Long-Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman after discharge.Appendix PP states the following:S483.15(c)(3) Notice of Transfer or Discharge and Ombudsman NotificationWhen a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0646 — isolated
    Notify the appropriate authorities when residents with MD or ID services has a significant change in condition.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on the State Operations Manual - Appendix PP, facility policy, record review, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to make a referral to the state mental health authority for a possible new PASRR level II evaluation when residents were diagnosed with a new serious mental disorder. This was true for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #6), whose PASRR records were reviewed. This deficient practice had the potential for negative outcomes if the resident was not assessed, treated, and monitored appropriately. Findings include:The facility's Resident Assessments PASRR Screening Coordination policy, dated April 2025, documented:- The facility would notify the state designated agency when a resident with a mental disorder experiences a significant change in status.- Refer to the appropriate state designated authority any resident with newly evident or possible serious mental disorder, intellectual disability, or related condition.Resident #6 was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE], with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to follow physician orders of delivering specific medications when residents did not have BM within 72 hours for 2 of 8 residents (#5 and #21) whose records were reviewed for bowel and bladder care. This failed practice created the potential for residents to experience discomfort when medications were not administered according to the physician's order. Findings include:A. Resident #5 was admitted to the facility initially on 5/5/22 with readmission on [DATE], with multiple diagnoses including depression and anxiety.Resident #5's physician orders for bowel care management were documented as: Day 3 no BM: Administer Miralax 17 grams PO in fluid of choice during medication pass as needed for constipation. Start date 7/8/25 Day 4 no BM: if no BM by 4am, give Dulcolax suppository, as needed for constipation. Start date 7/8/25 Day 5 no BM: If no BM by 2 pm, notify provider for additional instruction. Start date 7/8/25 Resident #5 had a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure resident received oxygen as prescribed by the provider. This was true for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #7) reviewed for respiratory care. This failure created the potential for respiratory difficulties or impaired breathing. Findings include: Resident #7 was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE], with multiple diagnoses including respiratory failure and depression. Resident #7's medical record included physician orders for oxygen 2 liters per minute via nasal cannula at HS and PRN. Notify provider if O2 sat% < 90%. Order start date of 1/18/25. On 12/1/25 at 10:50 AM, observed Resident #7 sitting in bed with oxygen administered at 4L/min via mask. On 12/1/25 at 10:55 AM, LPN #1 stated she was unsure of Resident #7's ordered oxygen rate but knew resident was to have oxygen on while in bed and at night. On 12/2/25 at 1:10 PM, observed Resident #7 sitting in bed with oxygen at 3L/min via mask. On 12/2/25…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0728 — failed to protect against nurse-aide misconduct — isolated
    Ensure that nurse aides who have worked more than 4 months, are trained and competent; and nurse aides who have worked less than 4 months are enrolled in appropriate training.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on review of the State Operations Manual, Appendix PP, staffing schedules, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to a) ensure full-time nurse aides working less than 4 months are enrolled in a State approved nurse aide training and competency evaluation program (NATCEP) and b) ensure full-time nurse aides working in the facility more than 4 months have successfully completed a NATCEP. This was true for 10 of 13 nurse aides whose personnel files were reviewed. This failure had the potential to result in negative outcomes for the 33 residents living in the facility. Findings include:On 12/5/25,13 Nurse Aide (NAs) files were reviewed with the following results:- NA #1 was hired on 1/6/25. Has not successfully completed a NATCEP.- NA #2 was hired on 1/10/25. Has not successfully completed a NATCEP.- NA #3 was hired on 6/18/25. Has not successfully completed a NATCEP.- NA #4 was hired on 9/30/25. Has not enrolled in a NATCEP.- NA #5 was hired on 10/1/25. Has not enrolled in a NATCEP. - NA #6 was hired on 10/13/25. Has not enrolled in a NATCEP. - NA #7 was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0732 — isolated
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on review of the State Operations Manual, Appendix PP, observation, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the daily nurse staffing information was accurately posted for each shift. This failed practice had the potential to affect all residents residing in the facility and their representatives, visitors, and others who wanted to review the facility's current staffing levels. Findings include:On 12/3/25, the daily postings of licensed and unlicensed nurse staffing were reviewed between 4/1/25 - 11/30/25. There were no adjustments to the posted staffing when the scheduled hours did not match the actual hours worked.On 12/3/25 at 9:45 AM, the RNC and DON stated the facility does not make adjustments to the daily postings with actual hours worked, they only adjust the time on the daily assignment sheets.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure controlled medications were tracked and kept secure from potential theft and/or diversion. This was true for 2 of 2 medication carts reviewed. This failure created the potential for undetected misuse and/or diversion of controlled medications and had the potential to affect all residents who received controlled medication in the facility. Findings include:On 12/1/25 at 10:45 AM, during the 100 & 200 Hall medication cart audit, observed the narcotic accountability sheets, dated 11/5/25 to 12/1/25, with 2 licensed nurse signatures not documented on 11/25/25 and 11/26/25. On 12/1/25 at 10:47 AM, LPN #3 stated two nurses should have signed the narcotic accountability sheet when they accepted the medication cart or released the medication cart. On 12/3/25 at 9:40 AM, during the Dining room & 300 Hall medication cart audit, observed the narcotic accountability sheets, dated 11/26/25 to 12/3/25, with 1 licensed nurse signature not documented on 12/2/25. On 12/3/25 at 9:42 AM, LPN #2 stated the two…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents were free from