No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Renaissance Rehabilitation And Healthcare Center

220 Davenport, Italy, TX 76651 · Government - Hospital district · 74 certified beds · (410) 552-4800 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (410) 552-4800 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 11 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (31% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
204 E Main St · (972) 483-7979 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
204 E Main St · (682) 320-8625 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
417 W Moseley · (713) 424-3438 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1029 Pigg Rd · (972) 825-6191 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
420 Derrs Chapel Rd

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased12.4%15.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight0.0%3.0%5.4%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.3%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%0.8%2.0%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.0%2.4%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained1.8%0.0%0.1%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury7.1%3.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened30.8%14.0%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication15.7%18.0%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine94.8%98.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.3%3.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control8.9%13.4%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table29.9%9.6%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.2%1.5%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine67.2%88.0%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission36.5%25.7%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit8.9%12.3%12.0%better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

57.3% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 60 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

57.3%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
12.2%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.21U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.21 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 24% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF57.3%CMS range 42.9–69.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF12.2%CMS range 8.0–16.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.9%CMS range 3.9–12.87.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.791.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.37
RN hours/ resident / day
0.95
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.05
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.36
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.30
RN hoursweekends
31.1%
Total nursing turnover
20.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 74 beds and averages 63.7 residents a day — about 86% occupied, or roughly 10 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.36 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.37 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.05 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.02 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.50 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.40 to 0.30 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 31% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-09-10)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2024-08-22)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-09-10 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards reviewed for food service safety in the reviewed 1 of 1 kitchen. The facility failed to ensure food safety by not consistently monitoring, discarding expired food, maintaining unsanitary kitchen equipment, and storage areas. These failures can place residents at risk for foodborne illness. Findings included:Observation in the kitchen on 9/08/2025 at 9:15 AM of the one refrigerator in the kitchen reflected the following: - Dannon Creamy Yogurt with an expiration date of 9-03-2025.Observation in the kitchen on 9/08/2025 at 9:23 AM of the one pantry reflected the following: - Marshmallows with an expiration date of 8-18-2025. - Wonder Hamburger buns with an expiration date of 8-18-2025.- Wonder Hot Dog buns with an expiration date of 8-28-2025.- Observation in the kitchen on 9/08/2025 at 9:30 AM of the one pantry reflected the following: - The ice machine scoop container had standing water in it with a brown dirt-looking…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-10 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolated
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents received services in the facility with reasonable accommodations of resident's needs and preferences except when to do so would endanger the health and safety of the resident or other residents for 1 of 5 residents (Resident #37) reviewed for resident rights. The facility failed to ensure Resident's #37's call light was within reach on 09/08/25. This failure could place residents at risk of needs not being met. Findings included: Record Review of Resident #37's face sheet dated 09/08/25 reflected the resident was a [AGE] year-old female admitted on [DATE]. Her diagnoses included ataxia (a neurological condition characterized by a lack of coordination and control of movements), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) (a lung disease characterized by chronic respiratory symptoms and airflow limitation), atherosclerotic heart disease of native coronary artery (coronary artery disease) (heart disease involving the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-09-10 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure that drugs and biologicals used in the facility were stored properly for 1of 1 medication storage rooms reviewed.The facility failed to ensure that expired medication administration supplies were removed from 1 of 1 medication storage rooms.This failure could place residents at risk for ineffective treatments and unnecessary invasive procedures. Use of these expired supplies could cause a central line medication catheter to dislodge, become infected, or need surgical replacement. Findings include: Observation on [DATE] at 3:00 PM of the medication storage room revealed the following medication administration supplies were expired: 1 Intravenous Administration Kit Expired [DATE] 1 Central line medication catheter Stabilizer Device Expired [DATE] 1 Central line medication catheter Stabilizer Device Expired [DATE] 4 Central line medication catheter