No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Avir At Dripping Springs

1505 W Hwy 290, Dripping Springs, TX 78620 · For profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (512) 858-5624 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (512) 858-5624 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0609) — cited May 2024
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • nursing-staff turnover (69%) runs well above the national median (45%)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
170 Benney Ln Ste 200 · (512) 858-2997 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
27495 Ranch Road 12 · (512) 858-1984 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
601 W Highway 290 · (512) 894-0248 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Roger Hanks Pkwy · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
145 Broken Lance Dr · (512) 750-6000

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased33.7%15.8%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.9%3.0%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.3%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%0.8%2.0%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.6%2.4%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury1.0%3.3%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened34.1%14.0%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication25.7%18.0%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%98.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.0%3.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control14.7%13.4%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table13.2%9.6%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.5%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine93.3%88.0%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission42.5%25.7%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit16.3%12.3%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.662.171.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.792.061.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

9.8%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
70.8%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.46U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.14hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.25hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 70.8% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 24 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.46 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 77% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 13% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.8%CMS range 6.2–15.210.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge70.8%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge62.5%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge70.8%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified95.1%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting100.0%100.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.4%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.2%CMS range 3.8–11.47.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.011.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.32
RN hours/ resident / day
0.81
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.68
Aide hours/ resident / day
2.80
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.25
RN hoursweekends
68.6%
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 49.0 residents a day — about 82% occupied, or roughly 11 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.80 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.32 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.68 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.56 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 2.90 on weekdays — 12% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.34 to 0.25 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 69% is well above the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-31)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2024-09-26)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · E2025-12-31 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to properly store, prepare, and distribute food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for 1 of 1 kitchen.The facility failed to ensure food was properly labeled and dated.These deficient practices could place residents who were served from the kitchen at risk for health complications and foodborne illnesses.Findings Included:Observation on 12/29/2025, at 7:07 AM revealed 3 clear plastic bags containing food items that were undated and unlabeled. The bags contained one bag of corn, one bag of cookie dough, and one bag containing five pie crusts.In an interview on 12/31/2025, at 8:41 AM DA stated she was in-serviced two weeks ago on labeling and dating but does not remember the date. She stated each person in the kitchen is responsible for the labeling and dating of food items. If items are not properly labeled and dated this could cause a resident to become sick.In an interview on 12/31/2025, at 8:48 AM DMIT stated she has been trained on and labeling and dating of foods sometime…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-09-26 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure each resident was treated with respect and dignity in an environment that promotes maintenance or enhancement of his or her quality of life for 4 of 5 residents (Resident #7, Resident #10, Resident #41, and Resident #45) reviewed for resident rights. The facility failed to ensure that Resident #7, and Resident #45 were fed their lunch in a timely manner. The facility failed to ensure that Resident #7, and Resident #10, were covered completely before transporting them in the hall to/from the shower room. The facility failed to ensure that Resident #41 were covered completely and dressed before taken to the common area. This failure placed all residents at risk for not receiving adequate care and diminished quality of life and embarrassment. Findings included: Record review of Resident #7's admission Record dated 09/25/2024 revealed the resident was a [AGE] year-old female, who was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Resident #7's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-09-26 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — pattern