significant medication errors when 1 of 2 residents (Resident #6) did not receive her Invega injection (antipsychotic medication) as ordered by the physician. This failure had the potential to cause harm if the resident's psychiatric behaviors increased due to not receiving her medications timely. Findings include:Resident #6 was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE], with multiple diagnoses including epilepsy (a brain disorder causing unprovoked seizures), anxiety disorder, and bipolar disorder (a mental health condition causing extreme mood swings). Schizophrenia was added to her diagnosis on 5/18/15.Resident #6's physician order start date 2/24/24, documented the following: Invega Sustenna Intramuscular Suspension Prefilled Syringe 234 MG/1.5ML (Paliperidone Palmitate) Inject 1 dose intramuscularly one time a day every 28 day(s) for paranoid schizophrenia.On 10/4/25, Resident #6's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review and staff interviews it was determined the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored, not expired, and biologicals were labeled when opened. This was true for the facility. This failure created the potential for residents to receive expired medications with decreased efficacy, use of expired biologicals, and the potential for theft and/or diversion. Findings include: The EvenCare ProView users Guide documented the testing solutions should be dated when bottle opened and discarded after 3 months of use or at time of printed expiration date. The State Operations Manual, Appendix PP, updated 8/8/24, Schedule II-V medications must be maintained in separately locked, permanently affixed compartments.A.The following was observed during the medication cart audits. On 12/3/25 at 10:52 AM, the dining room/300 Hall medication cart was audited with LPN #2 present. Observed the following: - one bottle of Vitamin D with an expiration date of 3/20/25- one bottle of Aspirin 81mg containing round yellow tablets and round orange tablets On…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolated
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of the Idaho Food Code, the facility failed to ensure food was appropriately stored, distributed, and labeled. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all residents who received meals prepared in the facility's kitchen. This placed residents at risk for potential contamination, use of spoiled foods, and adverse health outcomes including food-borne illnesses. Findings include:The Idaho Food Code, revised February 2021, documented, 3-501.17 Ready-to-Eat, Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food, Date Marking . refrigerated, ready-to-eat, time/temperature control for safety food prepared and held in a food establishment for more than 24 hours shall be clearly marked to indicate the date or day by which the food shall be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded when held at a temperature of 5ºC (41ºF) or less for a maximum of 7 days. The day of preparation shall be counted as Day 1. On 12/1/25 at 10:10 AM, during the initial observation of the kitchen, the following was observed with cook #1 present. Reach-in refrigerator: -…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-05 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — isolated
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide a safe, clean and comfortable environment for residents in 2 of 2 shower rooms (200 hall and 300 hall). This failure had the potential to put residents at risk for a diminished quality of life. Findings included:On 12/3/25 at 1:17 PM, observed the shower room on the 200 hall, the following was noted: 10-inch x 5-inch x1.25-inch jagged shaped hole in floor by shower stall with the area of the flooring peeling off the surface of the floor and not cleanable. 4 holes in middle of shower room floor; 3 of the holes measured 2-inch circle, and 1 hole measured 4-inch jagged circular shape with each of the four areas of the flooring peeling off the surface of the floor and not cleanable. The floor had soiled and darkened matter in the gaps and crevices. On 12/3/25 at 1:37 PM, observed the shower room on the 300 hall, the following was noted: The left shower stall was filled with equipment; lift, large bucket, and chair. A 16-inch x7-inch x 2-inch jagged hole in flooring by entry of the left shower stall with the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$13,627 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $13,627 — penalty dated 2024-07-04

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to CASCADES HEALTHCARE — 19 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 1 of 51.9-0.9 vs chain
Health inspection 2 of 51.7+0.3 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 52.1-1.1 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 54.1≈ chain avg
The other 18 homes this chain runs (chain average 1.9★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
CHAROLAIS CARE II, INCOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTsince 06/01/2008
BRP HEALTH MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS INCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 04/14/2025
SNAKE RIVER HEALTHCARE LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 11/01/2018
CRUMP, JASONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 11/01/2018
FULLMER, CHADIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 11/01/2018
MCSPADDEN, DARINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/01/2021
MOORE, THOMASIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/01/2018
WHITE, DEREKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/01/2018
GIES, FLORIANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2018
BURLEY SKILLED NURSING FACILITY, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/01/2008
HERRERA, JERRIIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 04/14/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 18 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.8M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-10.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$711K
Related-party expense17% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 68%Medicare 6%Other / private 25%

This home reported $711K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 17% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$311per resident / day
operating cost
$9,465per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$283per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in ID

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Idaho Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Idaho
$10,494/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,167/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,175/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 135084. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-05, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next