Protection Disc (For Insertion Cite) Expired [DATE] 8 Central line medication catheter…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-09-10 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection and prevention control program that included, at a minimum, a system for preventing and controlling infections for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for wound care (Resident #4).LVN B failed to wash or sanitize her hands while going from a dirty to clean surface while performing wound care on 09/09/25 at 11:10 AM for Resident #4.This deficient practice placed residents at risk for cross contamination and the spread of infection.Record review of Resident #4's face sheet dated 09/09/25 reflected Resident #4 was a [AGE] year-old male with an admission date of 01/22/24. Resident #4's diagnoses included stage 4 pressure ulcer to coccyx ((tailbone) a triangular bone at the base of the spinal column), or stage 4 bedsore, (a severe wound that extends through all layers of skin into the underlying tissues, exposing muscle, bone, or tendon), dementia (a general name for a decline in cognitive abilities that impacts a person's ability…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-03 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — pattern
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and records review, the facility failed to ensure that medical records were accurately documented for four (4) of thirteen (13) residents (Resident #6, Resident #8, Resident #12, Resident #13) reviewed for accurate clinical records, in that: The facility failed to ensure Resident #6, Resident #8, Resident #12, and Resident #13's EMARs were accurately reflecting narcotic medications administered. This deficient practice could result in errors in care and treatment. Findings included: Resident #6 Review of Resident #6's face sheet reflected a [AGE] year-old female admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included: Cirrhosis of the Liver (scarring of the liver), Muscle Weakness, Pain in unspecified joint, Femur fracture (large upper leg bone), unsteadiness on feet and repeated falls. Review of Resident #6's MDS assessment, dated 07/11/2023, reflected a BIMS of 5, indicating severe cognitive impairment. Review of Resident #6's EMAR reflected on 7/15/2023 and 7/16/2023 the 4:00 PM a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-06-29 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — pattern
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide the necessary services for residents who are unable to carry out activities of daily living to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene for 3 (Resident #20, Resident #213 and Resident #42) of 15 residents reviewed for ADLs. The facility failed to ensure: -Resident#20 had her fingernails cleaned and trimmed. -Resident#213 had her fingernails cleaned and trimmed. -Resident #42 had his facial hair and fingernails trimmed. These failures could place residents who were dependent on staff for ADL care at risk for loss of dignity, risk for infections and a decreased quality of life. Findings include: 1. A record review of Resident #20's Quarterly MDS assessment dated [DATE] reflected Resident #20 was a [AGE] year-old female admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses included type 2 diabetes mellitus and dementia (loss of intellectual functioning, especially with impairment of memory and abstract thinking, and often with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-06-29 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for the facility's only kitchen for 2 of 2 (Freezer #1 and #2) reviewed for kitchen sanitation. The facility failed to ensure items in Freezer #1 and #2 were sealed properly. This failure could place residents at risk for food contamination and food-borne illness. Findings included: Observations on 06/27/23 for Freezer #1 revealed: - at 11:16 AM revealed a box of bacon was open, not sealed about 2 inches with bacon not sealed. - at 11:18 AM revealed a box of biscuits was open, not sealed about 1.5 inches. Interview on 06/27/23 at 11:19 AM, with Dietary Aide F revealed she did not use the biscuits today so she was not sure how long they had been unsealed. She stated she used the bacon this morning. She stated the items should be sealed. Observation on 06/27/23 at 11:26 AM, for Freezer #2 revealed a box of pork patties, dated 05/12/23 open about 2 inches not sealed. Interview on 06/27/23 at 11:27 AM, with Dietary…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-06-29 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designated to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable disease and infection for 5 (Resident #22, Resident #27, Resident #31, Resident #40, and Resident #45) of 6 residents reviewed for infection control. The facility failed to ensure MA A disinfected the blood pressure cuff in between blood pressure checks for Residents #22, #27, #31, #40, and #45. This failure could place residents at-risk of cross contamination which could result in infections or illness. Findings included: Record review of Resident #22's Quarterly MDS assessment, dated 05/12/23, reflected he was a [AGE] year-old male admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses included elevated blood pressure, and hyperlipidemia (high levels of fat in the blood). He had a BIMS of 03 indicating his cognition was severely impaired. Record review of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-06-29 · tag F0925 — failed to control pests — pattern
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure an effective pest control program was implemented so the facility was free of pests and rodents for the facility's only kitchen, dining room and one of three halls (Hall 200) reviewed for pest control. The facility failed to keep an effective pest control program to ensure kitchen, dining room and residents' rooms on Hall 200 were free of flies. This failure could place residents at risk for reduced quality of life. Findings included: Observation on 06/27/23 at 11:04 AM revealed four flies were in the dish area of kitchen while Dietary Aide F wash using the dish machine. Observations on 06/27/23 at 11:10 AM and 11:15 AM revealed fly light had no light on it and was not plugged in the kitchen. Interview on 06/27/23 at 11:20 AM with Dietary Aide F and the Dietary Manager revealed the electronic fly light did not work to their knowledge. Observation on 06/27/23 at 11:23 AM revealed three flies in food prep area of kitchen while two…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-06-29 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services