No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Smith Center Health And Rehab

117 W 1st Street #369, Smith Center, KS 66967 · For profit - Corporation · 45 certified beds · (785) 282-6696 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (785) 282-6696 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
1 immediate-jeopardy citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)$16,153 in federal fines
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (22% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • the CMS record shows $16,153 in federal fines (most recent 2025-01-21)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
614 S Main St · (785) 282-6845 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
317 US-36 · (785) 282-3333 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
17033 Highway 281 · (785) 282-6022 · Call to confirm hours
Park
319 School Ave · (785) 282-3832 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
KS-181

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased5.0%17.9%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight0.0%4.9%5.4%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.6%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection3.7%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms17.8%6.5%6.5%worse
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury1.4%4.3%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened4.6%16.2%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication45.8%23.2%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine97.4%95.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers0.0%4.4%4.7%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control21.8%22.6%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table20.7%18.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication14.3%1.9%1.4%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.771.801.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.852.131.80typical

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

26.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 44 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

26.6%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
59.4%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.13U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.13hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 59.4% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 32 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.13 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 10% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 13% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF26.6%CMS range 19.3–39.251.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.5%CMS range 6.5–15.010.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge59.4%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge46.9%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge59.4%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified97.1%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened2.9%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization8.3%CMS range 3.9–18.47.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.191.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.94
RN hours/ resident / day
0.27
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.47
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.67
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.72
RN hoursweekends
22.5%
Total nursing turnover
0.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 45 beds and averages 37.2 residents a day — about 83% occupied, or roughly 8 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.67 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.94 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.47 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.25 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.84 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.03 to 0.72 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 22% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

