Flatonia Healthcare Center
624 N Converse St, Flatonia, TX 78941 · For profit - Corporation · 70 certified beds · (361) 865-3571 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- CMS has flagged it for abuse
- it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0602) — most recent Sep 2025
- it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0565)
- inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $15,098 in federal fines (most recent 2025-09-02)
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 1 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 1 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 1 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 3 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 37.5% | 15.8% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.4% | 3.0% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.8% | 2.0% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 2.4% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 5.3% | 3.3% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 26.0% | 14.0% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 18.3% | 18.0% | 18.9% | typical |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 88.4% | 98.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 0.6% | 3.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 6.8% | 13.4% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 21.8% | 9.6% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 6.7% | 1.5% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 77.8% | 88.0% | 79.4% | typical |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.60 | 2.17 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 2.88 | 2.06 | 1.80 | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.21 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 25% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 2% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 70 beds and averages 41.4 residents a day — about 59% occupied, or roughly 29 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.04 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.59 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.96 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.02 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.05 on weekdays — 1% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.62 to 0.51 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 44% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2025-09-02 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure the residents were free from physical abuse for two (Resident #2 and Resident #3) of six residents reviewed for abuse. 1. The facility failed to ensure Resident #2 was not attacked by Resident #1 with a pencil on 08/11/25 causing slight bleeding and the facility failed to ensure Resident #2 was not hit over the head by Resident #1 with a metal object on 08/15/25, no physical injury, causing Resident #2 to be afraid of Resident #1.2. The facility failed to ensure Resident #1 did not slap Resident #3 on the back on 08/20/25.3. The facility failed to ensure a nurse, on 09/01/25, when pushing Resident #3 in her wheelchair to her room, did not tell the resident it hurt the nurses her back to push her and the nurse was going to need a forklift to move Resident #3An Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) situation was identified on 08/30/25. While the IJ was removed on 09/02/25, the facility remained out of compliance at a scope of isolated that with a…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2024-10-05 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolatedProtect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review the resident's right to be free from misappropriation for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for misappropriation of property. (Resident #1) The facility failed to protect Resident #1 from misappropriation/exploitation by allowing AAD-C C to take money from Resident #1 for AAD-C's own well-being and personal expenses, exact date unknown. Resident #1 felt excluded from activities and became upset after AAD-C began avoiding the resident who was asking for her money to be paid back. This failure could place residents who resided in this facility at risk of misappropriation of property causing financial hardship. Findings included: Record review of a face sheet, undated, reflected Resident #1 was an [AGE] year-old female initially admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses which included bilateral primary osteoarthritis of knees (both knees have a degenerative joint disease-causing loss of cartilage), gout (defective metabolism of uric acid), and major depressive disorder (mood…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-12-04 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to properly store, prepare, distribute food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for 1 of 1 kitchen.1. The facility failed to properly store raw chicken in its kitchen on 12/02/2025.2. The facility failed to properly store, label, and date all food items located in the facility refrigerators, freezers and in the dry food pantry area on 12/02/2025, 12/03/2025 and 12/04/2025. 3. The facility failed to discard outdated food items located in the refrigerator on 12/02/2025,12/03/2025, and 12/04/2025. 4. The facility failed to ensure the first upright kitchen freezer maintained a safe storage temperature and did not allow food items to thaw.These failures could place residents who received meals from the kitchen at risk of foodborne illnesses. Observation during the initial tour of the kitchen on 12/02/2025 beginning at 8:54 AM revealed the following:1 silver pan containing raw chicken sitting on dish sanitizing area.Refrigerator:1 pan of cooked ground taco meat dated 11/28/2025, no…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-12-04 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — patternEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to prepare food by methods that conserve nutritive value and flavor for 1 kitchen reviewed for food and nutrition services.The facility failed to ensure [NAME] A refrained from adding an unmeasured amount of liquid to country pork tips with gravy, parslied noodles, and herb butter roll pureed meals during lunch service on 12/03/2025.This failure could place residents who received a pureed diet at risk for diminished or altered nutritional status and potential weight loss.Observation and interview on 12/03/2025, at 11:09 AM, revealed [NAME] A poured an unmeasured amount of milk into the parslied noodles without measuring after mixing one time, [NAME] A added another