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide an ongoing program of activities based on the comprehensive assessment to meet the interests and support the physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of 4 of 4 (Residents #7, #13, #29 and #30) residents reviewed for activities. 1. The facility did not provide Resident #7, , #29 and #30 with individual or group activities. These failures placed residents at risk for a decline in their physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being due to a lack of ongoing activities. Findings included: Review of the September 24-26 2024 Activity Calendar for the week of 09/01/2024- 09/07/2024 reflected the following: Tuesday 09/24/2024 08:45 Daily Chronicle word search 09:45 Exercise 10:00 Question of the day 10:30 Red Hat w/pop corn 2:00 Beading 3:00 Dominoes Group Wednesday 09/25/2024 08:45 a.m. Daily Chronical Word Search 09:45 Rosary 11:00 a.m. Music on request 02:30 Rummikub 3:00 pm Dominoes Group Thursday 09/26/2024 08:45 Daily Chronicle…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-09-26 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 4 (CNA D, HK G, MA B, and AD) staff members reviewed for hand hygiene. HK G, CNA D, MA B, and AD failed to perform hand hygiene when performing tasks for or around residents and their environment. 1. HG failed to perform hand hygiene in between cleaning resident rooms and failed to remove gloves after cleaning in resident rooms. 2. CNA D failed to perform hand hygiene after she removed bagged dirty linen from a resident room and entered another resident's room and proceed to assist another resident. 3. MA B failed to perform hand hygiene in-between medication pass with residents and failed to sanitize a blood pressure cuff in-between resident use. 4. AD failed to perform hand hygiene before passing snacks to residents and after she touched her face and hair. These failures placed residents at an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-26 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolated
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review the facility failed to ensure residents received services in the facility with reasonable accommodations of resident's needs and preferences except when to do so would endanger the health and safety of the resident or other residents for 3 of 5 residents (Resident #6, Resident #14, and Resident #50) reviewed for resident rights. The facility failed to ensure Resident #6, Resident #14, and Resident #50's call lights were within reach on 09/24/2024. This failure could place residents at risk of needs not being met. Findings included: Record review of Resident #6's admission Record dated 09/24/2024 revealed an [AGE] year-old female admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included psychotic disturbance, mood disturbance, anxiety, seizures, cerebral infarction (long term effects of a stroke), type 2 diabetes mellitus with hyperglycemia (high blood sugar), heart failure, sleep apnea (breathing pauses while sleeping), weakness, seasonal allergies,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-09-26 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the resident's assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for 1 (Resident #11) of 4 residents reviewed for MDS assessments. The facility failed to include Resident #11's psychiatric diagnose on his quarterly MDS and significant change MDS. This failure could place residents at risk of not having their care and treatment needs assessed to ensure necessary care and services were provided. Findings included: Review of Resident #11's face sheet dated 09/26/2024 revealed an [AGE] year-old male with initial admission date of 09/01/2022 and with diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease, anxiety disorder, major depressive disorder, and atherosclerotic heart disease. Review of Resident #11's physician orders revealed order for Zyprexa with start date of 06/13/2024. Order revealed medication was indicated for Paranoid Schizophrenia. Further review revealed behavior monitoring order for Zyprexa to monitor for delusions and paranoia with start date of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-26 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services to assure the accurate acquiring, receiving, dispensing, and administering of all drugs and biologicals to meet the needs of each resident for 1 of 3 medication carts reviewed in that: The medication cart Contained 3 loose pills. These deficient practices could affect residents and result in a drug diversion due to medications not being properly disposed and secured. The findings were: Observation and interview with MA B on 09/25/2024 at 9:40 am of the medication cart Revealed 1 blue tablet in the right middle drawer. MA B was able to identify the 1 blue tablet as Zoloft. DON was standing next to the cart and made the same observation. Interview with MA B on 09/25/2024 at 09:45 am, he said that the loose blue pill indicated that a resident did not get their Zoloft medication today. MA B stated he holds onto the pill bags after he takes out the medications daily and places them in the middle drawer because of HIPAA rules. He said the medication bags have the resident identifiers…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-16 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure all alleged violations involving abuse or neglect were reported immediately or no later than 24 hours for one (Resident #1) of four residents reviewed for abuse and neglect, in that: The facility failed to report to HHSC an allegation that Resident #1 was overdosed with opioid medication. This failure could place residents at risk of abuse or neglect. Findings included: Review of Resident #1's undated face sheet reflected a [AGE] year-old male who was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including type II diabetes, paranoid schizophrenia, major depressive disorder, history of heart attack, hypertension (high blood pressure), chronic pain, and age-related physical debility. Review of Resident #1's quarterly MDS assessment, dated 05/04/24, reflected a BIMS of 6, indicating a severe cognitive impairment. Section J (Health Conditions) reflected he had occasional pain and received PRN pain medication. Review of Resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-07-28 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure all drugs and biologicals were stored in locked compartments under proper temperature controls and permitted only authorized personnel to have access to the keys in 2 medication carts of 3 medication carts (the Nurses Medication Cart and the Treatment Cart) reviewed for medication storage, in that; The facility failed to ensure the Treatment Cart was locked when it was left unattended in the common area of the 200-hallway; and the facility failed to ensure the Nurses Medication Cart was locked when it was left unattended on two different occasions in a common area near the nurses' station. This deficient practice could place residents at risk of medication misuse or drug diversion. The findings were: In an observation on 7/25/2023 at 3:38 PM, the Nurses Medication Cart was unlocked and unattended. The Nurses Medication Cart had prescription and over the counter medications in the drawers. The top drawer also had 3 plastic souffle cups with several pills in each souffle cup. Staff, visitors, and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-07-28 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to provide an MDS assessment that accurately reflected the resident's status for one resident (#58) of three residents reviewed for accurate assessments in that: Resident #58's MDS inaccurately reflected he discharged to the hospital. This deficient practice could affect residents who receive MDS assessments and could result in disruption of continuity of care. The findings were: Review of Resident #58's electronic face sheet dated 07/26/2023 revealed he was admitted to the facility, on 6/8/23, with diagnoses of cerebral infarction (occurs because of disrupted