7
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-04-16)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2023-08-07)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · Jcited before2025-01-21 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility identified a census of 35 residents with three residents reviewed for accidents. Based on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to provide a safe environment free from preventable accidents for Resident (R) 1. On 01/15/25 at approximately 09:20 AM, Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) M and CNA N transferred R1 from his wheelchair to his recliner using a Hoyer (total body mechanical lift) lift. The CNAs used the lift to suspend R1 into the air due to limited space in R1's room. CNA M turned around to position R1's recliner for R1 to sit in, turned back around to assist R1 into the recliner, and the right top lift sling strap dislodged and R1 slid out of the lift sling onto the floor. R1 hit the right side of his head and came to rest on his right side. The facility transferred R1 to the hospital where they diagnosed the resident with a fractured neck. This deficient practice placed R1 at risk for death, injury, pain, and a decrease in daily function. Findings included: - R1's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · F2025-04-16 · tag F0801 — widespread
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 37 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide the services of a full-time Certified Dietary Manager for the 37 residents who resided in the facility and received their meals from the kitchen. This placed the residents at risk for inadequate nutrition. Findings included: - On 04/14/25 at 09:00 AM, observation dietary staff in the kitchen preparing the breakfast meal. On 04/14/25 at 09:10 AM, Dietary Staff BB verified she was not a Certified Dietary Manager. Dietary Staff BB stated the facility had one resident with a pureed diet. On 04/16/25 at 01:00 PM, Administrative Staff A verified Dietary Staff BB was not certified. The facility's Food Service Staffing dated 10/2024, documented that the community will employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills to carry out the food and nutrition services function. The qualified Dietitian would help oversee clinical nutrition and dietary services in the facility. The policy documented that if the Dietitian…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-04-16 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 37 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to store food by professional standards for food service safety in the nourishment refrigerator located in the south hall. The facility failed to cover two fluorescent light fixtures in one of one dining room. This placed the residents, who received their food items from the south nourishment refrigerator/freezer, at risk for foodborne illness. This also placed the residents who ate in the facility's dining room at risk of getting foreign objects in their meals. Findings included: - On 04/14/25 at 09:00 AM in the south hall resident nourishment freezer revealed the following: 1. A frozen banquet salisbury meal with an expiration date of 12/24. 2. Two frozen Michelina's fettuccini [NAME] meals with an expiration date of 12/24. 3. A Michelina fettuccine alfredo with chicken and broccoli frozen meal with an expiration date of 12/24. 4. An undated to when opened 8 ounce…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-04-16 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — pattern
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 37 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with five residents reviewed for immunizations, Resident (R) 4, R6, R11, R18, and R25, to include pneumococcal (a disease that refers to a range of illnesses that affect various parts of the body and are caused by infection) vaccinations. Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to offer, or obtain an informed declination or a physician-documented contraindication for the pneumococcal PCV20 vaccination per the latest guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This placed the residents at risk for pneumococcal infection and related complications. Findings included: - Review of R4, R6, R11, R18, and R25 clinical medical records lacked evidence the facility or the resident representative received or signed a consent to receive or informed declination for the pneumococcal vaccine PCV20. Review of R4's electronic health record revealed the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. R6 had not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-04-16 · tag F0582 — isolated
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 37 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with three residents reviewed for the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Beneficiary Liability notices. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide the correct CMS Form 10055, Advanced Beneficiary Notice (ABN), to the resident or their representative for Residents (R)15, R21, and R140. This placed the residents at risk for uninformed decisions regarding skilled services. Findings included: - The Medicare ABN form informed the beneficiaries Medicare may not pay for future skilled therapy and did not provide an estimated cost to continue their services. The form included options for the beneficiary to (1) receive specified services listed, and bill Medicare for an official decision on payment. I understand if Medicare does not pay, I will be responsible for payment, but can appeal to Medicare. (2) receive therapy listed, but do not bill Medicare, I am responsible for payment for payment of services. (3) I do not want the listed services. The facility's Medicare ABN form…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-04-16 · tag F0623 — isolated
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 37 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to notify the State Long-term Care Ombudsman (LTCO) of Resident (R)18's discharge to the hospital. This placed R18 at risk for impaired rights. Findings included: - R18's Electronic Health Record (EHR) revealed diagnoses of dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion) with behavioral disturbance, delusional disorder (untrue persistent belief or perception held by a person although evidence shows it was untrue), and anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear). R18's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], recorded R18 had severe cognitive impairment (problems with thinking, learning, remembering, and using judgment). The MDS recorded she required extensive staff assistance with transfers and activities of daily living (ADL). The MDS documented the resident ambulated with a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-04-16 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 37 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to label Resident (R)6 and R23s' insulin (a hormone that lowers the level of glucose in the blood) flex pens with a started/opened date or a use by date. This deficient practice placed the affected residents at risk for ineffective medications. Findings included: - On [DATE] at 08:35 AM, observation of the facility's South Hall medication cart revealed the following: R6's Tresiba (long-acting insulin) flex pen was not labeled with an open or expired date. R23's Tresiba flex pen was not labeled with an open or expired date. On [DATE] at 08:40 AM, Administrative Nurse D verified the nurses should label and date the insulin flex pens with the date opened. Medlineplus.gov directs open, unrefrigerated Tresiba can be used