to ensure the accurate acquiring, receiving, dispensing, administering, and securing of medications for 1 (200 hall medication aide cart) of 2 medication carts reviewed for pharmacy services in that: The facility failed to ensure medications in unsecured containers were immediately removed from the 200 hall MA cart. This failure could place residents at risk of not having the medication available due to possible drug diversion and at risk of not receiving the intended therapeutic benefit of the medication. Findings Included: An observation on 06/27/2023 at 12:20 PM of the MA Cart for Hall 200 revealed the blister pack for Resident #43's tramadol 50 mg tablet (controlled medication used for pain) had 1 blister seal broken and the pill was still inside the broken blister and taped over. In an observation and interview on 06/27/23 at 12:20 PM, MA A stated she was unaware when the blister pack seal was broken, and she was not aware of who might have damaged the blister. She stated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-06-29 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate below 5%. There were 2 errors out of 27 opportunities, resulting in a facility had a 7.4 percent (%) medication error rate for one (Resident #45) of 6 residents reviewed for medication administration. The facility failed to ensure MA A administered medications per the physician orders for Resident #45. MA A administered the wrong dose of Eliquis (anticoagulant medication used to treat and prevent blood clots) and ropinirole HCl (used to treat restless leg syndrome). This failure could place residents at risk for not receiving therapeutic effects of their medications. The findings included: A record review of Resident #45's Quarterly MDS assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #45 was a [AGE] year-old female admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including pulmonary embolism (a condition in which one or more arteries in the lungs become blocked by a blood clot), restless legs syndrome, and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to NEXION HEALTH — 51 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 52.2+2.8 vs chain
Health inspection 5 of 52.3+2.7 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 52.8-0.8 vs chain
Quality measures 2 of 52.6-0.6 vs chain
The other 50 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.2★, per CMS)
1 of 5Bay Ridge Healthcare CenterLa Porte, TX 1 of 5Claiborne Healthcare CenterShreveport, LA 1 of 5Cornerstone Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterCorinth, MS 1 of 5Crystal Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterGreenwood, MS 1 of 5Duncanville Healthcare and Rehabilitation CenterDuncanville, TX 1 of 5Flatonia Healthcare CenterFlatonia, TX 1 of 5Gonzales Healthcare CenterGonzales, LA 1 of 5Green Valley Healthcare and Rehabilitation CenterFort Worth, TX 1 of 5Grenada Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterGrenada, MS 1 of 5Holly Springs Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterHolly Springs, MS 1 of 5Indianola Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterIndianola, MS 1 of 5Lily Springs Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterLampasas, TX 1 of 5Meadowview Health & Rehab CenterMinden, LA 1 of 5New Iberia Manor SouthNew Iberia, LA 1 of 5Patterson Healthcare CenterPatterson, LA 1 of 5Picayune Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterPicayune, MS 1 of 5Pierremont Healthcare CenterShreveport, LA 1 of 5Prairie Meadows Rehabilitation and Healthcare CentFloresville, TX 1 of 5The Bluffs Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterVicksburg, MS 1 of 5Village Creek Rehabilitation and Nursing CenterLumberton, TX 1 of 5Willow Park Rehabilitation Health Care CenterClifton, TX 1 of 5Woodlands Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterClinton, MS 1 of 5Yazoo City Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterYazoo City, MS 2 of 5Great Oaks Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterByhalia, MS 2 of 5Kaplan Healthcare CenterKaplan, LA 2 of 5Many Healthcare and Rehabilitation CenterMany, LA 2 of 5New Iberia Manor NorthNew Iberia, LA 2 of 5North Star Ranch Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenBonham, TX 2 of 5Willow Park Rehabilitation And Care CenterWillow Park, TX 3 of 5Barton Valley Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterAustin, TX 3 of 5Cedar Ridge Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterPilot Point, TX 3 of 5Columbia Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterColumbia, MS 3 of 5Cross Timbers Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterFlower Mound, TX 3 of 5Delta Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterCleveland, MS 3 of 5Golden Creek Healthcare And Rehabilitation CenterNavasota, TX 3 of 5Lakeview Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterWinnsboro, TX 3 of 5Lone Star Ranch Rehabilitation and Healthcare CentKingsville, TX 3 of 5Midwestern Healthcare CenterWichita Falls, TX 3 of 5Natchez Rehabilitation And Healthcare CenterNatchez, MS 3 of 5Ridgecrest Healthcare And Rehabilitation CenterForney, TX

Showing 40 of 50; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
THOMPSON, JOHNNYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/05/2025
NEXION HEALTH AT ITALY, INC.OrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022
FALLON, JOHNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022
HERDRICH, WILLIAMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022
KIRLEY, FRANCISIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022
LEE, BRIANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022
REID, JOHNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022
RINER, MEERAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2022

CMS files one row per role, so the 9 rows in the source record cover these 8 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+1.8%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 60%Medicare 5%Other / private 34%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$228per resident / day
operating cost
$6,946per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$233per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in TX

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Texas Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Texas
$5,627/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$7,604/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,666/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 675103. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-09-10, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next