unmeasured amount of milk. [NAME] A was then observed preparing 3 herb butter rolls, adding an unmeasured amount of milk. Followed by [NAME] A adding an unmeasured amount of milk 3 different times to 3 large spoons of country pork tips. The mixture did not resemble the color of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-04 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to treat each resident with respect and dignity and failed to provide care for each resident in a manner and environment that promoted the maintenance or enhancement of quality of life for 2 (Resident #12, Resident #17) of 10 residents reviewed for dignity.The facility failed to ensure that Resident #12 and Resident # 17 were provided dignified and individualized feeding assistance during the lunch meal on 12/02/2025.This failure could place residents at risk of diminished dignity and negatively affect their quality of life. Record review of Resident #12 Face sheet dated 12/03/2025, reflected she was a [AGE] year-old female, who was admitted to facility on 03/08/2025 with diagnoses of unspecified dementia (memory loss), major depressive disorder unspecified (feel sad, hopeless), and anxiety disorder. Record review of Resident # 12's MDS assessment, dated 10/31/2025, reflected she had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 00…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-12-04 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure it was free of a medication error rate of 5% or greater. There were two (2) medication errors in 26 opportunities for an error rate of 7.69% by 1 of 3 staff members observed (LVN) administering medications to 1 of 7 residents. (Resident #28). LVN attempted to administer Resident #28 Potassium Chloride Extended Release Oral Capsule Extended Release 10 milliequivalents, crushed with pudding. Order stated, Potassium Chloride ER Oral Capsule Extended Release 10 MEQ (Potassium Chloride) Give 1 capsule by mouth two times a day for supplement do not crush, may dissolve in 4-6oz (ounces) of water. Medication was attempted to be administered in the incorrect dosage form. LVN administered hydroCHLOROthiazide Oral Tablet 25 MG (milligrams). The order stated, hydroCHLOROthiazide Oral Tablet 25 MG (Hydrochlorothiazide) Give 1 tablet by mouth one time a day related to ESSENTIAL (PRIMARY) HYPERTENSION HOLD IF SBP (systolic blood pressure) IS <…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-11-18 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment for residents, staff and public for one (room # 411 vent) of seven vents observed and reviewed for environment. The facility failed to ensure the vent in room [ROOM NUMBER] was clean and free of dust particles. These deficient practices placed residents at risk for illness and decreased quality of life.Findings included:During an interview on 10/13/2025 at 2:03 pm the Maintenance Director stated the vent/AC register was responsible for directing the air. The Maintenance Director looked at the picture of the vent from room [ROOM NUMBER], and he stated that it was probably dust and needed to be cleaned. The Maintenance Director stated he would think it would have an impact on the residents, dust in their room, but was not sure of medical issues. The Maintenance Director said the dust in the vent of room [ROOM NUMBER] was not brought to his attention.During an interview on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-18 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews and record review, the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services including procedures that assure the accurate acquiring and administering of all drugs to meet the needs of each resident for one resident (Resident #1) of four residents reviewed for medication administration in that: Resident #1 was not administered her Clonazepam 0.5 MG (anti-anxiety medication-- is a benzodiazepine medication used to treat panic disorders, certain seizure disorders, and movement disorders) for 3 days from 09/23/2025 to 09/25/2025 due to the facility not obtaining medication from the pharmacy. This failure could place residents on anti-anxiety medication at risk for increased anxiety and depression and change in ADLs.Findings included:Review of Resident #1's undated face sheet reflected a [AGE] year-old female who was admitted on [DATE] with the following dx. Major Depressive Disorder, recurrent, moderate (a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and loss on interest),…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-11-18 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolatedProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. for 1 of 1 kitchen observed in that:The facility failed to ensure the water dispenser in the main dining hall was clean.The facility failed to ensure the sinks in the kitchen were clean.The facility failed to ensure the Resident's drink area in the kitchen was clean.The facility failed to ensure the vent in the kitchen was closed and clean.The facility failed to ensure there were no broken tiles in the kitchen.These deficient practices placed residents at risk for illness and decreased quality of life.Findings included:Observation on 10/13/2025 at 10:02 am reflected the water dispenser/drinking fountain in the main dining area had brown-colored liquid in the drip tray that looked slimy with tiny particles. Observation on 10/13/2025 at 10:05 am the kitchen sink was brown-colored and there were two small brown pellets on the drain…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-09-02 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure based on the comprehensive assessment of a resident, that residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the residents' choices for one of five residents (Resident #4) reviewed for quality of care.The facility failed to ensure that Resident #4 was taken to her MD referred pulmonary and dermatology appointments referral date 02/24/25.These failures could place residents at risk for unassessed changes in conditions that could lead to permanent impairment, including decreased quality of life.Findings included:Record review of Resident #4's MD orders dated 02/24/25 reflected, refer to pulmonology DX COPD and refer to dermatology for rash.Interview on 09/01/25 at 4:26 pm with Resident #4 reflected she had not been taken to her specialist appointments of either the dermatologist or the pulmonologist.Interview on 09/02/25 at 5:29 pm with the LPN A reflected it was the responsibility of the charge nurse to follow up on scheduling…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-08-01 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for