within 56 days; after that time, they must be discarded. The facility's Storage of Medication policy, dated [DATE], documented the facility would store…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-07 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to store and administer medications in a safe manner for one of two medication carts and the facility failed to discard an expired bottle of melatonin (supplement used to treat sleeping problems) in one of two medication rooms. This placed the residents at risk to receive expired supplements and medication errors. Findings included: - On 08/02/23 at 07:28 AM, observation during medication administration revealed Resident (R) 28 entered the dining room. Licensed Nurse (LN) G opened the top drawer of her medication cart where R28 and R12s' medications were set up in medication cups with each resident's initials on the two separate cups. On 08/02/23 at 07:28 AM, LN G stated when she comes in to work in the morning, she pre-sets the residents medications who she know would be in the dining room at 07:00 AM. On 08/02/23 at 08:32 AM, LN G stated she should not set up residents medications ahead of time. On 08/02/23 at 08:37 AM, Administrative…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-07 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for the residents who resided in the facility and received food from the nutrition refrigerator, when staff failed to label and date food items kept in the nutrition refrigerator. The facility staff failed to assess and record freezer temperatures for the nutrition freezer. This placed the affected residents at risk for foodborne illness. Findings included: - On 08/01/23 at 09:53 AM, observation revealed the following in the nutrition refrigerator: An unlabeled, undated box of chicken alfredo meal, Two unlabeled, undated 15.5-ounce jars of salsa. An unlabeled, undated deli meat sandwich. A sticky brown substance in the refrigerator door in the small compartment on the left upper corner, approximately four inches (in) x two in. The refrigerator trays had numerous areas of a blackish substance which varied in size. The freezer lacked a thermometer and lacked…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2022-02-17 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in one of one facility kitchen. This placed the 43 residents who received food from the facility kitchen at risk for foodborne illness. Findings included: - On 02/10/22 at 09:45 AM, observation revealed the following: The outer layer of wood peeling from eight under counter cupboards, two upper cabinets by the eyewash station, and nine drawers. The shelf above the stove had sticky gray substance. Missing mopboard, approximately 18 inches (in), below the three sink and approximately 4 feet (ft) by the steam table. On 02/10/22 at 09:45 AM, Dietary Staff (DS) BB verified the above findings. The facility's Sanitization policy, revised December 2021, documented all kitchens, kitchen areas and dining areas should be kept clean. The food services manager would be responsible for scheduling staff for regular cleaning of kitchen and dining areas. The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2022-02-17 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an environment free of accident hazards for two of two shower/whirlpool rooms when the facility failed to adequately secure harmful chemicals. This placed five cognitively impaired, independently mobile residents residing in the facility at risk for harm or injury related to avoidable hazards. Findings included: - On 02/09/22 at 08:40 AM, observation revealed the west shower room with an unlocked cabinet. The cabinet contained a quart spray bottle of Peroxide Multi surface cleaner and disinfectant and a quart spray bottle of lemon scented disinfectant. Both spray bottles labels documented, Hazardous to humans do not ingest, can cause eye irritation. On 02/09/22 at 08:50 AM, observation revealed the north whirlpool room with an unlocked cabinet. The cabinet contained two quart spray bottles of Bio Enzymatic Odor Eliminator and one quart spray bottle of Peroxide Multi surface cleaner and disinfectant. The three bottles labels…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-02-17 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolated
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with one reviewed for change of condition. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to notify Resident (R) 140's representative when staff ripped off his loose toenail during a transfer. This placed R140 at risk for uninformed treatment decisions and/or delayed wound care treatments. Findings included: - R140's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented R140 had diagnoses of hemiplegia (paralysis of one side of the body), hemiparesis (muscular weakness of one half of the body), pain in right knee, and reduced mobility. R140's Quarterly Minimum Data Set, (MDS) dated [DATE], documented the resident had short- and long-term memory problems and severe impaired cognition. The MDS documented R140 required total staff assistance with locomotion off unit and extensive staff assistance with the rest of his activities of daily livings (ADLs). The MDS documented R140 had no skin issues. R140's Hemiplegia/Hemiparesis…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2025-04-16 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 37 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to submit complete and accurate staffing information through Payroll Based Journaling (PBJ) as required. This deficient practice placed the residents at risk for unidentified and ongoing inadequate nurse staffing. Findings included: - The PBJ report provided by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2024 Quarter 3 and 4 indicated the facility had excessively low weekend nurse staffing Review of the facility's weekend nursing schedules for the above Quarters revealed the facility had adequate staffing. On 04/16/25 at 11:55 PM, Administrative Nurse D verified the facility had not submitted the correct information for weekend nursing staffing and stated Administrative Staff B was responsible for submitting the PBJ information. The facility's Nursing Services Policy, revised 04/2025, documented the facility utilized the PBJ to report the following: a. Report RN hours b. Licensed nursing coverage 24 hours/day c. Weekend staffing d. Star…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2023-08-07 · tag F0732 — widespread
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 36 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure the number of nursing (licensed and unlicensed) staff and actual hours worked was posted for all four days of the onsite survey. Findings included: - On 08/01/23 (Tuesday) at 09:00 AM, observation revealed the daily nursing staff numbers and hours was not posted in the facility. On 08/02/23 (Wednesday) at 08:00 AM, observation revealed the daily nursing staff numbers and hours was not posted in the facility. On 08/03/23 (Thursday) at 08:00 AM, observation revealed the daily nursing staff numbers and hours was not posted in the facility. On 08/07/23 (Monday) at 08:30 AM, observation revealed the daily nursing staff numbers and hours was not posted in the facility. On 08/07/23 at 08:58 AM, Licensed Nurse (LN) G stated the daily staffing schedule was in a notebook at the front desk . On 08/07/23 at 10:09 AM, Administrative Nurse D verified the daily staffing schedule was not posted and stated it was kept in a green binder at the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$16,153 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $16,153 — penalty dated 2025-01-21