blood flow to the brain due to problems of the blood vessels that supply it), major depressive disorder (a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and loss of interest that can interfere with daily routines), anemia (results from lack of red blood cells, and can cause fatigue, skin pallor and shortness of breath) and diabetes mellitus (metabolic disease, involving inappropriately…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-28 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to maintain medical records on each resident that are complete; accurately documented; readily accessible; and systematically organized, for 1 of 22 residents (Resident #13) reviewed for accurate medical records, in that: Resident #13's electronic medical record inaccurately care planned an anti-convulsive medication as an anti-Parkinson's medication. This failure could cause confusion about the residents diagnoses and place residents at risk for harm due to inaccurate records. The findings included: Record review of Resident #13's face sheet dated 7/27/2023 revealed the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had diagnoses that included bipolar disorder (a disorder associated with episodes of mood swings ranging from depressive lows and manic highs), paraplegia unspecified (a type of paralysis that affects movement of the lower half of the body), type 2 diabetes mellitus (a chronic condition that affects the way the body processes blood…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-07-28 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections, in that; The facility failed to ensure that staff sanitized the blood pressure cuff between 2 of 3 residents (Resident # 44 and Resident #18) to prevent cross contamination. This deficient practice had the potential to affect residents in the facility by placing them at risk of contracting, spreading and/or exposing them to pathogens that could lead to the spread of communicable diseases. The findings included: Record review of the quarterly MDS assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #44 was a [AGE] year-old female admitted on [DATE]. Primary medical condition was debility related to cardiorespiratory conditions. Other active diagnoses included hypertension. Record review of the quarterly MDS assessment dated [DATE], revealed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2023-07-28 · tag F0908 — failed to keep essential equipment working — widespread
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to maintain all mechanical, electrical, and patient care equipment in safe operating condition for 1 of 1 stovetop grill in the kitchen reviewed for essential equipment. The facility did not ensure the stovetop grill was in working order. This failure could place the residents at risk of not having safe operating equipment. Findings included: During an observation on 7/26/2023 at 12:22 p.m. in the kitchen, there was a large grill on the stovetop. Further observation of the grill revealed a hand-written sign, Grill out of order. During an interview on 7/26/2023 at 12:23 p.m. with [NAME] #G revealed the stovetop grill had not worked for about a month. During an interview on 7/26/2023 at 4:35 p.m. with the facility owner he reported, This was the first time I heard about this. He reported he would investigate it. During an interview on 7/26/2023 at 4:35 p.m. with the Maintenance Director he reported he was aware the stovetop grill was not working, reporting, They don't use it. The Maintenance Director reported the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to AVIR HEALTH GROUP — 116 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.3+1.7 vs chain
Health inspection 5 of 52.4+2.6 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 51.8-0.8 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 53.6-0.6 vs chain
The other 115 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.3★, per CMS)
1 of 5Avir At BanderaBandera, TX 1 of 5Avir At Cowhorn CreekTexarkana, TX 1 of 5Avir At DallasDallas, TX 1 of 5Avir At LindaleLindale, TX 1 of 5Avir At StephenvilleStephenville, TX 1 of 5Avir at AdamsTemple, TX 1 of 5Avir at Arbor TerraceSan Angelo, TX 1 of 5Avir at BeaumontBeaumont, TX 1 of 5Avir at BeltonBelton, TX 1 of 5Avir at BoerneBoerne, TX 1 of 5Avir at BradburnGrand Saline, TX 1 of 5Avir at CaldwellCaldwell, TX 1 of 5Avir at Camp WoodCamp Wood, TX 1 of 5Avir at Citizens TrailTexarkana, TX 1 of 5Avir at ConverseConverse, TX 1 of 5Avir at GainesvilleGainesville, TX 1 of 5Avir at GarlandGarland, TX 1 of 5Avir at GiddingsGiddings, TX 1 of 5Avir at Heritage OaksLubbock, TX 1 of 5Avir at HillsboroHillsboro, TX 1 of 5Avir at HoustonHouston, TX 1 of 5Avir at Johnson CityJohnson City, TX 1 of 5Avir at KennedaleKennedale, TX 1 of 5Avir at KerrvilleKerrville, TX 1 of 5Avir at LongviewLongview, TX 1 of 5Avir at LubbockLubbock, TX 1 of 5Avir at Meadow CreekSan Angelo, TX 1 of 5Avir at MineolaMineola, TX 1 of 5Avir at New BraunfelsNew Braunfels, TX 1 of 5Avir at PatriotEl Paso, TX 1 of 5Avir at PortlandPortland, TX 1 of 5Avir at Rose TrailTyler, TX 1 of 5Avir at San AngeloSan Angelo, TX 1 of 5Avir at SeguinSeguin, TX 1 of 5Avir at TexarkanaTexarkana, TX 1 of 5Avir at Tierra EsteEl Paso, TX 1 of 5Avir at Veterans MemorialHouston, TX 1 of 5Avir at WestonTemple, TX 1 of 5Avir at WinnsboroWinnsboro, TX 1 of 5Avir at WoodlandsEastland, TX

Showing 40 of 115; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
1505 W HWY 290 PROPERTY OWNER, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2025
WELLTOWER INCOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2025
WELLTOWER NNN GROUP, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2025
WELLTOWER OP, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2025
APOLINAR, ADAMIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/01/2024
1505 W HWY 290 OPCO, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/01/2025
CHUDLEIGH, JAMESIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2025
FREUND, NOCHUMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/01/2025
TRAVITSKY, AARONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/01/2025
DAGAN, AMITAIIndividualINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/24/2025
GOLDBERGER, ABRAHAMIndividualINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/24/2025
ROBINSON, STEVENIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 17 rows in the source record cover these 12 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$4.1M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-4.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 69%Medicare 6%Other / private 25%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$231per resident / day
operating cost
$7,009per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$221per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in TX

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Texas Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Texas
$5,627/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$7,604/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,666/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 675980. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-31, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next