foods safety for two of two staff reviewed for food safety and sanitation. The facility failed to ensure two staff, [NAME] B and [NAME] C wore beard restraints . This failure placed residents at risk of foodborne illness. Findings included: Observation on 07/30/2024 at 9:20 AM during the initial kitchen tour, [NAME] B had a beard and was not wearing a beard restraint. Observation and interview on 07/30/2024 at 12:05 PM during meal service in the kitchen, [NAME] B and [NAME] C had beards and were not wearing beard restraints. [NAME] B stated the Dietary Manager was on sick leave and was not available for an interview. He stated he was not aware of any beard restraints in the kitchen for staff to wear. In an interview on 07/31/2024 at 10:00 AM the ADM stated the men in the kitchen did not have beards until this month. She stated the kitchen did not have beard covers until it was brought to her attention. She stated the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-01 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review the facility failed to ensure the facility established and maintained an infection prevention program designed to provide a safe environment and to help prevent the transmission of communicable diseases for one of one staff observed for insulin administration (LVN A ). LVN A failed to clean Resident #16's fingertips with alcohol prep pad before puncturing the fingertip with a lancet for a blood sugar reading. This failure could place residents at increased risk of infection and inaccurate blood sugar readings. Findings included: Review of Resident #16's Face Sheet reflected she was a [AGE] year-old female admitted on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including Diabetes Mellitus Type 2. Review of Resident #16's quarterly MDS dated [DATE] reflected a BIMS score of 04 which indicated she was severely impaired cognitively. Review of Resident #16's Care Plan (no date) reflected; Resident #16 had Diabetes Mellitus and she was to receive the diabetes…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-09 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for environment. The sink in Resident #1's room did not produce hot water. This failure placed residents at risk of discomfort and poor hygiene. Findings included: Review of the undated face sheet for Resident #1 reflected a [AGE] year-old male admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of hemiplegia with hemiparesis, sequelae of cerebral infarction (pathological conditions resulting from stroke), morbid obesity due to excess calories, cognitive communication deficit (difficulty communicating due to impaired cognition), muscle spasm, insomnia, polyneuropathy (damage to peripheral nerves), chronic idiopathic constipation (constipation with no known cause), anxiety disorder, major depressive disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, chronic pain, rheumatoid arthritis, pain in right shoulder, abnormalities of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-06-14 · tag F0565 — failed to support the resident council — patternHonor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents had the right to organize and participate in resident groups in the facility for seven of seven anonymous residents reviewed for resident council. The facility failed to facilitate resident council meetings regularly and as scheduled per their resident council policy. This failure placed residents at risk of not having the right to participate in resident groups. Findings included: A record review of Resident #14's face sheet dated 6/14/2023 reflected a [AGE] year-old female admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses of cerebral palsy (movement disorder), atrial fibrillation (irregular heartbeat), bipolar disorder (extreme mood swings), major depressive disorder (depression), and muscle weakness. A record review of Resident #14's MDS assessment dated [DATE] reflected a BIMS score of 15, which indicated no cognitive impairment. A record review of Resident #14's care plan last revised on 4/17/2023 reflected she had little or no…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-06-14 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — patternHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents had a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment for one of seven anonymous residents reviewed for homelike environment. The facility failed to ensure the shower room on the 300 hall was free of a black substance. This failure placed residents at risk of having an unclean environment. Findings included: During a confidential meeting on with residents on 6/13/2023, a resident reported the shower room on the 300-hall had mold. During an observation and interview on 6/13/2023 beginning 3:30 p.m., the shower room on the 300-hall appeared to have a black cloudy-looking substance in the cracks and corners of the floor where the floor met the wall on the right side of the shower room. CNA C stated he had not encountered mold before and did not know what the black substance was in the shower room but he did not think it was mold because he thought that would smell bad and there was no odor. CNA C stated housekeeping was supposed to clean the shower room every day but he was not sure whether…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$15,098 in federal fines across 2 penalties.
- $14,688 — penalty dated 2025-09-02
- $410 — penalty dated 2024-10-05
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to NEXION HEALTH — 51 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 1 of 5 | 2.2 | -1.2 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 2.3 | -0.3 vs chain |
| Staffing | 4 of 5 | 2.8 | +1.2 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 1 of 5 | 2.6 | -1.6 vs chain |
The other 50 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.2★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 50; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| KIRLEY, FRANCIS | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 04/01/2023 |
| MURRELL, EDWARD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER | since 11/22/2016 |
| NORRIS, SHERRIE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 03/01/2013 |
| NEXION HEALTH AT FLATONIA, INC. | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 04/01/2023 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 6 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in TX
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Texas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 675445. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-04, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.