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to MISSION HEALTH COMMUNITIES — 30 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.8+1.2 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
The other 29 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.8★, per CMS)
1 of 5Colby Operator, LLCColby, KS 1 of 5Dickson Health And RehabDickson, TN 1 of 5Hutchinson Operator, LLCHutchinson, KS 1 of 5Kaw River Care And RehabEdwardsville, KS 1 of 5Lincoln Care And RehabWichita, KS 1 of 5North Ridge Health And RehabNew Hope, MN 1 of 5Providence Living CenterTopeka, KS 2 of 5Columbus Health and RehabColumbus, WI 2 of 5Edwardsville Care And RehabEdwardsville, KS 2 of 5El Dorado Care And RehabEl Dorado, KS 2 of 5Spring Hill Care And RehabSpring Hill, KS 3 of 5Chase County Care And RehabCottonwood Falls, KS 3 of 5Eskridge Care And RehabEskridge, KS 3 of 5Lansing Care And RehabLansing, KS 3 of 5McPherson Operator, LLCMcPherson, KS 3 of 5Neodesha Care And RehabNeodesha, KS 3 of 5Parkway Operator LLCEdwardsville, KS 3 of 5Pittsburg Care And RehabPittsburg, KS 3 of 5Rolling Hills Health And RehabWichita, KS 3 of 5Wilson Care And RehabWilson, KS 4 of 5Arma Operator, LLCArma, KS 4 of 5Onaga Operator, LLCOnaga, KS 4 of 5Oswego Operator, LLCOswego, KS 4 of 5Peabody Health And RehabPeabody, KS 4 of 5Pratt Health And RehabPratt, KS 4 of 5Wakefield Care And RehabWakefield, KS 5 of 5Botkin Care And RehabWellington, KS 5 of 5Downs Care And RehabDowns, KS 5 of 5Wellington Health And RehabWellington, KS

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
KANSAS OPERATOR LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL100%since 02/25/2015
BARRES, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
T AND C CAPITAL ASSETS, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
WINDWARD HEALTH PARTNERS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
CRINO, BRYANIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
FEUER, SCOTTIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
LINDEMAN, STUARTIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICERNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
PASSERO, JOSEPHIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/26/2015
YOAKUM, JAMIEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/22/2024
MISSION HEALTH COMMUNITIES, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/26/2015

CMS files one row per role, so the 13 rows in the source record cover these 10 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.8M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+3.2%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$238K
Related-party expense6% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 60%Medicare 8%Other / private 32%

This home reported $238K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$265per resident / day
operating cost
$8,041per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$273per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KS

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kansas
$8,669/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,064/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,975/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175295. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-04-16, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next